“Every empty seat is a silent tribute to brave sufferers of this illness.”

Don’t you just love the birth of a new AFL TraditionTM?

Friday, August 21

Hawthorn 13.8.86 def by Port Adelaide 16.12.108

“Please no one mention ‘training blocks’ as an excuse. Please.” – grizzlym

“Got to say, and I know it’s bad to come to BigFooty and drag each other down, but I can’t really be convinced this team even gives a **** about this season.
Every time we’ve had the opportunity to get it back on track, we just wander off and drop our dacks to some second-rate outfit. Like, yeah sure we might get up and win in Perth, but really? I reckon it’s just as likely we’ll go over there, play one good quarter and then ******* laze off like the rest of the season.

It’s really, really, really god damn frustrating. ” – Arc1

“Like a few of our other losses this year, we weren’t prepared for the fight.

Not interested in doing the hard stuff. Just trying to get through unscathed, probably thinking the game would win itself.

Horrible to watch. ” – Echols

Hartung, Hill and Suckling. All soft or weak in contests throughout tonight. Some of it is down to not enjoying the tough stuff. Some of it is being purely too weak to stand up in them. It’s an issue at times and tonight it was obvious.

Plenty of other players to blame though too for other varying reasons.

Top 2 gone but don’t give up on the team just yet people. ” – Hawkas1988

“Hawthorn has had a leaky defence over the past few weeks. There is something NQR about the ease with which opponents can get into a position to score. Tonight Port took advantage and made it hard for the Hawks to manufacture avenues to goal. Hat’s off to them. A fortnight to tune up and reload and start afresh in the qualifying final. ” – Dixie Flatline

“Cooked. Era done, face facts folks.
Anyone who physicals us, beats us.
Anyone who has genuine outside pace, beats us.
Burgers, Hodge and Mitchell can’t carry the rest every week.
We have lost to 4 absolute garbage sides this year, one of them twice! ” – Habitual

“Didn’t want enough, saw it in the first 10 seconds. From pushing us around before the bounce with no response to the the first clean clearance ….. Lost it in the ruck anyways – McEvoy was absolutely monstered by Ryder all night & we went in with only 1 ruck??
Wingard & Monfries killed us as they always do… wow can’t believe Clarko can’t get over his nemesis Port.
Lewis? Roughead? Hill? Breust? Gone missing for large chunk of the season – hopefully saving best for the finals. ” – EGYPTIAN HORSE

hawks-by-60-plus

“Hawks will win by 60+ tonight.”
Fox Footy 21/08/15
You ******!

“The first half was great footy, some of the best we’ve played all year. Certainly the most determined. Rarely gave Hawthorn any space, shut them down quickly and denied their run. Suddenly, their quick players who threatened to be so dangerous in the pre game were completely redundant. Rioli, nothing. Hill, Smith, no run. Breust and Puopolo no impact.

Not only that but the run we created ourselves was great to see. We found plenty of space across half back to run it out. Pittard and Broady were creative. Whitey went on some great runs. Gray, Ebert, Hartlett were getting the ball free across the middle.

Most importantly, we were hitting targets. We took some risks and they paid off. Where has this been? We haven’t seen skills like this all year.

It was a night for the unsung heroes once again. Sammy Gray! Have we ever seen such a turnaround? From spud to stud in 4 weeks. It almost shouldn’t be under question now, he deserves another year. If last week was all about AhChee, tonight was all about Sammy Gray.

And just on Arch, another very good performance. Mature, strong, skillful, impact. Sums up his performance perfectly. Great to see him kick that clutch goal after being screwed by Monfries. Pittard after such a questionable second half of the year was gold down back. As was Tommy Jonas. Strong marking, great spoiling. Impey had a great first half again. O’Shea solid all night. Whitey, minimal ball, optimal impact.

We were tested numerous times in that second half. At times in the third and in the last it looked like we would get overrun, but we didn’t. We were able to steady every time. Get that vital clearance. Kick that clutch goal.

Wonderful victory!” – Macca19

“Just incredible what happens when you are talented but you work for each other and most importantly play as a team. Ken dropping his stubbornness to bring the likes of Jonas and Monfries back to form, bring in guys that deserve to play (Ah Chee and Gray). It’s just a shame that this came when the season is over.

