Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- #10,220
There we go, that's the clip:

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Stating that we value him immeasurably as a player and will keep him to his contract.Well they are statements that affect Essendon
Not Hawthorn
Geez man, were you stamping your feet as you typed this?Hawks can get two top 10's by trading McKinzie to Saints then give us picks 7+8
Claiming anger and hurt and clearly work to be done to come back into the fold, terms like “rebuilding bridges” don’t lend themselves to being an environment that is easy to come back into, if at allStating that we value him immeasurably as a player and will keep him to his contract.
If we value him and you value him then it’s not devaluing anything.
Andy McGrath
See the embedded video above ^Claiming anger and hurt and clearly work to be done to come back into the fold, terms like “rebuilding bridges” don’t lend themselves to being an environment that is easy to come back into, if at all
But it doesn’t really matter, as the continued silence from Merrett speaks volumes , he won’t be going back to Tullamarine, will be a Hawk
Andy McGrath
Yeah look I'd love a pick back, maybe Essendon's future 3rd, but ultimately 7 would form the bulk of the deal. I think Mackenzie is as good as most of the players that would be available at that pick, and he has a few years of development which would suit where our list is at. Maybe doesn't have the super star potential, but is a good solid playerMackenzie is playing VFL at the moment. Not sure what we'd be giving up pick 7 for him.
someone stuck a microphone in his face and if Merrett is out McGrath is the vice captain and has to step up. Just waiting for Langford now… then the whole leadership group will have spoken.Reckon that's pretty decent of McGrath to talk to Zach before talking to the media.
He talks well - but why comment at all? Who does it help? Really can't see how it helps Essendon to add to the sense that he's already out the door when the Presdient is saying he won't be traded?
And… did he say building bridges? Maybe the tone has softened somewhat. Already building the bridge a littleAnd?
You can’t be that naive
Or maybe players have to be told not to trash a player in the media as it hurts Merretts valueAnd… did he say building bridges? Maybe the tone has softened somewhat.
Sure - but he could have declined theinterview.someone stuck a microphone in his face and if Merrett is out McGrath is the vice captain and has to step up. Just waiting for Langford now… then the whole leadership group will have spoken.
Pretty sure they’ve been saying stuff with the clubs blessing so I don’t think soOr maybe players have to be told not to trash a player in the media as it hurts Merretts value
He chose not to decline for all the reasons stated in my previous post(s), after the bit you chose to respond to.Sure - but he could have declined theinterview.
Essendon players are seeking out the media to make comment on this and I just don't see the PR benefit.
Mate,Pretty sure they’ve been saying stuff with the clubs blessing so I don’t think so
I edited slightly also, to add the bit about McGrath is already building that bridge. His leadership is the kind that attempts to bring Merrett back into the fold
You said he spoke up because he is vice captain and has to step up (in the absence of Merrett)He chose not to decline for all the reasons stated in my previous post(s), after the bit you chose to respond to.
You wouldn’t, and no one expects you to. Essendon is a weird club that has different needs.You said he spoke up because he is vice captain and has to step up (in the absence of Merrett)
Sure - he can step up within the playing group - there are a lot of ways to step up as vice captain if Merrett is AWOL - but why give the media any fuel to keep this thing in the headlines?
I don't think a club has ever benefittd from the footy media running daily stories about tensions within the club. Having players comment on it most days, regardless of their captaincy status, seems to work against what is best for the club. I don't quite get it.
Talk of Weddle involved in this trade has me me like…
Trying to shaft Essendon is as good a start as any to a Hawthorn careerHe hasn’t done anything to Hawthorn to shake any of that faith
someone stuck a microphone in his face and if Merrett is out McGrath is the vice captain and has to step up. Just waiting for Langford now… then the whole leadership group will have spoken.