Your A-Z of Footy

Richmondfan#1

Ok. Good. You are reading my post, that's a start. Here is my A-Z of footy. And if you are intelligent, you will know that there are many different topics featured in, not just my a-z but yours (if you can be stuffed to do it) as well. If you can't think of anything for a letter, just leave it out. Here is mine:

A: ANGER - Just one of the many emotions rushing through our bodies when supporting our teams (or teams in spideys case).

B: BRISBANE - The Brisbane based AFL team, the Loins have enjoyed success so far and I think they are soon to reach the top.

C: CARLTON - John Elliot and his controversial Caaaaaarlton, need i say more?

D: DANGER - Every team is in danger, every time they play. Afterall, no team is guaranteed a win.

E: ESSENDON - Well, what else starts with E? lol (i got a bit slack here)

F: FREO - Are definately on the way up.

G: GENIUS - The fella's that made up this great game. Bloody genius'.

H: HEART - No not heart attack's. Our heart belongs to the game and your team in general.

I: I (the letter) - There is no AFL player that has a surname starting with the letter I. (i could be wrong but not likely
smile.gif
)

J: JORDAN - The Michael Jordan of the AFL is James Hird (debatable!).

K: KELLAWAY BROTHERS - Soon to be the greatest players to have ever played AFL
wink.gif
. Ok, that may be a little byist!

L: LLOYD - How far will he go in the game? Will he destroy Lockett's record?

M: MY MUM - Who does Carey play for?
rolleyes.gif
I could be exaggerating a bit.

N: NORTH MELBOURNE - Or should that be under K? (kangaroos)

O: ORANGE - As a colour, never to be worn on a jumper
smile.gif

P: PREMIERSHIP - The grand prize.

Q: QUENTON LEACH - What the hell ever happened to him?

R: ROOS - Slang for kangaroos
wink.gif

S: SPEEEEEEECIAL - Who isn't?

T: TIME - The remaining time left in the game should be televised
eek.gif

U: UNBELIEVABLE - I'm refferring to Malcolm Blight; he can't seem to tear himself away from the game. Not that i blame him.

V: VOSS - How will Brett cope? Will he wear his halo?

W: WARREN TREDREA - Too inconsistent but can really perform well when he is having a good day.

X: X-RAYS - Jakovich is getting plenty of these. Eagle fans would agree.

Y: YELLOW 'N' BLACK - Premiers 2001!!!!!

Z: ZUES - God of all Gods. Football - sport of all sports.
biggrin.gif

------------------
Tigerland is not made up. Only real supporters have been there and know how to get there.

[This message has been edited by Richmondfan#1 (edited 31 December 2000).]

Okay RF1, lets have a go

A/-- Aggression, if you don't have any try a career other than AFL footballer

B/-- Bloodletting, watch any AFL club if they are 0/10 at the end of round 10

C/-- Carey, best player in the game at this stage

D/-- Drongos, that portion of club supporters that every club wishes they did not have

E/-- Ebert, he was known as God over here

F/-- Flag, this is what we play for boys & girls

G/-- Girls, have a look at them hanging around footballers

H/-- Hanger, get a tape of Ablett or Modra at play

I/-- Idiots, have a look at a WET crowd at a footy game, I'm there too

J/-- Jezza, have a look at the photo of him jumping on Jerka Jenkins

K/-- Kick, wish Bernie Quinlan would teach this skill to Warren Tredrea

L/-- Lines, how many damn lines do we need on our playing fields?

M/-- McGuire, Eddie is in everything else so I better include him here

N/-- Nine, will they get the free to air TV rights?

O/-- Ottens, great young ruckman

P/-- PORT POWER, hey, this is my list, get your own

Q/-- Queers, will any AFL player ever come out of the closet?

R/-- Roy fans, they have found a home with the Brisbane Lions

S/-- Sheedy, best coach in the land

T/-- Teddy Whitten, epitomized our great game

U/-- Under the table payments, have they really finished?

