Your Club's List 2019

Apr 26, 2012
Always really enjoy this thread both as a SC resource but also as a broader footy discussion. Tell us about your club's players, where they might fit in 2019 and we can can keep track and update things as pre-season heats up and things become a bit clearer.

For the Tiges:

DEFENDERS

Jayden Short: 465k - Not a bad option for a young guy who had a breakout year last year and should continue to improve. We love getting the ball in his hands and should score well, probably somewhere in 90's, but we have a glut of good defensive options this year.

Alex Rance: 448k - Probably underpriced compared to what he is capable of, but would be a wait and see for me. Could well bounce back and might even see a change of role which could increase his scoring (see Garthwaite) but who knows, KPP players you can never be sure of.

Nick Vlastuin: 442k - Great player, probably not quite made for SC though. Average will probably keep creeping up but doesn't play a role where he will ever dominate SC. Whispers of another foray back into the midfield for next season though, so keep an eye on that.

Bachar Houli: 399k - Surprised he averaged so low last season, but did have his injury troubles. Will no doubt average higher next season, but he's hit that dreaded 30+ bracket now so hard to pick him, especially given other options available.

Brandon Ellis: 387k - We know he's capable of averaging far more than 71, but he's got a fight on his hands to get his spot back in Richmond's best 22, yet alone being SC relevant at this stage.

David Astbury: 377k - Solid as a rock at FB, but not a SC player

Dylan Grimes: 335k - Is an absolute star, but his SC relevance probably extends to counting on whoever his opponent is will have a bad day.

Nathan Broad: 290k - Fringe best 22 and not a SC type regardless, pass for me.

Ryan Garthwaite: 231k - General consensus is that he is too good to be playing VFL, but how they fit him in I'm not sure, maybe he takes the talls with Astbury and Rance plays more of a pure intercept role, but is a lockdown defender and won't score well either way.

Connor Menadue: 228k - Has elite pace, endurance and skills and you just think he should be a very good player, but hasn't been able to put it together as of yet. Big year for him to prove his worth, can't see him being very relevant.

Oleg Markov: 158k - Fit now after a range of injury problems over the last 18 months, plenty on the Richmond Board are advocating that he should be in our Round 1 team, but he's going to have to knock someone out. Wait and see but chuck him on a watchlist.

Ben Miller: 123k - Second year key defender, will be left to develop in the VFL you would think

Patrick Naish: 123k - Probably had a better first year in the VFL than most were expecting, and was an emergency a bunch of times towards the end of the year, but like Markov needs to knock someone out of a pretty settled backline. One to watch for a downgrade at some stage perhaps

Derek Eggmolesse-Smith: 102k - Cat B rookie who was injured last season, coming from a long way back.

MIDFIELDERS

Dustin Martin: 563k - I think he is underpriced and a good pick, we all know what he is capable of when he's fully up and going, started getting back to that at the end of the year after being clearly hampered by something early in the year.

Trent Cotchin: 486k - Probably can and should average more than he did in 2018, but most likely is never going to average premo numbers as a mid.

Dion Prestia: 482k - Always teases as a really good SC pick but constant niggling injuries hold him back in this regard. You'd be a brave man to take him on, possibly a decent late draft pick.

Shaun Grigg: 432k - Old workhorse, his best SC days are behind him and now as a 30yo probably isn't guaranteed a game every week anymore.

Jack Graham: 364k - A guy who will probably be a decent SC pick in years to come, should improve coming into his 3rd year where we often see guys come into their own, but probably not relevant this year.

Kamdyn McIntosh: 316k - What a character, alas he is borderline best 22 and not a SC player

Riley Collier-Dawkins: 121k - An exciting pick as that explosive tall midfielder, but expect him to be a bit of a slow burn and probably won't play a whole lot in 2019.

Luke English: 117k - Ready to go All-Australian midfielder, there will be chances as a young mid at Richmond after a bit of a cleanout of Miles/CEllis/Lloyd, but don't think he will start as best 22.

Jack Ross: 117k - Another ready to go inside mid, one to keep an eye on but in the same boat as English

Fraser Turner: 117k - Hard running wingman, pretty slight and I think the youngest person on an AFL list so wouldn't expect to see much of him next year.

RUCKS

Toby Nankervis: 553k - Battles hard all day, but undersized and probably won't ever win the hitouts enough to become a truly top-line ruck.

Ivan Soldo: 304k - Scores alright when he plays, he is a big boy who wins plenty of hitouts, but a bit of a dinosaur and I don't see him playing as long as Nank is fit

Callum Coleman-Jones - 123k (FWD) - Seen as having a big future and eventually filling that Ruck/Forward role which we don't really have at the moment, but hard to expect much from a second-year 200cm kid.

FORWARDS

Jack Reiwoldt: 504k - Had an excellent 2018 and deserved all the accolades that came his way. Think he will enjoy having Lynch in the team which will allow him to get off the chain a bit more and be more creative but don't see him increasing his average all that much.

Kane Lambert: 481k - Will keep doing his thing, good player but probably will be in that class just below premo.

Shane Edwards: 470k (MID)- Hard to see him playing a whole lot better than he did in 2018, just one of those 'mercurial' types that aren't going to be supercoach stars

Josh Caddy: 458k - One to watch for draft, with Lynch coming in he is expected to slim down a bit and re-enter the midfield rotations

Tom Lynch: 425k - Of course excited to see what Tom brings, but probably not enough of a discount to consider a guy coming into a new team off the back of a serious injury.

Jack Higgins: 392k - Great first year and will feature heavily in our midfield next year, but hard to see a second year player averaging enough to be a keeper.

Mav Weller: 334k - Not sure what we have in mind for Mav, but personally I see him as more of a break in case of emergency type

Daniel Rioli: 324k - Small forward who in our system is never going to score that well

Dan Butler: 317k - See Rioli

Jason Castagna: 317k - See Butler

Callum Moore: 280k - Showed some promise in 2018 but probably finds himself even further back now with Lynch coming in

Jacob Townsend: 278k - Cult hero but only just held onto his contract and don't see him being super relevant.

Liam Baker: 162k - Will be fighting hard to earn a spot in a glut of small forward options

Shai Bolton: 148k - Similar to Baker but has huge natural talent and his best is definitely good enough to be in our side. One to watch.

Noah Balta: 123k - Some suggestion he will be fast-tracked into the team as a Utility who can pinch-hit in the ruck but he's a second year KPP so a wait and see on Noah

Jake Aarts: 106k - Yet another small forward who has performed well for our VFL team for the last few years, will be playing very well if he manages to earn a game

Mabiol Chol: 102k - Saving the best to last, the Big Chol himself survived by the skin of his teeth and will run around again in 2018. A good floating donut chance, because who doesn't love the Chol.

There you have it, Richmond not hugely SC relevant imo, we have a lot of good players who score well but not great, probably a bit too even across the park to have too many guys really dominate. There are potential opportunities for rookies but a lot of competition for spots and there won't be a lot of assured JS for those guys who do get a game unless they really take their chance ala Higgins 2018.

Always really enjoy this thread both as a SC resource but also as a broader footy discussion. Tell us about your club's players, where they might fit in 2019 and we can can keep track and update things as pre-season heats up and things become a bit clearer.

For the Tiges:

DEFENDERS

Jayden Short: 465k - Not a bad option for a young guy who had a breakout year last year and should continue to improve. We love getting the ball in his hands and should score well, probably somewhere in 90's, but we have a glut of good defensive options this year.

Alex Rance: 448k - Probably underpriced compared to what he is capable of, but would be a wait and see for me. Could well bounce back and might even see a change of role which could increase his scoring (see Garthwaite) but who knows, KPP players you can never be sure of.

Nick Vlastuin: 442k - Great player, probably not quite made for SC though. Average will probably keep creeping up but doesn't play a role where he will ever dominate SC. Whispers of another foray back into the midfield for next season though, so keep an eye on that.

Bachar Houli: 399k - Surprised he averaged so low last season, but did have his injury troubles. Will no doubt average higher next season, but he's hit that dreaded 30+ bracket now so hard to pick him, especially given other options available.

Brandon Ellis: 387k - We know he's capable of averaging far more than 71, but he's got a fight on his hands to get his spot back in Richmond's best 22, yet alone being SC relevant at this stage.

David Astbury: 377k - Solid as a rock at FB, but not a SC player

Dylan Grimes: 335k - Is an absolute star, but his SC relevance probably extends to counting on whoever his opponent is will have a bad day.

Nathan Broad: 290k - Fringe best 22 and not a SC type regardless, pass for me.

