You'll never guess what the 2021 free kick differential chart looks like

I get the Bullies fans. If I were one I too would be embarrassed by the flashing red asterisk on their 2016 GF win. The AFL was forced into acknowledging the Umps' sub standard performance and some of the errors.

Yep they currently have some floppers who get rewarded but they also get away with throwing more than other teams. It is some of the frees they win and the ones their Opposition do not that irritates fans from other Clubs
Reckon I'd be more embarrassed by losing a Grand Final after finishing top of the ladder, with half your team not showing up, but you do you.

Incorrect. As said previously Melbourne have 2. Spargo and Pickett. I dislike both that do it. But Goodwin tried to stamp it out of Picketts game because he didn't like it and he has significantly reduced his milking. Bevo on the other hand is clearly encouraging it.

It hasn’t been reduced at all. Unless Pickett is in an uncontested situation he looks for the free every time. On Sat he thought he was going to be tackled by JL and dropped his legs and raised his arm but JL pulled out of tackling him bc he was near the boundary.

It is a weird contrast between Pickett, Spargo and Neal-Bullen and your really honest hard nut players like Gawn, May, Oliver and Petracca.

I get the Bullies fans. If I were one I too would be embarrassed by the flashing red asterisk on their 2016 GF win. The AFL was forced into acknowledging the Umps' sub standard performance and some of the errors.

Yep they currently have some floppers who get rewarded but they also get away with throwing more than other teams. It is some of the frees they win and the ones their Opposition do not that irritates fans from other Clubs

Tom Papley says hi. If you’re gonna throw mud, acknowledge your own floppys too.

It hasn’t been reduced at all. Unless Pickett is in an uncontested situation he looks for the free every time. On Sat he thought he was going to be tackled by JL and dropped his legs and raised his arm but JL pulled out of tackling him bc he was near the boundary.

It is a weird contrast between Pickett, Spargo and Neal-Bullen and your really honest hard nut players like Gawn, May, Oliver and Petracca.

Thank you good sir.

Are richmond and dogs outliers? obviously.

why? I know it doesnt support the narrative of the tinfoil hat brigade, but if you look at the actual reason behind the outlier its easy to see the reason is the dogs dont receive significantly more frees than other teams, its that they give away significantly less.

The teams that give away the most frees - by far - are Sydney, Brisbane and Richmond.

is this because?

a) Collectively, most umpires personally support the dogs and hate the tigers, and treat those two teams differently on field.
b) Its an AFL conspiracy! and they direct the umpires to treat those two teams differently
c) Richmond and the dogs play different brands of football

I you choose a) or b), then obviously you are a moron. Enjoy your logic free life, but dont expect others to take you seriously. Particularly if you are a btt hrt sydney supporter looking to rationalise old GF losses as some kind of conspiracy

Theres flopping, and then there’s jumping to Mars.

28E5E075-5685-417D-A853-65B0C7A03FB7.jpeg

:straining:

WEST Coast defender Will Schofield is free to play the Western Bulldogs on Saturday after successfully fighting a controversial striking charge at the AFL Tribunal on Tuesday night.

Schofield challenged a one-match ban offered by the Match Review Panel for clipping Melbourne youngster Clayton Oliver on the chin with his elbow during a half-time fracas at Domain Stadium last Saturday night.

The jury only needed about five minutes to decide Schofield was not guilty.

Speaking on SEN this morning Garry Lyon, a former Demons captain, said the young midfielder deserved to be fined by the AFL for hitting the deck after contact from Eagles defender Will Schofield.

Why are you dragging up a single incident from four years ago. Oliver is a hard contested player who is in an under dozens of times every game. Strange post.

Why are you dragging up a single incident from four years ago. Oliver is a hard contested player who is in an under dozens of times every game.

He’s done it twice in the past where it’s been heavily scrutinised. He still does it at times. The main point is, don’t throw mud if your own players do it / have done it.

Is this the same asterisk placed next your clearly biased and prejudiced name?

He’s done it twice in the past where it’s been heavily scrutinised. He still does it at times. The main point is, don’t throw mud if your own players do it / have done it.

That makes even less sense. You realise you can follow a football team and still disagree with the actions of your teams players and also form opinions on things yeah?

Yep.

Winning the free kick count is a competitive advantage for the Bulldogs. I think the other 17 Clubs (and fans) plan on the basis they will be reamed by Umpiring decisions.

As for the Bullies fans I say enjoy your advantage while you can. The Karma B Double will clean you up at some stage when you no longer get the rub of the green. I doubt there will be any sympathy from the other 17 Clubs.

Yep.

Winning the free kick count is a competitive advantage for the Bulldogs. I think the other 17 Clubs (and fans) plan on the basis they will be reamed by Umpiring decisions.

As for the Bullies fans I say enjoy your advantage while you can. The Karma B Double will clean you up at some stage when you no longer get the rub of the green. I doubt there will be any sympathy from the other 17 Clubs.

Yeah man totally.

551F78B4-FC22-4BB4-ADA5-51FB3A429CA9.jpeg

Are richmond and dogs outliers? obviously.

why? I know it doesnt support the narrative of the tinfoil hat brigade, but if you look at the actual reason behind the outlier its easy to see the reason is the dogs dont receive significantly more frees than other teams, its that they give away significantly less.