But this year being the first time where things fall on its ass for Ken and Burgo, hopefully they learn from it and it will be the year where we took some steps backwards to go forwards.” – Shaucob_Burjan

“Has any team ever beat the reigning premiers twice and lost to the bottom 2 clubs?

S.Gray massive, Hartlett BOG, Ah Chee another great game. Wingard 4 goals, must surely be one of the first selected for AA. Ryder‘s taps to advantage are a sight for sore eyes.

Hartlett‘s 2nd half of the season has been HUGE.” – Forzaport

Saturday, August 22

Collingwood 7.14.56 def by Richmond 23.9.147

“Beaten everywhere, Skills and Decision Making is Disgusting and Goal Kicking is a Joke. Buckley’s Job under Threat.” – TradeDraft

“Goals: Collingwood 7; Vickery 6″ – Hardas

“Reality check. We are now officially a long way behind the teams contending for finals. We can now be fairly sure we have gone backwards from even 2014. Buckley as much as I love now comes under serious questioning. Going backwards 4 successive years is getting harder to justify. Unfortunately our kids are just good not great. Lots of work to be done. ” – Gone Critical

“I said earlier in the year that I thought we had improved, not getting blown out by the better teams. Well I take that back, I can handle getting blown away by the better teams if we didn’t get blown away by clubs who aren’t – or shoudn’t actually – be that much better than us.” – DT_Fanatic

“As shit as we were, 15 goals wasn’t a reflection of the game to be fair. 40 down at 3QT despite dominating the i50s and missing easy goals and Richmond got their skis on a bit after that.” – SuperSub17

“We basically have the worst defense in the competition.

Here’s what most posters in where wouldn’t have noticed about this game.

In the first half, our midfield was at least breaking even. We were actually dominating play for much of the first half. But almost every single inside 50 Richmond had, resulted in a goal, or at least a score. Which already tells you our defense was playing terribly.

In the second half, Richmond’s midfield got on top, but of course our defense was still playing terribly so the end result is what you saw.

Having said that, our forward line was atrocious and our delivery to the forward line wasn’t much better. We’re just a shocking football team really.” – Shpeshal Ed

“So great to see us put a traditional power to the sword yesterday. Got the sense the players remembered some of the pastings we’ve received in the past and wanted to put the boot in. Absolutely ruthless in the last quarter, that Ellis goal was sublime, fantastic tap by Lloyd.” – KillerKeeley

“We started Jack, Ty, and Lids in the forward line. If I was dying and needed someone to kick a difficult major to save my life I would be as comfortable with any of them taking the shot. Just beautiful accuracy. It’s so nice to see Deledio let loose in attack instead of running around half back. He looks like all his Christmases have come at once!

“Listened to the game on the radio and just watched the highlights. Beautiful stuff.” – pandaman

“Who goes out when Griff, Grimes, Conca and Corey Ellis are fit and playing really goof VFL form next year?

Newman is the first out obviously.

Be interesting to see how Lennon, Lambert and Lloyd are come season end.” – SteveRFC

“Pendles you are pathetic with your comments and a sore loser. You had ever chance to win and your side tried. Look at your forward entries. The truth was our backline was outstanding and our midfield in their ability to get back and help, then spread and break loose and carve your guys up, that was not a nothing game but i suppose you have to defend your pathetic loss in some way.

I must say watching the game at first I thought the Pies were unlucky and could have been in the game except for their scoring. But closely looking at the game at least 5 of their behinds were from us rushing them thru from spoiling. I would not think there were much more than 4 of their behinds that should have been goals and even then percentages suggest perhaps only half of those. All credit to our backline.

Morris looked comfortable back in the back line and along with flossy gave us a real hardness down their creating ground pressure.

What can said about Ty. I hope that is his true break out game. It was just not the 6 goals but his involvement in creating other goals.

How can anyone suggest in taking Lloyed out of the side. I know he is hot and cold but this is his first season scoring 3 goals a game on a number of occasions now and yesterdays game he was involved in others and he looked dangerous.

Lambert I thought was quiet compared to other weeks but when involved was clean in doing some thing.reminds me a bit of knights but just doesn’t have the long kick. If any one is to come into this side needs to play exceptional footy in the vfl on a regular basis. Newman would be my first choice to drop. He played his roll but he is hampered in his running now and has no pace.

