Zebs Thread

Surely Begley had more than 14 touches? They couldn't have showed the highest possession getters at the end there.

Stanley is very quick for a man his size, almost ran down a midfielder on the far wing.

Heyne has a lot of mongrel about him, was quite aggressive late in the game there. He gets a lot of it, and knows where to be, if he had Dal Santo like skills he'd be getting a game with the Saints. Will need to work on his disposal.

Maguire had 12 marks I think, and 20 touches. Very impressive.

McEvoy had 10 marks and 20 touches as well I think. Nice goal too. He will develop nicely for Sandy in the next couple years.

With King and Gardi as basically ruck coaches, I reckon our next generation of ruckmen could be very very good. Stanley and Macca are still only 18,19 and with 2-3 years of development in the VFL with games here and there. We could have a King and Gardi like partnership...except it will last a lot more than 2 years!

Okay thats wishful thinking, but yeah! lol

Howard was rather good, disposal aint great. Can't really see him ever forcing his way into our best 22.

Why doesnt he go and pick on someone his own height and someone in his own weight division!:mad:
Yeah you should only be allowed to tackle players bigger than you, what a dog.

For those who watched, what do you reckon the chances are Goose or X will be in next week (obviously depends on the result tonight, but did they push for it)?

Surely Begley had more than 14 touches? They couldn't have showed the highest possession getters at the end there.

Stanley is very quick for a man his size, almost ran down a midfielder on the far wing.

Heyne has a lot of mongrel about him, was quite aggressive late in the game there. He gets a lot of it, and knows where to be, if he had Dal Santo like skills he'd be getting a game with the Saints. Will need to work on his disposal.

McEvoy had 10 marks and 20 touches as well I think. Nice goal too. He will develop nicely for Sandy in the next couple years.

With King and Gardi as basically ruck coaches, I reckon our next generation of ruckmen could be very very good. Stanley and Macca are still only 18,19 and with 2-3 years of development in the VFL with games here and there. We could have a King and Gardi like partnership...except it will last a lot more than 2 years!

Howard was rather good, disposal aint great. Can't really see him ever forcing his way into our best 22.

stanley has alot of potential, hoping under gardi he can turn him into the next Dean Cox no better tutor i think.
i dont know if howard will get a game this year but if he keeps playing like today and improving his decision making and foot skills he will be elevated back on to the senior list at the end of the year. just need to keep showing faith in the bloke

Yeah you should only be allowed to tackle players bigger than you, what a dog.

For those who watched, what do you reckon the chances are Goose or X will be in next week (obviously depends on the result tonight, but did they push for it)?

someone will have to have a shocker tonight or get injured for x to come back in he played ok this week and from what i heard andy lovell say they played casey 2s last week.
goose on the other hand is pushing pretty hard i think he has done enough but im worried about his tank, doesn't look like he has the pace anymore and can he sustain a full game at the level we have been playing the first 3 weeks and its Port so i wouldn't risk unsettling the backline

What impressive to take out blokes by either a sling tackle or trips.

Even juniors know not to sling tackle so you think a fully grown man would no

but maybe he doesnt have a brain!!!!

yeah i am and its the second week hes been knocked out in a row

All the best to him, I hope he's okay.

They said that he knew where he was and that he was able to move, I guess that is a good sign.

These things happen in footy, I don't think Maguire did anything wrong, he is a far bigger player that wants to impress to win a spot in the firsts that tackled a far smaller player (I think that he had the arms free, Maguire was just too strong). You can't blame Maguire for doing what you're supposed to do in such a situation - I'm sure your mate won't.

All the best to him, I hope he's okay.

They said that he knew where he was and that he was able to move, I guess that is a good sign.

