-​
78​
-​
Sorrento​
Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​

Last edited by a moderator:
It wasn't awful...no fats or thins but just did not put it close. Just had no feel as they were spinning and stopping when they usually run out. I normally hit it softer than I think it should to compensate for that but just got it wrong (my 54 degree). Anyway it is now broke...so very tempted to buy a 54 without the game improvement head and wedge flex shaft...standard lie angle and get my 60 bent back to standard as well. Just allow left or right (you will know this) for full shots X amount of metres. Going from 3 degrees flat to standard approx how much on a 75m shot? Should be easier to use around the greens.
Well done. Sounds like the chipping is good now :fire: .

When you go from a flat wedge to standard you will likely find your full approach shots being far more susceptible to the miss left. Adjust accordingly or try to play all approach shots with your pitching wedge.

Eric Routley - an absolute icon of Amateur golf in Victoria - passed away very recently. Different time but believe he never carried a PW. Played all his pitches with a 9 iron.

Jusr found this thread, enjoyable read.

I'm a Cohuna GC member
25.3 hcp
Best score 92/44pts.

Been up here 4 years. Only ran into Stuart Appleby once, played with his young bloke Max over Christmas. His old man still plays every weekend however.

Jusr found this thread, enjoyable read.

I'm a Cohuna GC member
25.3 hcp
Best score 92/44pts.

Been up here 4 years. Only ran into Stuart Appleby once, played with his young bloke Max over Christmas. His old man still plays every weekend however.
Cohuna is a fun track!

Is there still the issue of 40 billion flies

PS - welcome aboard

Reckon you need to put the ball back in your stance a tad... try 1cm outside your right toe and go from there. Should help you collecting the ball first, not having the blade so open at impact. Hands a bit forward. You ought to practice chipping, pitching, bunkers and putting cos that's the game. Driving is easy, hitting off a tee is easy, hitting SW-7iron from a good lie - easy. You'll be right if you start practicing what will make you better.

Do you jerk with your right hand? So why do you putt with your left hand dominant? Putt with right hand on top of left instead of the "normal" way of doing it.

Thank me later.
No jerkiness with putter. In fact I used to average between 30 to 34 putts a round when chipping was better....it was the best part of my game getting 1 putts because of good greenside shots. Playing a course that has a lot of greenside couch instead of that nice soft lush old fashioned grass I do struggle with.

I find Waterford Valley has very big greens. I tend to play away from the danger which can leave longer putts sometimes leading to 3 putts. Also the practice green is quite slopy but the course greens are not and the oncourse pace seems different...so it is more a feel thing from distance and being able to make most putts from inside 5 feet which cost me yesterday. Brother that plays with me has it in his head I putt like a pro (which is not the case...just a lot better at it than him normally).

No jerkiness with putter. In fact I used to average between 30 to 34 putts a round when chipping was better....it was the best part of my game getting 1 putts because of good greenside shots. Playing a course that has a lot of greenside couch instead of that nice soft lush old fashioned grass I do struggle with.

I find Waterford Valley has very big greens. I tend to play away from the danger which can leave longer putts sometimes leading to 3 putts. Also the practice green is quite slopy but the course greens are not and the oncourse pace seems different...so it is more a feel thing from distance and being able to make most putts from inside 5 feet which cost me yesterday. Brother that plays with me has it in his head I putt like a pro (which is not the case...just a lot better at it than him normally).

Before I get warned off, I'll jump in....It might be something as simple as you're playing the wrong ball based on the firmness of the ground.

...Have a crack at practicing under the conditions in which you don't typically perform with different balls.

If you perform Ok on Bent grass fairway/greens but struggle on Couch, then you may wish to find another country to live in...haha

Probably think about what ball you're using; go softer in Summer, bit harder in Winter. As simple as going Pro V in Summer, Pro VX in winter. TP5 in Summer or TP5X in winter.

Good luck.

Sorry toxic I'll return to face the wall and remove my bullshit from your rather excellent thread... what's the CCR at Howlong? Asking for a mate.

Well done. Sounds like the chipping is good now :fire: .

When you go from a flat wedge to standard you will likely find your full approach shots being far more susceptible to the miss left. Adjust accordingly or try to play all approach shots with your pitching wedge.

Eric Routley - an absolute icon of Amateur golf in Victoria - passed away very recently. Different time but believe he never carried a PW. Played all his pitches with a 9 iron.
Which likely had the loft of today’s pitching wedges

Cohuna is a fun track!

Is there still the issue of 40 billion flies

PS - welcome aboard
Havent been too bad this summer, much better in the morning than in the late arvo.

Sorry to interrupt the shitfight, but Howlong is one of the better courses on the Murray.
Went there on a Golf trip, was better than Tocumwal the year before

Why does it bother you so much, does it really matter if I've never had a handicap but could kick your ass? I don't see why it bothers you? You don't have to read it, it works for me, I don't give a **** what they teach you at Peasantville GC. If old mate who had 40+ putts wants to improve, maybe he'll try it on a practice range and it works.... again, what's it to you?

If you can get within 10 shots of me, I'll be surprised. Enjoy Howlong, wherever the **** that is.
You’ve never had a handicap?

No, it was my 3rd sport.

