Personal Experience Your own Experience

I've had this 7-8 times, a couple of times I've actually 'seen' a hooded being in my room, one time i felt my bed shaking, other times I've 'heard' evil things or there's just a sense of evil nearby. Even knowing it's just a hallucination the fear is incredible.

Of course. The analogy I'd use is being help by an armed man - you don't know if the gun is real fake, but the fear is exactly the same.

Night terrors have scared people for thousands of years. We now know a bit more about a possible cause for some of these experiences - doesn't change how you feel though.

For all you people with the 'just falling asleep' experiences, there is a well-known condition called sleep paralysis. Back in the olden days they used to call it Old Hag, because of the belief that a witch was trying to take the sleeper. We now know that it's to do with REM and hypnogogic states - the symptoms can vary greatly but you usually wake up, sometimes paralised and in a deep state of terror. You might feel like someone is on top of you or detect a presence in your room. Some people are awake during the experience, others only recall a distant memory of it happening but relive the feelings of fear.

Here is the base condition, or what used to be called 'Old Hag'. Please note that there are variations of this condition.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_paralysis

yep had that happen to me, woke up saw what I thought were 3 ghosts, 2 men and 1 boy. The boy was giggling then they all came closer and one of the men leaned over and pushed on my chest, couldn't move, had trouble breathing and couldn't make a sound, they were all laughing and getting up to my face, then they vanished and I got up terrified. Was completely convinced it was ghosts until I read up on sleep paralysis and realised the physical symptoms and circumstances were text book. Was terrifying though, to top it off the "ghosts" were bogans.

I have also had moments of sleep paralysis. Hands running through my hair, across my face, mystery voices, blanket levitating and shaking violently and more.

I had my eyes open and tried to turn my head but just couldn't. Tried rolling over. I only could lift my arm slightly off the bed. It was an incredible force keeping me down. Fairly frightening :)

yep had that happen to me, woke up saw what I thought were 3 ghosts, 2 men and 1 boy. The boy was giggling then they all came closer and one of the men leaned over and pushed on my chest, couldn't move, had trouble breathing and couldn't make a sound, they were all laughing and getting up to my face, then they vanished and I got up terrified. Was completely convinced it was ghosts until I read up on sleep paralysis and realised the physical symptoms and circumstances were text book. Was terrifying though, to top it off the "ghosts" were bogans.

It is scary. I experienced something like this for years too. I'd wake up soon after I went to sleep with a jolt, but couldn;t move. Then all these negative thoughts would flood through my head, like they were being whispered in my brain. Then i'd remember a snatch of the experience later on. I know what it is, have for ages, but it's still an unpleasant thing to happen.

Second one sounds kind of like sleep paralysis, although you can't normally move at all while it's happening. I've had the struggling to breathe, seeing and hearing things before in sleep paralysis, it's never anything short of terrifying.

apologies. Didn;t see you had addressed this earlier in the thread.

It is scary. I experienced something like this for years too. I'd wake up soon after I went to sleep with a jolt, but couldn;t move. Then all these negative thoughts would flood through my head, like they were being whispered in my brain. Then i'd remember a snatch of the experience later on. I know what it is, have for ages, but it's still an unpleasant thing to happen.

Likely is the explanation of my bad experience.

I've had stuff like that numerous times. Suddenly awaking in fear.

No doubt it wasn't the cause when I've seen ghosts (my nan) though.

I had full controls those times.

I once dreamed that someone turned around, smiled and then pulled a gun and shot me "Bang!"

I was then wide awake, eyes open. Then from the corner of the room it seemed, more shots fired "Bang!" "Bang!" Bang!"....."Bang!" Loud enough that the rest of my family should've woken up and reacted.

I was pretty freaked. Then yeah looked into it and reckon it was a hypnogogic hallucination. It was like I was awake but my senses (well, just hearing for me) was still feeding me info from the dream for a few moments.

Think waking up too quickly contributed.

Not 100% sure where I stand to be honest. However, back in my first year of uni was struggling with a unit and would drop out and go back to work if i failed. Was working on an assignment 1 night, at the same time my uncle was in hospital in the very last stages of cancer. Anyway, working on the computer felt something on my shoulder, without looking flicked it off. Without seeing anything, thought it may have been a moth or something of the like. About 10 seconds later, heavier feeling on my shoulder, flicked it off with more force and a little more anxiety this time. About 10 seconds later, big downward pressure on my shoulder, flicked at my shoulder, also jumped out of my chair to see what it was, also yelling f### off. Nothing there.
My uncle passed away that night, never actually asked anyone what time. I've had the belief it was my uncle giving me a reassuring touch on the shoulder letting me know that i'd be right. Ended up getting 50% for the unit and passing by the skin of my teeth.

My grandmother was a really mean woman, except to me I was the golden grandson and she was a doting and protective nanna.

Anyway, she had a heart attack and couldn't look after herself anymore so dad moved her in with us. I just turned 18, so nan said I could stay at her place rent free. We lived out in the sticks, and a tidy little inner-city weatherboard had a certain appeal. I moved in, gave the joint a paint freshen up and put the daggy coffee tables/religious prints in the garage. Nan died a month later.

