YVMDFL Thread - 2012

Call me crazy but when you fool around while representing the league at interleague all bets are off, there was no need for her daddy coming here with his chest out. Make a goose of yourself and you might cop some banter, wear it or don't read it.

What did lol jokes say i missed it?
This forum is boring enough as it is surely we don't want to put a stop to one of the only blokes that adds a bit of value.
Agree! Why remove the entire thread? lol_jks match report is a highlight each week.
On the other hand, why the need to make personal and insulting remarks about people? lol_jks is too good for that - cheeky and funny enough without resorting to personal offence. That stuff is unnecessary and cheapens the Forum.
Nobby (Carly and others) had a right to be offended, but the thread should have stayed - just delete the silly comments. Now we may have lost lol_jks to a red card - at least until he/she emerges with a new forum ID.
Make a goose of yourself and you might cop some banter, wear it or don't read it.
Brave words, Jsh, but you have the advantage of being anonymous, so you can make a fool of yourself to your heart's content and turn up next week without having to fend off silly accusations!
Read the BF conditions for posting on the Forum! If you can't understand that, don't bloody post!!!
The major point is that others read comments where people are named and reputations are affected.
I see no glory in snipers!
Maybe you could really make a point and speak to Nobby face to face.... ;D

If I had to frame a market for relegation, it would look something like this:

Mount Evelyn 7/2 last week was a big step in the right direction. It might come down to round 18 v Healesville
Healesville 4 have played surprisingly well this year. Haven't won away yet, which is a worry
Warby 9/2 they should be allright...as long as they win in round 10 and 12
Upwey 8 everyone knows they won't finish last. They shouldn't even be on this list.
Emerald 9 better than their ladder position would indicate. Wouldn't want to lose this week though.
Wandin 10 shaping up as a finalist
Monbulk, Olinda 15 double chance contenders, not really really in the relegation mix
Gembrook, Woori 100 either would have to lose their last 10 in a row...and have other results go against them

$85.71 is what it cost mt eve per goal to spice up the relegation battle, more if you ave the games that cupido play with poor results
if healesville can steal one in the next 4 weeks, could the powers to be move the round 18 game mt eve v hve to the sunday, with 3 clubs on super sunday if the host loses at least they may make some extra cash for 2 div
just an idea, mteve play for some crap sponsorship cup v wandin on a sunday

Whats going on at Yarra Junction? No under 18s and on the weekend they forfeited their 2s. Small crowd at Seville as a result, would have lost out on a bit of money.

If you'd played a reserves game on the seville ground before the seniors, then the seniors would have been called off. Their ground is a disgrace. And the score clearly showed it. We haven't played there this season, thank god!
I heard there's been a mass walk out at Junction.

Whats going on at Yarra Junction? No under 18s and on the weekend they forfeited their 2s. Small crowd at Seville as a result, would have lost out on a bit of money.

Did you notice that there was no score at all in the third quarter there? I wouldn't be surprised if that has never happened before in the YVMDFL. I had to watch it on Valley Vision to see how it was even possible. The ground was heavy, but I've seen it worse. JMac didn't over-umpire, to his credit. A couple of players didn't make the distance from 20 metres.

$1200 a game, Berton? Might be worth it in the long run. Mount Evelyn's win on Saturday was worth two wins when you take into account the percentage differential. Healesville's last hope now would be to beat Emerald in round 17 and Mount Evelyn in round 18.

The Healesville ground was in good condition on Saturday. The new electronic scoreboard is a lot easier to read. Maybe the league could consider playing finals at Healesville this year, instead of at Seville.

If you'd played a reserves game on the seville ground before the seniors, then the seniors would have been called off. Their ground is a disgrace. And the score clearly showed it. We haven't played there this season, thank god!
I heard there's been a mass walk out at Junction.
Olinda played like a reserves side. they reckon they got a heap of injuries and they just want to avoid relegation. Season over? Cupido kicked a bago when the midfield went berko. Picked the Olinda pockets this time.
No one to stop Carmody, Cowan or Davis who could of won on there own.
Just watched a bit of Emerald game. What a disgrace that ground is.
If healesevil go down then divy 1 gets to swap Don rd for Belgraves back yard. Looking forward to that.

At least the travel problem will have been solved, I suppose. All the southern clubs will be in first division and the northern clubs will be in second division. Maybe we could suspend promotion/relegation, call them northern and southern divisions, and have a Super Bowl-style grand final between the two division winners.