Ryan Garthwaite: 231k - General consensus is that he is too good to be playing VFL, but how they fit him in I'm not sure, maybe he takes the talls with Astbury and Rance plays more of a pure intercept role, but is a lockdown defender and won't score well either way.

Connor Menadue: 228k - Has elite pace, endurance and skills and you just think he should be a very good player, but hasn't been able to put it together as of yet. Big year for him to prove his worth, can't see him being very relevant.

Oleg Markov: 158k - Fit now after a range of injury problems over the last 18 months, plenty on the Richmond Board are advocating that he should be in our Round 1 team, but he's going to have to knock someone out. Wait and see but chuck him on a watchlist.

Ben Miller: 123k - Second year key defender, will be left to develop in the VFL you would think

Patrick Naish: 123k - Probably had a better first year in the VFL than most were expecting, and was an emergency a bunch of times towards the end of the year, but like Markov needs to knock someone out of a pretty settled backline. One to watch for a downgrade at some stage perhaps

Derek Eggmolesse-Smith: 102k - Cat B rookie who was injured last season, coming from a long way back.

MIDFIELDERS

Dustin Martin: 563k - I think he is underpriced and a good pick, we all know what he is capable of when he's fully up and going, started getting back to that at the end of the year after being clearly hampered by something early in the year.

Trent Cotchin: 486k - Probably can and should average more than he did in 2018, but most likely is never going to average premo numbers as a mid.

Dion Prestia: 482k - Always teases as a really good SC pick but constant niggling injuries hold him back in this regard. You'd be a brave man to take him on, possibly a decent late draft pick.

Shaun Grigg: 432k - Old workhorse, his best SC days are behind him and now as a 30yo probably isn't guaranteed a game every week anymore.

Jack Graham: 364k - A guy who will probably be a decent SC pick in years to come, should improve coming into his 3rd year where we often see guys come into their own, but probably not relevant this year.

Kamdyn McIntosh: 316k - What a character, alas he is borderline best 22 and not a SC player

Riley Collier-Dawkins: 121k - An exciting pick as that explosive tall midfielder, but expect him to be a bit of a slow burn and probably won't play a whole lot in 2019.

Luke English: 117k - Ready to go All-Australian midfielder, there will be chances as a young mid at Richmond after a bit of a cleanout of Miles/CEllis/Lloyd, but don't think he will start as best 22.

Jack Ross: 117k - Another ready to go inside mid, one to keep an eye on but in the same boat as English

Fraser Turner: 117k - Hard running wingman, pretty slight and I think the youngest person on an AFL list so wouldn't expect to see much of him next year.

RUCKS

Toby Nankervis: 553k - Battles hard all day, but undersized and probably won't ever win the hitouts enough to become a truly top-line ruck.

Ivan Soldo: 304k - Scores alright when he plays, he is a big boy who wins plenty of hitouts, but a bit of a dinosaur and I don't see him playing as long as Nank is fit

Callum Coleman-Jones - 123k (FWD) - Seen as having a big future and eventually filling that Ruck/Forward role which we don't really have at the moment, but hard to expect much from a second-year 200cm kid.

FORWARDS

Jack Reiwoldt: 504k - Had an excellent 2018 and deserved all the accolades that came his way. Think he will enjoy having Lynch in the team which will allow him to get off the chain a bit more and be more creative but don't see him increasing his average all that much.

Kane Lambert: 481k - Will keep doing his thing, good player but probably will be in that class just below premo.

Shane Edwards: 470k (MID)- Hard to see him playing a whole lot better than he did in 2018, just one of those 'mercurial' types that aren't going to be supercoach stars

Josh Caddy: 458k - One to watch for draft, with Lynch coming in he is expected to slim down a bit and re-enter the midfield rotations

Tom Lynch: 425k - Of course excited to see what Tom brings, but probably not enough of a discount to consider a guy coming into a new team off the back of a serious injury.

Jack Higgins: 392k - Great first year and will feature heavily in our midfield next year, but hard to see a second year player averaging enough to be a keeper.

Mav Weller: 334k - Not sure what we have in mind for Mav, but personally I see him as more of a break in case of emergency type

Daniel Rioli: 324k - Small forward who in our system is never going to score that well

Dan Butler: 317k - See Rioli

Jason Castagna: 317k - See Butler

Callum Moore: 280k - Showed some promise in 2018 but probably finds himself even further back now with Lynch coming in

Jacob Townsend: 278k - Cult hero but only just held onto his contract and don't see him being super relevant.

Liam Baker: 162k - Will be fighting hard to earn a spot in a glut of small forward options

Shai Bolton: 148k - Similar to Baker but has huge natural talent and his best is definitely good enough to be in our side. One to watch.

Noah Balta: 123k - Some suggestion he will be fast-tracked into the team as a Utility who can pinch-hit in the ruck but he's a second year KPP so a wait and see on Noah

Jake Aarts: 106k - Yet another small forward who has performed well for our VFL team for the last few years, will be playing very well if he manages to earn a game

Mabiol Chol: 102k - Saving the best to last, the Big Chol himself survived by the skin of his teeth and will run around again in 2018. A good floating donut chance, because who doesn't love the Chol.

There you have it, Richmond not hugely SC relevant imo, we have a lot of good players who score well but not great, probably a bit too even across the park to have too many guys really dominate. There are potential opportunities for rookies but a lot of competition for spots and there won't be a lot of assured JS for those guys who do get a game unless they really take their chance ala Higgins 2018.

Good write up mate, think I agree with everything you've said, and very much agreed that we aren't overly SuperCoach relevant.

Only the 1 mid premo worth picking in Dusty.
Cotch, Prestia and co are just a tier below for SC, good for draft but that's about it.

Not going near Shorty with the glut of defenders we have to pick from this year.

Nank just doesn't win enough hitouts to compare with the Grundy's and Gawn's, might crack a hundred odd, but think that's about his limit for SC.

Lynch the only fwd I'll look at, and even that's unlikely with all the M/Fs available.
Will save my last pick in draft for Higgins, legit reckon he could be out 3rd highest SC scorer, he's hardwired to be a point scoring pig of the future.

Reckon we've only got 2 possibly viable rookies in Ross and Balta also.

And thanks for writing this so I don't have too :D

Relevance of the MIGHTY Melbourne Football Club for Supercoach 2019:

DEF:

Lewis ($454K) - Will likely be pushed further back into defence early in the season, and will likely receive a Vince-esque exit from the club and play a significant amount for Casey from around midseason onwards.

Salem ($445K) - Could be worth a go as a POD. Likely to receive more midfield minutes in 2019.

May ($444K) - As much as he is a KPD, he's previously scored an 80 or so average for the last 3 years and now playing for a decent team we could see that rise significantly. Pop him on your watchlist. Could be an upgrade target later in the season.

Hibberd ($399K) - Pig's role changed significantly last season as many will know who picked him. It's a no in 2019 for me.

Lever ($375K) - Won't play half the season due to last year's ACL. Upgrade target later in the season if anything.

Kolodjashnij ($364K) - Could be a worthy POD if he cracks into the 22. Word is he's training the house down, and could very well be in line for that HBF/WM position to provide us with that pace that we're missing. I'm iffy on him and would love to see him play some VFL footy and work his way into the team considering we got him as steak knives and GC were about to delist him. He's also played a significant amount of Auskick... whoops I mean NEAFL in recent years. I'd love to see him play some real footy before he goes in my team.

Frost ($332K) - He may be battling it out for Lever's spot for the first half or so of the year. May even be battling it out for O. McDonald's spot upon Lever's return. Too awkwardly priced and has never been particularly SC relevant.

Jetta ($320K) - Might finally be recognised for his efforts with an AA nom in 2019, but again not really SC relevant.

O. McDonald ($296K) - see Frost.

J. Wagner ($282K) - We've finally got some depth, so the GOAT may see some top level footy if he kills it in the VFL or if we cop injuries. Otherwise won't be particularly SC relevant in 2019.

J. Smith ($267K) - Will also be vying for Lever's spot in the team for the first half of the year. Has also been trialed as a third tall forward which I'm not particularly a fan of. Too awkward of a price, and even if he gets in the 22 he has low JS.

Hunt ($243K) - Could be an interesting one in 2019. He'll be gunning for that HBF/WM spot in the 22 along with KK, Stretch, etc. Even if he gets back to his best, he's not particularly SC relevant.

Petty ($161K) - Got exposed for the raw KPD that he is on debut last year. It'll be VFL for him until further notice.

Keilty ($124K) - So far down the order that he'll likely get delisted end of 19'. Would probably only get a crack if we had significant injuries to our KPD crop.

