Sacramento Kings
Out of our youngters that are not regulars in our side, who would you consider as your favourite player and WHY.

Remember girls we are selecting on football ability not how good an arse he's got:p ;)

Jacob Schuback is my favourite. I just like a player that has a crack and he certainly does that. Can play a variety of roles and is a thumping left foot kick. Has got some serious pace to burn.

I voted Reilly. I expect him to take huge steps forward next year. he has that bit of class.

Schuback will definitely be in the mix as well - he's got a lot going for him.

Hopefully Hentschel will have an injury free pre-season next year for the first time, and show us what he really can do when he gets his chance, instead of freezing.

Brent Reilly still. He showed his class in the Wizard Cup this year and I reckon he'll be a regular player next season. He was taken in the first round of the draft so I'll be p*ssed off if he doesn't develop into something.

I like Parker cos he plays for South. And he's performed reasonably well too.

Skipworth has probably shown the most at this stage. Which isn't saying much.

Rutten looked like a real find with those three goals against Fremantle. I just hope he continues on with it.

I did like the look of Schuback. He's pacy and has a good long kick.

Mattner I thought was good at times last year and even this year. But jeez does he burn the ball.

Hentschel hasn't really looked like an AFL player in his three games so far.

[Sidenote: I was looking at the 2002 pre-season draft, which went like this...

Aaron Lord (Geelong)
Nathan Saunders (Bulldogs)
Scott Cummings (Collingwood)
Trent Hentschel (Adelaide)
Tony Lockett (Sydney)

And that was the extent of the players picked. It was the last hurrah for Lord, Cummings and Lockett. The latter two and Saunders were gone by the end of the year whilst Lord will surely be gone at the end of this year.

Not a good omen... Can Trentschel (thanks dyertribe ;)) prove himself as the only worthwhile selection of the 2002 preseason draft?]

Whilst the rest I haven't seen enough of.

I voted Rutten. Has size, strength, uses the ball well. Just needs to work on his pace.

What a hard question :p

I wanted to say Matty Smith 'cause he's good for Sturt and I don't want him to get delisted :(... So an un-biased pick would be, Aidan Parker. :)

I think that he has got a lot of talent. I haven't seen him play 'cause I haven't been to any South games, but I've heard only good things from everyone who has seen him! Except for him being inconsistent (but he can work on that :)) At training I've seen him and he's seemed to really get in there and do stuff whereas other 'youngsters' wouldn't.

Also, what he said in the paper last week about playing for free.. and being a real people-person like he is could come in handy, he'll be a real future asset once he's promoted from the rookie list.

I've seen Michael Bratton play twice for Norwood in the reserves.. Once he didn't really play all that well (but he had just come back from a shoulder operation, i think?) The next time he did a few really good things, and seemed to be one of the only Norwood players at the time who was actually trying to win the game and got a couple of good goals :)

Originally posted by DaveW
Not a good omen... Can Trentschel (thanks dyertribe ;)) prove himself as the only worthwhile selection of the 2002 preseason draft
In a word YES. I really like this kid. He has got good poise and skills for a bolke his size. I suspect Crows would see him as a defender as he has played a lot of his footy in the backlines lately, CHB or a half back flank. Since he has been moved to defence he has been in Eagles players each week.

I really think he'll make it, whether its as a forward or a defender remains to be seen.

Matthew Smith - good chance to be delisted at the end of the year.

Hayden Skipworth - came on well this year to be one of the best if not the best midfielder in the SANFL. Should be promoted at the end of the year to the main list.

Ben Rutten - definitely has it all other than pace. If he can speed up will be a good player.

Aidan Parker - very promising tall defender and has worked hard to add rebound to his game - should be promoted to the main list.

Luke Jericho - has a strong pair of hands and good pace. Has to make it at SANFL level first to be a chance.

Brent Reilly - classy, will be a regular next year.

Trent Hentschel - has the goods, just needs to relax and cut loose.

Jacob Schuback - very promising and will play more games next year.

Martin Mattner - great desperation and effort but no footy smarts at all.

Nathan Bock - has been disappointing until recent weeks at SANFL level. May have saved his bacon though with recent efforts.