Overall that was a magical game to watch how we came out of our backline time and time again. Now to and watch it again. Go tigers and up yours Pendles.” – 57Tig

GWS GIANTS 6.8.44 def by Sydney Swans 20.13.133

“Really disappointing today. Boys look well and truly cooked.

Time to put some broken kids out to pasture, Haynes, Smith, WHE, Lobb etc

Whitfield needs to have a massive off season and put some genuine beef on.

Leon has to bring Tommo and Kennedy back in as well as blood Ahern and Pickett.” – Andre the Giant

“There is an injury scale. And I’m afraid ours has well and truly tipped

There was no push, no shove, no urgency today. They boys have fought on. But so many Injuries to top 22 finally hurts you” – Simmofreo

“Outside of Shaw and maybe Patton pretty much everyone of our guys has been a let down” – captainMyCaptain

“Sauce stood tall. By far and away our best. Will be getting my 5 votes. Not sure there a four others worth getting votes.

Bad bad day.

19,500 and they put that rubbish on.

Pathetic.” – Ichabod Noodle

“1. Scoring over 100 points is awesome

2. Tippett and Pyke in some form is good

3. Great pressure early and broke them in the 3rd term

4. Rose looks like something. Great work.

5. Hopefully finding some form at the right time” – Milky95

“1. It’s exciting to see us actually have some genuine small forwards for a change. Heeney, BJ, Cunningham, and then in the last quarter Rose. I feel like we’ve been missing the crumbers.

2. It’s great to see Pyke fit. Tippett is working as a ruck/forward. I like it.

3. Our physical pressure was fantastic. Much improved, even accounting for GWS’s inexperienced team. Cunningham was a man possessed.” – BarneyBent

“So good to finally watch a game that wasnt a grind!
Some great signs today, great run, daring and accurate kicking, good contested marking as well. I think the Wheel has turned albeit GWS being our opponent.
Rose, has to be given a proper run at it, you can’t ignore those skills, he could be our Bruest, something we really lack.
BJ just keeps getting better and better, exciting to have a bloke with his pace getting a decent amount of prune.
Jetta although didn’t get much ball was really good defensively.
Richards and Grundy smoked “The General” and Cameron.
Tippett was awesome as was Reid, how do we structure up now?” – McRobie

“1). Tippett is the best second ruckman/forward in the land. New massive TV rights deal means we should give him another 4 year deal at 900K per year.

2). Nick Smith is still the best small defender in the land. Did Palmer play today?

3). Never write off the Bloods, give Young Bloods the chance to make the odd mistake while finding their feet & consistency in AFL. I’m talking to YOU!” – Tedeski

Gold Coast SUNS 14.13.97 def Essendon 14.11.95

“What an electric game. Really enjoyed myself tonight. Outcome was good, but getting there was frustrating.

The game was ugly as **** to watch, but the ground was unbelievably slippery. I’ve never seen Metricon like that before. It was raining last night and was incredibly humid today, and combining that with a twilight game was a recipe for disaster.

Overall I thought everyone had a good game. Ignoring disposal and marking errors due to the conditions, there were very few who didn’t do ‘well’.

May, Schade, and Thompson are a brilliant trio. Schade particularly had a good game, but the other two were still very effective. Good to see Thompson back.

Out makeshift midfield did well to hold back a full-strength Essendon midfield, and Lonergan did a great job on Heppell. Only time Heppell seemed to play well was when he moved into the forward line or when Jesse was on the bench. Aaron Hall best on ground yet again.

Lynch and Martin played a great game. The behinds can be excused for now because (again) the humidity was stuffed up.

I thought Garlett had a terrible game. Just couldn’t do a thing right. He’ll be a great player, but just didn’t have a good time tonight. Stanley was mediocre but held his own.

Smith was ******* putrid. Playing against a McKernan meant that Smith should have dominated the hitouts and really benefited our midfield, but instead, Smith spudded it up time after time. Lucky our midfielders were able to compensate for Smith’s stupidity, but it is completely baffling that someone with so much AFL game time can be so terrible.