Fast forward 2 years. Met a nice girl. She'd stay over a couple of nights a week and most weekends. I used to work on saturday mornings, and I noticed she'd get up when I did and leave at the same time to go to the library and catch up on assignments/shopping/breakfast with friends etc. I thought maybe she was having it off with another bloke, but seriously who could be that horny at 8am in the middle of winter? She basically didn't want to be in the house unless I was there.

One day I got back from work and found her sitting in her car. It wouldn't start so she spent the next 5 hours window shopping the main street until she got bored. I'd had enough of this nonsense, and dumbfounded why you wouldn't just go back inside, crack open the scotch and watch cartoons all morning. Now, when you're early 20's there's a bit of a social stigma attached to livin in ya nans old house So I never told the girlfriend this, just said it was a rental.

She told me - in the middle of the street with tears streaming down her face - there's an old woman ghost in the house who harasses and runs her out of the place when I'm not there. Good Ol' Nanna!

When I was 13, I was with my cousin who also was 13 at the time. We had to go out the front of the house to get a camera from her parent's car. It was about 11pm at night. She was in front of me and started yelling at me as to who that was across the road that's calling us. I couldn't see anyone! She said this a few times and i still couldnt see anyone. When she got to the car she grabbed the camera and then ran straight back past me yelling at me that its behind you.
When I looked behind me and across the road there was this lady with pure white hair up to her waist with only half a body floating towards me. She was also waving at me to come to her. I freaked like my cousin did and bolted inside. When I got to the door I looked back and it was gone. We called our parents and my dad came out and we seen nothing.

I see this cousin every five years or so and we still talk about it. i am now 40. She hasnt stopped going to church every sunday from that day. I had an empty park across the road so it couldn't have hid in someone's house.

I know what i have seen is 1000% true as i wasnt the only one to see it. i wish i hadnt seen it.
i went and seen a clairvoyant about 2 years after it happened and she said i had seen the devil.

about for months ago was sittn on couch and got the picture in my head again, this time i could make out the face.
let me say the next day i went and bought a cross and will never stop wearing it.

believe people believe is all i can say. there is more out there, i dont know what, but believe in the man upstairs.
do not trust clairvoyants or any other wicca garbage.

My brother was killed in a car accident when he was 19. Every night for the next few nights whenever I looked out my bedroom window before I went to bed there was a dog sitting in the same spot looking in at me.

woke up to go school one morning and just as went to step out the house there was this dead crow on the first step! didnt think much of it, then came home for lunch and received a telegram saying grandad had passed away that morning!

Anyway when my sister returned i told her all about it and she said she had seen a ghost in the house and could relate to everything i said and she had experienced it as well and did not want to tell me because i would not of stayed there and she had not seen anything strange for 3 months at least before she left for her holiday etc and thought it may of stopped and that filing box she told me use to be kept in the kitchen in a cupboard above the fridge which was never used as the doors were broken on the hinge and she had junk in there that she never used etc not to mention the height of the cupboard which was weird as i had never seen a cupboard above a fridge cavity before and you needed to stand on a chair to get proper access to it. She moved out when her lease expired that year and i still drive past the house today every now and then and it has been empty for the best part of the last 5 years and very run down.

upon reading the pots and pans bit teh hairs on my body stood up as one. freaky stuff mate.

when i got to the quoted paragraph i started getting dizzy. had to re-read the paragraph a few times as i was short of breath. i think a comma or two could help me there ;)

When I looked behind me and across the road there was this lady with pure white hair up to her waist with only half a body floating towards me. She was also waving at me to come to her. I freaked like my cousin did and bolted inside. When I got to the door I looked back and it was gone. We called our parents and my dad came out and we seen nothing.

that is just fkin scary.

i believe its crazy old women in ghost form that are the scariest things.

2jb5v1i.jpg

Vincent Chase Primetime Pricey stewie griffen nufan djrossie
What does this mean??

Again, what does this have to do with anything?!

When I was 13, I was with my cousin who also was 13 at the time. We had to go out the front of the house to get a camera from her parent's car. It was about 11pm at night. She was in front of me and started yelling at me as to who that was across the road that's calling us. I couldn't see anyone! She said this a few times and i still couldnt see anyone. When she got to the car she grabbed the camera and then ran straight back past me yelling at me that its behind you.

I see this cousin every five years or so and we still talk about it. i am now 40. She hasnt stopped going to church every sunday from that day. I had an empty park across the road so it couldn't have hid in someone's house.

I know what i have seen is 1000% true as i wasnt the only one to see it. i wish i hadnt seen it.
i went and seen a clairvoyant about 2 years after it happened and she said i had seen the devil.

about for months ago was sittn on couch and got the picture in my head again, this time i could make out the face.
let me say the next day i went and bought a cross and will never stop wearing it.

believe people believe is all i can say. there is more out there, i dont know what, but believe in the man upstairs.
do not trust clairvoyants or any other wicca garbage.