I've never been a member of a club or poor enough to really require fun tickets (stableford points, +-, whatever's) in order to have good time. I'm a weirdo, I wanted to know how good I was, I never required participation awards.

I caddied for a bloke in the Vic Open in 1998 (year 10), I just acquired knowledge and got better. When I finally quit cricket and golf was my focus I lived in Sing and worked 18 hour days.

"Annoyingly" I just never thought it was that tough, I mean the ball doesn't move and you've got 14 "bats" to get it in. I'm a golf snob just not what you'd call a golfer, albeit I used to be able to beat blokes (friends) who played Pen for Royal pretty regularly.

Just wasn't an issue to me.

No, it was my 3rd sport.

I've never been a member of a club or poor enough to really require fun tickets (stableford points, +-, whatever's) in order to have good time. I'm a weirdo, I wanted to know how good I was, I never required participation awards.

I caddied for a bloke in the Vic Open in 1998 (year 10), I just acquired knowledge and got better. When I finally quit cricket and golf was my focus I lived in Sing and worked 18 hour days.

"Annoyingly" I just never thought it was that tough, I mean the ball doesn't move and you've got 14 "bats" to get it in. I'm a golf snob just not what you'd call a golfer, albeit I used to be able to beat blokes (friends) who played Pen for Royal pretty regularly.

Just wasn't an issue to me.
Think your online coaching credibility just took a hit. A self promoter who has never played a round of competitive golf? You don’t know whether you’re good or not because you’ve never competed.

Self promoter lol sorry

..."I'm a cat, shouldn't be allowed on Courses"...

Was that in this thread, or another?

I think you may have misdiagnosed self-hatred and self-promotion.

Apologies for whatever you call confidence, I must have missed the memo.

I never said I was good or better, I just said I had some decent days and tried to give a few ideas that helped me when in a similar position.

I was snobbish, sure, but that's golf isn't it, or am I in the wrong thread again?

... I'm talking in a past-tense, but a handicap on a different course to which you're playing is basically meaningless.

It's fairy dust, a gambling tool.

Self promoter lol sorry

..."I'm a cat, shouldn't be allowed on Courses"...

Was that in this thread, or another?

I think you may have misdiagnosed self-hatred and self-promotion.

Apologies for whatever you call confidence, I must have missed the memo.

I never said I was good or better, I just said I had some decent days and tried to give a few ideas that helped me when in a similar position.

I was snobbish, sure, but that's golf isn't it, or am I in the wrong thread again?

... I'm talking in a past-tense, but a handicap on a different course to which you're playing is basically meaningless.

It's fairy dust, a gambling tool.
if I could be bothered I could go back and quote you some of your baseless self-promotion. Do you want that? You’ve never put a card in FFS.

Not sure how you get yourself to snobbish. There’s many clubs - National is one - that doesn’t let choppers with no handicap onto their course. That’s you champion.

if I could be bothered I could go back and quote you some of your baseless self-promotion. Do you want that? You’ve never put a card in FFS.

Not sure how you get yourself to snobbish. There’s many clubs - National is one - that doesn’t let choppers with no handicap onto their course. That’s you champion.

Ok mate, you're a 10 handicapper at a goat track. Where do you want the flowers sent?

Sorrento a goat track? OK.
Royal Melbourne by the Bay is nice.

I don't understand the "Self Promoting" nonsense. I qualify for all-abilities, I'm hardly self promoting. In saying that, if one can't back it up they're soon found out. Maybe we're from different eras, I dunno. Golf isn't a sport to say you can play when you cannot.

I was rude to the bloke from Howlong, but that actually looks nice. Also only about an hour from the farm. To him, I apologise.

Sorrento GC is also a lovely course. Not overly difficult but good.

Enjoy your weekend.

Further to this...

Fact is I used to be bloody good, that I played (usually stoned) is neither here nor there, my offer extends to you. You clearly need help, rather than be upset at people who are better, just accept it, learn from them and you'll hopefully find some peace.
I reckon this qualifies as baseless self promotion from someone who has never put a card in. You brought this on yourself

Again, it's only baseless if you kick my ass at your home club off the stick.

My contention is that's unrikely, at best. Even though I'm all-abilities.

Brought what upon myself? Settle. Your or whoever's disdain is of no concern to me.

None.

I feel bad about what I said to Mr Howlong, but that's it.

You're still sad because I called your masterpiece a pancake, just admit it! It's ok.

Sat Comp. 46 first nine, stormed home with a 41. So, 87 max hcp 27. Finished Nett 60. Won the Comp. by 1 stroke. Trophy and 20 bucks and copped a lot of sh1t!!!! HA Ha Ha.

Bad news is my hcp has dropped to 15. Don't think I'll be winning for a while.

Sat Comp. 46 first nine, stormed home with a 41. So, 87 max hcp 27. Finished Nett 60. Won the Comp. by 1 stroke. Trophy and 20 bucks and copped a lot of sh1t!!!! HA Ha Ha.

Bad news is my hcp has dropped to 15. Don't think I'll be winning for a while.
How the hell does your handicap fall from 27 to 15? Is this your first round after getting it?

Shepparton in sensational condition

14/21 for 35 points
Back 9 included holes 10-11-12 all 3 putts ffs.
2nd game ever wearing prescription glasses...

Depth perception was a challenge