Definitely missed Dixon‘s big body in our forward line, I’m sad to admit. Needed physicality in there tonight.

And finally, I thought Josh Hall did okay. Came in after Day‘s neck issue and held his own quite well. Didn’t have an impact whatsoever, but did what he needed to do.

Well done Suns!” – Experimental

“Win is a win whether by an inch or a mile. We played alright and got the points. Should of been a lot further ahead with Martin missing some pretty easy shots.” – kreglze

“I’m happy with the effort, still a bit to indirect football at times for me but it’s getting better.

Fantasia! what a game from him for such limited time.” – theboxmike

Fanta showing why he got a 2 year deal. Pretty good effort, 11 touches and 2 goals in such a short time on the ground!

Other than, Hepp and McKernan did well but the others had some pretty poor skills…” – RYAN COMEY

“That was about as bad as we can be, except for effort. Fumbles, slipping over, miskicks and missed targets, failing to lead. Unbelievably bad, and yet we nearly won. GC were terrible and we were a bit worse.
And oh yes, there was one other factor in the game – 3 blatant, huge mistakes from the umpires – Lynch‘s push in the back on Heppell, Stanton‘s mark not paid, and Hurley‘s touched goal (no review). I know there are no cameras on the posts at GC (why not?), but the umpire was so sure? How can you be so sure when the replay says you are wrong.
Laughable really, just glad it doesn’t matter.” – 60sbomber

“As much as it hurts to lose close ones, it’s nothing on the emptiness that results like last weeks leaves you with.

We had a crack, you could see the players were gutted, and after the past few weeks that’s nothing but a good thing.

CARN BOMBERS!!” – Dave

Hooksy lacks the class to play full time forward IMO, try’s his gust out but is a better backman.
Which makes me wonder is it really that bad losing Jake? Mckernan showed he deserves a try as a forward and with joey there we should be able to get by.” – HULK HOGAN

St Kilda 14.13.97 drew Geelong Cats 15.7.97

“What a great game of footy, these are the games that make us all love this great game of ours. Of course StKilda being one of the participants is the icing on the cake. Bloody great effort by all our guys tonight & in a side that made 7 changes how good is our depth? Pumped.” – Grav

“Really don’t know how to feel after a draw, but damn it was a performance that instilled confidence within the supporter base, and probably the players, too.

12 players under 50 games, an American debutant in the ruck, no Billings, Armo, Sinclair, Lonie, Dempster or Roberton and we draw with a team pushing for finals. A really, really good effort. ” – Rahul

“Seb Ross, very good! Can see what Richo and Lenny saw in him.
Sam Gilbert, back to his best form after a few years. Really great to see!
Minchi, kicked a few and had some exciting moments. Confirmed what a few of us on here thought he was capable of.
Hickey, when I see the opposition kick to a pack with Hickey in it, I back him to mark it most times.
Holmes, GREAT first game, won the hitouts and hit Ross and Gilbert bang on several times.
Murdoch, when I saw Brodie was brought back in I thought he hadn’t quite done enough for a recall, but we need his kicking.

Also, we didn’t have Armitage (probably our 2nd most important player), Sean Dempster (our in form backman/intercept marker), Billings (one of our best young mids/goal kickers) and Jack Sinclair (always good for a few goals and excellent kicks).

Armo, Dempster, Billings and Sinclair a huge part of our present and future weren’t there and we blooded a new player. I’ll take it!

(I’d like to see Markworth take Saunders spot in the team for the last 2 weeks).” – Hayes4PM

Gilbert, excellent, Minch did his job, Savage excellent except for the dribbled attempt, Jason Holmes gave us first use and has a lovely leap.

Thought Dunstan worked his way into the game, Geary and Seb Ross did an excellent job on Ducky Duck Selwood.

Goddard is a player, a real good one.Webster came back well after halftime

And our new recruit Rollmop will love roving to Holmes” – Joffaboy

“Not good enough for finals. End of.” – CaptainJayho

“Just a pathetic effort.destiny is out of our hands now.

The sad bit is for all the poor effort we could and should have won it if our inside 50 work was better in the last qtr.” – Pure_Ownage

“[Bartel] is not a defender, Scott is a ******* ****** playing him there. Put him in the middle or forward.” – UnitedWarrior93

“Stoppage clearances – Saints 29, Geelong 16.. against a bunch of kids. We won pretty much every other stat.