The potato chip is cactus but ive seen it in worst nick. I left at half time but mustn't have missed much (a few points by the look of it). Hear all of these whispers about the ground being done but nothing ever comes out of it.

Junction are in a bit of a pickle. Hope its just a once off, no 2s or 18s for the rest of the year would be a nightmare for them.

At least the travel problem will have been solved, I suppose. All the southern clubs will be in first division and the northern clubs will be in second division. Maybe we could suspend promotion/relegation, call them northern and southern divisions, and have a Super Bowl-style grand final between the two division winners.

Warburton(Div 1), Yarra Junction(Div 2), Woori Yallock(Div 1), Seville(Div 2), Wandin(Div 1), Interesting North - South theory? As you made mention to in a thread posted a couple of seasons back about introducing netball. Without it the league simply can't survive!!! So the talk of who travels where, who has a better ground or who's scoreboard shines the brightest won't matter without netball skirts. Netball has reinvented YVMDFL!

So the talk of who travels where, who has a better ground or who's scoreboard shines the brightest won't matter without netball skirts. Netball has reinvented YVMDFL!

What's the issue with the netball? Is someone dropping it?
It has at least reinvigorated - if not reinvented - local country football, and definitely caused cultural changes for the better in our clubs.

Just wondering why it has been so quiet on here especially after the massive result in the mt ev olinda game what happened there olinda injuries or mt ev coming good. Might be a few nervous people on don rd and the end of the warn highway especially if they happen to knock off the bulkers this weekend. Also who do we think will sneak into third for the double chance.

Olinda looked Div 2 material. They were that bad. Cant blame the ground it was perfect. Lots of outs but the Rovers mids were all over it and might bang up your Bulkers on sat big G. DC has made the boys hungry. Mostly cos they havent got any money left to buy the best hot dogs in the league.
Healsevil are craping themselves. The rest of the clubs are hoping they hold there form. could be a battle between the two bloods for bottom if Ofcfcfc sorces crying about there injurys are right. and then we;ll have bel-grave coming up with all their u beaut facilities next year. Cant wait for that one.
And its been quiet cos no one has any dirt on any one any more. or they arent game to say it in case someone finds out who they really are and belts em behind the sheds, hay Finger?
Maybe someone out there has some footy news, but its not as much fun as scumming someone, is it?

The big thing for 1st division sides in line for relegation is the netball. Surely Mt Evelyn going to second division would have an effect on the netball department.
I watched Mt Evelyn vs Olinda seniors and could not see them being relegated. Cupido was amazing and could have kicked more if they did not play there short game and kick sideways. Cupido went though four opponents and had two on him at one stage. I think Monbulk will take the win this week afetr all that. Belief is a big thing.

Olinda looked Div 2 material. They were that bad. Cant blame the ground it was perfect. Lots of outs but the Rovers mids were all over it and might bang up your Bulkers on sat big G. DC has made the boys hungry. Mostly cos they havent got any money left to buy the best hot dogs in the league.
Taj. right on the money again.

looks like finals start this week

double chance final wandin v monbulk
week off final woori v gembrook
elim final mt eve v emerald
elim final olinda v warby
elim final / relegation healesville v upwey ( not upwey relegation)

the league would be rapt

second year in a row relegated team winning more than 4 games
the top end of second div must have improved over the years

Talking to a certain umpire on the wkend who informed me that the powers that be at the league are investigating forcing monbulk to relocate there remaining 2 home games due to the state of the ground in its current condition. Also said that after a junior game against upwey a couple weeks ago a young bloke got himself pretty crook which was directly attributed to the mud on the ground! Seen the state of it a couple weeks ago and fair to say the dutchies would not be applying to host any finals! Not sure where the league would move them too, but like the initiative shown by the league any move to make the game a better spectacle is a smart one! Monnie, any developments in the relocation?

Yep. The ground is appalling.
The council stepped in last year and resurfaced it.
Problem is that Emerald is worse and I guess a number of other grounds are heavily stressed. Another wet week and we are at home on Saturday. Where do they relocate all the games to?
I would say that irrespective of the ground conditions, Monbulk is not likely to consider hosting finals when so many better venues are available.
We are currently undergoing a Master Plan process, but that will take quite a few years yet, and even so, it concentrates heavily on buildings rather than the ground.
Short answer: we can all see the problems - just not the solutions.

YVMDFL Thread - 2012