Hore ($117K) - Have seen him in a few SC squads so far and rightly so. Along with J. Smith and Frost he's gunning for Lever's 3rd tall defender role and very well might get a crack early to at least see what he has to offer. Hopefully we give him a run in the JLT and he'll be one to pop on your watchlist.

Jordon (MID) ($117K) - Might get a crack late in the year if anything, downgrade target if he gets the nod but with the depth we now have I doubt it.

Walker (FWD) ($102K) - Cat B cricket convert. If he does anything decent at VFL level he may get a look in, however I'm very doubtful.

MID:

Oliver ($623K)
- It's hard to believe that this chap is 21 hey? Doesn't typically get recognised for his greatness when it comes to Brownlow votes (hopefully that changes in 2019), and he was definitely snubbed of an AA spot in 17'. But this guy has made himself known as a SC Premo. Only a slight price increase on what he started with this year. Definitely one to consider.

Brayshaw ($527K) - Had an amazing breakout year after being snubbed for selection in the first 3 rounds, which saw him miss out on the Brownlow by 7 votes (imagine if he had actually played those first 3 games! :eek: ). Could be a worthy POD.

Jones ($459K) - Previously a player that you could rely on for a 90-100 average, however Chunk's getting on in age and the pace he once had is all but disappearing. He'll likely be playing up forward providing set shots at goal alongside Melksham. I hope we can get this loyal, longserving veteran a flag within the next few years, but his SC relevance has pretty much come to an end.

Harmes ($454K) - Took his game to another level (a la Brayshaw) in 2019 which saw him place 3rd in the B&F. Still only averaging 80s though. Keep an eye on him in the JLT. If he starts pushing that to 90-100 he might be worth a crack as a POD.

Viney ($450K) - If he can stay on the park in 2019 he should and will be in 90% or more of SC squads. He's due for a full season (he's never actually had one), but as we saw this year he's capable of a 90-100+ average and at that price you'd be silly not to start with him. Definitely one to watch in JLT and if he's named Round 1 with no injury issues then get him in your squad.

Fritsch ($408K) - Brilliant first year, and can literally play anywhere apart from ruck I suppose haha. Let's just hope Joey stays up forward a bit more in 2019. Not particularly SC relevant.

Kennedy-Harris ($301K) - With the offseason changes we have made, JKH will be even further down the pecking order. Unless we get ridiculous injuries, I'm actually doubtful he'll see senior footy in 2019.

Stretch ($285K) - see Kolodjashnij & Hunt.

Maynard ($239K) - Really loved him in his debut the other year, looked a bit more one dimensional in his next appearance where he copped an unfortunate season ending injury. Hoping he can string together a few good VFL showings next year to put his hand up for the best 22.

Baker ($124K) - My pick of the bunch for next year. Was probably one of the most consistent players in the VFL in 2018, and I reckon he'll be in with a great chance to eclipse Stretch, KK and Hunt for that pacy half back/wing position. Just a shame he gave his luscious ranga mop a bit of a trim haha. Keep him in consideration for M9 -M11. Hope we get to see him in some senior action during JLT.

C. Wagner ($124K) - Similar to Hore, another one of our mature age recruits. I'd even go to say he might even get a nod in the 22 ahead of his brother. Another one to keep an eye on during JLT if he gets a gig.

Nietschke ($117K) - Doubt Aaron will see senior football in 2019. I am keen to see what he can offer the team at VFL level though.

Sparrow ($117K) - Captain Jack is in the same boat as many of our other young draftees. Due to being our first selection, he may get a look in later in the season. Possible late season downgrade.

Chandler ($108K) - Our first selection of the rookie draft will likely try and gun for that small forward role at some point during the season. However, he is so far down the pecking order that I doubt it.

RUC:

Gawn ($692K)
- Now you're probably thinking I'm going to say lock. But for me Grundy and Gawn are far too pricey to start with in 2019. History shows that most of these 650-700K players will dip in price within the first 5-10 rounds. So I'm likely going to start with something like a Goldstein/Nankervis combo with the plan to upgrade to a Grundy/Gawn when they drop in price. I'm also weary of the Preuss effect if MFC are going to opt for the dual-ruck formation as many are suggesting.

Preuss ($240K) - Big Preussy is a bit on the awkwardly priced side for mine. Likely to be playing a lot of Third Tall Forward with stints in the ruck, or alternately playing ruck at Casey and getting call ups against teams with tall defences/better ruck options. Will be one to have a gander at during JLT, but not likely to be SC relevant.

Bradtke ($102K) - Cat B Basketball convert. Extremely raw. Likely to play VFL, if not even suburban footy under the new rules that we have seen a la Tom Jeffries (NM).

FWD:

T. McDonald ($530K) - Another possibly interesting POD, however rather pricey to start with. I'd even go as far to say he's a much more relevant option than Franklin given Franklin's inconsistency and proneness to injury. Proven 85+ scorer for 4 years in a row and this year edging closer to averages in the 100s. Definitely one to consider, especially now that Hogan is gone and he'll be the main target.

Petracca (MID) ($443K) - Another player that I'll likely be starting with. Many predicted 2018 to be his breakout year, however it turned out it was Gussy's breakout year. I have faith that Tractor will break out sooner than later and become that Dangerfield/Dusty-esque mid/forward that helps us to greatness. I'll likely be starting with him given he's likely to get more midfield time.

Neal-Bullen ($403K) - Similar to Jetta, he's becoming renowned for being the best pressure forward in the comp topping the comp in pressure acts and metres gained. Just not particularly SC relevant and can be somewhat inconsistent at times which results in many of our fans calling for his head each week.

Melksham ($400K) - One that I was almost considering starting with this year. Melksham has become quite a reliable player to kick 2-4 goals in each game, and also providing assistance further up the ground at times. SC scores can be quite erratic, so it's a no from me.

Garlett ($375K) - From what I understand he had a very dismal year personally, which effected his motivation and performance onfield. I wish him all the best and hope we can see the Jeffy of old once again, as his Davey/Farmer/Betts-like explosive games are what we are truly missing and it would be great to have it once again. Another erratic SC scorer though, so not particularly relevant.

Hannan ($326K) - Could very well end up playing every second game as he is borderline best 22. Much more reliable options with better JS out there.

Spargo ($311K) - The Spark Plug also had a ripper debut season which saw him play 15 games. A little bit more one dimensional than say a Fritsch. In the same boat as Hannan/VDB/etc and might be constantly in and out of the best 22.

T. Smith ($311K) - Probably 4th or 5th or so in line for the tall forward gig. Have a feeling he could get the chop at the end of 2018.

vandenBerg (MID) ($283K) - It was truly great to see him finally come back after the ridiculous amount of time he spent on the sidelines injured. Not one for SC though as he's also on the borderline of the best 22.

Weideman ($243K) - As much as he's a KPF, this could be an interesting POD/Cash Cow pick as I think there's up to 200K to be made here. If you have the finances for it, he's shown late last year that he can get 60-100 points as that second tall forward (was horrid as a third tall/ruck relief). Pop him on your watchlist.

Bedford (MID) ($117K) - I'd probably have him ahead of Sparrow, Jordan and Nietschke. Likely to get similar value out of him to Spargo if all goes to plan and he gets a crack in the 22. Watchlist for JLT.

Bolded
- Those currently on my shortlist.

NB. We're also likely to have one more SSP player, whom will quite possibly be Jay Lockhart (Casey). He'd be in the same boat as Hannan/vandenBerg/etc for that medium forward role.

Only going to do relevant players. Won't include rookies as it's basically pick them if they play, Cavarra, West and Smith the few likely to play games.