If Selwood isn’t up and about, our midfield IS the worst in the league. It’s proven week after week.

Caddy, Guthrie, Blicavs, GHS – pretenders. We’ll never get back into contention with that crop.” – PatrickBateman

“A lot of composure by our youngest two players almost won us the game, but a lack of composure from some of our vets cost us in the end.

On the plus side the draw doesn’t actually negatively effect our chances of finals. We win the next two and Adelaide drops the game against West Coast and we are in the finals.” – 10lana

Bartel done. Should retire this season if he can only play defence.

Ghs is simply too slow. For people who just watch stats he gets burned by opponents. Utterly burned.

Cocky has real talent. Forced some great turnovers.

Guthrie, Motlop, Lang and Johnson (bar two shocking plays) did well.

Vardy still has talent.

Umps were cheating that last quarter. So many holding the ball decisions not given that should of been.

Selwood’s disposal was awful tonight.” – Seeds

Adelaide Crows 20.11.131 def Brisbane Lions 6.8.44

“Well another % booster that means nothing now due to Geelong drawing with St Kilda!

A win next week locks up our finals spot

Good:
Tex! 7 goals and a PB!
Our accuracy again! 2 weeks…. hope those yips are gone!
Lynch was immense tonight!
Lyons in the last. Must go back to a full game next week. VB to sub
Sloane was great in the first when we were asleep
Danger didn’t have much of it, but laid 7 tackles and did the hard stuff in his 150th
Atkins‘ goal. Ridiculous
Eddie‘s goal. Just as ridiculous

Bad:
Our 1st quarter. Again. Get em out in full kit 15 mins before the bounce next week and match simulate!
Brown slight ankle. Hope it aint too bad
Poor old Jenkins. How many times was he free and open 15 metres out only for a team mate miss the target or ignore him? I’ve never seen a forward find as much space as JJ does. He gets so many goals over the top, was just unlucky tonight

Ugly:
Ump blowing the whistle for a mark to VB and then calling play on
Not much else really

Destiny is in our own hands…… lets make it happen!” – Glenno23

“Round 19 Richmond score 61 points
Round 20 Essendon score 59 points
Round 21 Brisbane score 44 points

Who said our defence is bad?” – billy fragos

“Good:
Eddie Betts has played his best season ever, now up to 52 goals for the season
Walker passes 50 goals
Jenkins averaging more than 2 goals a game
Lynch and Cameron chipping in with 25 goals each

That’s 187 goals between our 5 forwards this season. Averaging 10 goals a game between them.” – Scorpus

“Turned up for the 1st quarter and just lost all confidence when Adelaide stepped up a gear. Andrews was sensational in the backline, Zorko the other highlight, and Freeman did some nice things in the forward line.” – Rubix WingMan

“If this makes sense it was our best biggest loss of the season. It wasn’t so much that we were bad. They were very good and take out 1 bad loss to Sydney they are probably the form team of the comp.” – mikey127

Zorko had a fantastic game

Harris Andrews got beaten a few time by stronger, more experienced players… But he stopped a hell of a lot more than he let through. Great game from Harris. If he continues on this trend he will be elite with 3 or 4 pre seasons.

Christensen had a good game also. Our most dangerous player at the moment.

Freeman was good. Midfield slaughter stopped him showing much tonight.

McGuane had a few good moments also.

Merrett had a shocking game…. No feel… Poor instincts, poor decisions.

ZOB‘s last season surely. Hard worker…
But just not skilled enough. He can hold his head up high….. He got all that was possible out of his career.

Not sure what Redden‘s stats were tonight… Sure he laid a few tackles…. But he didn’t affect the game.

Mayes showed some poise… Received a lot of hospital passes. Ok game.

Hanley had a very poor game.
We missed Rich.