These things happen in footy, I don't think Maguire did anything wrong, he is a far bigger player that wants to impress to win a spot in the firsts that tackled a far smaller player (I think that he had the arms free, Maguire was just too strong). You can't blame Maguire for doing what you're supposed to do in such a situation - I'm sure your mate won't.

so now impressing to win a spot in the firsts involves hitting, tripping and slinging other players :confused:

yeh exactly you shouldnt be able to sling someone to the ground. Fair enough give someone a good hrd tackle but when u fling someone to the ground so hard that you knck them out thats not wat we want

The Frankston bloke had the ball in possession the entire time until he hit the ground. Goose isn't just going to stand there hugging him, he's going to put him on the turf and force the ball out.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with what Maguire did.

whens your heads over the ball then its a bit hard to protect yourself

he stood up in the tackle but he wasn't strong enough, if he had more strength in his core and hips he wouldn't have been brought to the ground. its a mans game, if you want soft tackles go play touch footy. there was nothing malicious in it, the intent was not to smash his head in the ground, it was to bring him to the ground and then let him know who was boss. he didn't line him up with an elbow or shoulder to the head.

Lol, would love an IP check on those two.

Fair enough mate, if I saw a mate get knocked out I'd be pretty angry too.

It was a fair tackle, it's not like he disposed of the ball 5 seconds before Maguire threw him to the ground.

I'd rather be slung to the ground than have my arms pinned and be ridden head first into the ground.

He'll be right, probably concussion at worst. Gotta expect these things in a contact sport.

Lol, would love an IP check on those two.

Fair enough mate, if I saw a mate get knocked out I'd be pretty angry too.

It was a fair tackle, it's not like he disposed of the ball 5 seconds before Maguire threw him to the ground.

I'd rather be slung to the ground than have my arms pinned and be ridden head first into the ground.

He'll be right, probably concussion at worst. Gotta expect these things in a contact sport.

Oh and so when did you get your medical degree

You starting to make a real fool out of yourself, mate.

Nobody wants to see injuries and we all want to see your mate up and running.

But there was nothing wrong with Maguire's tackle.

And nobody likes a smart arse.

yeh exactly you shouldnt be able to sling someone to the ground. Fair enough give someone a good hrd tackle but when u fling someone to the ground so hard that you knck them out thats not wat we want

If the player is in possession of the ball, you use any legal method int he game to either get the ball off him or force a neutral contest. This involves taking him to ground through a tackle, dragging him down or slinging him down. It's unfortunate where injuries happen due to contact with the ground (for whatever reason) but you can hardly blame the tackler for doing his job. Depending on very many circumstances you could be knocked out due to very minimal but precise impact to the head in a variety of methods of tackling, so as long as he has possession of the footy, it's a case of go hard or go home in such situations.

Of course this is only in general and not geared towards anyone aiming to inflict said injury (as I did not watch the game to see the sling) but to lay entire blame on one player for slinging to force the ball out into dispute and completely eliminate self preservation on the other player as a mitigating factor is only viable where the other player has no means available to them to protect themselves (like the arm pin). By all means be upset, but also be open minded.

Rod Crowe was reported by 2 umpires for charging Bryon Barry from first incident.

For the 2nd Incident a notice of investigation has been put in by the umpires for contact made by Matt Maguire on Frankston's Clinton Proctor head and neck. No doubt this will be looked at by the VFL on Monday. I believe the ABC have vision of the incident.

thomastunga.JPG

Here he comes!

Good to see Ross Tunga get amongst them in the 2's. Think Simpkin was in the best last week too, and Gaertner was very unlucky to be dropped after a decent game in the seniors v Casey.

Begley was very good, and thought X (25 poss) and Armo had solid games again.

Not sure about Macca getting BOG even though he got 20 poss & 9 marks - that 207cm dude carved him in the ruck. Got around the ground well as he usually does - just not sure where he fits in yet.

Very impressed with Stanley - got almost all the physical attributes (height, pace & leap), so hopefully he gets a clear run with injury while he puts a bit of meat on and learns a few tricks.

Eljay didn't look too bad - he's had so little of it in the games I've seen I didn't even know he was a left footer!!!

Lynch has got to stop dropping what are relatively straightforward marks - that's the second week in a row I've seen him spill a number of good passes. At his height he will need to make the most of opportunities to be able to contribute at AFL level.

Not real sure about Howard being in the best - some shocking kicks. But he's trying to use his pace now which is a good thing.

Good signs for Goose - 20 poss and 12 marks.

Eddy was obviously taken out of the squad for insurance against Freo.

Zebs Thread