DEF:

Matthew Suckling - 497K
Was a surprisingly good scorer last year. Only one score under 75 and some big scores in 123 and 115. But is mostly in that 80-90 range. Much better options at his price and given he's 30 years old. Predicted average: 84

Jason Johannisen - 465k
I think everyone knows how good this guy can be... including opposition coaches. There's the problem, he's the #1 bloke on every coaches tagging list. The Hawthorn game last year sums up JJ perfectly. 25 touches to half time, bog by an absolute mile, gets tagged after half time and only has 7 touches. Just can't pick a bloke who struggles so much with the tag. He does have a huge ceiling with scores of 139 and 136 last year. Predicted average: 87

Bailey Williams - 441k

Have seen some interest on this board in Bailey and I can see why. Had a pretty good year for a third year player and his been set up to become a midfielder in 2019. Before getting injured vs North Melbourne he had a six game stretch where his scores didn't deviate outside of 78-90 (90, 82, 87, 78, 78, 89) so he has shown consistency along as a good ceiling with a high score of 139. Just think there's better options and at 441k if he does explode to premo it will only be another 100k or so to bring him in. Predicted average: 84

Hayden Crozier - 428K
This is the one of me down back. Got injured in the first game last year and struggled in his first games back, but post bye he really found his groove down back. Averaged 97.4 over that 10 game period with a low score of 69 and a high of 137. I reckon that's his average for next year give or take. Only worry I'd have is that good scoring patch came when Easton Wood wasn't in the team for the most part and they're both intercepting defenders, so that could shave a few points of his scores. Has been one of the standouts in preseason from training watchers. Predicted average: 94

Easton Wood - 339k

Is underpriced but besides 2015 has never played over 18 games. But between injury and for some reason playing forward last year he's probably 20 points underpriced. Predicted average: 82

Ed Richards - 319k

There's always one player who breaks out in their second year, but it's anyone's guess who does it. Has been training with the midfield and looks to be moving up to a wing/half forward. Predicted average: 77

MID:

Jack Macrae - 689k

Star. Superstar. As someone who didn't have him last year that month patch where he was simply amazing was just impossible to come up against. 141, 189, 156, 177. Has a ceiling up their with the Dangerfield/Fyfe's or the world and doesn't kick goals (only kicked multiple goals once last year) so you could make a case it could improve. One score under 98 outside of the game he got injured and went over 130 10 times. There's risk when picking him in that Beveridge moves players around so much and Liber is back. Do you wanna pay 650k+ for him when Beveridge could play him at half forward/wing for a game or do you wanna get a Mitchell/Cripps/Oliver/Neale who are gonna attend almost all center bounces? Probably the latter. Predicted average: 119

Marcus Bontempelli - 564k

Annoyingly only missed out on forward status by 2%, would have been a lock if he got it. Supercoach wise he's the main sufferer from Bev's versatility fetish, just spends way to much gametime up forward. I get it from an actual footy perspective as he's our best forward, but it just kills his sc scores. Has had a full preseason for the first time since 2016 and has all the ability in the world (went 115+ 8 times last season) but my final line with Macrae applies to Bontempelli also. Is underpriced, but better off waiting to get him in even if it costs you 70k or so. Predicted average: 109

Lachie Hunter - 555k

Surprise packet last year. If you said to people Hunter would average more than Crouch, Merrett, JPK, Sloane and Zorko they would have laughed at you. But he was very consistent and showed he has a huge ceiling with scores of 142, 155 and 146. Had a lowest score of 86 over the last ten round and averaged 108.7 in that period. Has missed one game in the last three years so is super durable. I don't think he can make a jump much higher than this and I think he'll have a similar SC career to Steele Sidebottom from here on in, where besides having month long patches where he looks like he could go 110+ he'll (besides Sidebottom's 2014 season) always be a 95-107 average player. Predicted average: 99

Josh Dunkley - 516k

See forwards.

Toby McLean - 514k
See forwards.

Mitch Wallis - 498k
See forwards.

Tom Liberatore - 300k
Bargain. I feel like with Tom you'll either convince yourself to pick him or not and nothing will change your mind. This will be the lowest he's been priced since he was drafted. Has seasons of 107 and 110 behind him although he won't be doing that again as our gameplan has changed from 'Minson taps it to Liber.... that is it'. Has come back in good condition and is in full training. You'd be certain that 2017 was just a complete write off and that you'll get something close to his 2016 season, where he averaged 95 or so when you take out injury effected games. I think he's a must have this year. Predicted average: 96

RUC:

I don't even think we know what our ruck set up will be. English will be a supercoach stud, but that's probably a little way from happening.

FWD:

Josh Dunkley - 514k

I'll just throw some numbers at you. Moved into the midfield at round 15 and scored 105, 86, 88, 105, 147, 132, 106, 157, 116. 9 games at 115.7 average. Was played in his actual position and thrived. I'm willing to bet anything he'll be a top 4 forward this year. I understand the worry with Liber coming back and him losing midfield minutes, but don't, he's a walk up start in the guts and most likely to attend our most CB's this season. Predicted average - 106

Toby McLean - 514k

He was basically the opposite of Dunkley, started the year on fire (pre by average of 106, two scores below 91), then got moved forward and his post by numbers were not great (82 average, two scores above 91). The problem for SC is that unlike Dunkley he's actually a really good forward and it's almost better for the team to have him forward. He could and should still score well and his prime could be a Robbie Gray type, but even Gray is inconsistent in that role. Have a look and use him as an upgrade target if he is scoring well from the get go. Predicted average: 89

Mitch Wallis - 498k

Had his second best averaging season last year in a newer role where he played almost exclusively as a forward. Was super consistent and had only one score below 77 and that was a 69, so really didn't have what I'd consider a 'bad score' for a forward all year. Just to show his consistency of his 18 games 13 were between 80 and 105. So you basically know every week you're going to get a decent score while not getting a match winning score. Better options around that price with Heeney and co, but you could do worse. Predicted average: 93

They're the only players I'd even be close to looking at outside of rookies. So my top five picks would be..

1. Liberatore
2. Dunkley
3. Crozier
4. Macrae
5. Bontempelli.

PREMIERSHIP COAST

DEF:

Shannon Hurn - 523K 96avg
Career best year last year winning his first AA jumper and captaining his side to a flag.
He has improved like fine wine and the new kick in rules make him as relevant as ever. Doesn't tackle much but has a friendly kick top handball ratio, DE%, contested possies, marking game. Plays every game Predicted average: 99

Jeremy McGovern - 483k 89avg
Guy is a gun and has a lot more influence on a game than CD give him KOTD for. Marks everything and kicks often. Doesn't have the fitness base to get the cheap possies and isn't expected to. New 6/6/6 rules may make it harder for him as the forward lines may be more open and make him more accountable Predicted average: 89

Brad Sheppard - 418k 77avg

Missed the grannie and will be hungry for a taste. Guys a gun. For his size he's a machine. Fully fit and ready to go.
Can't see any major improvement from him scoring wise. Predicted average: 77

Tom Barrass - 395K 72avg
This guy has AA in the bag this year. Will only get better. Should improve his SC average too. Risk not picking him at your peril. Marks it more than most. Made the yank his bitch most of the GF. Gets to almost every contest and is rarely beaten. If only CD awarded points for tap aways (spoils) like they do for tap ons Predicted average: 88

Liam Duggan - 375k 69avg

Great small defender. Uses it well and is hard at the contest. Could possibly break out one year but its not this year. Pass.
Predicted average: 70

Tom Cole - 339k 62avg

Great small defender. The new Sammie Butler. Not much chop for SC though. Pass. Predicted average: 65

Lewis Jetta - 335k 61avg
No Pass. Will get a fair few kick out when fit. Predicted average: 65

Will Schofield - 253k 46avg
Was unlucky not to get BOG in the grannie. This guy was huge. I've always had a man crush on him and just love his story. He could retire tomorrow without ever being in any one persons SC team and it wouldn't matter. Hnnnggg Predicted average: 50

Oscar Allen - 236k 54avg
This kid can play. Has all the attributes to go nuts. Great size and agility. Want him in my team just due to the excitement he gives me in the lower regions. Will play games and could possibly make Lecras old spot his own.
Has competition with Waterman who I also rate but m,ore as a CHF or wing than as small pressure forward.
Keep and eye on him Predicted average: 77

Kurt Mutimer - 137k
Wont get a game Predicted average: 0

Josh Rotham - 123k
Wont get a game Predicted average: 0

Francis Watson - 123k
This kid has got moves. Running half back. Rangey. Still as bit raw but has been building a tank.
Possible game to see if he gets a new contract but dont expect him to play enough to make money Predicted average: 55

MID:

Andrew Mad Dog Gaff- 587k 108avg

Gaffy. Poor old Gaffy. Missed the grannie due to maddogism. Will be hungrier than the Jarman brothers at Shane Ellens bucks party. If he wasn't suspended for the first 2 weeks Id probably start with him. Can't see him going backwards only forwards.
Will be a juicy POD if you can get him in as an upgrade. Predicted average: 112

Elliot Yeo- 585k 107avg

This guy will be a SP one day. I reckon he's only going to improve his average this year but can see the teams with better taggers getting in his way of a truely SP year. Has a beautiful game for SC. Contested beast who can mark, kick a goal and has the tank. Predicted average: 112

Jack Redden- 517k 95avg

Had a few stinkers early last year which has reduced his price.Had averaged 103 three times in the past. 7 games over 125 last year. with a 154 ceiling. loves a tackle. Gets plenty of it. He's not a flashy player but is discounted and reliable. Priddis Mk2.
I like him as a M8-11 so I'm locking him in now. Predicted average: 103