Green didn’t do much. He’s excused first half back.” – BrizzyBandit

Sunday, August 23

North Melbourne 14.10.94 def  Fremantle 12.11.83

“Great games by Cunners and Swallow in the midfield.
Dal great in the 2nd half.
Boomer good but Taz best on for mine a rock in defence” – The Ziebull

“Our defence was good after the initial onslaught, our midfield still needs work.” – the 5th wiggle

“Biggest positive for me was our mental strength. Didn’t drop heads and go into shells after being dominated in the first quarter. Instead we came out refocused and changed the way we played the game, ground it out for 3 more quarters and got the win.” – boneofshin

“The real triumph of this game is that we beat the ultra-defensive Freo gameplan with speed and skill.

Since no one’s mentioned him yet shoutout to Shaun Atley, executed a lot of clutch actions.” – Liam Boy

Tarrant‘s marking and his closing speed was a joy to watch.

Waite troubled Freo.

Ben Brown a hard working footballer, gets on the bike extends the dukes and is hard to beat.

Nahas earned his money today.

Atley was instrumental in the last, Freo couldn’t handle his pace. Must get the ball in his hands more often.” – naturally north

“I’ve been on the “we can do it” wagon for most of this year, even through our mid-season slump, but the last two games have certainly shaken my faith in this team’s ability to deliver this year. I know it’s a marathon and not a sprint, and the real season doesn’t start till September, but the way we have lost the last two games – against teams who we will be playing in the finals – is just demoralizing and disheartening.

It’s more frustrating to see that we have the ability to dominate in general play and given that, should really be putting teams away, but we are just so pathologically incapable of using our dominance to win the only stat that counts on the ******* scoreboard. That’s not a fitness issue, you can argue it’s not even a game plan issue – the fumble, fumble, turn over shit we’re seeing is clearly a mental issue.

I thought that our close wins this year would have held the guys in good stead and given them the confidence to stand up when being pushed to the wall, but these past two games have shown an appalling lack of composure that translates to poor decision making and a general break down in skills. I never thought I’d say this about our team since Lyon’s come in – but we are mentally weak. In the same manner that teams always feel that they’re in it with a chance when versing us regardless of our lead, it seems that that same belief (or lack of belief) has crept into our players’ heads at the worst possible time of the year.

We’re pretty close to cooked, and, for a supporter, it’s so heartbreaking to watch after such a promising start to the year. It’s doubly heartbreaking because this is realistically our last chance to win a flag unless we manage to recruit a KPF/KPD that can at least cover for the loss of Pav and Macca next year. (And it looks like the Eagles are closer to winning this year’s flag than we are – which makes it exponentially shittier to contemplate.)” – Grape Bear

Carlton 12.6.78 def  Melbourne 7.13.55

“Thought the lads showed some real heart in the end, given the walking wounded we had on the bench.

Menz remains out of sorts. Cripps… nothing needs to be said. MK… you bona fide champion.

Rowe stood up, and well done Tex.” – SBYM

• Cripps rising star…
  • Tutt disposal a bit iffy Especially those blind kicks but one of a few who was able to run all day… Should be picked over Smith all the time for rest of season.
  • Boekhurst good things but faded out in the third… Came good in the last
  • Whiley a good honest trier and looking to take the place of Brock as expected.
  • Kreuzer… Great game, legend… If he wants to stay we keep him (fair contract and dollars though)
  • Buckley all heart and Simpson
  • 100% committed team today.. Everyone played for the jumper…
  • Worried about Menzel
  • Murphy seriously can we have any luck?” – jj1978

“Happy to win and not get the spoon, I’m sure there will be lot of people whinging that we won. But we were never guaranteed the spoon anyway as it was going to come down to percentage. Now saying that it’s not really in our interests to win next week against GWS. Not that I think we would win anyway, but with a few more injuries to key players today it’s rather unlikely.” – Tennant

“Weitering or Scahche is win/win no matter what and i don’t want the Spoon.” – Chism

“Congrats to the boys on a good win.

We lost our captain and vice captain in that second half but the boys found a way to steady in the last quarter and hold the Dees at bay.

Cripps. What more can be said of his that hasn’t already been said, the bloke carried out entire midfield throughout the game just as he has been doing all year (Murphy not withstanding).

Kruezer is a gun, a proper preseason under his belt and he will star next year.

Many mentions should go out to other players out there today but suffice to say that congratulations should cover that.

Lastly, I’m thinking if we get in 4-5 players next year to replace some of the players that are not up to scratch (I think we all know who they are) I definitely think we will be able to hold our own next year with a full list.

