How to get into the vfl (curiosity)?

Remove this Banner Ad

wrfl123

Rookie
May 3, 2012
Footscray
AFL Club
Western Bulldogs
Is it possible to get into the vfl without having to go play in the tac cup?

its not like im wanting to play in that league, im just curious of how 18+ year old blokes get recruited.

I still have no idea, of how older players get recruited... I have no knowledge about the afl/vfl pathways, can someone inform about this to me please too?

Call up the gm of whichever vfl club you want to join. You may have a meeting/training session and you go from there depending on how you go.

funny enough gazza JR had a mate from his home town an geelong were short on numbers, so he played,that player jason davenport :eek: same thing with big mummy,mates got him in..

geelong an collingwood just steal local players/mates of mates in some games, brad mangan the

Generally there are try out days and quite a few players come down for the pre-season, they play a few games, go on a pre-season camp, and from there coaches decide who they'd like to keep

GM's and Football Managers are easily the best way to find out about these days, generally a lot of people are identified on them

I work at Coburg, we've only had about 5 guys from TAC Cup come in, 1 from WA, 1 ex-AFL, 1 off another VFL club, and the rest from local clubs wanting to have a crack at VFL footy, so if you're keen there are definitely ways to get in. If they want you they sign you up, put you in so that you have a local interchange club, and if you don't make the development or senior side you go and just play for your local side

Generally there are try out days and quite a few players come down for the pre-season, they play a few games, go on a pre-season camp, and from there coaches decide who they'd like to keep

GM's and Football Managers are easily the best way to find out about these days, generally a lot of people are identified on them