Luke Shuey - 492k 90avg

:eggplant::eggplant::eggplant: Not the greatest SCer due to not getting enough of the ball but he is cheap after battling injusy last year. Can go big but not often enough to be a true SP. Would make a very sexy M8-11 Predicted average: 103

Chris Masten - 418k 77avg
Never been a great SCer. Outside player. Lots of tatts. Good celebrator. Pass. Predicted average: 75

Dom Sheed - 394k 72avg
Should play every game this year after adding to his game and playing wing in Gaffs absence. He's a decent player but unlikely he will ever be a SC premo. Pass. Predicted average: 90

Mark Hutchings - 360k 66avg
Guy can tag and run all day. Great role player. Not a SC player. Pass. Predicted average: 66

Brayden Ainsworth - 234k 54avg
Played a few games last year. Definetly shows something but not this year he doesnt. Pass. Predicted average: 54

Mathew Allen - 123k MID/FWD
Third year player who has built his tank and has been working with the midfield. Expect a few games from him but can't see him being relevant or playing any number of games in a row. Predicted average: 66

Hamish Brayshaw - 123k
Can play but wont play enough to be relevant. Pass. Predicted average: 65

Jarrod Cameron - 117k MID/FWD
Every chance to play a fair few games in Lecras old spot. Wont be surprised if he starts round 1 or round 14. Watch list. Has DPP so better selected as a forward. Predicted average: 65

Luke Foley - 117k
Might get a game but not enough to be relevant. Pass. Predicted average: 65

Xavier Oneill - 117k
Wont play. Pass. Predicted average: 0

Brodie Riach - 102k MID/FWD
Wont play. Pass. Predicted average: 0

RUC:

Nic Naitanui - 524k 96avg
Wont play until after the byes. Maybe after that if he goes nuts but will be coming off a knee so no.Pass. Predicted average: 90

Tom Hickey - 485k 89avg
Gun. St Kilda will regret letting him leave. Has worked hard to prove himself and looks primed to take it on. Should play early and its his spot to lose. Will play along side vardy so don't expect any huge scores. Pass. Predicted average: 90

Nathan Vardy - 306k 62avg RUCK/FWD
Good footballer. Tackles, reads the play well. Kicks a roll or two. Can't ruck. Pass. Predicted average: 65

Fraser McInnes - 226k 46avg
Wont play. Pass. Predicted average: 45

Keegan Brooksby - 202k
Wont play. Pass.

Bailey Williams - 117k RUCK/FWD
Wont play. Pass.

Harry Edwards - 103k

Wont play. Pass.

Patrick Bines - 102k RUCK/FWD

Wont play but would make an excellent R3 Donut loopholer

FWD:

Jack Darling - 471k 86avg

Our most exspensive and highest averaging forward. Crazy. This guy was huge in the first 10 weeks with JJK on the sidelines. Darling is Mr brainfade but has proven when he's on he is on. Could go nuts and average 110. Could take back to 80. Consider as a POD. Predicted average - 90

Jamie Cripps - 440k 81avg

I reckon this can can improve a touch more. Will get a few midfield minutes but not enough to be relevant. Great for draft though. Predicted average: 85

Josh J Kennedy - 397k 73avg

:eggplant::eggplant::eggplant: If you don't have a beard you don't deserve to be able to even consider this sexy bearded beast in your team.
I want to lock him in and will do what I can to afford him. Cheap. Over his injuries from last year. Gun but yes a KPP butr at his price its a risk worth taking. Predicted average: 93

Brendon Ah Chee - 348k 64avg

If he gets a game will he take it on and make a role his? Decent playuer but I cant see it happening. Josh Smith is ahead of him IMO. Pass. Predicted average: 64

Liam Ryan - 336k 62avg
Ryan can play. A ready made rookie he did alright for us last year but as a small forward who doesn't get a lot of it his SC potential is average so he's a pass. Predicted average: 65

Willie Rioli - 318k 58avg
Will play more midfield. Will score better. Will be a gun. Love Willie. If SC was a points based game he would be one of my first picked. Expect big things from him this year just not in SC. Pass. Predicted average: 72

Nathan Vardy - 306k 62avg RUCK/FWD
See Rucks

Jake Waterman - 304k 56avg
Excellent reader of the play. Links up and runs hard. Really hope to see more of him but he will be fighting for a spot all year. Didn't have the tank to run out the season last year after playing most of the first half and scoring fairly well. Watch list maybe. Predicted average: 65

Daniel Venables - 258k 47avg
Will improve but not enough to be relevant. Should play most games and increase his output. Pass.
Predicted average: 65

Josh Smith - 244k 45avg
Josh is an interesting one. Looked like a player but was out of favour at Collingwood.
This bloke is fit. Has broken all our running time trial records and is very keen to impress and earn a game.
If he gets a role that suits him he could go back to his early years at Collingwood.
Wont be surprised to see him line up round 1. Watch list.
Predicted average: 75

Jarrod Brander - 135k 25avg
Kid can play but not this year. Pass.

Mathew Allen - 123k MID/FWD
See MIDS

Jake Petruccelle - 123k 21avg
Kid is a jet. Quick and has shown a bit but wont play enough to be SC relevant. Pass.

Jarrod Cameron
See MIDS

Bailey Williams - 117k RUCK/FWD
See RUCKS

Patrick Bines - 102k RUCK/FWD
Mr Loophole again. See RUCKS

Brodie Riach - 102k
See MIDS

Almost the entire North list could be labelled "sneaky value for draft leagues". Can't see much decent JS for rookies apart from McKay and Goldy is about the only one with genuine premium credentials.

DEFENDERS

Jamie Macmillan $440,200
Jeez, how is this bloke our highest priced defender? Good player, good bloke but that low-mid 80s is about his level. Fun fact: I once asked him at a function whether he wouldn’t mind playing on from kickouts a bit more often to pad his stats, just to get me through to the byes. He laughed and said “Nah sorry mate, I hate SuperCoach”. On that basis alone, avoid. North defence was better when we had Spud Firrito in it winning the SC weekly prize that one time.

Majak Daw $424,300
Get well Maj.

Scott D Thompson $419,000
Not only is he a non-starter, he’s missing round 1 suspended and will probably suck some coaches into picking his replacement, who will then languish in the VFL and on your bench until round 9.

Robbie Tarrant $403,000
Nope. Great full back, not great SC scorer. Capable of punching out good scores occasionally but prioritises not letting forwards kick goals.

Jasper Pittard $365,700
Has averaged 90+ in the past, but only once in 2016. Is priced at about 80 so probably not worth the midprice risk. Should get a chance to play in a SC-friendly role though.

Luke McDonald $362,200
I kept this *er all last year. Always seemed to have a more urgent trade to make. I’ll say this - he knows full well how much he stank up 2018 and he’s almost certainly underpriced again this year. Chances of him getting all the way into the premo conversation are slim but could well be good value in the later rounds in a draft league.

Sam Wright $356,200
Yeah Nah.

Marley Williams $340,500
Nobody’s more surprised than me how much I love this bloke since he came over. Played last year through the after effects of back surgery so should be stronger and fitter this year with that behind him. At the arse-end of a draft he’s probably slightly undervalued on last year’s averages.

Ed Vickers-Willis $318,300
I’m not going to care about his SC scores, I’m just looking forward to him having an injury free year. Without a pair of PCL injuries he would have been rising as one of the better young medium defenders in the game.

Sam Durdin $202,300
I declared last year Sam’s Big Year, make-or-break time. Majak jumped into the spot he was probably next in line for in 2018 and he only ended up playing the one game. There have been plenty of guys who have salvaged their careers at the last gasp and he may well be one, but I can’t think of any who did that and were also good SC value at $200K

Tom Murphy $195,400
Lovely right foot, did well to get a few games off the rookie list last year, but JS looks iffy, lost the DPP that made him a useful loophole, and hasn’t shown the ability to accumulate enough touches to be good value at this price.

Ben McKay $123,900
Lock. AFL ready game and body, very unlucky not to play last year with all 3 of North’s KPDs playing full seasons. First in line for Majak’s spot and priced as a rookie. He’s a frickin beast with excellent JS prospects.

Declan Watson $123,900

Picked up in Bryce Lewis’s farewell tour and KPD drafting spree. Now training as a 3rd tall forward type. If he plays he’s cheap.

Joel Crocker $117,300
Go and see if you can find the photo of him doing a boxing drill with Robbie Tarrant. It’s hilarious. D/F DPP for loopholes.

