78​
-​
Sorrento​
Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​
QuietB Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC

Last edited by a moderator:
Surprisingly the Ocean is the most popular of the 3 down there in terms of rounds played per year, but for mine it is by far the worst.

the courses are rotated daily, but for some reason i feel i think the ocean course is the one thats open to guests the most.

according to members ive spoken to down there, ocean is the least popular

the courses are rotated daily, but for some reason i feel i think the ocean course is the one thats open to guests the most.

according to members ive spoken to down there, ocean is the least popular

Correct..a mate of mine whos a member says this is the popular opinion

correct.

its a toss up between moonah and old for the most popular. i reckon the old is the one members romanticise about due to its history, undulating fairways and beautiful vista. the tea trees remind all and sundry of mermaids. stunning and seductive - they reel you and your ball in if not careful.

moonah is a bit more forgiving.

Played Kingswood last Thursday, not a bad track...greens are much easier to hit than Southern where they're surrounded by traps.

Probably saw two other groups playing, thought there'd be more. Tees in good nick, fairways excellent....greens are slower than you think.

i think i was the only moron who actually had a hit tonight played 9 at royal park before footy it was shocking no run & a couple of the green were water logged, had a 44 though so was pretty happy haha

87 off the stick around Latrobe at a golf day. Very happy with my efforts.

Now to get a handicap sorted.

Course was lovely to play. Bit wet this morning but cleared up mid morning.

No comp today - too wet. Over 90mm in my gauge this morning.

What's commonwealth like these days? Is it still in amazing condition?

WPL - not sure when Commonwealth has ever been in amazing condition unless you can remember back to the mid 80's!

Since then it's been one piece of course works after another with the last 5-6 years seeing Legend couch being laid out on the fairways. In the last two months they have re-sodded the front of the greens with Legend and they are all preferred lies off these areas which are now heavily sanded.

peternorth is right the greens surrounds are no good, too much unsightly rough, parramatta grass etc etc in areas between tees and greens. Compare this to the short grass transitions between the green and tee complexes at places like Victoria and Woodlands.

It's chronically overtreed as well and has a "cramped" feel about it in a lot of spots.

ok

so teed off in the dark (7am) on the ocean this morning. could we do it? hmm, well a groundsman in a cart drives past us with headlights on. so not a good idea? nah, fk it...

light rain, and HEAVY WIND. Stroke round. why did i fkin bother.

1st hole - drive left. think ive lost it cause I and no one saw it. hit provy. thought it was ok. found first, lost second. 9 shots later...10 for the first hole.

second hole. first into the rough not 100m in front (gone). second into the rough (gone). third ball onto the fairway finally. a bunker shot and lots of others later.....11.

So 21 after 2. usually i pick up and sulk for the remaining holes. but i was determined today. 65 shots after 9. 58 back 9. total 123. fkin hell.

dead last.
-----
silver lining?

par 3 11th. 157m. 5 wood, land ball maybe 10m from the pin. thought i was awesome. mate 1 puts his 4m from pin (pars the hole). mate 2 short of green, chip up and 2 putts. me. THREE FKIN PUTTS for 4.

par 4 357m. on in 2. YES TWO!!! utter luck. 3 putt.

wait. this is supposed to be silver lining.

------

had my golf club today @ yarrambat walked onto the 1st tee confident as fook as i know the course better than any & grew up on it. Had a 95 off the stick & 45 points. The boys couldnt belive it. As we are a social club just got abused all day for hitting fairways shooting pars & holding putts. Won our division 2 by a mile & finished = 1st overall. I played with the handicaper & he said he cant wait to get home tonight & just rip mine to shreads. currently off 32 hoping to drop below 30 after today.

Fait to say i am loving golf atm & not looking forward to coaching footy on sundays as i was previously.

Okay brahs here's a rundown.

Perfect weather all week here in Tassie (yes we get that occasionally) so i was eagerly awaiting the stroke that was coming up on Saturday.

I wake up on Saturday morning after a lovely dream which involved me destroying Kate Upton like Tiger in Brothel, i look out the window and the sky looks like the apocalypse is going to happen. Black sky at 9.00am in the morning is not a good sign.

I step up to the first tee and it starts bucketing down. My playing partners and i all look at each other and decide to strive on because we're hardcore, and our perfectly ironed trousers and t-shirts could'nt possibly get any wetter.

Proceeded to birdie the first which was only due to a long putt being drained after an ordinary wedge shot.

In my head i start thinking:

[YOUTUBE]r95a3p8Os-w[/YOUTUBE]

Alas, i fell harder than a Dwayne Wade flop. Grips got saturated and my umbrella busted. A couple of doubles, with a lot of bogeys and a few birds.

Finished with an 80 and a cold.

Okay brahs here's a rundown.

Perfect weather all week here in Tassie (yes we get that occasionally) so i was eagerly awaiting the stroke that was coming up on Saturday.

I wake up on Saturday morning after a lovely dream which involved me destroying Kate Upton like Tiger in Brothel, i look out the window and the sky looks like the apocalypse is going to happen. Black sky at 9.00am in the morning is not a good sign.

I step up to the first tee and it starts bucketing down. My playing partners and i all look at each other and decide to strive on because we're hardcore, and our perfectly ironed trousers and t-shirts could'nt possibly get any wetter.

Proceeded to birdie the first which was only due to a long putt being drained after an ordinary wedge shot.

In my head i start thinking:

[YOUTUBE]r95a3p8Os-w[/YOUTUBE]

Alas, i fell harder than a Dwayne Wade flop. Grips got saturated and my umbrella busted. A couple of doubles, with a lot of bogeys and a few birds.

Finished with an 80 and a cold.

'I don't think the heavy stuff will come for a while':):thumbsu:

Wow that is awesome, very jelous

me too!!!!! great work pres!!!!! :thumbsu:

played with a member of RM yesterday at national. he's been a member at both courses for a long time, reckons the old and moonah courses are almost equal with RM (if not just a tad under).

Played at Royal Melbourne (West) yesterday. Surely there is no more enjoyable way for a golf enthusiast to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Everything was magnificent - even the club sandwich beforehand.

stunning isn't it, i still dream about my round there