The teams that give away the most frees - by far - are Sydney, Brisbane and Richmond.

is this because?

a) Collectively, most umpires personally support the dogs and hate the tigers, and treat those two teams differently on field.
b) Its an AFL conspiracy! and they direct the umpires to treat those two teams differently
c) Richmond and the dogs play different brands of football

I you choose a) or b), then obviously you are a moron. Enjoy your logic free life, but dont expect others to take you seriously. Particularly if you are a btt hrt sydney supporter looking to rationalise old GF losses as some kind of conspiracy
Of course it is agenda-driven for the outliers, misunderstanding statistical probability to say anything else.

the rest of the results looks exactly as you would expect from a stochastic process with decent sampling, tightly bunched around each other and around zero

Of course it is agenda-driven for the outliers, misunderstanding statistical probability to say anything else.

the rest of the results looks exactly as you would expect from a stochastic process with decent sampling, tightly bunched around each other and around zero

haha... must admit I always hope the Bloods get the rub of the green against the Tigers as much as I dread knowing we won't v the Bullies.

Otherwise I don't have expectation from the Umps' decisions and non decisions against other teams.

Sure I will get irritated in the moment or recognise we were lucky with particular decision. Watching games as a neutral helps recognise how difficult Umps have it. Rule of the week during the Shockey regime has not helped the bona fides of the game.

still the most cringe worthy screw job I’ve seen in Footy. The AFL really, really wanted the fairytale

Pretty much

You’ve got a former club president who is the AFL commissioner coming out in February 16 saying he wants the WB to win a flag and then you get an obvious display of poor umpiring in the GF to which the AFL later issue an apology?

Those comments alone should have been enough for him to be stood down due to an obvious bias towards the WB. That’s beyond acceptable.

Reckon Oliver did it a bit early on but it’s non existent in his game now. Contrast that to Cody Weightman who is obviously trying to draw a free kick. The commentators even had to explain his ‘style’ yesterday. ‘He has an interesting technique of dropping so the tacklers shoulder is raised upon contact’

Basically decoded that means he is ducking. If the AFL have set these atrocious rules, fine, and if players exploit them, fine, but don’t expect to not have opposition supporters frustrated when yesterday the bloke kicked 3 from free kicks (if I am correct) and flopped around like a fish on a boat deck.

Reckon Oliver did it a bit early on but it’s non existent in his game now. Contrast that to Cody Weightman who is obviously trying to draw a free kick. The commentators even had to explain his ‘style’ yesterday. ‘He has an interesting technique of dropping so the tacklers shoulder is raised upon contact’

Basically decoded that means he is ducking. If the AFL have set these atrocious rules, fine, and if players exploit them, fine, but don’t expect to not have opposition supporters frustrated when yesterday the bloke kicked 3 from free kicks (if I am correct) and flopped around like a fish on a boat deck.

Sadly for you you’re wrong on that one. 3 of the free kicks weren’t from flopping. Even Essendon fans are pointing that out which is quite amusing. Holding the man, head touched by Draper and pushed by Merrett didn’t include any flopping.
Drop of the knees probably the first free kick. I’m pointing out opposition fans to keep it constant- you have Pickett, Spargo and I still think your boy Oliver ducks but that’s just my opinion. Wanna call out Weightman? You’d wanna call out your boys too.

The WB not featuring beyond a semi final is a pretty acceptable scenario in terms of not seeing a side constantly play up for free kicks and use dubious techniques to draw them. Hoping Brisbane do a number on them. Spoke to a mate who is a dogs fan today and when I asked him about some of those frees he replied with ‘no comment’ wink wink nudge nudge.

Yeah cool, you’re another poster who is wishing the worst for us, yet have your own floppers. Embarrassing.

Sadly for you you’re wrong on that one. 3 of the free kicks weren’t from flopping. Even Essendon fans are pointing that out which is quite amusing. Holding the man, head touched by Draper and pushed by Merrett didn’t include any flopping.
Drop of the knees probably the first free kick. I’m pointing out opposition fans to keep it constant- you have Pickett, Spargo and I still think your boy Oliver ducks but that’s just my opinion. Wanna call out Weightman? You’d wanna call out your boys too.
Draper hardly touched him FFS. Oliver does not duck and neither do the other two. If you get me footage of to the contrary then I’ll concede.

Draper hardly touched him. And he didn’t flop. we’ve all already agreed it was a crap free kick. Doesn’t mean he flopped. It was an accidental touch of the head.

Um you have your own supporters above who have said they do haha.

Jumping to the moooooon!!

298CDDE0-142B-4124-A357-F253AC7C69EB.jpeg

Yeah cool, you’re another poster who is wishing the worst for us, yet have your own floppers. Embarrassing.
You had the AFL commissioner openly state he wanted you to win a flag in 2016. You played a great month of footy. Definitely. But some of those calls in the GF were horrible. I can tell you from personal experience with that former commissioner that he positively hates Sydney due to COLA and hated that Franklin left Hawthorn to go there.

Hahahah you’re embarrassing yourself. You don’t personally know shi*.

You'll never guess what the 2021 free kick differential chart looks like