Tom McKenzie $114,400
Fair way back in the pecking order at this point but seems to have some relevant skills. Late season DPP loophole option.

MIDFIELDERS

Shaun Higgins $560,200
At age 30 he’s gone 95/78/92/103 at North, having been a career high-70s/low-80s scorer at WB. It would be brave to predict he’s got another level in him at his age, though a 105 wouldn’t be surprising. A bit short of true premium status, but you’re likely to be able to pick him up as an M3 in draft where he’d be pretty good value.

Ben Cunnington $522,900
AFL Player Ratings likes him a lot more than SC does, mainly because it values effective disposals from contested possessions differently. Looks like mid-90s is about his level. Once possible scenario is him resting forward more with the improved midfield depth and kicking more goals. Still not a midfield starter.

Jared Polec $513,500
CD already rates him as an elite winger but doesn’t win enough of his own ball to break into the 105+ range. Is apparently working on that, but there's about 6 other guys who are more natural contested ball winners in North's midfield.

Trent Dumont $452,800
At 23 and having just passed the 50-game mark, he’s settled in to the senior side and showed a healthy ceiling. Should improve again on last year’s 10-point jump. Will make some draft coaches very happy.

Ben Jacobs $435,500
Actually transitioned pretty successfully to being a genuine 2-way mid last year. 4 tons and 3 more 85+ from his 13 games. His 80 average was up 28 points on 2016 and 15 points on his previous best. However his fantasy relevance still revolves around who he’ll be shutting down each week.

Jed Anderson $431,400
Going to be something like 6th banana behind Cunnington, Higgins, Polec, Tyson, Jacobs, and sharing mid time with Hall, Dumont, LDU and god knows who else. Nice kid. Good on him for saving his career.

Dom Tyson $411,000
Should be given a role that gets him back to winning more of his own ball. Has upside but hard to see him crack up into relevance. Would be good value at M4 or later in draft.

Aaron Hall $389,200
We know he’s got the ceiling. Under $400K is tasty if Scott can get him playing consistently. Go on, you know you want to.

Paul Ahern $375,100
Honestly, what I just said about Hall could apply to Paulie here. But nobody spends that much on a 2nd year mid. Get him for your keeper league.

Luke Davies-Uniacke $197,500
Everyone who paid $190K for him last year gets another bite of the cherry. Should play more, and better, than last year but with all of Hall, Tyson and Polec likely to get the nod in the early going he’s likely to have to bash the door down in the VFL first.

Tarryn Thomas $175,800
Once he gets in I think he’s a good chance to be Jaidyn Stephenson-like, but better overhead. Tricky price for a downgrade target.

Bailey Scott $117,300
Smart, hard running, good ball user, skinny af. Hopefully gets on the bubble at a convenient time mid-season.

Curtis Taylor $117,300
Apparently impressing with his work ethic in preseason but can’t see him getting any more than a taste of senior action. Watch for 2020. MF/DPP if you want a late season loophole.

Tom McKenzie see defs

Kyron Hayden $102,400
A lot to like about his athletic attributes but a long way back in the pecking order right now. Hopefully does enough to stay on the list and be a good rookie option in 2020. M/F DPP for your loopholing.

Red Óg Murphy $102,400
Irish Cat B kid, will spend all year in the VFL.

RUCKS

Todd Goldstein $548,000
With the Brayden Preuss Uncertainty Factor moving from Goldy to Gawn, should be in consideration for R2. You’re probably not going to do it, but you should consider it.

Tom Campbell $264,400
I can imagine a scenario where you might pick him in desperation mid-season, but it’s pretty far-fetched.

Tristan Xerri $123,900
Unlikely to play but has R/F DPP so could be a useful loophole R3

FORWARDS

Jack Ziebell $458,500
For years I cursed Brad Scott for not using him forward enough to get DPP. Now he didn’t play mid enough. Should have a 40+ goal season in him, and has healthy tackle and contested ball numbers for his position as well as a high K/HB ratio. 3.5 shots at goal per game last year so if he kicks straight is capable of some good scores. If you’re considering De Goey or Caddy you should consider. JZ. More upgrade target/watchlist than starter though. You’d be happy with him at F3 in draft.

Ben Brown $451,100
The very definition of why you don’t pick KPFs in SC.

Shaun Atley $364,700
He is what he is. He’s actually more effective as a forward than he was as a HBF but hasn’t magically gained the ability to accumulate enough pill to be relevant.

Mason Wood $363,300
4 scores over 90 from 13 games (inc a 123 vs Syd) in 2018. Much as I want to pump him up as a breakout candidate with Waite gone, he’s not likely to be relevant. Staying on the park is his biggest challenge. Will be available at F4 in a draft if you’re game enough.

Jy Simpkin $358,300
On the one hand, serious breakout potential. On the other hand, the offseason recruiting spree will likely limit his midfield minutes. Good pickup for a keeper league as he’s on the rise and very likely to be M/F DPP next year.

Kayne Turner $274,100
LOLNOPE

Nathan Hrovat $266,400
LOLNOPE
(Actually I feel like I should push back a bit on the hate he gets on the North board, There’s clearly ample evidence of effort but he just lacks the weapons to overcome his lack of size.)

Taylor Garner $254,600
Hamstrings made of tissue paper. Shame because in full flight he’s an excitement machine. No good for SC.

Cameron Zurhaar $254,100
Another one whose JS has taken a hit from the offseason recruiting.

Will Walker $199,100
Nifty little HFF but still on a modified program after injuring his PCL late last season. Too pricey for a mid season downgrade target.

Nick Larkey $123,900
Brown’s understudy. I can kind of imagine them experimenting with 2 genuine talls at some point but cash cow value seems unlikely.

Tom Wilkinson $102,400
This bloke’s seriously intriguing. Plucked out of Southport in the NEAFL as a mature-age rookie and been very impressive. Given how bad our small forwards sucked last year must be in with a shot at playing some games, hopefully early on.

Xerri see rucks
Crocker see defs
Taylor see mids
Hayden see mids

I’ll do my take on Hawthorn with some that I think are SuperCoach relevant or seen in teams.

Edit: any player you would like me to comment on just tell me and I’ll do it.

Def:

James Sicily.

Sicily is in almost everyone’s teams this pre season for good reason. He is a noted big scorer for a defender and with the new kick in rules should give him a boost by a few points being our number 1 kick-in taker(no Burton is gone). I’m uncertain whether Birchall will influence that at all. Sicily should be in any team as I can easily see him being the highest Def SC scorer in 2019.
Lock him in

Birchall
It seems Birchall will not be available round 1 but will be one to aim for as a the first downgrade in defence. He is a proven SC scorer however he has not played many matches for the past 2 years. At at modest price of 205K he is well worth keeping track of his fitness but I’d suspect at this stage he’ll miss the first 1/4 of the season.

Scrimshaw:
Scrimshaw is one I’ve seen in a few teams here and there. I can see him playing games in 2019 but just not consistently. He’ll likely see out most of 2019 in the reserves and at 149K. 25K above most others. There are probably much better rookie options out there.
Watch in JLT.

Damon Greaves:
Greaves is part of that small/mid sized defence and is a smart hard player. Greaves may sit far down the pecking order with possibly Scrimshaw, Jiath & Miles as others contesting for the same spot. He is unlikely to play any senior footy this year.
Better rookie options out there.

Mid:

Jaeger O’Meara;
JOM has been added to a fair selection of teams due to Tom Mitchell’s injury leaving a big workload to be picked up in the midfield. Part of that is expected to be picked up by O’Meara. O’Meara may become Hawks main middle man this year in Toms absence which would see him capable of reaching 105+ consistently. At 500K he is priced at 92.7 so there is good potential for him to average 15+ over his marked price.
Watch in JLT.

Liam Shiels: Shiels is in a similar situation as O’Meara. Shiels is a consistent player with great spread but isn’t so much of a getter of those cheeky one-two passes. Can see him averaging over 100 which is well above his previous average. May be a year for him to grab the external credit he deserves and is on my JLT watchlist for sure. Get ready for Shiels v O’Meara.

Worpel:
I’ve heard that some people are keen on him. He definitely showed that he hasn’t it in him to make it at AFL level. There is a hole in the guts but I have questions around the amount of midfield time he’ll get as his tank is questionable but from what I’ve heard he’s dropped a few kegs over the off season which may improve his stamina and ability to play in the midfield for longer periods of time. At 350K he is a too expensive as I’m uncertain how consistant he’ll score. I expect to see some 100+ scores but also 60/70 scores. I’d rather take my chances on the fallen premos in Libba & Hanners or Miles. Could end the season above around 500K so and at best be half way between being a premo and a money maker which is nowhere to be.
Watch in JLT.

