Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

Stating that we value him immeasurably as a player and will keep him to his contract.

If we value him and you value him then it’s not devaluing anything.
Claiming anger and hurt and clearly work to be done to come back into the fold, terms like “rebuilding bridges” don’t lend themselves to being an environment that is easy to come back into, if at all

But it doesn’t really matter, as the continued silence from Merrett speaks volumes , he won’t be going back to Tullamarine, will be a Hawk

Claiming anger and hurt and clearly work to be done to come back into the fold, terms like “rebuilding bridges” don’t lend themselves to being an environment that is easy to come back into, if at all

But it doesn’t really matter, as the continued silence from Merrett speaks volumes , he won’t be going back to Tullamarine, will be a Hawk
See the embedded video above ^

Andy McGrath

Reckon that's pretty decent of McGrath to talk to Zach before talking to the media.

He talks well - but why comment at all? Who does it help? Really can't see how it helps Essendon to add to the sense that he's already out the door when the Presdient is saying he won't be traded?

Mackenzie is playing VFL at the moment. Not sure what we'd be giving up pick 7 for him.
Yeah look I'd love a pick back, maybe Essendon's future 3rd, but ultimately 7 would form the bulk of the deal. I think Mackenzie is as good as most of the players that would be available at that pick, and he has a few years of development which would suit where our list is at. Maybe doesn't have the super star potential, but is a good solid player

Reckon that's pretty decent of McGrath to talk to Zach before talking to the media.

He talks well - but why comment at all? Who does it help? Really can't see how it helps Essendon to add to the sense that he's already out the door when the Presdient is saying he won't be traded?
someone stuck a microphone in his face and if Merrett is out McGrath is the vice captain and has to step up. Just waiting for Langford now… then the whole leadership group will have spoken.

Sure - but he could have declined theinterview.

Essendon players are seeking out the media to make comment on this and I just don't see the PR benefit.

Or maybe players have to be told not to trash a player in the media as it hurts Merretts value
Pretty sure they’ve been saying stuff with the clubs blessing so I don’t think so

I edited slightly also, to add the bit about McGrath is already building that bridge. His leadership is the kind that attempts to bring Merrett back into the fold

Pretty sure they’ve been saying stuff with the clubs blessing so I don’t think so

I edited slightly also, to add the bit about McGrath is already building that bridge. His leadership is the kind that attempts to bring Merrett back into the fold
Mate,

They arnt trying to bring him back in

They know he is gone, it’s what you are saying, don’t diminish his value any further

He chose not to decline for all the reasons stated in my previous post(s), after the bit you chose to respond to.
You said he spoke up because he is vice captain and has to step up (in the absence of Merrett)

Sure - he can step up within the playing group - there are a lot of ways to step up as vice captain if Merrett is AWOL - but why give the media any fuel to keep this thing in the headlines?

I don't think a club has ever benefittd from the footy media running daily stories about tensions within the club. Having players comment on it most days, regardless of their captaincy status, seems to work against what is best for the club. I don't quite get it.

AFL is an entertainment business and the entire player movement saga that's been created in recent years is just to attract eyeballs.
It's the equivalent of an afternoon soap opera for footy fans.

And this is my very very favourite episode EVER!!!

You said he spoke up because he is vice captain and has to step up (in the absence of Merrett)

Sure - he can step up within the playing group - there are a lot of ways to step up as vice captain if Merrett is AWOL - but why give the media any fuel to keep this thing in the headlines?

I don't think a club has ever benefittd from the footy media running daily stories about tensions within the club. Having players comment on it most days, regardless of their captaincy status, seems to work against what is best for the club. I don't quite get it.
You wouldn’t, and no one expects you to. Essendon is a weird club that has different needs.

To all of the clowns that think Merrett is going on the cheap, let me say this - Essendon will not hesitate to keep him to his contract, against his will. It's happened before, and there is no reason it won't happen again.

It will be 2 or 3 x high first round picks and a top talent. Otherwise he ain't going anywhere. The only way Essendon will make this shitshow worse for the supporter base is if they bend over and cop whatever shit deal comes our way.

Gloves are off.