Bad Eggs

Apr 20, 2001
Adelaide Oval / Anfield
Adelaide Utd,Liverpool, WWT Eagles.
Went to the Adelaide Premiere of Tony Martin's new movie BAd Eggs starring Mick Molloy Judith Lucy nd Bill Hutner amongst others.

Tony came along and did a five minute stand up routine before the film which was really good. He is a funny man

The moview was your typical wacky Aussie comed and very entertaining.

They sacrifice the acting quality for the comedic timing of the main characters. Some very funny moments. The opening sequence is very clever.

I thought Mick Molloys partner was really good, and that Micallef cast as the Victorian Premier from the Family First party was great casting.

Very enjoyable if you like the genre.

Can't wait to see this movie-- Jen and I will go see it as soon as possible when it opens.

We thought that the trailers for the movie were laugh-out-loud funny, and from Jars' descriptions, sounds like the movie lives up to the promotions.

Thanks for the wonderful review, Jars.

It's probably just me, but I thought the trailer for the movie made it look like utter crap, having said that, I can't stand most aussie films, the exceptions being Amy, The Tracker and Rabbit Proof Fence.

Originally posted by mouldy_bread
It's probably just me, but I thought the trailer for the movie made it look like utter crap, having said that, I can't stand most aussie films, the exceptions being Amy, The Tracker and Rabbit Proof Fence.

I love Aussie movies - Shine, Bad Boy Bubby, Moulin Rogue and The Man from Snowy River are among my favourite movies of all time.

Love most aussie films, and many Kiwi ones, too.

Aussie movies I have :