Might even be capable of being an outside chance for a top eight spot if luck goes out way.

I never thought I would say those words, but we definitely have a good nucleus of a team, just need to support them with players that won’t always undo their hard work with lousy disposal” – carlton2dabone

“Despite his limitations I thought Whiley was pretty good. Did a lot of hard work in and under and around the contest and probably also took advantage of Crippa being hard tagged early, which is what you want.

Though why teams bother hard tagging Cripps I got no idea, it doesn’t work.” – T2B_

“We won today with no Judd, Gibbs, Thomas, Yarran, Henderson*, Casboult, Graham and White.

Half the team with under 50 games experience

Lose the captain and vice captain during the match

Coming off 60 point loss to Brisbane when everybody thinks we are Tanking.

Plus the Henderson stuff this week.

That is one to stand up for the Navy Blue and play for Pride” – Blue Razor

“Good: Being able to walk away from the TV and have a beer at home instead of having to head back to Richmond station 10 minutes into the 1st quarter.

Bad: The fact our players don’t even care

Fugly: Daniel Cross” – Wizardy

“What I hate is how ******* pathetic we are without the ball most weeks.

Look at our wins this year. Every game we were on from the first bounce defensively, our pressure was good and even though our skills are still meh our pressure was good enough to force errors the other way. Then you look at our losses. We are so ******* lazy. We don’t run anywhere near as hard as other teams (I think its a mentality, not a fitness issue).

I think mediocrity is still unfortunately accepted at Melbourne. We celebrate every win like we’ve won the ******* GF, the only win this year I’d excuse those celebrations was Geelong, because that was about burying 186.” – schmuttt

“FUGLY

The quality of our midfield and on field leadership.

The Pies were pumped to the tune of almost 100 points and yet Sidebottom, Pendlebury and Swan all battled hard to keep their team in it. Our midfield and so called leaders let out a brief whimper and then franking disappear at the first sign of trouble.

We have no players of the ilk of the Pies midfield. None of those three players mentioned above would have turned in such horrific performances as the MFC did today. You just can’t keep genuine champions down. Where was Jones? Or Vince? Our midfield has depth comparable to Nickleback lyrics. There was simply no one who could step up and take charge and until that changes we’ll continue to be a terrible team” – Dancing Potato

West Coast Eagles 25.12.162 def Western Bulldogs 13.7.85

“+ Hammered, battered a top 4 side. Fitness levels off the charts
+ Nic Nat is the greatest man of all time
+ Josh Kennedy is also the greatest man of all time
+ Transition offense against a transition based team was electric
+ Goal accuracy, slotting them from everywhere
+ Hill, Hutchings, McGinnity, Bennell all solid to spectacular for a much maligned group
+ Sinclair has comes on in leaps and bounds
+ Can’t say enough about our midfield when we’ve got Nic in there. First use, clean, a joy to watch
+ Also can’t say enough about our attack in general
+ Backline stood up in the second half
+ JK Coleman watch is now irrelevant
+ They left Gaff unmanned at every stoppage. Every. Stoppage. Killed them.
+ Shep‘s diving spoil probably got someone pregnant it was so manly.
+ Goals bode well for Muzza

– Think we got cheeky at selection and it hurt us today. Lot of goals I feel would have been prevented by having someone with height and the authority to punch it fifty rows deep
– Carved in transition in the first half, adjustments were nice but it’s been our Achilles heel all year. I shudder when we kick a point because there’s every chance a fast team slingshots it down for a goal

Can’t wait until we beat a good team, still haven’t really beaten anyone worth much.” – HoneyBadger35

http://fat.gfycat.com/DimpledPreciousAstrangiacoral.gif – Oxirane

“Positives:
– When did Sinclair learn to football? Was great around the ground and is kicking goals.
– NicNat – massive return. Felt like the whole stadium was with him today.
– Loved the way the boys got around both he and Muzza at key moments.
– Cripps, Sheed, Shuey, Priddis: Lads found a way to get balls out of packs they had no right to do.
– Hurn, Shep: Some really clutch spoils. Love your work gents.
– Thought Hutchings had some great moments – wasn’t just accumulating today.
– Thought we made very sound adjustments in the box. ISWT.
– Freo result reminds us how hard it is to get up off the mat from derbies. Fitness is sublime right now.

