Prediction Your 2019 Best 22? (Post Trade Period)

Simpson Jones Marchbank
Newman Weitering O’Brien
Murphy Cripps Fisher
Charlie. The Gov SPS
Pickett. H. Fasolo
Kruez. Ed. Dow

Kennedy Pickett Daisy Bugg

Our biggest improvement will most likely come from Cuningham, Kennedy and SPS.

Greater cohesion, running power and production in the middle of the ground will make us more competitive in 2019.

Can anyone provide an update on how these guys are tracking?

Newman/Bugg Marchbank Plowman
Williamson Weitering Settlefileld/Garlett/Cuningham
Murphy Cripps Simpson
Petrevski-Seton CCurnow JSilvagni
McGovern McKay Fasolo/Pickett
Kruezer Kennedy ECurnow
Fisher Dow O’Brien Walsh/Stocker/Polson

Here is some of my logic, especially since last weeks devastation.

I’ve shifted my thinking and have moved Jones out of our 22. I feel we need better balance with Plowman / Williamson combo. Newman to get 1st crack on oppo. small forwards. Bugg as alternative. Huge issue if either don’t do the job.
Wouldn’t be surpirsed if we ran Setters off half back as attacking defender, especially coming back from knee. Like to see Garlett and Cuningham given opportunity there as well. Simmo off wing to run deep back for more outside run.
Plenty of rotations thru midfield with hopefully now more size as well.

My best 22 (getting harder)

B: Plowman Jones Newman
HB: Cuningham Weitering Williamson
Foll: Kruezer Kennedy Dow
C: Walsh Cripps O'Brien
HF: Setterfield Charlie Fisher
F: McGovern McKay Murphy
Int: Simpson Marchbank SPS Curnow

Reserves (Northern Blues):

B: Bugg Goddard BSOS
HB: Garlett Macreadie Schumacher
Foll: Phillips Lang Polson
C: Pickett Stocker Thomas
HF: Fasolo Casboult Silvagni
F: TDK Kerr LeBois
Int: Lobbe Finbar Owies

Most of the reserves names above could easily be in our best 22.

and I haven't included Docherty (inj), possible inclusions of Gibbons & Cottrell, and any of the NB's signings in Palmer Collins Hill Pearce Fisher Blakey Wilson Penrith etc :straining:

Looks great - maybe Fasolo gets a gig early on in the year as Setterfield builds up form and confidence in the knee...Murphy to HFF and Faz to the pocket perhaps? Geez we may tear a few teams new ones in the ressies with that team!

Starting 22 looks on the money to me.

Murphy will play on the wing though. Need more experience further up the ground.

Murphy could potentially play for another 3-4 years as an outside runner.

Looks good.

Only thing I disagree with is Fasolo. I doubt we recruited him to play seconds .. if we can get him back to even close to his best then he's in the 22 and provides something that we lack imo. I'd probably slot him in where Murphy is, move Murphy to the wing where O' Brien is and move O'Brien into Cuningham's position. Cuningham starts in the 2's for mine and needs to win more ball to earn a spot. I agree he has potential but needs to step it up.

Fasolo needs to prove himself first IMO. Injury prone and poor defensively. If he steps up then great but I want to see him perform first. I think Bugg is a chance as is Polson and hopefully LeBois can get fit. At the moment I like Murphy up forward as he can kick goals plus he can go up onto the ball as well and be very damaging.

I find it interesting that the Best 22 forward line has 3 players whose top position would be in the midfield. Is it just that we are that bereft of other good forward options? Or we want to to fit more of our younger mids into the team? Not saying it's good or bad, but just interesting. Do other teams have something similar?

I just think you play to your strengths. If Fasolo or Bugg or Polson step up then great. I have no issues with anyone in our best 22 but they need to earn it. On paper at the moment our midfield looks to be our strength.

Fasolo needs to prove himself first IMO. Injury prone and poor defensively. If he steps up then great but I want to see him perform first. I think Bugg is a chance as is Polson and hopefully LeBois can get fit. At the moment I like Murphy up forward as he can kick goals plus he can go up onto the ball as well and be very damaging.
Pretty good but I agree with Red, if anyone needs to earn his position it is Cunningham. Fasolo has proven he can play and score consistently at the highest level. I am not a fan of playing mid fielders at forward pockets when we have specialists. I remember Eagles coach Simpson saying they spent years trying to make mids into half forwards and then realised they need specialists and went and got Ryan, Rioli...etc as he looked at Richmond and thought they got it right with Butler..etc. we don’t have many on our list at all so can see we are stretched but for me, better the guy who can kick some and has proven he can if he is fit. Otherwise very happy to see Thomas not in the team as well so loved that.