Overlanders, The 1946
Eureka Stockade 1948
Bitter Springs 1950
Robbery Under Arms 1957
Stork 1971
Petersen 1974
Stone 1974
Picnic at Hanging Rock 1975
Caddie 1976
Don's Party 1976
Fourth Wish, The 1976
Break of Day 1977
High Rolling 1977
Mango Tree, The 1977
Picture Show Man, The 1977
Storm Boy 1977
Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith, The 1978
Eliza Fraser 1978
Newsfront 1978
Cathy's Child 1979
Dawn! 1979
Last of the Knucklemen, The 1979
Little Convict, The 1979
Mad Max 1979
Odd Angry Shot, The 1979
Palm Beach 1979
Tim 1979
Breaker Morant 1980
Chain Reaction, The 1980
Club, The 1980
Earthling, The 1980
Harlequin 1980
Nightmares 1980
Best of Friends, The 1981
Dead Kids 1981
Gallipoli 1981
Lady Stay Dead 1981
Mad Max 2 1981
Pacific Banana 1981
Puberty Blues 1981
Road Games 1981
Turkey Shoot 1981
Winter of Our Dreams 1981
Brothers 1982
Clinic, The 1982
Crosstalk 1982
Deadline (TV) 1982
Duet for Four 1982
Dusty 1982
Early Frost 1982
Fighting Back 1982
Heatwave 1982
Kitty and the Bagman 1982
Lonely Hearts 1982
Man from Snowy River, The 1982
Sara Dane (TV) 1982
We of the Never Never 1982
Year of Living Dangerously, The 1982
All The Rivers Run 1983
Aussie Assault 1983
Bush Christmas 1983
Careful, He Might Hear You 1983
Dot And The Kangaroo 1983
Going Down 1983
Mystery at Castle House, The 1983
Now and Forever 1983
Winds of Jarrah, The 1983
Australia Laughs 1984
Bullamakanka 1984
Coolangatta Gold, The 1984
Melvin, Son of Alvin 1984
My First Wife 1984
Naked Country, The 1984
Razorback 1984
Silver City 1984
Slim Dusty Movie, The 1984
Stanley: Every Home Should Have One 1984
Strikebound 1984
Waterfront 1984
Where The Green Ants Dream 1984
Anzacs 1985
Archer 1985
Bliss 1985
Burke & Wills 1985
Coca-Cola Kid, The 1985
Dot and the Koala 1985
Emoh Ruo 1985
Empty Beach, The 1985
Fran 1985
Indecent Obsession, An 1985
Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome 1985
Rebel 1985
Robbery Under Arms (TV) 1985
Wills & Burke 1985
A Fortunate Life 1986
Cactus 1986
Cassandra 1986
Dead-End Drive In 1986
Fortress (TV) 1986
Frog Dreaming 1986
Harp In The South Part 2, The 1986
Harp In The South, The 1986
Humpty Dumpty Man, The 1986
Jenny Kissed Me 1986
Kangaroo 1986
Malcolm 1986
More Things Change..., The 1986
Playing Beatie Bow 1986
Sky Pirates 1986
Surfer, The 1986
Windrider 1986
Australian Dream 1987
Bushfire Moon (TV) 1987
Coda (TV) 1987
Dogs in Space 1987
Frenchman's Farm 1987
Ground Zero 1987
Howling III 1987
Les Patterson Saves the World 1987
Lighthorsemen, The 1987
Place at the Coast, The 1987
Poor Man's Orange 1987
Running From the Guns 1987
Shame 1987
Shiralee, The 1987
Slate, Wyn & Me 1987
Those Dear Departed 1987
Time Guardian, The 1987
Travelling North 1987
Tudawali (TV) 1987
Umbrella Woman, The 1987
As Time Goes by 1988
Belinda 1988
Boulevard of Broken Dreams 1988
Breaking Loose 1988
Cane Toads 1988
Crocodile' Dundee II 1988
Evil Angels 1988
Grievous Bodily Harm 1988
Heroes, The (TV) 1988
High Tide 1988
Kadaicha 1988
Man from Snowy River II, The 1988
Rikky and Pete 1988
Salute of the Jugger 1988
Waltz Through the Hills, A (TV) 1988
Warm Nights on a Slow Moving Train 1988
Young Einstein 1988
Against the Innocent 1989
Bloodmoon 1989
Dead Calm 1989
Delinquents, The 1989
Elly & Jools 1989
Fighting Creed, The 1989
Kiss the Night 1989
Mull 1989
Rainbow Warrior Conspiracy, The (TV) 1989
Sweetie 1989
Big Steal, The 1990
Blood Oath 1990
Crossing, The 1990
Flirting 1990
Golden Braid 1990
Heaven Tonight 1990
Ring of Scorpio (TV) 1990
Struck by Lightning 1990
Wendy Cracked a Walnut 1990
Brides Of Christ 1991
Death in Brunswick 1991
Hunting 1991
Nirvana Street Murder 1991
Proof 1991
Spotswood 1991
Sweet Talker 1991
Turtle Beach 1991
Garbo 1992
Last Days of Chez Nous, The 1992
Nun and the Bandit, The 1992
Olden Days, The (TV) 1992
Redheads 1992
Romper Stomper 1992
Secrets 1992
Shotgun Wedding 1992
Strictly Ballroom 1992
Bad Boy Bubby 1993
Blackfellas 1993
Broken Highway 1993
Custodian, The 1993
Frauds 1993
Heartbreak Kid, The 1993
Hercules Returns 1993
Love in Limbo 1993
Piano, The 1993
Reckless Kelly 1993
Silver Brumby, The 1993
Stark (TV) 1993
Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, The 1994
Lex and Rory 1994
Lightning Jack 1994
Metal Skin 1994
Muriel's Wedding 1994
Police Rescue 1994
Roly Poly Man, The 1994
Sirens 1994
Spider & Rose 1994
Sum of Us, The 1994
That Eye, the Sky 1994
Traps 1994
All Men Are Liars 1995
Angel Baby 1995
Babe 1995
Back of Beyond 1995
Billy's Holiday 1995
Dad and Dave: On Our Selection 1995
Hotel Sorrento 1995
Lilian's Story 1995
Mushrooms 1995
Napoleon 1995
Sex Is a Four Letter Word 1995
Brilliant Lies 1996