Good sighting but this confused me a bit. You visited a clairvoyant an apparently took her at her word that it was the devil, but then you go on to say not to trust clairvoyants? Not sure why the devil would appear as a half bodied woman either, sounds like 'just' a ghost to me.

yeah took her word for it when i was 15/16 years old.
the reason i dont trust them is she told me a heap of stuff at the time, which was right! but she also didnt tell me the things that i needed to know. i dont trust them cos she had the important info and kept that from me, had she been more honest my life would of been a lot better.
i understand now 25 years later what has happened who it was that i really saw.
basically it was this girl who i met around the same time and what she did was fall in love with me and make my life a misery with every chic i got with and my ex missus. one evil girl man one evil girl...
it was only about 4 months ago sittn on the couch when believe it or not a voice spoke to me and i got the clear vision of that floating lady but this time i recognized the face and wow. i was able to put all these pieces in my life together, when i traced all the misery back it led to this girl who fell in love with me when i was 13.
really hard to write all this down because it all goes over 25 years.
apparently the devil cant expose it whole self there is a always something missing eg legs arms or whatever. thats what my research has come up with.

Im not, or wasnt, a believer in ghosts either until I started working at my current workplace. I wrote this on the GD ghost thread a couple years back, but I work in an old house in the country thats over 160 years old, the original owners had over a dozen children and only half of them reached 5 years old and those that did pass away, did so in the house.

Theres been times where I have been working late and the only person left, have locked and shut every door myself and 10-15 minutes later have heard doors slam shut, theres been doors I have locked that are suddenly unlocked and wide open, i've twice heard what sounded distinctly like children laughing and running down the hallway....and this is at 6pm, dark outside, and noone within 500m of the place, let alone multiple children.

The door to my office is probably around 160 years old as well and naturally swings open. You cant have the door slightly ajar, its either shut, or its wide open leaning against the wall. Ive had the door swing shut twice, once with someone else in the room and once we've been unable to re-open the door for about 15 seconds, like someone was holding it shut...once again when noone else was there.

Its the only time ive experienced anything like it and has made me half change my mind from definitely no supernatural/ghost type things being possible to maybe there are these sort of things that do happen. I've tried to think of logical reasons, maybe I did forget to lock a door but I cant find any logical reason behind the office door shutting, or the laughing children. Others have had similar experiences that work there.

I live in Vietnam, a highly superstitious country where Ma ,(ghost), is believed in by just about everyone, almost to the point of hysteria in some people. Whereas, I was the ultimate skeptic upon my arrival.

My first house was in a Mekong Delta city, organised by the people that I worked for at the time. Nice house, 2 story, fitted out for a foreigner etc, but immediately upon entry it didn't "feel right". I felt unwelcome.

Nevertheless, I had no choice, it was my house and the hassle of getting another one for a foreigner here is significant to say the least. And, I had a pretty Viet filly to ease my concerns and take up my time.;)

At first, there was nothing but a "feeling". No "visions", no weird doors and windows opening and closing unnassisted, no footsteps, not freezing cold etc, as the normal stories go.

But there was definitely "something" not right. And I narrowed it down that the most powerful "feeling" was coming from the alcove under the internal staircase, a small unused area which we used for storing junk and stuff like suitcases and old packing boxes. Everytime I walked past there it gave me the heebie-jeebies, and being in the middle of the ground floor, those times were many.

I never mentioned this to my "girl" at the time as I didn't want to appear weak, or try to frighten her at all. But after a 5 or 6 weeks I was seriously getting freaked out. How do you describe a "feeling"? But I was certain that I was not wanted in this house. However, I was also busy fitting in to a new country, a new job, new friends etc, so I tried to put it into the back of my mind.

Then one night, yes I'd had a few beers, I came home late - the girl was also out late at a work party so I was alone. Anyone who has lived in Vietnam will understand that house security in Vietnam is equivalent to Fort Knox. Solid steel sliding shutters on doors with **** off big padlocks, solid steel bars on all windows - it is pretty much impossible to break in with out an oxy-cutter and a sledge hammer. So it was extremely unlikely that you got intruders.

So, I walked inside, past the dreaded alcove, and there she was. Looking at me. Just a tiny, old, withered Vietnamese woman wearing the famous conical bamboo hat from here and dressed in old style, grey silk "pajamas" with shiny buttons down the front.

She didn't say a word, her arms were crossed in front of her and her head was bowed, but only bowed enough so that she could raise her eyeline to look at me. Or should I say GLARE at me. There was nothing "supernatural" with her eyes at all, they didn't glow or shine or anything weird. However, there was no mistaking the message they conveyed and the "feeling" that overcame me.

GTFO and GTFO now!!:mad:, is my best description of it.

Needless to say, I did. I ****ed off to a hotel quicker than a Vietnamese cuts up a dog for dinner.

The next day, as someone else gathered my clothes and belongings for me, my landlady "kindly" informed me that an old woman used to own the house, and that her husband was VC and had been killed in the war, and she, "obviously" hated foreigners. She also, conveniently, died in the house - yes, dropped dead from a heart attack in front of the alcove - as you do.

Yeah, believe it if you want, (I certainly wouldn't if I was reading this a few years back), but on my childrens lives, this really happened.:(

Personal Experience Your own Experience