Your worst experience with opposition supporters

This thread has reminded me of an "experience" I had back in '91. I was the guest of my girlfriend at the time's father who was a member of a Footscray coterie. One of the "go to the footy in a suit" brigade. It was interesting for a young bloke from the country to see how the other half went about things. Met some past players and had a few glasses of cab sav with Super MacPherson who turned out to be a great bloke. Even bumped into Teddy Whitten in the stairwell. This was the Footscray v Hawthorn game at the Western Oval, and when the time came after the three course lunch to take our seats I found myself sitting next to this elderly lady. During the third quarter, things got a bit willing in the outer and we could see a bloke in a Hawthorn jumper being escorted out by the constabulary. She turns to me and says: "Tsk, Hawthorn supporters. They'd sell blood!" I've never heard that turn of phrase before or since. It must be the rich old lady version of calling someone a campaigner.

Over the last week or so, I've gone back and read this entire thread. The spitters and middle aged tough guys make me incredulous. Like "what is wrong with you?" incredulous. I've actually had pretty good experiences with Carlton, Richmond, Port, Freo, and Melbourne fans. Typically give every team's supporter stronghold a wide berth though.

This went on to the point where it was just annoying hearing waaa everytime the ball went into the forward 50. After we lost they literally just said waaaa everytime one of us spoke till we all reached Spencer and my mate told them to piss off. Now they got angry and said if we talked again they'll make me cry like Crywoldt

Hard campaigners.

Just found this thread.

As a guard who’s worked at nearly every pub/club in the CBD and it’s inner surroundings, my take would be...
As far as the big followings go, Richmond fans are by far the best. Are mostly good natured (have very thick skins due to a long drought), are in the whole very good patrons.
Collingwood fans in general would be the worst “baiters”
Essendon Friday night games were always our busiest nights for some reason, we ended up dreading when they’d been fixtured a Friday/Saturday night game.

Certainly not the worst experience I've had, but perhaps the most recent. I was at the MCG yesterday as a neutral and noticed two Melbourne supporters chanting 'slip and break your leg' - to the chewy on your boot tune, every time the pies had a set shot. This lasted until midway through the third quarter until security had a chat with them. They left very shortly after.

Obviously not a reflection on Melbourne as a club or anything and I'm sure this happens at every game of the year to some degree, but honestly never understood people who genuinely wish injuries on opposition players. I imagine they wouldn't take too kindly to someone yelling out 'SLIP OVA N BREAK UR LEG' if it was their brother/sister/friend who was that specific player.

Yep - 1972 - scoreboard end at Princes Park - Carlton vs Essendon. I was 7 years old standing with my mother and had to listen all day to Essendon supporters refer to Syd Jackson as an 'f$%#ing black wog'.

My mother, who wouldn't normally say boo to a fly, finally turned around and abused them and said they should be disgusted with themselves !!
Your Mother was spot on but considering Syd Jackson accused a Coll opponent of racially vilyfying him (which he later admitted was a blatant lie at the behest of then Carlton President) to escape suspension in the 1970 final series, then perhaps there's a little irony.

Funnily enough, only 3 years earlier the Carlton captain also told a blatant fib at the tribunal which denied Neville Crowe the only chance he had of winning a premiership.

At a Dons v North game about 10 years ago.

There were a group of Australians of African decent supporting the Roos. A person shouted out..... "gee, the Kangaroos are so desperate for supporters they will take anyone"...

At a Cats v Hawks game in 2008...

Cat's supporter behind me kept yelling out homophobic slurs about players. I turned and had a word with them in the break, but one of them had left his seat and then other claimed it was friend making the slurs.

Best moment with oppo fan:

On a packed tram after the Hawks beat WC by 100 points. A WC supporter was having a conversation about the game with two European back packers... explaining the rules etc. I think the whole tram was listening. The WC supporter was then departing the tram and was saying very friendly good byes to the tourists... at the last second one the tourist yelled loudly, in a very polite foreign accent, "I hope your team doesn't suck as much ass next year". The whole of the packed tram enjoyed that one.

Just found this thread.

As a guard who’s worked at nearly every pub/club in the CBD and it’s inner surroundings, my take would be...
As far as the big followings go, Richmond fans are by far the best. Are mostly good natured (have very thick skins due to a long drought), are in the whole very good patrons.
Collingwood fans in general would be the worst “baiters”
Essendon Friday night games were always our busiest nights for some reason, we ended up dreading when they’d been fixtured a Friday/Saturday night game.
You obviously never worked the Royal.

Essendon supporters in general are the worst. The constant booing and whinging of the umpires all game gets rather annoying.
Sounds a lot like Collingwood fans. No supporter-base yells BAAALLL as quickly as Collingwood fans. They then proceed to boo and whinge when the umps don't pay a legitimate tackle as holding the ball. It's like every tackle is supposed to be holding the ball.

The Old Duck freo supporter at a Derby, which was a Freo home game.

Freo member had given us (2 WC members) their tickets and my mate who is very affable, introduced himself to said purple and asked if she was confident today.

Her response was "confident, not arrogant". She then proceeded to greet each freo goal by turning to my mate and clapping within inches of the front of his face and yelling "yeaaarh".

Naturally this didn't do wonders for disposition, but calmer heads prevailed given our location within the Freo members.

Lost the game, but thoroughly enjoyed Juddy's surprise Glendinning medal win (Josh Carr was a crab)!
Worst?

Really?

Sounds a lot like Collingwood fans. No supporter-base yells BAAALLL as quickly as Collingwood fans. They then proceed to boo and whinge when the umps don't pay a legitimate tackle as holding the ball. It's like every tackle is supposed to be holding the ball.

No, the consensus on the thread is that Essendon supporters are the worst and with very good reason.

took my wife to one of her first ever games of footy back in 2006 down at Kardinia park. Game was a drwa and was the game where Lonergan lost his kidney.

Had an aunt who lived about a 5 min walk from the ground so I said we can park there, go to the footy and then spend a few days in Torquay.

Trying to explain the rules to her I had a Geelong supporter turn around and tell me 'to * off you don't know what you are talking about'. End up in an almost physical alteration where she pleaded with me to move.

Was watching the Collingwood v West Coast game from 2002 on foxtel last night and have to say it seemed like the crowd was really well behaved, no arrogant tactics or carry on from any of the supporter base (well none that could be heard) does anyone have any idea from when it changed from then to the carry on it sometimes can be today? Mainly referring to booing of injured players or individual team chants and things like that
Can’t say the same of their players.

Phil Matera was a sniping dog in that particular match.

No, the consensus on the thread is that Essendon supporters are the worst and with very good reason.
I've never personal experienced issues with the Essendon crowd. There'll always be some drunk idiot.

I just find that the Collingwood crowd has a larger proportion of "ferals" than anyone else. My own experience anyway.

Essendon are by far the worst, yell abuse and endorse confrontational behaviour. Came down to the cheer squad and starting abusing us and the whole game were throwing lollies and food at us.
Surprises me at Metricon. I know what it's like to be in a tiny minority at away grounds. Have found oppo supporters ok in that situation. We got a fair percentage of oppo supporters at Spotless for the Bombers but I cant imagine them bullying the cheersquad.
A group of hoons always possible I guess.

Surprises me at Metricon. I know what it's like to be in a tiny minority at away grounds. Have found oppo supporters ok in that situation. We got a fair percentage of oppo supporters at Spotless for the Bombers but I cant imagine them bullying the cheersquad.
A group of hoons always possible I guess.

This was at Etihad.