Zebs Thread

The truth is he never left the ground and played through what would be severe pain.
Something to think about for those keyboard warriors who have questioned his courage or dedication.Also it has been suggested he was suffering from the 'Flu.
Come back quickly Armo.,we may still well be in need of your talents.

Just to clarify, one can be courageous but lack dedication. I don't know that too many people have ever questioned his courage, but plenty have questioned his workrate. That being said, people say it's much better now.

poor stuff... jeez you'd think I was dancing on his grave. I just thought at such a good time for the club, amongst the inevitable angst I'd point out that all is not lost for us or Armo. But yeah, okay I can see people don't take kindly to any attempt to say an injury is anything but the end of the world, next time I'll stop at 'that's terrible news' like everyone else and not bother. but mate please keep in mind I wasn't in any way trying to say his injury was anything but bad news.

in response to your points a) there are plenty of examples of players having a forced break and coming back better for it e.g Hayes after a mid-season form slump last year. obviously there are just as many cases where it's been detrimental, but excuse me for hoping it would be the former not the latter for Armo. b) sure some players shine more at afl level than vfl, but from his 13 games last year I dunno how you could say Armo is one of them and c) I meant this year, as in Armo could come back fired up in time to crack the team for finals (I read 4-6 weeks, so comeback round 16-18 in the VFL, a few weeks strong performances and he's in the mix for finals)

p.s that's the last I'll say on the matter, I'm not gonna argue with fellow Saints fans, we're all mates here. If you took offence to my post, sorry but it wasn't intended that way.

I'm with you. They're being ridiculous. I;m pretty sure you're allowed to hope that someone makes lemon out of lemonade. Actually, I'm going to head off and sing it right now.

poor stuff... jeez you'd think I was dancing on his grave. I just thought at such a good time for the club, amongst the inevitable angst I'd point out that all is not lost for us or Armo. But yeah, okay I can see people don't take kindly to any attempt to say an injury is anything but the end of the world, next time I'll stop at 'that's terrible news' like everyone else and not bother. but mate please keep in mind I wasn't in any way trying to say his injury was anything but bad news.

in response to your points a) there are plenty of examples of players having a forced break and coming back better for it e.g Hayes after a mid-season form slump last year. obviously there are just as many cases where it's been detrimental, but excuse me for hoping it would be the former not the latter for Armo. b) sure some players shine more at afl level than vfl, but from his 13 games last year I dunno how you could say Armo is one of them and c) I meant this year, as in Armo could come back fired up in time to crack the team for finals (I read 4-6 weeks, so comeback round 16-18 in the VFL, a few weeks strong performances and he's in the mix for finals)

p.s that's the last I'll say on the matter, I'm not gonna argue with fellow Saints fans, we're all mates here. If you took offence to my post, sorry but it wasn't intended that way.

fair enough.. from what I've read of your posts, you dont sound like an idiot but you could do well to be a bit more careful what you say before posting.. :thumbsu:

off topic.. one of my pet hates is going to the footy and listening to so called st kilda supporters who sit there and bag their own players... I have faith in Lyon to have chosen and to continue to chose the right players for the senior team mix.. Any player that plays in the current 'record breaking' team needs to be given a little slack..

Anyone at the game notice a certain player go off with a shoulder/collarbone injury?
This certain player being Armo?

Rumour on SS, yeah not the most reliable source, but yeah anyone see anything?

My deepest condolences A2R.
Steven2Riewoldt looks the more attractive option.

i was next to the bench and he never looked in pain nor did he recieve treatment from the physio's. Came on and off just through basic rotations but he was fine.

Stanley was complaining of an ankle, raph had his hammies rubbed and Dempster had his knee checked after a knock that left him ginger but he pulled up fine. That's it.

Although I do remember seeing the 2 physio's talking to each other at one stage about a certain player who had injured or re-injured something and they both sighed and shook their heads with concern. Couldn't possibly be Armo telling them he had busted his collarbone while on the field and then let him play out the game?

Gaertner had limited game time but looks like a good crash and bash ruckman with a good leap.

Goose mostly down back but forward occaisionally. What stood out most for me watching Goose was his ability to play on and run around opponents with ease. He was involved in a great bit of play where he ran from half back and recieved the handball in the middle and took a bounce as easy as you like.

Raph needs to keep playing like he is at sandy to pick up his confidence to return to the saints. Just watch is last few games of last season and that should remind you how good this guy can be with his versatilty playing down back and rebound. I still have him in our best 22 however Raph is a confidence player and he has only played a couple of games this year. His first half against the swans in round 1 was just as promising as last year but he did his hammy and our solid form has made it hard for him to regain a spot. Needs 1 good game with saints to spark him up and you'll see what he means to St Kilda.