James Cousins:
He is one of the players that may play this year in Mitchell’s position after a couple strong seasons at Box Hill but has never been able to get good game time in the midfield and is not the most diverse player meaning he hasn’t held a spot elsewhere. At 220K I believe his JS is questionable and at 100K above normal rookie price is way too much.
Keep an eye on him however as he could take a genuine midfield chance with two hands.

Fwd:

Chad Wingard:
Chad is one that many have questions over how much time he’ll spend in the midfield. I’d suspect that he will spend a fair time of his time in the guts and the rest up forward. He’s that player that you can see the coach isolating at the top of the goalsquare similar to Dusty. Imo he’ll average around 100. Up from 89 last year in which he is priced at(481K). His second half of last year showed he can be a prolific SC scorer.

Mitch Lewis:
Lewis has been one of the most promising players out of Hawthorn this off/pre-season. He put in a large amount of work, sacrificing a big holiday trip like most to work on his body and looks solid. Everyone knows there’s a key forward spot up for grabs at Hawthorn for someone that can demand it. At 149K he could be an ok forward rookie option however there are probably better options around but is a must watch in JLT. Questions around JS are still there though. Key forwards are renowned low and/or inconsistent scorers in SC however.

Here is my 2c worth on my mob, enjoy

Defenders

Jake Lloyd
Getting better with each year, I think he will come back to the pack a bit but he’ll be at the pointy end of defenders come years end. Expensive but must be considered. Personally I’m not going with him at this stage.
My average prediction: 105-110

Jarrad McVeigh
The bald grey mare ain’t what he used to be. Draft only.
Prediction: 80 ppg

Dane Rampe
Was down a bit last year on form and SC points, he will improve on output, especially if Melican is fit as that frees him up a bit, Relevant SC Draft option only IMO.
P: Low 80s

Aliir Aliir
Big upside, could be a star and is always threatening to be SC relevant but too much risk for mine.
Prediction: High 80s

Calllum Mills
Lot of talk he will get more mid time which may happen, price is too awkward for mine, for the big balled brave ones only.
Prediction: 85-90

Ryan Clarke
Watchlist closely in JLT. Will get mid time IMO. Many on North board thought he was played out of position as a defender, can accumulate the pill.
Prediction: Priced at 60 odd but if he is full time mid he could be 88-92 range

Rookie Nookie:
Jack Maibaum
- Tall mobile defender, not without a chance given that Grundy is nearing the end and Melican has struggled with injury.
Justin McInerney - Another quick, outside player , hard to tell
Harry Reynolds - Tallish mobile defender but looks NEAFL bound.
Durak Tucker - Looked a little like Rampe on his highlight reel, is just coming off ACL rehab so he won’t be rushed.

Don’t bother - Not SC relevant:
Zac Jones - is a run and carry player, not SC friendly
Nick Smith
Lewis Melican
Colin O’Riordan
Heath Grundy
Robbie Fox

Mids

Luke Parker
Spent a lot of time up forward last year. There was a theory on Swans board that this was due to injuries and the need for another marking option up there. IMO if he is in the mids more and with Hanners gone he will certainly improve significantly on the 103 average but I think he will be top 20 SC mid, not top 4-8. In future I think he will probably only be SC relevant if he becomes an SC forward but he is a value pick this year IMO.
Prediction: 108-113

JPK
Love the guy but he is ageing rapidly and has more junior players taking up more mid minutes. Only really a valid option for SC draft or a Hail Mary punt in SC finals if you are short of cash and trades,

Jackson Thurlow
Not sure why he is an SC mid, reckon he would have been borderline relevant if was a defender. Will play from Round 1 IMO. Draft option

Rookie Nookie:
James Rowbottom
- Strong bodied inside mid, clean hands in close and a good clearance player. Nephew of BT, hope he isn’t a flog LOL but he could be a chance to play this year.
James Bell - Academy boy, will probably spend time in NEAFL this year.

Not SC Relevant:
Kieren Jack
- If you pick him in your team in a dream you better wake up and apologise. Should have been dropped multiple times last year.
Oliver Florent - Kid is a gun but is an outside player who doesn’t accumulate.
George Hewett
Harry Cunningham
Jordan Dawson

Ruck

Cal Sinclair
Career best season last year, however I think he will revert back to old role (70% fwd, 30% ruck) this year. If Naismith plays, give him a wide berth.

Sam Naismith
IMO, simply put, if he is fit, he is the no.1 ruck. The new starting position rules will work better for him than Sinclair. In saying that I think he will average 80 at best as he is a very good tap ruckman but not a great accumalator, is only worth a punt in Draft form.

Darcy Cameron
True story. 19 years ago, when i was 25 years of age, I got dumped by a chick twice in the same year. Darcy reminds me of this Scorpion Woman, I picked him last year but he is the perennial prick tease, like my ex. Never again.

Forward

Isaac Heeney
IMO our most important player. Scores well as a forward or mid. Only needs 15-20 touches to influence a game and ton up. Looks fit as a fiddle. I want your babies Isaac. Come to papa. Fauver beans and a bottle of Chianti f-f-f-f-f-f. Lockity lock. 100 average

Budwah
All signs point to no for a Round 1 start with off season injury/surgery, delayed preseason. To be honest he is not a player I start with anyway as he is always gettable at the bye round stage when he drops to the low 400s but I thought last year he was showing signs of ageing. I am going cold turkey on him this year. Pass

Will Hayward
Will be a gun, SC draft relevant.

The good McCartin
A bit like Florent in 2017, he probably wouldn’t have played last year if we weren’t hit by injuries.
With Reid/Naismith back in it makes life difficult but he looked up to it last year.

Rookie Nookie

Nick Blakey
Got a confession to make. I’m not 100% sold on this kid and believe he unfortunately has been way too overhyped. For me I think there is a big difference between the hype I heard about him compared to what I have actually seen on the limited highlights footage available.
From the track watchers on the Swans boards he is more or less the only rookie training with the main group. Will watch him in JLT with interest but i think there are better and cheaper options elsewhere.

Matthew Ling
Fast, highly skilled, outside player who had injury trouble last year however the coaching staff do rate him very highly. I think out of all the rookies outside Blakey he is the best chance of playing senior footy this year if fit. Watchlist.

Joel Amartey
Athletic, raw ex basketballer. Screams project player to me. Too many ahead of him. Pass.

James Rose
Surprised he wasn’t delisted TBH, change in role perhaps?

Ryley Stoddart
Made his debut last year and and was strong in NEAFL, worth keeping an eye on, will be in JLT mix.

Samuel Wicks
Nice cheap Chol type price. Cat B Academy player, small forward but there are too many ahead of him IMO.

Toby Pink
Still only famous for that 70m point after the siren to win the GF for the Glenelg Under 19s a couple of years ago. A few tall forwards ahead of him.

Zac Foot
As Robert Walls used to say, ‘lock him in the gym and throw away the key Huddo’. Only just turned 18 so will be given time IMO

Not SC Relevant
Robbie Fox - depth player at best
Ronke - Can he sustain the form and hold his spot.

SUMMARY TLDR:
Premo wise I think Lloyd and Heeney are the best options, despite the formers price tag. Parker is great value if he is a full time mid this year.
Clarke and Thurlow will play from Round 1
Blakey and Ling the stand out options for rookies but I thnk there will be a couple of other spots available.

Excellent thread. Thanks to all the contributors.

Agree with the epic post by Here2tellyouwhy - I’m considering Shuey, and Gaff post round 3. Not too much else for us really apart from Hurn and maybe Naitanui or Yeo.
Petroljelly and Oscar might be useful rookies too

Geelong 2019 Supercoach:

Defenders:

Tom Stewart ($463,000)
Could be a great POD. Had a good rookie season in 2017 to an amazing All-Australian season in 2018 and he's not done yet. Is probably a safe bet to score 80s-90s each week so probably just not enough to pick him at that price. But has a good SC game with intercept marks to go along with plenty of spoils, plus is a good user of the ball. Will probably share kick-out responsibilities with Tuohy, if Tuohy's injury was worse than it was then I'd consider Stewart more as he'd be the main distributor out of D50.

Zach Tuohy ($460,400)
Takes plenty of kick-outs so that could improve his scoring enough with the new rules to be very relevant. Just annoying with his injury and he's only getting back from that now, is aiming to play Round 1 but not fussed if it's Round 2, meaning his match fitness (and fitness in general) won't be amazing. If anything look to bring him in after Geelong's bye if he starts to rack up the points after he gets back from the injury, otherwise don't consider.

