Your job?

• Thread starter Thread starter kristin5

Is been bloody difficult for my employer to find a decent term for what I do, I've benn called an Process Analyst, a Process Specialist, and currently I am known as a Reporting Specialist.

Basically, I manually do the job that an automated data warehouse would do if my company ever saw the light and decided to get involved in one.

I collect and collate stats, and produce documentation per request which shows what they mean and how they trend.

My missus is an art teacher who would love more work than she currently has. Being a yank, she doesn't have aussie credentials, but she has plenty of seppo ones. Schools won't take her because she hasn't done aussie schooling, but community centres and the like, if you know one that wants an art teacher in the south-eastern suburbs of Melbourne, be a darl or blorl and let me know for her :)

ITF Taekwondo Instructor.... Get Paid In Lifesavers

And I also work for Rivals Internet doing CollingwoodForever.net

Mags

I work at a nice little cafe on the beach.
Haven't been there long but really enjoying it so far!

I also do a fair bit of lifesaving, unpaid :mad:

I work for an Oil Company.

I will set up a new board where you can abuse me to save the Bigfooty servers. :)

Satay Mat

I too am a childcare worker, only I look after 20 babies everyday. The pay is really bad but if you dont work with kids you have no idea how good it feels to walk into a room and have 20 babies all smile and wave at you. They are so cute!!

Beancounter.

Nobody likes us. Nobody respects us. Everyone laughs at us.

Today I did some equity accounting calculations and some annual returns for two countries incorporated in the British Virgin Islands.

One day I'll do something worthwhile with my life ...

Professional bludger - sometimes drive a taxi.
Have been all sorts of things. Cartographer, Architectural draftsman, Nickel mine worker, gold miner, caravan park owner, shopkeeper and encyclopedia salesman (1 day)

Originally posted by Hmmmmm
you have no idea how good it feels to walk into a room and have 20 babies all smile and wave at you. They are so cute!!

I know exactly how that feels!!!

Oh hang on... I thought you said babes, not babies. :D :D :D

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Beancounter.

Nobody likes us. Nobody respects us. Everyone laughs at us.

Today I did some equity accounting calculations and some annual returns for two countries incorporated in the British Virgin Islands.

One day I'll do something worthwhile with my life ...

WOW - sounds like fun - I'm jealous ;)

Actually I was just talking with my flatmate (also a nerdy beancounter) about how we'd love to be passionate about our job, but in accounting - there's just no room for passion (except in the stairwell at lunchtime - oops - just kidding :) ) - its not that we hate our jobs - there's just no reward in it (expcept for our partners who get to pay off their luxury houses and motor vehicles from our slavery :mad: )

Originally posted by Hmmmmm
I too am a childcare worker, only I look after 20 babies everyday. The pay is really bad but if you dont work with kids you have no idea how good it feels to walk into a room and have 20 babies all smile and wave at you. They are so cute!!

I have the ultimate respect for my peers who work with babies. I am much better with toddlers, I can honestly say, I find working with babies to be much too stressful for me.

Originally posted by Grendel
Bludger.

I buy and sell 'collectibles' privately. Do as little as I can get away with. Should get a 'real' job I guess. Maybe one day when I open a shop again.

I reckon that is okay. You only live once. Some peope work 50 hours a week, have heaps of money, success and status, yet they aren't happy.

I'd love to get by on a limited number of hours a week (which is what I try to do!)

Consultant for one the the largest software firms in the world (and no it is not Microsoft), but one you probably haven't heard of unless you are in the industry or are "lucky" enough to use our wonderful product offering

Im also one of those boring accountants.

I learnt long ago that you never tell people what you do because of two things:

1. They automatically assume you are boring, or

2. THey immediately want tax advice! (the last thing you want to do when you go out is to explain to someone how to claim laundry assistance)

Originally posted by Balip

2. THey immediately want tax advice! (the last thing you want to do when you go out is to explain to someone how to claim laundry assistance)

I once saw an episode of Cheers, when Norm held an accountants party at the bar. Very funny.

I am actually the son of two accountants who met while working in the Tax department.

There for the grace of God go I.

Originally posted by Balip

Actually 1: most people can't believe I'm accountant and 2: I can keep people entertained enough to FORGET I'm an accountant and not ask me those boring qn's!!:D

Originally posted by Hit The Boundary Saints
Consultant for one the the largest software firms in the world (and no it is not Microsoft), but one you probably haven't heard of unless you are in the industry or are "lucky" enough to use our wonderful product offering

SAP?