Your most hated supporters whilst at the footy.....

Richmondfan#1

Jul 6, 2000
OK we all have arch-enemies, what supporters are yours?
We are not having a crack at ppl on this board. I guess this calls for a bit of generalism. So..... who do you hate most when going to the footy?
I have only been to a handful of games so I'm leaving this topic for you guys!

I bet Richmond get a lot of votes.....

------------------

I look into your eyes and i say, I see a part of me.
And when you smile, you light the room.
Sorry i have to go away, no please don't misconstrue, i just hope you understand one day, the hardest part was leaving you.

For once I'm not going to pick on Collingwood. I believe the worst supporters are North Melbourne, especially since they have had Carey playing for them. They are bad losers and they are even worst as winners.

I am not gonna nominate any one club, coz it's mainly small handfuls of supporters from any given club who annoy the hell outta me. Not fair to label all club supporters like that though.

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

1.Essendon -They're crop of bandwagoners and 'were the best' attitude makes them #1 EASILY.

2. Adelaide -I remember going down to footy park back in 91, I was only a kid, and they were savage. Throwing minties and stones at us, they need to be locked up!

3. Richmond -Dont like em', but wish Melbourne supporters were a bit more like them.

Originally posted by Richmondfan#1:
Finally someone shares my point of view lioness!!! I think generalism is unfair as we are all not the same.

So way did you ask the question then?. I believe you can generalize club supporters. All the clubs supporters might not fall into that generalism but a majority of them do. Lets use your team Richmond as an example must of their supporters are regarded as drunks and I'm speaking from experience as I have seen plenty of Richmond games at the MCG.

Richmond have tens of thousands of supporters, and probably only a very small percentage of their supporters are those drunken fools. Like I said, it's not fair to categorise supporters from ANY club. Well that's just what I think anyway.
smile.gif

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

Have you ever wondered why their are so many pubs in Richmond then?.

[This message has been edited by carb70 (edited 20 January 2001).]

Good topic richmondfan

1) Adelaide - loud mouth bandwagoners. Dont you dare speak badly about a crow player, youll get a shell of abuse at you, and "hes a champ, hes won a premiership", of course every player whos ever played in a premiership is a champion player. The majority are very quiet...they seem to get VERY quiet when losing, and are VERY quick to turn on their players/coach. Like to bringup the "weve won two flags" line whenever losing.

2. Centrals - The worst by far in the SANFL. They spit, swear, start fights, drunken louts ALL of them. Going to Elizabeth is the rquivalent of going to Victoria Park while collingwood are playing an aborignal side!! (bad joke)
Shockers. They intentionally start brawls. They are very british in their chants, in the fact they stand in a HUGE group at one end. Ive been in many an argument and fight with centrals fans. They smuggle alcohol into grounds, one of the ladys at my work got a full beer can thrown at her face from a central fan (shes a norwood fan) and she wasnt saying anything! (was in the advertiser...norwood v central at parade 2000)

Big PP

Its time to get over the GF and move on pal. The bomber targetting for its own sake is getting a bit tired.

Carlton supporters are 10 times worse bandwaggon jumpers and gloaters than we are. Though I would not include Bee or ODN in that generation as they seem FAR more knowledgable about the game than your average Bluebagger. I remember 95 and they were shedloads worse than we are now.

The supporters who shit me the most are those Collingwood supporters who go really quiet when we're losing and do absolutely nothing to try to lift the team. They're usually the ones that piss off half way through the last quarter (if not earlier). They sit there and just grizzle when something bad happens and don't try to create any sort of atmosphere.

I don't know where we ever got the reputation for being passionate supporters. It's a load of bollocks. Most Collingwood supporters are as boring as bat-shit.

I wish we could be more like Richmond supporters. They shit me big time when they beat us ... and I get as jealous as hell. I don't think their band-wagon reputation is justified at all. Their team's been mediocre for a long time, but the supporters are still as full on as ever. The more they suffer, the more full-on they get.

For Christ's sake, Pie supporters. Wake up!!!

------------------
**floreat pica**

I think i might borrow a little of Alf. Same sort of thing used to happen as a polar opposite with the Hawks. Not so much now, but back in the glory days, nothing used to annoy me more than Hawks fans who were so blase about the team always winning. They were so damn blase about it, it bugged the hell out of me. The passion was there from some, but others! Geez could they get any more sedate? Leaving before the end of games, as they always knewn we were going to win. In some ways the best thing that ever happened to us was the near merger as it woke some fans up to what they came so close to nearly losing forever. Nowdays i reckon our fans are as passionate as anyones, and thats a very pleasing thing to me.

For fans from other clubs? Hate em all during the game, have a beer with em after it.

Cheers.

Richmond fans, either have a larger proportion of drunks or their proportion of drunks are drunker.

Thing is, this goes both ways. Because of their higher level of intoxication, they are also louder, more supportive of their team (obviously especially when winning), and have you ever wondered why their song is so imposing? Because its sung with dutch courage!

Very entertaining and loud, but also have a mean streak towards other fans.

To be honest, while I was up near the top of the hierarchy of the Fitzroy Mob, I modelled our development plan using Richmond louts as a general information resource. The test was to exclude the scarier elements, and that never worked properly, the reason being that every team, and every supporter group, has someone like that.

But I must admit that we were pricks as supporters too. Luckily for other teams, we never won, so we were always tempered by a form of submissive modesty.

Which, also, went both ways, as the battler ethic brings with it another form of elitism again.

Now THAT one, I was proud of.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Well forgive me for upsetting all you 'goody two shoes'But i hate any bastard that aint collingwood.
And if you are not collingwood i wanna say this to you,
WHY DONT YOUS ALL
WHY DONT YOUS ALL GET ROOTED!!!!

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

Which ones do you hate the most, Joffa?

Okay, fair enough, I probably haven't answered it myself, yet.

The fans I hated the most as a young Fitzroy supporter were Melbourne fans (generalisation).

The fans I hated the most as an older Fitzroy supporter were North Melbourne fans (generalisation).

Although I have hated Collingwood fans on occasion, I have never hated them as a rule. The sparring was too much fun.

Now, without an AFL team to follow, I no longer hate any of them.

------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy

Bastard Crows. Have the worst, most ignorant, stupid, ugly,smelly, inferiority complexed, bunch of toss pots ever to be allowed entry into the VFL\AFL.
Essendon - greater percentage of supporters = greater percentage of w***ers.
Collingwood = foolish has beens, epomotised by President Eddie McLiar and his deluded belief that they are some great power everyone is afraid of.

WOW...another joffa, SHITE this will be fun and anti collingwood too,well show me the fuse and give magpie_joffa a thucking match!!!

YOU IMPOSTER

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP

3. Richmond -Dont like em', but wish Melbourne supporters were a bit more like them.[/B]
I don't want to be anything like Richmond supporters. If you don't like them, why would you want to be like them?

------------------
The Melbourne Football Club: Tradition, Heritage, Excitement

The supporters thay annoy me the most are the many fellow Eagles supporters that do nothing but whinge and don't get behind their team on matchday. I'd like to swap them for passionate, screaming Eagles lovers that can't get tickets.

Your most hated supporters whilst at the footy.....