YOUR FINAL EIGHT-2001

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha
shit that made me laugh....

Now how can we ever take you seriously again Magpie_Joffa ?
rolleyes.gif

tongue.gif
& WCE
eek.gif
in the 8 -PIGS ARSE !!!!.
Collingwood might finish above WCE,but not in the 8.
frown.gif

I think Collingwood,Port and Eagles will be on the bottom of the ladder
biggrin.gif
.Those 3 clubs haven't improved there playing lists enough to improve.
biggrin.gif

The top 6 will be
Essendon (on top)

(in any order)
Brisbane

The last two possies in eight will be fought out by
Kangaroos

The following three will be fighting for the wooden spoon

Port Adelaide
Collingwood.

Let the season begin

Collingwood to make the eight ?

Its possible they won 7 last season, up from 4 the season before, so they only have to find another 3 or 4 wins from somewhere and they will be 'thereabouts'

trouble is that Collingwood have turned over such a huge amount of players its almost impossible to get a handle on where they are at at the moment. Its just as likely they will go backwards as forwards next season.

My tip ? 11th with 9 wins and 1 draw.

cheers

So, RentBoy 69, where did you have Melbourne finishing in season 2000?

When Melbourne beat the Orangeroos in the preliminary final, some of the North's alleged supporters, cheered because they would not get humiliated by Essendon in the Grand Final.

Originally posted by magpie_joffa:
ESSENDON
STKILDA
MELBOURNE
BRISBANE
CARLTON
HAWTHORN
WEST COAST
COLLINGWOOD

SHITE HERE COME THE MIGHT OF THE BLACK AND WHITE

Ok... I seem to be copping some shit for laughing at this top eight... this is why I laughed...

Essendon... Reigning Premiers... will make 8...
St Kilda... Wooden Spooner... a little early for me...
Melbourne... Grand Finalist... have not shown any consistancy over the last 5 years... who knows...
Brisbane... IMHO under-achieved last year... but still same as Melbourne no consistancy...
Carlton... showed more in 2000 then I expected... but Salary cap has caught them... won't make 8...
Hawthorn... Big threat if all goes well...
West Coast... Fathertime has finally caught up with West Coast... top eight... stop it I am nearly pissing myself...
Collingwood... have a good young squad... but IMHO wont threat for another couple of years... I could be wrong... but I doubt it...

Now let us see who is right at the end of 2001....

Originally posted by Rooboy 96:
West Coast... Fathertime has finally caught up with West Coast... top eight... stop it I am nearly pissing myself...
B]

I may be way out here but couldn't exactly the same be said for the Kangaroos

Im really going to go out on a limb here and say that Eagles have a better young squad than the Kangaroo's any day

Braun,morrison,cousins,embly

Kangaroos'
um lets see

sorry

Sabre_ac... can I ask you a simple question... out of the Kangaroos and Weagles who has more chance of pinching a flag in the next two years... and who is already rebuilding... Try to be honest and not spiteful...

Danny

your confidence in the Swans prospects is to be applauded, I know the line of yor thinking, The Swans played some good, if not great footy at the end of last season right ?

They were very unlucky to lose alot of close games early in the season right ?

They finished 10th with a very good 101.9 percentage right ?

Take it from a diehard Swans fan Dan - don't predict big things for us - you maybe disappointed.

Look I'm not bagging my own team here (surprise surprise) I'm just trying to get it all in perspective. Sydney's 2000 season was pure Red and White, almost a classical Swans performance really.

What I mean is this - The Swans throughout their entire history have a habit of playing attractive, eye-catching football. We have always been able to field skillful sides that play great footy. Its no accident that the Swans have produced more Brownlow medallists than any other club, we have always had champions play for us.

BUT - we never win our fair share of games, we hardly ever play in the finals and the last time we were a genuine power team was in 1936. (45 and 96 are isolated incidents)

Same for Sydney in 2000 - thats why I said it was a classical Swans season - playing well, always entertaining to watch, lotsa chamion players etc etc - yet we couldn't make the finals - a typical performance.

