Games & Recreation Pokies!

so far this is just a "i hate pokies" thread, get over it, sure, they are everywhere, but they saved victoria, and problem gambling isnt as big of a problem in the suburbs as people make out, only at Crown Casino is there a problem, this is the place where they have a private area for the high rollers, and machines where the maximum bet is $90 per bet!

Problem gamblers are just that, if they don't have pokies they'll gamble on the races, lotto etc.

When I lived in WA, a lot of the tradies would head to the pub at lunch time friday with their weekly earnings & a lot lost it all in the afternoon betting on the races.

so far this is just a "i hate pokies" thread, get over it, sure, they are everywhere, but they saved victoria, and problem gambling isnt as big of a problem in the suburbs as people make out, only at Crown Casino is there a problem, this is the place where they have a private area for the high rollers, and machines where the maximum bet is $90 per bet!

This is possibly the most ignorant post on BigFooty.:eek::rolleyes:

Ridiculous machines.

I play poker/gamble on the horses, but at least that involves a bit of skill.

I don't know why people pour thousands upon thousands into a machine that is all luck. I don't even know how they work, I might put $5 in now and again and if I win, I have NFI why.

Pokies can require skill if ya crooked and know the right guy ie. The bloke who installed it. Long story but machines have patterns and if ya know and study them you can do quite well from it

^ False. Machines do not have patterns.
"Listen, and understand. That terminator is out there. It can't be bargained with. It can't be reasoned with. It doesn't feel pity, or remorse, or fear. And it absolutely will not stop, ever, until you are dead."

^ False. Machines do not have patterns.
Maybe now they don't but back in the day the unscrupulous person with the knowledge could work things in his favour with the machines. Also using fake coins was a big scam in some american casinos.

Play them most saturdays as it's our pub day. Can spend anywhere between 20-100 on them but never let it get out of hand. I've always been told the jackpots can go off at anytime and a lot of the time go off when the jackpots on $200, $250, $300, $350 etc etc .. put a few dollars through Big Ben a few weeks ago when it was at $149.60 and won at $150. Also seem to have a lot of luck on the old Dolphin Treasure machine .. simply because max bet on the old machine is 90c so tend only bet that and more often than not come out on top. Favourite machine has still gotta be Dolphin Treasure .. old or new machine .. can have some horrible luck on it but when it pays it pays tremendously.

i've got a mate who only plays that machine. usually puts a few hundred through at a time

i can't really understand why... :confused:

i've got a mate who only plays that machine. usually puts a few hundred through at a time

i can't really understand why... :confused:

Probably because you can win big for not doing much. Last year a friend of mine put in 5 bucks betting a dollar, got free games, then got free games in free games, then got another lot of free games in those free games, was up to about 38 free games and walked out with about $700 from memory.

Also, I've never seen it happen but apparently 5 turtles pays shitloads .. or maybe it's 5 turtles with the sunset substitute .. not sure but as I said when this machine pays it pays well.

This is possibly the most ignorant post on BigFooty.:eek::rolleyes:
I work in the industry and see it first hand. The venue I work at is going to be in the top 5 for earnings this year if trends continue. I can say from personal experience that pokies are not the problem many people make them out to be, there is far more a problem in race betting then there is on pokies.

I wasn't talking about your call in regard to pokies. I am talking about the part I have put in bold in your original post. That is such an ill informed post. Problem gambling is a MASSIVE problem in the suburbs. I suggest you have a look into some of the figures related to gambling and the City of Maribyrnong.

Wrong. suburban pokie venues are far more socially damaging than the pokie machines at Crown. data suggests that most people don't travel far to gamble (on electronic gaming machines) and addicts can fit their addiction around what is left of their lifestyle if the venue is just around the corner.

only play them if i have some loose change that I want to get rid of. so very rarely play at all maybe 4-5 times a year.

These are amazing times for the global gambling industry and particularly in its most lucrative global market, Australia, where the industry was all set to seize a record $25 billion in losses from gamblers in 2020.

However, all 5000 pokie dens across Australia were summarily shut down on Sunday, March 22, and since then gamblers have saved $38 million a day, providing community stimulus of more than $800 million so far. The record $14 billion in pokies losses the industry was targeting for 2020 might now struggle to even reach $10 billion, but it all depends on when the shut-down is lifted.

e02e5ffb5f980cd8262cf7f0ae00a4a9_press-x-to-doubt-memes-memesuper-la-noire-doubt-meme_419-238.jpg

Boomers and Gen-Xers will be stoked. Their Inheritance is no longer getting fed into these insatiable machines.