Squeak

Jun 5, 2002
Lexus Centre Parma Bar
Milwaukee Beers
I don't gamble with large amounts of money, hence these relatively small gambling PB's.

I won $175 for one $5 bet on the roulette table at Adelaide Casino. The fact I was 17 at the time was even better.

I won $157.20 for a $1 bet on a trifecta at Sandown dogs on a Thursday night a few weeks ago. The fact that I thought I'd missed it and didn't realise I'd got until I was at the car about to rip the ticket up made it even better.

What have been your biggest winnings in one event?

Benoit is god

Oct 24, 2001
Went to the pokies after a night at the trots one night a few years back. Stuffing about betting maximum bet through being bored, hvae no idea what i got but got free spins on the machine and when they where finished had 165,000 credits in my machine
ended up taking out $7,650 for a $50 outlay
:D

Not the biggest, but a couple of timely wins.
Footy trip to Launceston about 92, went to the Mowbray races. Me and a mate had just about blown the wallets on the first night, full of grog he saw a female jockey (Robin Clarke) and reckoned she looked alright. $20 e/w at 50-1, duly saluted. Back in town!
Similair situation on a mates buck's day at the Sale races. Liked the look of a horse in the yard, had a look at the boards, bookies had the thing at 20-1. We all pretty much loaded up on it, from (hazy) memory it started nearer 5-1. Oswald won by 12 lengths, afterwards looking at the form I don't even know how it made it to the finish, was just a nice looking horse. Saw it have a couple of city runs, to my knowledge that day is still the only race it has won.

F

Fall Out Boy

When i was 15 i decided to give school a miss, instead the boys and i went to the pub in Footscray to have a bet, some brews and to see the topless barmaids :p

I had a $12 quaddie and picked up $250. Doesn't seem like much, but to a 15-year old it was a fortune.

My biggest win was about 12 months ago, at a Moonee Valley night meeting.

I took a running double on the first two races, the field into one of the Ingham's horses.

In the first leg a horse called Ah Well won, paid $72 on the tote.
The Ingham's horse duly saluted, paying $2.80.

The double paid $870, much more then i expected. I was hoping it would pay around $300, i got a nice surprise when i went to collect.

Pieman7

Suspended
Jul 4, 2002
Collingwood FC
Got a trifectra that payed $375 last year, won $220 on the pokies at Crown June 8th which was a good day for me as I collected around $50 on the Tyson-Lewis fight too.

A couple of years ago I saw my Dad collect five thousand on a trifectra, I just had to go down and watch him collect and get a hold of the folding stuff for a few seconds.

Pieman7

Suspended
Jul 4, 2002
Collingwood FC
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
When i was 15 i decided to give school a miss, instead the boys and i went to the pub in Footscray to have a bet, some brews and to see the topless barmaids :p

Reminds me how I used to go down to the TAB during my free periods at school which was only two hundred metres up the road.

Danny Chook Fan Club

Feb 8, 2001
One of my biggest wins was a mistake.

Took an all-up for $20 on a couple at a Melbourne meeting, can't remember the details. The first one duly saluted, the second got nutted in a photo. Would have paid maybe $200-$250, but it was a footy day, so I wasn't taking too much notice.

Checking the rest of my results at the end of the day, I looked at the all-up ticket and noticed that I had put the wrong race down for the second leg, six instead of five. Hopped onto the internet to see how I went, lo and behold the second on has got up at $15. $700 return, pure arse.

Needless to say I was very happy with that turn of events, but I was also aware how dark I would have been if the actual selection had have got up and I'd done my dough through stupidity. Always check my tickets now.

Got two QuadXtras in one day back in my Uni harness racing punting days. Neither paid more than $150 each, but I only spent $8 on the both of them so I was pretty pleased.

Portia

#DrewBlood
30k Posts 10k Posts TheBrownDog Port Adelaide - Jesse Palmer Player Sponsor 2017 Podcaster Port Adelaide - Riley Bonner Player Sponsor 2016 Port Adelaide - Brendon AhChee Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Jarrad Redden Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Matthew Broadbent Player Sponsor 2013 Port Adelaide - Captains Club 2012 Sponsor Port Adelaide - John Butcher 2012 Player Sponsor
Oct 7, 2001
Fragile bastion of liberalism
Port Adelaide
Muckbuckle Dolmens
One night at the dogs made enough money to cover my losses on other bets, dinner and a couple of drinks.

Thats the best I've done, really.