V/-- Vandals, people who try to change the rules

W/-- w***ers, the AFL tribunal

X/-- Xavier College, supplied James Davies to Essendon

Y/-- Young men, who are the heart & soul of our great game

Z/-- Zantuck, Ty Zantuck - Richmond player

------------------
Chris

Well done you two!
smile.gif
My turn...

A is for ARACHNOPHOBIA: An epidemic currently afflicting players at the Collingwood, St. Kilda, Melbourne and North Melbourne clubs in particular.

B is for BALL-UP: The soft option taken by the gutless maggots when they should be paying free kicks.
mad.gif

C is for COLONIAL STADIUM: Unnecessary, unloved, smelly, high-tech stadium that no one can get into - but it’s still better than Waverley.

D is for DRAGISEVIC: The man Wayne Jackson is actually paying umpires not to give Brownlow votes to.

E is for EDDIE and/or ELLIOTT: Over-exposed egomaniacs with their presidential boofheads stuck firmly in their respective pasts.

F is for ****: Thankfully banned at most AFL venues.

G is for GABBA: My home ground and I’ve never even been there!

H is for HANDSTANDS: Performed by Jason Akermanis after every Lions triumph.

I is for INTERNATIONAL: What Australian Football deserves to be.

J is for JUDAS: See Carey_is_King.

K is for KICK: What Murray Rance got out of Tony Francis’ first game.

L is for LEPROSY: What Shane Clayton must have because no one wants to go near him.

M is for MEMBERS: To football clubs, the most important people in the world between October and August, but somehow become invisible and insignificant in September when finals tickets are allocated.

N is for NAILS: What the Western Bulldogs’ self-proclaimed “Wog Squad” are as tough as.

O is for ONE: The number of finals appearances made by Nathan Buckley.
biggrin.gif

P is for PHILISTINES: Sydney’s sporting media mafia who continue to pretend Australian Football doesn’t exist.

Q is for QUEEN’S ENGLISH: Regularly abused by coaches, players, commentators and BigFooty contributors.

R is for RAT’S TOSSBAG: What Blighty won’t give after the Saints have tumbled to 1 and 8 and 16th place.

S is for SIMON BLACK: The 2001 Brownlow Medallist.
biggrin.gif

T is for TREVOR MARMALADE: The only reason people still watch The Footy Show.

U is for UNIVERSITY: Now defunct VFL club. Apparently Mobbenfuhrer barracked for them too.
wink.gif

V is for VICTORIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE (VFL): Meaningless mix ‘n’ match competition with 2 Tiger teams and no Lions. Go figure.
confused.gif

W is for WALLABIES: Seen live on channel 7 in preference to AFL games.

X is for XB FALCON: Former favoured mode of transport of league footballers, now replaced by Saabs and BMWs.

Y is for YIBBIDY YIBBIDA: What it will be for Rex, Brooce, Sandy, Robbo et al come 2002.

Z is for ZANOTTI, MARK: Last seen heading for Nimbin with Brad Rowe.

A few of mine may be the same as I haven't read all of the above.

A- Accident, A common word used at the Tribunal
B- Blood, Lost for your team
C- Consortium, looking like the new footy broadcasters
D- Dockers, Will they make the Finals
E- Eagles of course, what else would I put there
F- Finals, the business part of the year
G- Guts, what is shown by the champions
H- Horror Injuries, will they run rampent
I- Interstate, Every team goes there
J- Jakovich, A candidate and front runner for the Eagles captaincy
K- Knockout, Don't you just feel it
L- Legends, who we all love to watch, there have been many
M- Manchester, what Malthouse plans to make Collingwood into
N-Nicky Winmar, Great Aboriginal Player
O- Oval, thats what we play on
P- Players, footy wouldn't be here without them
Q- Qantas, which teams take this plane
R- Rovers, The small guys on the team, but often with the biggest hearts
S- Supporters, the great People
T- Time, sometimes runs out when you don't want it too, other times perfectly
U- Underground, The parking at Colonial
V- Victory, what every team strives for
W- Work, what some players don't do enough of
X- X Factor, does it really have an effect
Y- Yellow and Blue, WEST COAST FOREVER
Z- Zoo, where you should go if ya don't like footy.