Children of the Revolution 1996
Cosi 1996
Dating the Enemy 1996
Dead Heart 1996
Hotel de Love 1996
Idiot Box 1996
Inner Sanctuary, The 1996
Love and Other Catastrophes 1996
Love Serenade 1996
Mr. Reliable 1996
Shine 1996
Blackrock 1997
Boys, The 1997
Castle, The 97/I) 1997
Degenocide (V) 1997
Doing Time for Patsy Cline 1997
Dust Off the Wings 1997
Heaven's Burning 1997
Interview, The 1997
Joey 1997
Kiss or Kill 1997
River Street 1997
Road to Nhill 1997
To Have and to Hold 1997
True Love and Chaos 1997
Welcome to Woop Woop 1997
Babe : Pig In The City 1998
Crackers 1998
Dags 1998
Dance Me to My Song 1998
Head On 1998
In the Winter Dark 1998
Never Tell Me Never (TV) 1998
Occasional Coarse Language 1998
Paperback Hero 1998
Praise 1998
Radiance 1998
Somewhere in the Darkness 1998
Waste 1998
Australian All Shorts 1999
Big Night Out 1999
Bigger Than Tina 1999
Craic, The 1999
Dear Claudia 1999
Murrabinna 1999
Potato Farmer, The 1999
Powderburn 1999
Redball 1999
Skyhooks - The Video Collection 1999
Soft Fruit 1999
Strange Planet 1999
Sugar Factory, The 1999
Better Than Sex 2000
Chopper 2000
Cut 2000
Dish, The 2000
Looking for Alibrandi 2000
Mr. Accident 2000
Wog Boy, The 2000
Dangerous Summer, A 1981
Goodbye Paradise 1983
I Live with Me Dad 1985
Traps 1986
Encounter at Raven's Gate 1988
Over the Hill 1992
Resistance 1992
Siam Sunset 1999
Arguing The Toss Of A Cat 0
Love Of Lionel's Life, The 0
Outback Bound 0
State Of Shock 0
Sentimental Bloke, The 1919
His Loyal Highness 1932
Orphan of the Wilderness 1936
Dad Rudd, M.P. 1940
40,000 Horsemen 1941
Rats of Tobruk, The 1944
Jedda 1955
They're a Weird Mob 1966
Ned Kelly, Outlaw 1970
Homesdale 1971
Wake in Fright 1971
Walkabout 1971
Adventures of Barry McKenzie, The 1972
Alvin Purple 1973
Alvin Purple Rides Again 1974
End Play 1975
Removalists, The 1975
Sunday Too Far Away 1975
True Story of Eskimo Nell, The 1975
Mad Dog Morgan 1976
Summer City 1976
F.J. Holden, The 1977
Blue Fin 1978
Irishman, The 1978
Little Boy Lost 1978
Money Movers 1978
Dimboola 1979
Long Weekend 1979
My Brilliant Career 1979
Snapshot 1979
Blood Money 1980
Fatty Finn 1980
Final Cut 1980
Stir 1980
Double Deal 1981
Monkey Grip 1981
Starstruck 1981
Attack Force Z 1982
Dark Room, The 1982
Freedom 1982
Ginger Meggs 1982
Running on Empty 1982
Squizzy Taylor 1982
BMX Bandits 1983
Man of Flowers 1983
Midnite Spares 1983
One Night Stand 1983
Phar Lap 1983
Smuggler's Cove 1983
Annie's Coming Out 1984
Cyclone Tracy 1984
Fantasy Man 1984
High Country 1984
Matthew and Son (TV) 1984
Bootleg 1985
Dunera Boys, The (TV) 1985
Flesh And Blood 1985
Street to Die, A 1985
Crocodile Dundee 1986
Death of a Soldier 1986
Footrot Flats: The Dog's Tale 1986
Fringe Dwellers, The 1986
Going Sane 1986
JOE WILSON 1986
With Love to the Person Next to Me 1986
An Australian Summer 1987
Bit Part, The 1987
Contagion 1987
Dreaming, The 1987
Echoes of Paradise 1987
Fields Of Fire 1987
I've Come About the Suicide 1987
Melba 1987
Outback Vampires 1987
Rock n' Roll Cowboys (TV) 1987
Takeover (TV) 1987
Year My Voice Broke, The 1987
Barlow and Chambers: A Long Way From Home (TV) 1988
Boundaries of the Heart 1988
Emerald City 1988
Ghosts... of the Civil Dead 1988
Kokoda Crescent 1988
Houseboat Horror 1989
Out of the Body 1989
All the Rivers Run 2 (TV) 1990
Holidays on the River Yarra 1990
Home Brew 1990
Jackaroo (TV) 1990
Kink in the Picasso, A 1990
Weekend with Kate 1990
What the Moon Saw 1990
Aya 1991
Backsliding 1991
Dead to the World 1991
Hammers Over the Anvil 1991
Waiting 1991
Woman's Tale, A 1991
Bloodlust 1992
Dingo 1992
Exchange Lifeguards 1992
Greenkeeping 1992
Say a Little Prayer 1992
Bargearse (TV) 1993
Bedevil 1993
Body Melt 1993
No Worries 1993
Nostradamus Kid, The 1993
Country Life 1994
Everynight... Everynight 1994
MASLIN BEACH 1994
Talk 1994
Life 1995
SPACE, ABOVE & BEYOND 1995
Vacant Possession 1995
Fable (TV) 1996
Lust and Revenge 1996
Quiet Room, The 1996
Zone 39 1996
Fistful of Flies 1997
Last of the Ryans, The (TV) 1997
One Way Ticket (TV) 1997
Thank God He Met Lizzie 1997
Under the Lighthouse Dancing 1997
Well, The 1997
WILDSIDE 1997
Year of the Dogs 1997
Amy 1998
Day Of The Roses 1998
Dead Letter Office 1998
John Safran: Media Tycoon (TV) 1998
Sound of One Hand Clapping, The 1998
Tulip 1998
Two Girls and a Baby 1998
Erskineville Kings 1999
Pilbara Pearl 1999
Shonky Golf (V) 1999
Two Hands 1999
He Died with a Felafel In His Hand 2000
On the Beach (TV) 2000
Waiting At The Royal 2000
On Our Selection 1932
Sentimental Bloke, The 1932
On The Beach 1957
Cars That Ate Paris, The 1974
Undercover 1983
Perfectionist, The 1985
Remember Me 1985
Lucky Break 1994
Spank 1997