Mark Blicavs ($405,200)
Will pretty much be our No.1 key defender. Not SC relevant this year.

Lachie Henderson ($386,000)
Having a great pre-season after no preparation leading into last season. Not SC relevant though.

Cameron Guthrie ($346,100)
Has stagnated in his career unfortunately. Have been doing different Best 22's for Geelong this season and he's usually not in them or just on the bench. They'll still play him in the seniors though, running off half back at times or on the wing. Doesn't score high enough consistently to be SC relevant though.

Jack Henry ($336,100)
Third tall defender or forward. Won't be SC relevant.

Jake Kolodjashnij ($320,000)
Second or third tall defender. Not SC relevant.

Harry Taylor ($262,800)
Super fit heading into probably his final season. Our defensive setup looked better without him in it last season though. Hopefully is told that he'll be in the VFL at times this season helping the young guys coming through. Not SC relevant.

Mark O'Connor ($246,500)
Picking 2019 to be a breakout year for O'Connor, impressed me how he finished last season in the seniors. Is looking stronger and fitter, plus probably has more confidence in his intercept marking, will lock himself into our Best 22 but probably not enough to be SC relevant.

Jed Bews ($230,700)
Good lockdown small defender. Not SC relevant.

Zach Guthrie ($203,800)
Won't play seniors consistently enough, and won't score high enough when he does. Not SC relevant.

Jordan Clark ($144,300)
The man :devil: See how he goes in JLT, I expect him to play in at least 1 of those games. Corey Enright (miss you Corey) said yesterday that he'd play around half back and midfield (wing I'd say) this season and I reckon they rate him that highly that they're talking about in the seniors. If he impresses in JLT I'd say it's very likely he debuts Round 1, if so, lock him in kents.

Stefan Okunbor ($102,400)
Another Irish recruit as we build towards an entirely Irish backline. Has an amazing body ;) But needs to learn AFL and our system so not SC relevant.

Midfielders:

Patrick Dangerfield ($660,500)
Pick him as a FWD if you're picking him.

Gary Ablett ($580,600)
The GOAT. Not SC relevant at least for the first half of this year as he'll be playing permanent forward pretty much. If a few of our midfielders get injured then look at bringing him in as he'd be a lot cheaper + we'd play him in the midfield more just because of the experience he brings, otherwise don't consider.

Mitch Duncan ($576,500)
Mitch :hearts: Strongly considering for my side this year as I reckon he'll get back to his 2017 form. His 2018 form wasn't bad, he just wasn't in the midfield as much with Ablett & Kelly coming in. Ablett playing forward this year + Jelwood playing a bit more defence/forward will open up lots of midfield time for Mitch, in his prime at 27, to have a huge year. Will rack it up, won't be tagged, uses the ball well. It's between Dusty and Duncan for my M3. Strongly consider, is ultra consistent and will be a huge POD.

Joel Selwood ($570,500)
Jelwood very similar to Pendles. 1st and 2nd in the Rising Star in 2007. Both great leaders, but slowly transitioning out of the midfield and will continue to do so this year. Will still play quite a lot of midfield this season, but is always the first one tagged as he's never found a way to completely break a tag. We want him to play a Hodge off half-back role at times this year, or rotate up forward at times. Will be a huge POD but I'm expecting lots of 70s-90s this year, not good enough at that price.

Sam Menegola ($543,100)

Tim Kelly ($505,800)

Luke Dahlhaus ($418,300)

Scott Selwood ($382,700)
Having his first full pre-season so far since coming to Geelong. Expect we'll play him a bit more in the midfield because of this, but his body isn't reliable enough and his price is so awkward. Not SC relevant.

Jordan Cunico ($381,500)
Quite a good outside player, but may be in-and-out of the seniors this year so can't pick him with any confidence. Not SC relevant.

Sam Simpson ($152,000)
Don't expect him to play seniors much this year. Not SC relevant.

Charlie Constable ($123,900)
Apparently did quite well in the scratch match against North, playing midfield which is where he'll play if in the seniors as it's his best position by far. If he has a good JLT and is named Round 1 to debut then lock him in kents.

Oscar Brownless ($117,300)
Has impressed a lot already, has a fantastic work ethic and I expect him to debut in the seniors earlier than people think. Wouldn't start with him but if he makes his debut around the byes would be incredible to bring him in then. Otherwise if he doesn't debut until 2020 could be a great pick then.

Jacob Kennerley ($117,300)
First year, good outside player, needs to build some muscle but his fitness is already fantastic. Will spend year in VFL. Not SC relevant.

Tom Atkins ($112,900)
Wouldn't be surprised if he debuts Round 1. Coaches are impressed with him. Has learnt system quickly coming from the VFL team. Will play as a tackling forward so not sure how high his scores will be but if he's named Round 1 there's a good chance he'll be in my team on the bench.

Rucks:

Rhys Stanley ($483,500)
Should start the season as our No.1 ruck. If dominates JLT and finds that form he had from last year scoring 100s consistently then consider as a huge POD R2.

Ryan Abbott ($340,700)
Awkward price and not sure how many senior games he'll get. Not SC relevant.

Zac Smith ($330,600)
Probably 4th in line behind Stanley, Fort, Abbott to play in the ruck in the seniors. Not SC relevant.

Darcy Fort ($117,300)
Hoping they give him a good go in the JLT. If he's named to debut Round 1 then lock him in kents. Only thing working against him is that Ratugolea will probably do 2nd Ruck duties so Fort would probably have to be picked as No.1 ruck ahead of Stanley.

Ben Jarvis ($117,300)
Not SC relevant.

Blake Schlensog ($102,400)
Raw prospect. Not SC relevant.

Forwards:

Patrick Dangerfield ($660,500)
See how he goes JLT. If he's named Round 1 lock him in on your FWD bench.

Tom Hawkins ($552,900)
With Ratugolea back it means Hawkins might play up the field a bit more which is when he scores the most consistently. Is a beautiful field kick and the new rules might help him if there's less double-teaming on key forwards. But there's so many good FWD premo options this year so I'm not considering. Would take humongous balls.

Sam Menegola ($543,100)
Still building back from surgery on his knee I believe. Is super fit so I'm not worried about fitness it just might take him a few games to get back into the rhythm of things, and at that price you want him to dominate straight away. Look to bring him in after our bye.

Tim Kelly ($505,800)
Would be a bit of POD this year. Should get just as much midfield time, if not more. Has had a full pre-season. I don't reckon the off-field stuff will affect him on-field. Strongly consider.

Brandan Parfitt ($434,300)
Will play a lot more midfield this season and would be a huge POD. Strongly consider as your F4 if you've got a strong FWD line, would take bigger balls to pick him at F3. Between him and sexy Billings for my F4 spot :devil:

Luke Dahlhaus ($418,300)
Will probably be playing too much as a pressure forward to rack up points in the midfield. Probably not SC relevant even though I expect him to have a good year.

Lachie Fogarty ($324,300)
Not SC relevant.

Esava Ratugolea ($295,200)
Not SC relevant.

James Parsons ($291,200)
Not SC relevant.

Gary Rohan ($261,600)
Not SC relevant.

Quinton Narkle ($241,000)
Parfitt & Narkle are the main two getting more midfield time this year so strongly consider Narkle as a F4/F5 POD. Wish his price was just a bit lower and then he'd be in my side.

Jamaine Jones ($215,700)
Not SC relevant.

Wylie Buzza ($213,300)
Not SC relevant.

Nakia Cockatoo ($190,500)
:brokenheart:

Nathan Kreuger ($123,900)
Used one of the state selections that Carlton were given to pick up Kreuger so clearly we rate him. Also is a bit more of a mature body after playing SANFL (I believe it was) last season. Is an athletic, agile third forward type who can play through midfield. Will probably start season in VFL so if he does debut this season hopefully it's around the byes so we can bring him in then.

Gryan Miers ($123,900)
Impressed against North in the scratch match kicking a few goals. In his 2nd season now so is fitter and stronger. Follow how he goes in JLT. Is a small forward though so wouldn't score amazingly in the seniors. Probably not SC relevant but you never know with his rookie price and if he's named Round 1.

Ben Jarvis ($117,300)
Not SC relevant.

Jake Tarca ($117,300)
Could play Round 1 but it would be as a pure small forward so probably not SC relevant. Don't think he'll debut until later in season anyway.

Stefan Okunbor ($102,400)
Not SC relevant.

Blake LongSchlong ($102,400)
Not SC relevant.

I'm out kents.

Edit: Here ya go Doctor Gero