Coburg V Sandringham
Sat 27/06/09 ABD Stadium 2:00PM

Sandringham

B Dempster Miles Biddlecombe
HB Steven Maguire Armitage
C Paterakis Summers Gallagher
HF Simpkin Lynch Heyne
F Smith Sautner Gilchrist
R Stanley R Eddy Begley
Int R Clarke Gaertner McEvoy Nash McGarry Waller Howard Gwilt Monaghan McQualter Gilbert Geary Liddell

Reserves

B Johnson Gribbin Cahill
HB Williams Dean M Johnston
C T Johnston Gilder Connors
HF Plymin B Eddy Tregear
F C Johnston S Clarke Hardiman
R Harektuku Tungatalum Liddell
Int Muller Monaghan McConnell Waller McGrath Howard Hine McGarry

2009 VFL Reserves
Coburg Tigers 1.2 4.4 9.7 15.12 (102)
Sandringham 3.5 5.9 8.12 8.15 (63)

GOALS:
Coburg Tigers: Hughes 5 De Sousa 4 Allan 2 Dahl Hislop Corry Jordon
Sandringham: Eddy 2 Harektuku Tungatalum Connors Muller Williams Cahill

BEST:
Coburg Tigers: Polak Jordon Clifton Ambrose De Sousa Hughes
Sandringham: Howard Clarke Johnson McGrath Liddell Johnston

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Coburg Tigers: nil
Sandringham: nil

2009 VFL Seniors
Coburg Tigers 2.3 3.4 . .
Sandringham 5.2 13.6 . .

Sautner 5, Lynch 3, Heyne 2, Dempster, Miles
Apparently Armo playing a very good game.

Zebs by 10 or 11 goals.

Sautner must of kicked 10, as he kicked 4 in about 15 mins in the 4th qtr (I only saw the last part of the game). Geez he's got a lip on him though - was not the crowd favourite!!! Also did not bother much with boring stuff like chasing his opponent if he got beaten in a contest.

Armo looked like he was in everything - could not see him favouring a shoulder in the slightest.

Quite impressed with Stanley again - smashed the other ruckman in the bounce-downs although his opponent looked fairly inexperienced too. Got a fair bit of work to do with his marking around the ground though. Doesn't take it at full stretch which he needs to in taking advantage of his height and pace. Got outmarked by Daniel Connors when he could have taken him out legally (can't afford to be a nice guy if he's going to be an AFL ruckman).

Raph did a couple of very clever things - just the subtle taps and his ability to tackle stood out.

Goose is just crazy - I don't know what his middle name is, but if someone said it was "courage" I would almost buy it.

Eddy, Dempster and Begley got a bit of it - Eddy looks very quick at VFL level.

Lynch was pretty good, albeit still not strong overhead at this stage. Gets around and seems to know where to be. Gave great verbal to Jordan McMahon at one stage for coughing it up, which "the pr0n Star" did not take kindly to!

Whilst the other boys were floating around the park, they didn't get a touch whilst I was there.

Macca was handy, but that was just hooning away in his new ute after watching the game.

Thanks for that. :)
The blood nut has lip, i like. :thumbsu:

2009 VFL Seniors
Coburg Tigers 2.3 3.4 4.6 8.11 (59)
Sandringham 5.2 13.6 14.9 19.12 (126)

GOALS:
Coburg Tigers: Connors 3 Browne Fewster Schulz King Raines
Sandringham: Sautner 8 Lynch 3 Eddy 2 Heyne 2 Dempster Summers Miles Monaghan

BEST:
Coburg Tigers: Post Browne Clarke Connors Pattison Liddle
Sandringham: Armitage Eddy Dempster Summers Sautner Lynch

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Coburg Tigers: M.Coughlan (Coburg) reported for misconduct after headbutting C.Begley (Sandringham)
Sandringham: Nil

BOG with a busted collarbone! OMG HAVE MY BABIES

Yes I know he was fine, but yeah Armo FTW

Also, TBS posted a really good review on SS. I think he's a member on here so will let him post it. Otherwise go check it out.

:eek: :thumbsu:

28 touches, 7 tackles, 9 1%ers

Rd 14 - St Kilda v Geelong

In : Armitage
Out : ?

Saw the last 2 and a half quarters. Can someone help me with what number Dempster was wearing? Not listed in the record.

These were my notes. Note that I reckon Armo is not really pushing for senior selection based on what I saw. Second efforts appalling. Sorry.

