Opinion Your big 3 players for 2026 - Who are you backing in?

Apr 16, 2008
Ok everyone, it’s that time of year for us to get a little giddy over the players on our list. Some who are and continue to be workhorses, someone you just admire and enjoy watching and/or those youngsters who you just want to see show a bit. This is your big 3 thread where we can get around one another and enjoy the praise we see for our players.

For me:
- Campbell Chesser. I may have been the one who dropped his name very very early about guy we should be looking at, and it all went to plan from then on. The guy has had an injury interrupted career so far but towards the back end of 2025, imo, showed what he is capable of. Add to him another pre season and a better team and I think we see this guy really come of age.

- Jagga Smith. Another draftee I went in to bat for from the moment I saw vision of the chap. I’ve seen some quality youth roll through the door over my 46 years but tbh, this guy has me more excited than anyone I can recall. Light on, but when the whips are cracking, this guy will rise to the top imo. Give him the ball as often as we can and the results will show.

- Frankie Evans. Big fan and his end to 2025 was elite. I’m on the Frankie train and may in fact be conducting it 🤪 he loves a goal and is unselfish. Love the way he goes about it and honest think we have a gem on our hands which literally fell onto our laps.

That’s my 3 everyone. I’m keen to hear all your thoughts and why you are backing in your 3 💙💙💙

Ashton Moir: really think this is the year he gets that consistency in his game. The talents there no doubt.
Really excited about a fully confident, fit and flying Ashton Moir in our team.

Frankie Evans: I was so against this man when I first seen his name in our best 23 last year, then that last month I was so happy to eat all the negative words I had said about him. If he can back that up will be one of the favs in my household.

Big Skull O’Keefe: I’m backing him in, was at his first game with the misso and kids and we all really liked what we saw, I think with a more prominent spot in the team and with abit of confidence in himself and the backing of the coaches and us he can really provide something different to our team structure.

Billy Wilson: Kid has the run and dash we need. Good ball user and can play. Last few games showed that. Just needs a run at it and some confidence

Cooper Lord: He is a beauty. Hard, massive workrate and clean creative hands. Can find it and the workhorse every good side needs. Caught behind Cripps & Hewett but will hopefully get more time in the middle this season

Harry Charleson: Unlucky not to debut last season. Clean, one touch creative HB. Good overhead and hits targets by foot and can find a lot of it. Doesn't have an obvious weakness. Not quick (not slow) but smart. Tough country who will handle the step up

Honourable mention: O'Keefe

Thanks for this thread herecomesjuddy! It is such a great topic.

For me:

Ollie Florent - I saw enough of him at the Swans to know he is a very solid player. I think he brings plenty to our side. I liked him at the Swans. I will love him at Carlton.

Harry Dean - I loved his dad and I love him. I want guys on the field who are competitors. He will bring it in spades, and in a position of need too.

Jacob Weitering - we need him back in All Australian form and I am confident he will be in All Australian form. No one in the comp is better down back than this guy. And he will prove it again.

Sam Walsh

Jagga Smith

Harry McKay

Lachie Cowan - future captain if we can keep him away from Tassie. Think he'll play every game and the return of Newman and his onfield leadership will see him develop his footy IQ rapidly. Our version of Shannon Hurn.

Will Hayward - a genuine 'medium' forward who I think will pair brilliantly with Moir and Kemp (when he returns)

Ben Ainsworth - reckon he's got a point to prove. Looks in supreme condition. Think he'll pop up for a 1.5 goal a game season.

Sam Walsh

Jagga Smith

Harry McKay
Yep, same 3 for me. Want to see Walsh back to his best, injury-free, and pip Nicky for the Brownlow. Harry to own the forward line for the Coleman. And Jagga dominate from day one for the Rising Star.

Good thread HereComesJuddy

1. Sam Walsh, i don't think we've seen the best of him yet, his last few games last season in reduced gametime were elite.

2. Harry McKay, looking forward to him being the no 1 man in the forward line.

3. Campbell Chesser, we need run and kicking skills.

These 3 fire and we're a chance for finals.

Sam Walsh
Adam Cerra
Jagga Smith & Ollie Hollands (on the wing)

Aside from the obvious like Cripps, Walsh, Hewett, or Weitering, Cowan, Newman, or the big H-Mac (and the Sydney arrivals), the three I'll watch with interest are:
Harry Dean. Wouldn't be surprised to see him in Rd 0, and play most of the games for this season. I think he has a real presence, and he will be a strong addition to defence alongside some other strong defenders. He'll be a 'rock'.
Jagga Smith. Should add to our midfield from get-go, and be a strong favourite to win rising star. Expecting big things and some OMG moments. He's a 'gun'.
Ashton Moir. Excitement machine. Maybe even some 'goal of the year' nominations... He'll be a 'jet'.

took me little while to land on my top 3 I’m backing in.

Chesser: underrated in this draft period and I don’t mind this. Reckon he’s about to explode for us next year. Genuinely excited to see what he can achieve.

Walsh: caveat - provided he signs before the season starts and is co-captain. If that happens watch the f*** out. He will dominate. League won’t be ready for what he’ll unleash.

Jagga: was torn on number 3. Could’ve been Dean, florent, or hawyward but I’ve gone with Jagga. Kid will be itching to get out there and prove himself with dash and flair.

Billy Wilson: Kid has the run and dash we need. Good ball user and can play. Last few games showed that. Just needs a run at it and some confidence

Cooper Lord: He is a beauty. Hard, massive workrate and clean creative hands. Can find it and the workhorse every good side needs. Caught behind Cripps & Hewett but will hopefully get more time in the middle this season

Harry Charleson: Unlucky not to debut last season. Clean, one touch creative HB. Good overhead and hits targets by foot and can find a lot of it. Doesn't have an obvious weakness. Not quick (not slow) but smart. Tough country who will handle the step up

Honourable mention: O'Keefe
I am also on the Cooper Lord train. I genuinely think he may have another gear in him yet.

Opinion Your big 3 players for 2026 - Who are you backing in?