All down the ages in the old VFL, Sydney / South Melbourne were perrennial 6-10 finishers, we bottomed out in the early 60's and again in the early 90's but for most of our history we have always been a 'thereabouts' club and nothing has really changed.

For 2001 again we will have one of the best lists, play some of the best footy, whether we can make the finals or even the top four remains to be seen.

sorry about this - when you barrack for a team like Sydney you quickly learn the fine art of controlled pessimism.

cheers

Essendon- duh
Hawthorn- will be the next "power" club after us i reckon
Melbourne- wont be worse than 2000, + wont repeat the up down up down cycle next yr
Richmond- with RICHO, also cant have similar shitty luck with injuries again surely
Kangas- wont be getting heaps better, but still must never be underestimated
Geelong- top coach- youngsters getting better
Sydney- er for the reasons BSA, said Dan thought the same thing.
wink.gif

Saints/Lions- pick one. Although the saints with all their aquisitions will be under more pressure to perform than probably any other wooden spooner in history, and that may hamper them.

Originally posted by Rooboy 96:
Sabre_ac... can I ask you a simple question... out of the Kangaroos and Weagles who has more chance of pinching a flag in the next two years... and who is already rebuilding... Try to be honest and not spiteful...

ok
I am a dockers supporter so as you can guess i am not fond of the eagles.So spite has nothing to do with it

Now as far as truthfull

Lets see

Going by evidence
Next year and the year after cousins will well and truely take the next step and become one if not the premire midfield player in the league
Throw in Braun and morrison and that is a mid field not to be messed with

Now on to Kangaroos
lets see their is shannon Grant and ..................

Ok lets move on
Forward line
Eagles have problems
Except phil

Kangaroos
not in much better shape
Carey has been deposed
Mc Kernan:Under achieving

Backline
Eagles
Top class
Jackovich still up thier with the best
Macontosh see above
Wirrapunda the best back pocket player in the league

Kangaroos
Archer:their is someone who is probally up to his elbows in dipers,sure he has a precence but looking more and more like a worsfold doesn't know when to leave
Picket:Ill be the first to admit awesome
Maytryn:See Archer

So you want my honest opinion
well ill give it to you

Neither has a hope in hell

By some miracle you find them both in the grandfinal
Eagles by a mile

It is damn near impossible these days as the lists are short & generally fairly even. Melbourne showed last year what is possible with a good run.
Here goes anyway,
Carlton (don't forget how good they were in the winning run this year)
& in no order
Hawthorn - could be the threat if they can kill the stupid errors
Sydney-so unlucky this year, improving but lot of old midfielders that still are their best(creswell, Schwass, Williams)
Brisbane- so much talent
Geelong-like their recruiting
Apologies to the Roos & Doggies who might be on the down but are well coached & have some great players
Saints- to many egos
Dockers & Pies on the rise
Crows & Eagles to struggle
Goatmaster

Originally posted by sabre_ac:
ok
I am a dockers supporter so as you can guess i am not fond of the eagles.So spite has nothing to do with it

Now as far as truthfull

Lets see

Going by evidence
Next year and the year after cousins will well and truely take the next step and become one if not the premire midfield player in the league
Throw in Braun and morrison and that is a mid field not to be messed with

Now on to Kangaroos
lets see their is shannon Grant and ..................

Ok lets move on
Forward line
Eagles have problems
Except phil

Kangaroos
not in much better shape
Carey has been deposed
Mc Kernan:Under achieving

Backline
Eagles
Top class
Jackovich still up thier with the best
Macontosh see above
Wirrapunda the best back pocket player in the league

Kangaroos
Archer:their is someone who is probally up to his elbows in dipers,sure he has a precence but looking more and more like a worsfold doesn't know when to leave
Picket:Ill be the first to admit awesome
Maytryn:See Archer

So you want my honest opinion
well ill give it to you

Neither has a hope in hell

By some miracle you find them both in the grandfinal
Eagles by a mile

we will have to wait and see do you want ten dollars on WCE... to finish higher then the mighty KANGAROOS

Rooboy

No for the simple reason that eagles play
11 games out of their home state.