Jason Porplyzia - has done well in a back pocket with Westies. Another year on the rookie list and plenty of weights for him.

Originally posted by macca23

Luke Jericho - has a strong pair of hands and good pace. Has to make it at SANFL level first to be a chance.

I reckon at any other SANFL club he'd have played seniors for most of the year. Rehn is holding him back.

Originally posted by macca23
As he did with Schuback. Rehn is a pr*ck!!

Exactly.

Are there any other SANFL youngsters you'd like to see on the Crows list in 2004. here's a few I can think of:

Harry Miller

Eddie Sansbury

David Kellett - lost the plot since he changed his hair colour. Will probably get another Reserves Premiership medal at Centrals this year.

Cam Faulkner ;)

Faulkner would be the pick of those, but sadly the Bullies got him last year.

Miller would be a rough chance.

Kellett - not sure. He has the footy smarts but he's very slow.

Originally posted by Jerome
Are there any other SANFL youngsters you'd like to see on the Crows list in 2004.
Adam Cooney:D
Tim Schmidt:)
Josh Willoughby:)

The is a NT kid that I would like to see at AFC:

Rowan Bonson:D 183 cm / 73 kg

WA Kid:

Kepler Bradley:D 198 cm / 90 kg Ruckman/KPP

Tasmanian Kid:

Billy Morrison 193 cm / 91 kg CHF :)

A few Vic kids:

Fergus Watts 192 cm / 87 kg :D
William Gayfer 193 cm / 87 kg :D
Troy Chaplin 193 cm / 80 kg :D
;)

I think for me it is Schuback. Only seen one game, but his attack on the ball and the player and his speed is exciting. Sort of a cross between Bode and Welsh. Looking foward to seeing him develop.

Honourable mentions to Rutten and Reilly also. And Hentschel on the words of the learned on this board, although I have yet to see the magic myself.

I voted for Ben Rutten with Reilly & Mattner close up,

Rutten, it might take a couple of years but with the right sort of coaching along with patience & perseverance he will in my opinion develop into a gun chf, has a strong kick & a safe one grab mark to go along with his solid frame, as macca23 said will need to work on his pace & ground-work,

Reilly, has all that it takes to be a top flight mid-fielder just hope that we can hang on to him ,

Mattner, know a lot of you guys don't rate young Marty but give him another year in the seniors & he will become a running hbf in the Smart mould, tackles hard, has pace, knows no fear & just needs to improve his delivery & awareness,

Living up in Whyalla means i don't get down to Adelaide that often & have only seen the 1 sanfl game so far this year so i can't really comment on Smith, Parker, Porplyzia or Jericho, of the others well from what i have seen,

Bock, would need to fill out quick & make some sort of a presence,

Skipworth, is a real goer in the sanfl but seems to lack that little bit extra in the afl

Hentschel, shows promise but i think he needs plenty of inner-confidence to go further,

Schuback, only seen him play twice once for the bays & that game against the pies & this kid does have what it takes including the footy smarts,

Matthew Smith - Hasn't really come alone enough in his development. Delist

Hayden Skipworth - Done enough to warrant putting back on the full list, but will need to go up another level in 2004.

Ben Rutten - Much to like about Ben. Has real presence & a good footy brain. Just needs to work on his mobility, but has time on his side.

Aidan Parker - Done enough to be pit on our full list. Got to like his attitude.

Luke Jericho - Too early to say, but would want to up his level in 2004 stay on beyond then.

Brent Reilly - Gets my vote. All class & should be fast-tracked into our side. Pity he got injured early in the season, as I reckon he would have had a solid year.

Trent Hentschel - Looks like a great talent, but behind Rutten in his development. Definitely worth persisting with.

Jacob Schuback - Exciting prospect as he has lots of pace & knows how to kick a goal. Pity his development got stiffled by Westies, but reckon he can make a real impact in 2004.

Martin Mattner - Club did him no favours confidence wise by giving him tough jobs most weeks & his form suffered. Hard as nails & just needs to work on his decision making. Will make a useful HBF/Winger. Possible trade bait though.

Nathan Bock - Has gone backwards since going on the full list. Back to the rookie list IMO.

Jason Porplyzia - Like Jericho, to early to say, but would want to take his game to the next level in 2004 to stay on the list from 2005.