RF#1,

I just wanted to tell you that there is an AFL player with a surname beginning with I but only one. Only one this year anyway.

Anthony Ingerson from Melbourne.

ok here goes:

A- arseholes: what we think of people who support other teams and try to scream louder then us during the game.
B- boring: highly unlikly to happen while watching footy (unless u know the results)
C- courage: what every player has
D- dees: the best team and the oldest team ever (premiers in 2001)
E- emotions: we certanly show alot of that during the season
F- fight: what every club had or will have to do at some point to remain in the afl
G- garbage: what you find on the ground in CS
H- hangover: what we all experience or will experience the night our team will win the flag
I- idiot: people who dont like footy
J- jump: what every player should be able to do but some unfortunatly can't
K- knock: what many players (and some supporters) recieve during a game
L- ladder: the most important thing during the home and away season (your position on it)
M- MCG: best ground ever, and my team's home ground
N- nausea: what everyone feels in a close match coming to an end
O- October: the month we all realise footy is over
P- players: well... what else can i say, without players there will be no game
Q- questions: the many questions we would like to ask the umpires after the game (then punch them in the face)
R- russell robertson: my favorite player who will win the brownlow next year
S- stages: the many stages we go through during the season... some bad some good.
T- temper: we all have a lot of that while watching a match
U- underrated: many clubs and players and coaches in the afl.
V- variety: the variety of merchandise avalilabe to us
W- weekends: best times during afl season
X- x- mas: what should be a happy time, remind many of the shocking affect of off-season and how far away it is!
Y- yourself: like many other you are the bases upon which afl lies on. without u and me the afl wouldn't be there.
Z- zoo: the scenery of the mcg during a match

Wow, that was long!
biggrin.gif

------------------
you may not like what i have to say... but i have to say it... so except it or suffer!
GO THE MIGHTY DEMONS!!! :)
#24 forever!

A-Adelaide : the big improvers for 2001
B-Bungi : Andrew Mcleod and 2001 Brownlow medalist
C-Crows : See A. OK enough about Adelaide
D-Delisted : Poor bastards looking from the outer this year.
E-Enough : When your side's 12 goals down at three quarter time, it's raining, the beers run out and your No.1 ruckman has just done a knee.
F-Football Park : The setting for twelve Crows wins this year (Sorry one more for Adelaide)
G-Grrrrr : An umpiring decision that went against your team. It was there but still pisses you off.
H-Holding the ball : A now obsolete rule.
I-Incipid : Any performance after a loss.
J-Jackson : Wayne, Mark or Michael. Any one of them would would keep a team of Psychiatrists in full time work for years.
K-Kick : A fundamental skill that about 1 in 10 players are able to do.
L-Laugh : For winners only.
M-Money : Channel 7 doesn't have enough.
N-Nine : But nine does.
O-Optus : Optus doesn't either.
P-Processes : We have to get the processes right (WTF)
Q-Queen : God save our gracious one. Come on the republic.
R-Republic : See Queen
S-Sharp Shooter : We all want one. Few have one. Pretty boys if you haven't got one.
T-Toughness : What it takes to get into Colonial.
U-U Beauty : Kick a goal. Take a screamer. Win a game. Get a free kick (unlikely).
V-Vilification : Naughty, Naughty.
W-Wog : Oops. See V
X-ex champion : Carey. But if he wants to come to Adelaide I'll get him the phone number.
Y-Yes, Yes, Yes, Nooooo. : If we had a sharp shooter he would've got that.
Z-Zip : The Crows will be 11-zip half way through the season.

This is a good and thought provoking topic, well done RF.

A - is for AYRES, the first coach to be sacked in 2001 from ADELAIDE

B - is for BOREDOM, that's if Essendon dominate the season yet again

C - is for COLLINGWOOD, who would we laugh at if there wasn't a Collingwood?