While kangaroos play what a maximum of 4

So right their you have an enormous advantage

So thats as far as i am concerned 18 home games for the Kangaroos

That is why i believe it is always going to be difficult for interstate teams to ever dominante the competion (as i have previously said in other posts, ill go into that later)

Plus im not an eagles supporter
so ill tell you what 10 dollars says that eagles beat the Kangaroos next game
And i mean in the reals season

On top of that,because i am a dockers supporter would you like to have a wager on the dockers kangaroos game as well 10 dollars?

Ealges v Kangaroos:Round 15 July 15
Dockers v Kangaroos:Round 11 June

We will wait untill both games have been played and then pay

OK

You in

I read with interest about some of yous thinking hawthorn will be the next power,thats about as funny as this beloved magpie predicting collingwood to be the next power.

Hawthorn are one of those teams who really really look good when the ball is bouncing there way.

Hawthorn are weak at the ball too many of there players dont like the rough one on one contest.

shaun wren will be good at teaching some of the hawk youngsters to toughen up.
His presence out there alone should lift some of so called weaker ones...

But as far as hawthorn being the next power,
well not yet folks!!!

I read with interest about some of yous thinking hawthorn will be the next power,thats about as funny as this beloved magpie predicting collingwood to be the next power.

Hawthorn are one of those teams who really really look good when the ball is bouncing there way.

Hawthorn are weak at the ball too many of there players dont like the rough one on one contest.

shaun wren will be good at teaching some of the hawk youngsters to toughen up.
His presence out there alone should lift some of so called weaker ones...

But as far as hawthorn being the next power,
well not yet folks!!!

BSA

A very interesting account of the Swans history. I too have noticed that certain teams, over the course of 100 years, still seem to exhibit the same characteristics.

Take my club, Essendon. We have ALWAYS seemed to stand for either skill, flair, or aggression. And sometimes, like in 2000, all these three qualities at once.

Also, we have a history (dating back to the 40's) of tragic, close finals losses. It doesn't seem to matter what players we have, we still always seem to be a skillful, aggressive team, that suffers close finals losses, separted by the inevitable premiership.

St.Kilda, also, have always been bad. From 1897, to the present day, things havn't changed. Like the Swans, they have a history of supplying great players, but they don't have a history of playing well together as a team. It doesn't sem to matter what players are involved, you can bet that the Saisnts will be at, or near the bottom.

Ricmond have a history of success, but they also have a history of ONLY making the finals when they are a premeirship contender. Richmond NEVER seem to just sneak into the 8. They will either finish really high up the ladder, or they will miss the finals completely. Even in the last 18 years, the one time they made the finals, was when they finisehd 3rd (in 1995) and were a contender. Of the 32 times they have made the finals 22 of those have been when they have made the Grand Final. This constant seems to run through Richmonds entire history. Mark my words, if Richmond make the finals in 2000, they'll be contending for the flag.

Geelong also have a history of exciting football, but they can't seem to win premierships. Not just in this eraeither. it took them until 1925 to win a Grand Final, despite tjhe fact they had some very good team. Sounds very similar to the current day, doesn't it.

But the Swans of 2001, could be different BSA. You are being a bit harsh on them, because you seem to have ignored the fact that beofre 2000, they had made the finals 4 times in a row. They hadn't done that since the 1930's ! They have a top coach (one of the very best), a very good mix of players and 13 games at the SCG. They are also a very smart side. Very disciplined.

I'd love to see a Swans-Bombers Grand Final. The biggest Victorian side versus the biggest city in Australia. That would be just about the biggest Grand Final (Australia wide) you could get, I reckon.

YOUR FINAL EIGHT-2001