Rusty Brookes

Aug 9, 2001
Preston
Hawthorn, Manningham Cobras
The pure arse bet: one of my favourites. I won $60 on the Caufield Guineas, two years ago by putting down the wrong number. (For Hawks fans, I was with Tommy Card so you can guess what I'd been up to all day).

In terms of money won I'm nowhere in the league of the guys here. My best day at the track was at last year's Emirate's Stakes Day where I won $150 on the first race I punted on, with the winner being Chong Tong. My grandmother had been backing Danny Nikolic throughout Spring and I decided to follow suit. I walked out in the black that day (including drinks, admission and food) which doesn't happen often with me. Although I'm strictly small-time my grandparents play the horses well: in the 1980s they won a quaddie which paid for a trip to Europe for the both of them.

Feb 15, 2002
Jackson-Steinem
Bluestar Airlines, Anacott Steel
Originally posted by Pieman7

Reminds me how I used to go down to the TAB during my free periods at school which was only two hundred metres up the road.

hahaha

I don't know you by any chance? ;)

I blame the teachers, they caught us at the Fun Factory in South Yarra so we started going to the TAB instead.

At the Gold Coast casino, on a $5 table won $750, all on the table cleaned up. The croupier said she'd never seen such a sustained run of outs by the dealer before. Went back the next night and won another $250. Paid for the holiday.

At uni '91 or '92 picked the last 6 races on Melbourne cup day, all $5 - $10 bets.

Feb 4, 2001
East Burwood
Arsenal
I would be so far down it`s not funny, but yes, i`ve had some nice wins. I`ve backed wrong horses and cleaned up, lost tickets and have had to put in claims, won on protests. I`ve also lost on bloody jockeys weighing in light, greyhounds shying at the post, greyhounds biting each other, hot favourites at the trots galloping, jockeys dropping their hands, you name it and I`ve freaking well done it.
Best win was about 10 years ago,gone down to the Newsagent to get my regular soccer magazines and popped in to have a bet. It was Gosford on a thursday afternoon last race of the day. Had a quick look at the screen,put the favourite on top and threw in 6 horses for second and third. Thought i had marked my card for a 50 cent unit, in my rush to get on i had done it for $3.00, the tri paid $1500 for the dollar,rather pleased, as was Mrs windyhill.
Had some magic wins on the football, Norm Smith medals (andy mcleod, shannon grant, dean kemp) rich v carl last year was memorable,silvagni`s 300, no mention of richmond all week, "get on" i thought and loaded up on the 13-36 margin, that was good fun. Have backed against Essendon a few times, especially when we travel interstate, got w.c.e a couple of weeks ago at the 13-36,they paid $5.00 for the dollar,great value. Don`t get me wrong, i want us to win every game,but I`m a realist. I hope i lose on the occassions i back against us.
I think we are a good chance v briz next week,should get good odds,however i expect adelaide to spank us when we have to go over there shortly......but yeah punting, so far down it`s not funny when I win it`s only a lend !!!!

Danny Chook Fan Club

Feb 8, 2001
Yes, I've still got Saturday's winning quaddie ticket in the wallet.

One out Shay Spice, one out St Stephen, the first two in the seventh, but I've whacked in ten of the thirteen in the second leg. Of course, the favourite salutes and I return $26.55 for my $10 outlay.

Could have taken the seventh quinella for $10 and returned $45, but then, I'm an idiot.

paulie

May 8, 2002
Victoria
Don't feel too bad mate if I had taken my usual quaddie I would have outlayed around $150.00 for my 26 bucks back.

Deej

Jun 27, 2001
Melbourne Victory
Won 800-odd on France in 98

Won well over a grand on Carlton in 95

My Dad had $12,000 on a horse i tipped him at doomben one day, it missed the kick by 6 lengths, got hunted up to sit 3wide outside 4th and coming round the turn it wobbled and ran off the track, finished the race hard against the outside running rail about 8 lengths in front...incredible performance. Pity never saw it run again, think it went amiss. Jaykel Star was it's name.

At Caloundra one day I had $50 left on me and 2 races left i thought bugger it i'm gonna do a let it ride and see what happens...first horse at EagleFarm(called Dark Charmer) had$25e-w paying $48 won by 6lengths pulling up and the second horse (Cav Lon) doubled up at $5 beat the odds-on fav. Walked out 30mins after the first bet with about 6-7grand.

That night I got very ****ed, believe me.