I think at this point Reilly is the best of the lot.

Hes one of the better players from that draft, has good height, is smart and has an excellent disposal.

Its awesome that we got a young victorian to re-sign for another couple of years.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
In a word YES. I really like this kid. He has got good poise and skills for a bolke his size. I suspect Crows would see him as a defender as he has played a lot of his footy in the backlines lately, CHB or a half back flank. Since he has been moved to defence he has been in Eagles players each week.

I really think he'll make it, whether its as a forward or a defender remains to be seen.

I know from one of the crows SANFL observers that the club is excited by Hentschel's progress with the Eagles. He has been given a couple of chances and has appeared slightly out of his league for the minute - but - his future is very bright and give him a year or so to really develop - he will be a top player.

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
I know from one of the crows SANFL observers that the club is excited by Hentschel's progress with the Eagles. He has been given a couple of chances and has appeared slightly out of his league for the minute - but - his future is very bright and give him a year or so to really develop - he will be a top player.

k
xx
He has convinced me. Its the other posters around here that are not convinced yet.

Definitely Hayden Skipworth. I reckon he was unlucky to be cut at the end of 2002, after not being given a chance that year (at all!), is the best youngster we've got. He would really come on if he was given more chances, and I reckon he just needs the coaching staff to show some faith in him. If they do that, he'll be a beauty! If not, well... He'll still be at the Eagles, dominating the competition, and winning a Magarey, as well as leading us to a Premiership! GO EAGLES!

I like Hentschel, and have since 2002, he's gonna be an excellent KPP in a few years, and has started to show it already. Looked good in the SANFL last year, and has really developed. He looks comfortable in the Crows side now, as opposed to those first three games he played last year. I think he's a bit like McGregor, can play both ends of the ground. McGregor was recruited as a CHF, and after being tried there was placed at CHB (the Crows did have Mark Stevens holding down CHF, after all!). Hentschel was also recruited as a CHF prospect, but has gone back to CHB and also FB, and done quite well. I would be surprised if he didn't win the Crows Emerging Talent Award this year, and mabe also an AFL Rising Star Nomination somewhere along the line.

Schuback will be a champ for us when he gets his chance to cement a spot in the Crows line-up, with a few of our midfielders/forwards getting on in age (McLeod, Ricciuto, Edwards etc.). Has great pace and was great against Hawthorn in Round 10 this year. Kind of like Bickley, except faster. He is tough, and does the hard things (tackling etc.). Is still developing really.

Bock- I always knew he could play, and he's FINALLY been given his chance. Debuted against Richmond, and kicked two goals with his first two kicks in AFL footy. Since then, he hasn't looked back, and is a ong-term prospect, with Hentchel and Jericho (well, with all our youngsters, really!)

Jericho is good now, and will be even better when he learns to apply pressure to the opposition. He needs to make his tackles stick, and maybe go for the ball with TWO hands. Will be a great player for the AFC.

Reilly will be okay. So far this year, it kind of looks like he hs gone backwards a bit, but he'll find his feet eventually (maybe next year). If he continues to press for selection, he WILL get at least one game before the season's over.

And I like Rutten. He is a BIG unit, but maybe a bit slow and not as agile as other KPPs.

Watts will be GREAT! Brilliant, even! Really courageous and goes hard at the ball, and the player. From what I've seen of him with the Mighty EAGLES, he has good hands, but needs to bulk up a bit. Overall, a ripper!

And the other one I like is a Rookie, called Rowan Andrews. He's a bit like Fergus Watts, in that he's courageous and goes for the footy. Will be a great player a bit further down the track, and even though it's a bit early, I think he should be promoted to the Senior List. He is a ruckmen, and after last year's draft we've got a few of them, but he can play back as well, and perhaps forward too. I've only seen one game with him, for Glenelg against the Eagles, but he is an exciting player and great talent. He'll get his chance when Matty Clarke decides to hang up the boots (although there is Ben Hudson), so he'll probably have to wait for injuries etc. to force his way into the team.

... But that's just what I think!

GO CROWS! AND GO EAGLES! PREMIERS 2004!

:D :rolleyes: :( :) :o ;) :D :p :cool: :rolleyes: :D