Negatives:
– Leaked some silly goals – mind you, Bulldogs had some real streaky marks and goals. Hard to stop stuff.
– Arguably we got cute with no Barrass – but if you listen to Simmo’s presser, he makes the point there wasn’t an obvious slot for him. I think he’s mindful of not letting Tom get ragdolled by the Redpaths of the world.
– Still need to stop that transition footy running against us.

Edit: Positive: Sir Josh Kennedy, Coleman medallist

Today’s game: poetry in motion.

” – bombard

“Positive: We’ve beaten every team in the comp now this year apart from Hawthorn and the Kangas. Both of which we only lost by 14 and 10 points respectively.

Wow! Did not expect that at the start of the season.

Negative…can’t find one, our boys are super!” – cainozz

“Aside from everything already mentioned, our talls have been taking contested marks like beasts in recent weeks. Sinkers and JK stood out for me today but even Hill took a few!

Overall this team displays a high degree of skill – not just in terms of disposal. The quality of our tackles and contested work is very good.

The Bulldogs are dangerous and the way we put them away fills me with confidence going into next week against another in form team that has more than a couple of deadly weapons.” – luapjb

Stringer is a superstar.
Bontempelli was too quiet.
Macrae was ok but the pressure was immense.
One day people will believe me about Talia Redpath and Biggs. They are depth players and no more.

West Coast were good but take out Kennedy, Naitinui and Priddis and we win, I have no doubt.

Jong was poor today, and I like what he brings.

Crameri has been great the last 4 weeks.

I said that Redpath could be found out by a team who defends better than what we’ve seen lately and I think I’m right.

Hunter started well but disappeared, Murphy was just ok.

The quicker T Boyd gets back in this side for Redpath the better. I’m not saying his output would be better but he’s better structurally. Redpath got found out massively today, as I expected. With the game’s the way they have been played the last 5 weeks, he should have kicked more goals than he did. Today he didn’t get the space he wants, but also dropped everything. At 24 he needs to be better IMO. Keep him on the list, but he doesn’t deserve to keep his spot.

Campbell was ok given how good Naitinui was, but I’ve never seen a game revolve around one player so much as today. Naitinui completely dictated the centre of the ground.

I don’t think we played that badly (the scoreboard probably disagrees with me), but we got out muscled around the ball and that is something that time, and preseasons, will fix. We couldn’t get a tackle to stick and that is a concern leading into finals.

Biggs takes the soft option and against hard pressure it gets found out. We have better decision makers and options than him IMO.

Talia makes poor decision after poor decision, he’s a very dumb footballer.

Stringer is a superstar and I know I’ve highlighted negatives, but I’m not as flat about this game as I suspect the media will be. It was a day where every quick kicked ball bounced to them, everything went right for them.

I’m still ok where we’re at, but changes need to be made and Naitinui is a freak. A freak.

Go Dogs” – Pannalstaroz

“Disappointing to have such a big fade. I don’t really watch the Eagles over there cause of their remarkably ignorant fans. Today has taught me I need to apologise to any other teams fans I called feral because Eagle fans take it to a whole new stratosphere. They cheer a guy who is a convicted felon. The AFL will find themselves on a hiding to nothing if they can’t fix up the home crowd umpiring as well, if it costs someone a grand final birth it really shows that the competition has very little fairness to it.
Jake Stringer is a jet.
Mitch Wallis is our heart and soul.

On to next week! Few changes in the ruck/backline I’m thinking!” – fargy

“wow. 3QT i was really proud. By full time it became worst case scenario. We just NEED full contribution or we break down by the end of games. Disappointing. Being shitcaned in the ruck hurt but frankly we just had a lot of little boys out there get shoved around. By the end it looks less like two top 4 sides and more like a group with 13 sub 50 gamers against a pack of well drilled men.

No long term disasters, maybe a reminder we need to come some paces forward in the ruck though.

Simply, tired, young boys who were chasing all day eventually cracked and softened up. Disappointing, but we’re not as close to a flag as we may’ve thought. that’s fine because it’s still been a fairy tale. A smile or two yet to be had” – zgope1