Kiwi movies in my collection :

Castaways Of The General Grant 1979
Smash Palace 1981
Bad Blood 1982
Utu 1983
Heart Of The Stag 1984
Starlight Hotel 1987
Dangerous Life, A 1988
Navigator, The 1988
Never Say Die 1988
Meet The Feebles 1989
RETURNING, THE 1990
Bread And Roses 1992
Heavenly Creatures 1994
Once Were Warriors 1994
Broken English 1996
Frighteners, The 1996
What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted 1999
Beyond Reasonable Doubt 1980
Quiet Earth, The 1985
Bad Taste 1987
Beyond Gravity 1988
Braindead 1992
What I Have Written 1995

So, has anyone got some Australian movies?

Your ill Mobs. ;)

You must have a lot of storage space Mobbenfuhrer!

If ever you wanna sell your copy of Amy, just let me know ;)
I had a copy on order at HMV for yonks, they rung about six months after I actually put the order in and said it had been delayed, then they never rung me again.

You would think that with the film actually being made in Australia and it wouldnt be so hard to get a copy.

Does anyone know if they are making Jake's Long Shadow into a movie to finish off the series?

Not that I've actully read the book yet, but I saw it in a shop a while ago.

You must have a lot of storage space Mobbenfuhrer!

2-bedroom flat. 2 bookcases in lounge. 5 bookcases in spare room. But its getting a bit silly so I've packed up four boxes worth and am onna store them at a mate's for a fee.

If ever you wanna sell your copy of Amy, just let me know ;)

Its the one with Nick Barker, right? I've only got it dubbed on a blank tape. Sorry!

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
2-bedroom flat. 2 bookcases in lounge. 5 bookcases in spare room. But its getting a bit silly so I've packed up four boxes worth and am onna store them at a mate's for a fee.

:eek:

Its the one with Nick Barker, right? I've only got it dubbed on a blank tape. Sorry!

Yes.

I knew it was too good to be true! :D

Earthling, The 1980

Hard to believe this was billed as a family film considering the horiffic scene early in the film where Ricky Schroder's parents are killed - gave me more nightmares as a kid then any horror film would've.

Originally posted by wagstaff
Hard to believe this was billed as a family film considering the horiffic scene early in the film where Ricky Schroder's parents are killed - gave me more nightmares as a kid then any horror film would've.

It's VERY realistic, and the scenes afterwards of the kid sitting around are just as disconcerting.

Anyone got a list of the films Mobbenfuhrer's got? I cant seem to find it yet ive looked everywhere. :D

Ok umm... the movie. Yeah looks good. Especially hugging the curb :D:D:D. I cant wait to see it. Hopefully next weekend I can go. Good old Aussie movies are so damn cheap! ;)

Just got back from seeing it this afternoon, and it was a delight.

Not a bad comedic farce, kind of untidy in bits through the middle, but everything comes together quite nicely at the end.

Mick Molloy and Judith Lucy were wonderful, and not a bad ensemble cast in support as well.

Quite comparable to the last Molloy vehicle we saw, "Crackerjack"...

The funniest thing I saw was the `Pie For Life' headline on the back of the paper with a big picture of Nick Davis on it.

Not a bad cop film, but I don't reckon it qualifies as comedy for the most part.

Pretty sure that was Josh Fraser...

Went and saw it last night - some very good lines, but could have been edited a bit tighter, not a full blown comedy in the Late Show mould.

Some of the newspaper headlines are pretty funny, some ripping lines.

But did anyone else notice the sound boom appears in shot not once but twice in the first 20 minutes? Pretty shabby.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

But did anyone else notice the sound boom appears in shot not once but twice in the first 20 minutes? Pretty shabby.

Not only that, but about the newspaper itself... Did anyone notice that the "Melbourne Tribune" has its own distinct look, but the back page of that publication looks eerily like that of the Herald-Sun?

I know imitation can be the sincerest form of flattery (debatable with the Herald-Sun, I know), but when you're in the newspaper business, you tend to notice these things. :)

Actually Goalden, most movie prints have mikes visible but the projectionist is supposed to position the film so that they aren't shown. Could be a case of slack work by the projectionist rather than shabby cinematography.

Went and saw it last night - some very good lines, but could have been edited a bit tighter, not a full blown comedy in the Late Show mould.

Very little comedy can stand up to the genius of the Late Show

Given the histroy of the late show style comedy perhaps the boom mikes were deliberatley left in the shot.