• Smith lively but a long way off.
  • Lynch looked lost in aerial contests but was excellent at ground level and on a lead. Looks like a HFF for mine, rather than a CHF.
  • Armo second efforts not there. not the next in line for mine.
  • Eddy's sure hands really set him in a different class to most players on the ground. Would have liked to see him really dominate rather than merely playing very well.
  • Raph was prolific. In another league to most on the ground, but I can't help thinking that it doesn't really change the equation. I think his confidence will only come after an extended stint in the ones, but don't know whether we can afford him that luxury with such a strong team.
  • Begley was best on ground for mine. Was everywhere, got a heap of it in the backline and used it well and his contested ball was outstanding. Not listed in the best, so it's possible that I don't know anything (was Dempster wearing his number?!!)
  • Heyne. There's something about Heyne. Think he'll be great. He has a bit of hardness about him and kicked the kind of snap goal that opportunist forwards need to kick.
  • Goose. Class of his own. Would have liked to see him get a few more touches, but he's ready to go for mine.
  • Stanley. Mobile, great in the ruck. I like.
  • Gaertner. The surprise packet for me. Also mobile, also great in the ruck. How come all of our ruckmen look like McEvoy? (was wearing #49 - not listed in record).
  • Steven. Very dissappointing for mine. Looked a little lost.
  • #5 (Monaghan) and #10 (Summers) for Sandy very good.
Gwilt was the only emergency not playing, so he'll come in if we have an injury.

Other observations - McEvoy was the only senior player I saw there. Most of the Richmond list seemed to be there, except that Brown was standing at the other end of the ground to all of the others.

Also, I don't get to VFL games, so this was interesting crowd watching. Basically there were two types of people there. Average punters like myself and young ladies who, if I was a betting man, I'd say were girlfriends of AFL players. Plenty of fake tan and tight jeans.

Saw the last 2 and a half quarters. Can someone help me with what number Dempster was wearing? Not listed in the record.

These were my notes. Note that I reckon Armo is not really pushing for senior selection based on what I saw. Second efforts appalling. Sorry.

• Lynch looked lost in aerial contests but was excellent at ground level and on a lead. Looks like a HFF for mine, rather than a CHF.
  • Eddy's sure hands really set him in a different class to most players on the ground. Would have liked to see him really dominate rather than merely playing very well.
  • Raph was prolific. In another league to most on the ground, but I can't help thinking that it doesn't really change the equation. I think his confidence will only come after an extended stint in the ones, but don't know whether we can afford him that luxury with such a strong team.
  • Begley was best on ground for mine. Was everywhere, got a heap of it in the backline and used it well and his contested ball was outstanding. Not listed in the best, so it's possible that I don't know anything (was Dempster wearing his number?!!)
  • Heyne. There's something about Heyne. Think he'll be great. He has a bit of hardness about him and kicked the kind of snap goal that opportunist forwards need to kick.
  • Goose. Class of his own. Would have liked to see him get a few more touches, but he's ready to go for mine.
  • Gaertner. The surprise packet for me. Also mobile, also great in the ruck. How come all of our ruckmen look like McEvoy? (was wearing #49 - not listed in record).
Gwilt was the only emergency not playing, so he'll come in if we have an injury.
Shocking review and deadset you have not got a clue,go back to Austria you dill.

Dont know how two people can offer such a different perspective of a game.

http://www.saintsational.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=763892#763892

Dont know how two people can offer such a different perspective of a game.

http://www.saintsational.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=763892#763892

Fair enough. All of my obs were of the last 10 minutes of the second, and then the second half. The first quarter and a half was when Sandy broke it open, so I would probably have had a different view if I was there for the whole game.

Nevertheless, most of my obs were the same as the Saintsational post except for Armo and Raph. Raph did fade, but his second and third quarters he just did it so easily. And, for all of his work in close, Armo's second efforts were just not AFL standard. However, as I say, I mostly observed him in the second half and it's possible that he was just rooted by then.

As for Dempster, no excuse! Was so busy trying to follow all of our players listed in the record that some of those not in the record slipped under the radar!

Geary. I honestly dont know how he's held his spot this week.

Believed he played on Jeff Garlett, who only had about five touches..
Can break the game open with snap goals, so Jarryn did his job :)

It is getting pretty tiring. I have moved my "keyboard" acrosss from Saintsational to avoid this type of stuff.

Having said that, I enjoyed what I saw of Armo on Saturday as I have a soft spot for guys who run into packs without any fear (but agree with the general sentiment that he is capable of more in the second effort and spreading departments).

Geary. I honestly dont know how he's held his spot this week.

I dont think Blake was anything spectacular, least Geary set up a few goals, what did Blake do appart from a direct handpass to a Richmand player? I dont even think Ralp does that.

I think armo should be in the squad for sure. Guessin meguire will come in this week for Max (Unless we have the matchup's covered). Geelong dont have that many big good forwards, they got alot of running medium sized players, so I could see armo possible coming into the side, or perhaps they both come in and blake/max out.

I think if they bring anyone in, it should be someone who has played a bit of AFL already this year i.e. Raph or Gwilt. Regardless of whether I think Gwilty is consistent enough, his last game before being dropped was OK and he was held out of the VFL as a first-choice emergency.

I didn't see enough of the game to ascertain whether Raph has done enough. Looked pretty good from what I saw although the standard wasn't spectacular.

Would be a big call for someone who has played VFL all year to come into what could be high intensity even by AFL standards.

Zebs Thread