Your Dream Gameplan.

Well our coaching team thinks the current game plan is tickety boo.

Apparently during discussions, they were Frank.

They could have instead been Earnest.

sorry - that was a classic early 80's Benny Hill one liner 🥸
Our gameplan is fine and our fitness is good. All in agreement raise ya hands.

It's not the game-plan that's the issue. It's the squad, nobody is consistent and we have way too many mistakes in our locker. When they lose momentum, they lose confidence and are smashed accordingly.

The damage has been done and we won't recover from it for a long time.

If he needs me to tell him what the game plan should look like, he's the wrong man for the job. He must already have a way he wants to play and if it makes us a competitive every week, winning team then I will be happy.

If pressed, I will say the way Collingwood play impresses me most. When they have the ball they manage to run in numbers and create scoring from a forward line that is - let's be honest - pedestrian.

But their defensive game is what impresses me most. They have an ability to get numbers to a contest and pressure the opposition to lose the ball in dangerous parts of the ground. It is really an impressive package.
That's what I was going to say.

Play the way Collingwood play.

They have been very impressive since McRae rocked up. Professional, disciplined, more than the sum of their parts, always hard, skilled, they never give up. Reminds me of the good ol' days.

It's not the game-plan that's the issue. It's the squad, nobody is consistent and we have way too many mistakes in our locker. When they lose momentum, they lose confidence and are smashed accordingly.

The damage has been done and we won't recover from it for a long time.
OR hear me out.. It's all 3.

The squad is poor. We have some elite top end talent, but the bottom end has always been poor, and the depth is even worse. This has always put a ceiling on how far we can go.

Our gameplan is great in H&A, but hasn't held up in finals. It works great in H&A, as we go 'harder for longer' as Ken loves to say. And he's spot on. Except when it comes to finals, when the other teams are going just as hard for just as long - and then suddenly our lack of other weapons gets shown up. This is partly down to gameplan, but also down to squad limitations.

Our fitness, and our injury record have both been horrendous for nearly a decade. There was a point it was elite, and even a point of difference, but once Burgess left - it's been a slow decline. Now we're below average on that front too.

Exposed in finals because of game plan, bad playing list, bla bla bla and yet we were leading dynasty Richmond with 10 minutes to go in a home prelim. It's all above the shoulders, if you're good enough to get to that stage then you're good enough to win.

Even this year where "the list is shot and Tassie is gonna compromise all the drafts we're doomed for a decade" is a common post on this forum, we managed to be up 10 goals at half time against the premiership fancy Hawks.

We are capable of so much more than Hinkley allows the players to believe they're capable of.

Not in any order, but:

Stop the "loser" mentality. Port are a club that has always been a WINNER. Start believing that, not making excuses or saying it's tough and that someone has to lose - because it sure as eggs shouldn't be us thinking in that vein
Respect but never fear the opposition. Don't talk them up to be more daunting than they actually are. Matthews' "if it bleeds, we can kill it" line from Predator echos in my mind to this day
Improve fitness to run out games better
Increase strength and power (won't necessarily involve building beach muscles either)
Change mentality and culture to our players' thinking positive and about being winners
Clean out the dead wood (players past their prime by a long way, or players never going to make it to elite level)
Get rid of low grade assistant coaches and support staff
Divest ourselves of any Board member who has been here 8 years or more
Get a couple more footy savvy people on to the Board and in the Footy committee
Tell defenders to punch to the boundary - not back into the centre corridor
Tell defenders that someone must ALWAYS be on guard in the goal square - too many times we see balls dribble through for goals or go through when a defender could have touched it or marked it
Make sure one defender always gets "over the back" of any impending contest to stop "Joe the Goose" easy walk in goals
Get some leg speed in the defence to match quick opponents and transition from defence quickly
Rucks need to improve their ruck craft to be able to direct taps to our advantage more often
Mids need to stop zig-zagging and running in circles, as it confuses and disrupts players further up the ground
Mids need to raise the eyes and direct kicks to our forwards' advantage more often ie. to the forward's side of the contest, not the oppo defender's side
Ball movement needs us to use more forward handball and kicks to players in the clear, ahead of the ball carrier, not around in circles, nor to a team mate close by who is under more pressure than the original team mate who gave it to him
Oppo run hard to create space from our players and end up getting easy marks because we don't chase - need to be hard two-way runners who help out the defenders more
We make half arsed leads (or don't lead at all), thus when a kick comes our way, the oppo are on our tails and spoil easily
Need a sustainable forward line game plan that means we clear out space to lead into that isn't always to wide pockets on the boundary line, making for difficult kicks for goal
Make spaces to lead into by making dummy leads, which gets defenders to evacuate the F50 in dangerous areas for us
Forwards need to read the ball better, so that at least one dives out the back of the contest early, as Geelong always do regularly, leading to walk in goals so often
Tackle to pin the arms and not the waist - that's become an ancient tactic that allows the oppo to get their arms free and effect handballs. Indigenous players are often slight but the most effective tacklers since they pin the arms. At worst, it's a ball up. more often than not, it will be HTB
Create a game plan that MAXIMISES the ability of lower rated players to play a role, like teams such as Collingwood, Geelong, etc are able to do
Stop relying on flashes of individual brilliance every so often to score miraculous goals or take brilliant marks. It's a bloody TEAM game FFS
Keep giving the kids games until they have 40-50 games under their belt. Only way they'll improve (or conversely, prove that they won't be capable of making it).

That's a start that I'm sure will improve us 5-8 goals a game without even thinking about it too much.

Your Dream Gameplan.