Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

No picks. The picks we have this year don't exist.

Part of the reason this deal isn’t as attractive to Essendon as it might be to others.

We already have an extremely young list. We’re actually adding healthy experience to it (eg Fiorini) because it needs a bit of balance. We saw how it went this year without it.

Now the top end of this draft isn’t highly rated and we have already have 5 picks in the first 30.

So yeah, not really falling over ourselves to get more picks.

Nope

Two firsts apparently not enough for the Bombers. But of course Geelong can't use magic to create picks out of thin air .. at least not "yet".
It's overs to be perfectly honest yet there are some delusional Bomber fans who are comparing it to the Judd (who was 24 when the trade happened and a genuine once in a generation superstar) trade expecting a similar return (Top 3 pick) for a 30 year old Merrett. lulz
They haven’t put their 2027 F1 on the table so that is incorrect.
I thought they offered 2 First Rounders already? You actually think 3 First Rounders is a fair trade for a player that just has 3 prime years of footy left? lol

Interesting quote:
"Zach Merrett knows, around the Andrew Welsh situation - he's been talking to him DAILY since Welsh was put in officially as the chair replacing David Barham"
Now this is bizarre. Does Andrew know what a President is supposed to be working on? Making daily calls to a contracted captain that the board has already voted on NOT trading? That seems outside the job description to me.
Welsh obviously isn't being taken very seriously when he says he's not trading Merrett and Merrett is just hounding him to let it happen. (in which case I would expect Welsh to stop taking calls after two or three days in a row.
Or maybe it's the other way - maybe Welsh is begging Merrett to roll it back and stay at the club?

Daily phone calls between a player and president is bizarre. I don't think it reflects well on a president who is trying to present an unwavering stance to the general public.

Your coach deliberately leaked the meetings to the media, just as Fly boldly proclaimed that he went on a date with JSOS.

All 3 times it ended in a s***show for the player involved and all 3 times it's involved in the player not ending up at the Hawks barring a 7:29pm miracle tomorrow.

Absolute clown act.
Ok so it's not the fact the meeting happens. You don't have a problem with that?

You just want to pretend they don't happen? It's ok if the meetings are kept secret so fans can live in the fantasy world that this doesn't happen?

I think that's a very childish stance.

Ok so it's not the fact the meeting happens. You don't have a problem with that?

You just want to pretend they don't happen? It's ok if the meetings are kept secret so fans can live in the fantasy world that this doesn't happen?

No, it's because Mitchell/Hawks appear to have deliberately tried to cause friction between club and player to get a discount on a trade.

It's spectacularly blown up in their face.

You lot are a delusional bunch
Your coach and recruiting team are delusional, champ.
I thought they offered 2 First Rounders already? You actually think 3 First Rounders is a fair trade for a player that just has 3 prime years of footy left? lol
Was simply highlighting the error in your post. Also, didn’t you guys offer three first rounders for an injury prone Curnow who is only a year younger than Merrett..?

It's overs to be perfectly honest yet there are some delusional Bomber fans who are comparing it to the Judd (who was 24 when the trade happened and a genuine once in a generation superstar) trade expecting a similar return (Top 3 pick) for a 30 year old Merrett. lulz

It’s overs for sure. But Essendon have got hawthorn right where they want them, and they are panicking.

If Sam Mitchell and hawks fans have taught us anything, it’s that you need to be ruthless for your club. Hawks fans love ruthless until it happens to them.

It’s just not. Neale went for pick 6 in a normal draft.

If this draft was rated by the clubs the Hawks would be able to get this done straight swap for their first I reckon.

Neale was 5 years younger and was at the start of his absolute prime, plus Freo also threw in a pick. This Merrett deal is a good one. Fine, all good to knock it back to maybe land a Lewis, but the reaction that it was insulting is bizzare behaviour.

Who has said he is washed? I said he is 30.

He's a good/great player but should be expected to have 1-2 elite seasons left at his age (go through he ages of the AA midfields as a reference point).

2 firsts, a second and a promising young player is a good deal for any 30 year old - even a Gary Ablett Jnr, let alone Zach Merrett.
It’s 2 mid to late firsts though and probably a player like Mackenzie or Ward. Youre absolutely doing that from Hawthorns POV even if Merrett has one year left in him.

We’re in the business of winning flags. Pick 12, 15 and Mackenzie for 2 shots at a flag, and likely favourites (your estimate of Merretts elite years). I’d be breaking someone’s hand off for that.

Your coach and recruiting team are delusional, champ.

Was simply highlighting the error in your post. Also, didn’t you guys offer three first rounders for an injury prone Curnow who is only a year younger than Merrett..?
Yeah and like I said on that thread I don't agree with it and happy that the Blues have turned it down, not just because of his age but also injury concerns. It's overs but I can understand why the Geelong recruitment staff have done so. It's not often you get quality players seeking you out so there's value in making the effort of at least presenting a respectable offer to get the deal done. Curnow knows Geelong have been fair dinkum at getting him to the club and it was Carlton who were the stumbling block in that process, not Geelong being stingy.

Hawthorn have actively caused a s*** show for Essendon with no consideration of the repercussions for their fans, captain or football department. Exactly the same as they did to WCE with O.Allen earlier this year.

Why would a team have any interest in negotiating fairly with a team who have gone out of their way to throw a s*** spanner at them and cause an untenable situation for their captain? Whether Merrett is traded to the Hawks or not they've completely f***ed over Essendon.

It’s overs for sure. But Essendon have got hawthorn right where they want them, and they are panicking.

If Sam Mitchell and hawks fans have taught us anything, it’s that you need to be ruthless for your club. Hawks fans love ruthless until it happens to them.
Enjoy cheering on your loyal captain friend.

No, it's because Mitchell/Hawks appear to have deliberately tried to cause friction between club and player to get a discount on a trade.

It's spectacularly blown up in their face.
You have absolutely invented this to alleviate the thought that Merrett would be so disenchanted with Essendon that he can't stand it any longer and wants to leave.

Honestly - the degree to which people want to paint Mitchell as some sinister disruptor is mad.

A coach from another club can't make a player hate his own club. Not Mitchell, not even the brilliant Brad Scott. (not Brad can't even manipulate Zach into loving his own club). Nobody is that good at manipulating people. Every siingle coach in the league will try and take advantage of a player that hates his own club, but none of them have the hypno skills to turn a player against his own club (excpet maybe Brad)

That pick would be very enticing to Essendon.

Hawthorn give: Pick 9, 2026 Round 1 pick (Haw), 2026 round 2 pick, Henry Hustwaite
Hawthorn get: Zac Merrett

Richmond give: Pick 4
Richmond get: Pick 9, 2026 round 1 pick (Haw)

Essendon give: Zac Merrett
Essendon get: Pick 4, 2026 Round 2 Pick, Henry Hustwaite

Essendon end up with 4,5,6 and are in prime position to make a play for pick 1

Richmond get the extra 1st round pick for next year, and still end up with two picks in the top 10 this year.

Hawthorn get their man.

Hawthorn have actively caused a s*** show for Essendon with no consideration of the repercussions for their fans, captain or football department. Exactly the same as they did to WCE with O.Allen earlier this year.

Why would a team have any interest in negotiating fairly with a team who have gone out of their way to throw a s*** spanner at them and cause an untenable situation for their captain? Whether Merrett is traded to the Hawks or not they've completely f***ed over Essendon.
This is the most hysterical post I've read in a while. You're embarrassing yourself here.

Hawks have tried to recruit a player.

Everything else you're crapping on about it pure speculation and weird emotional outburst.