I really don't care who we pick. I want to see us pick in form and hard working team players. Finally we will start to see that happen. That is why 2019 is going to be a good year

Was gonna reply but you said it for me! Round one we will inevitably need to go with a couple of players that haven't 'earned it' right now, but I'd rather go with the bloke that has shown he is capable of consistently performing at AFL level for entire seasons rather than the guy who's shown glimpses.

Interestly, NONE of our Trade pick-ups have played Richmond in 2018.

So, I was thinking which one could replicate their last performance against the Tigers, IF they were selected for Rd 1 next year......
Here's the facts:
Setterfield (2017 vs Tigers) His debut game for the Giants too. 12 disposals, 6 tackles, 2 behinds and 4 score involvements.
Fasolo (2017 vs Tigers) 14 disposals, 3 behinds (previously in 2016, he snags 6 goals!!)
McGovern (2017 vs Tigers) Not the Grand Final either, due to injury. 12 disposals, 2 Goal assists, 6 Inside 50's.
Newman (2017 vs Tigers) 26 Disposals, 7 tackles, 7 Inside 50's
Bugg (2016 vs Tigers) 15 Disposals, 8 Tackles and THAT pre-goal /post-goal exhibition.

All 5 could make their debut Rd 1....I'd be excited if Setterfield hits 3 score involvements + 10 tackles at the coal-face, Fasolo nails 3+ goals, McGovern provides I50 entry headaches for Richmond, Newman does the same (after tackling Riewoldt x5), then Bugg ices the match with another "not respecting you Richmond" runaway goal!!

Best 22 could be interesting inviewing Rd 1.

Then again.....none of the above may happen....:(

Interestly, NONE of our Trade pick-ups have played Richmond in 2018.

So, I was thinking which one could replicate their last performance against the Tigers, IF they were selected for Rd 1 next year......
Here's the facts:
Setterfield (2017 vs Tigers) His debut game for the Giants too. 12 disposals, 6 tackles, 2 behinds and 4 score involvements.
Fasolo (2017 vs Tigers) 14 disposals, 3 behinds (previously in 2016, he snags 6 goals!!)
McGovern (2017 vs Tigers) Not the Grand Final either, due to injury. 12 disposals, 2 Goal assists, 6 Inside 50's.
Newman (2017 vs Tigers) 26 Disposals, 7 tackles, 7 Inside 50's
Bugg (2016 vs Tigers) 15 Disposals, 8 Tackles and THAT pre-goal /post-goal exhibition.

All 5 could make their debut Rd 1....I'd be excited if Setterfield hits 3 score involvements + 10 tackles at the coal-face, Fasolo nails 3+ goals, McGovern provides I50 entry headaches for Richmond, Newman does the same (after tackling Riewoldt x5), then Bugg ices the match with another "not respecting you Richmond" runaway goal!!

I reckon all 4 mature players traded in will play rd 1 and contribute positively together with Walsh and Stocker too.
So at least 6 changes for rd 1 we’ll give it a godod shake.

Who knows what will happen. Nice to have options. Let's just hope we have a mostly full list to choose from. With Russell now in charge of fitness I don't believe we will be picking players unless they are close to 100% fit.

Really looking forward to seeing how we line up in the pre season and where players play and how fit they are etc. I'm expecting a few changes

B: Plowman Jones Weitering
HB: Thomas Marchbank Simpson
C: Walsh Cripps Newman
HF: Murphy Curnow Fisher
F: McGovern McKay Fasolo
R: Kreuzer Kennedy Dow
IC: Curnow Bugg SPS Setterfield

Newman/Bugg Marchbank Plowman
Williamson Weitering Settlefileld/Garlett/Cuningham
Murphy Cripps Simpson
Petrevski-Seton CCurnow JSilvagni
McGovern McKay Fasolo/Pickett
Kruezer Kennedy ECurnow
Fisher Dow O’Brien Walsh/Stocker/Polson

Here is some of my logic, especially since last weeks devastation.

I’ve shifted my thinking and have moved Jones out of our 22. I feel we need better balance with Plowman / Williamson combo. Newman to get 1st crack on oppo. small forwards. Bugg as alternative. Huge issue if either don’t do the job.
Wouldn’t be surpirsed if we ran Setters off half back as attacking defender, especially coming back from knee. Like to see Garlett and Cuningham given opportunity there as well. Simmo off wing to run deep back for more outside run.
Plenty of rotations thru midfield with hopefully now more size as well.
Re Setters, yes could easily see him being used across half back to ease him back into footy after so many interruptions