D - is for DOGGIES, a more frustrating side to barrack for than Geelong

E - is for ESSENDON and EVERYBODY thats a frontrunner who supports them

F - is for FARCICAL, the whole 2000 season as well as sevens conerage and also the team that starts with F, Fremantle - a complete farce.

G - is for GHERIG, will he ever learn, Between him and Spider, Blighty has his hands full

H - is for HAPPY HAPPY HAWTHORN, be affraid, be very affraid. They will be good.

I - is for INCOMPETENT, once again channel sevens coverage

J - is for JAPAN, about the only untapped international market that the AFL hasn't tried.

K - is for The KINGS, Carey, Hird and King - well he did win the best and fairest and was named as All Aus ruckman, good enough for a mention I reckon.

L - is for LOSERS - On the last games of the year, everyopne was but Essendon and Port, also for Lachlan - See M.

M - is for MURDOCH, Finally adding some life back into the AFL coverage. Hooray for Foxtel.

N - is for NINTH, See R.

O - is for OPTUS OVAL, the second best Surburban football ground in Victoria currently is use. Also ORGASM, what happens to Bruce when he calls Wayne Carey.

P - is for PISSWEAK, Geelong effort against StKilda as widely reported on 3AW by John from Brighton.

Q - is for QUEENSLAND, finally starting to take an interest in the best game in the world.

R - is for RICHMOND, if you could bet on which position a side would finish at TABCORP, Richmond would be Odds on to finish ninth, quite simply the most frustratingly good, yet still average side in the comp.

S - if for the SILLY SEASON, when we make up posts like this to ease the boredom.

T - is for THOMPSON, the best coach going around today, anyone who can take a side as bad as Geelong were 12 months ago to finalists in a year has to be doing something right.

U - is for UMBRELLAS, now banned at most venues, all in Victoria

V - is for VICTORIA, still the home of football and will always be, Syndey - Hands off our Grand Final.

W - is for WILL they or WON'T they, Silvagni and Kouta, will they be able to come back in 2001.

Y - is for YOUNG players, You have to give some credit to all recruiters, they know who to spot.

Z - is for ZERO, the amount opf flags one by the majority of Victorian teams in the last 30 years. Give everyone else a go, PLEASE!!!!

I was actually flamed (via email) for writing:
P is for PHILISTINES: Sydney’s sporting media mafia who continue to pretend Australian Football doesn’t exist.

The evidence grows more compelling by the day. There wasn't a mention on the Sydney-produced 'Sports Tonight' of the passing of AFL Legend and former Swan great, Bob Pratt.

Shame Channel 10, shame.

A= Ablett - nicknamed God
B= Bartlett - Games record holder
C= Carman and who can forget Carberry
D= Danihers - the family
E= Evans - controls the Pies at the MCG
F= Flower - owned one wing at the MCG for 15 years
G= Greig - owned the other wing
H= Hunt - the loudest caller in football
I= Ironmonger - redefined ugly in football
J= Jeans - a great coach kept it simple
K= Krakouer - Jim or Phil magic together
L= Lockett - A big man just unstoppable
M= Matthews - tough as nails player
N= Nicholls - a short but tough ruckman
O= O'Donnell - retired at 21 to play cricket
P= Parkin - gave us smalls, talls and the corridor
Q= Quinlan - Brownlow, 367 games and 804 goals
R= Rantall - a superb half back
S= Scott - made carrying a handbag butch
T= Tuck - 426 games
U= Umpires- useless
V= Van Der Haar - liked a smoke at each break
W= Whitten- "stick it up em"
X= X rated - the Richmond Essendon stoush at Windy Hill.
Y= Yeates - followed Malcolms instructions in 89 and got Dermie at the bounce
Z= Zantuck - famous for dispute with Barassi during a match

Originally posted by JUBJUB:
Originally posted by Mr Ripper:

F is for ****: Thankfully banned at most AFL venues.

Except for a couple at Optus Oval !!!!!
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

Yeah JubJub and if you don't start being nice, you and your boyfriend won't be welcome back!!