Port Adelaide Power AFL Football Club

The history of the Port Adelaide Football Club reads like a cavalcade of honours, more akin to a ‘boys own story’ than the tale of a dockland based, hard-nosed working class football club. Since its formation in 1870, the Port Adelaide Football Club has achieved more success than any other in Australian Rules Football history.

The Port Adelaide Football Club was formed in April 1870 as a social club for young men of Port Adelaide and played its first game on 24 May 1870 at Glanville Hall Estate. The club went through several colour combinations until 1902 when it settled on its famous black and white.

The club dominated the SANFL to such an extent that the inevitable rise to the national competition, the AFL, came in 1997. The Port Adelaide Football Club moved from the SANFL to the AFL carrying a new moniker - the Power - and adding teal and silver to the famous black and white. In 2004, just eight years after achieving that goal, the club was crowned the best in the land by winning the premiership, beating the modern masters the Brisbane Lions.

In the 1950s the club won a record six premierships in a row, a feat never achieved before or since. Going back further, the club achieved the rare honour of Champions of Australia in 1914, remaining undefeated all season.

While the clubs’ team honours have filled countless trophy cabinets at Alberton, the clubs’ home based and ‘sacred’ turf, the individual honours are just as impressive. The most Magarey Medals out of any SANFL club, with club legend and AFL Hall Of Fame member Russell Ebert OAM the winner of an unprecedented four medals. In 1990, full-forward Scott Hodges kicked a league record 153 goals in a season, a feat unlikely to be bettered. The club has produced some of the finest footballers ever to grace a football oval; names like Bruce Abernethy, Nathan Buckley, Gavin Wanganeen, Russell Ebert, Craig Bradley, Warren Tredrea, Mark Williams, John Cahill, Shine Hosking and Bob Quinn would make any ‘best of’ team ever put together.

The clubs’ stability off the field has also set them apart from their SANFL, and indeed AFL rivals. Bob McLean ran Port Adelaide like a fortress. Fos Williams dynasty continues, his strength and will to win setting the modern day Port Adelaide on a path to success and eventually the AFL. The club promoted from within; you know more about the people you work with than any other – and the club thrived.

The Port Adelaide Football Club has built its success on hard work, loyalty, dedication and professionalism. The club realised very early on that any success worth having is worth working hard for – nothing comes easy, and for a club that is proud of its working class roots, there was no other way. And that hard work and dedication continues.

The club has overcome adversity, on and off the field. Shrewd management has given the club an edge, and its home-grown talent from its rich recruiting zones have, over the years, provided Port with success and premierships that lesser clubs only dream about.

Upon leaving the SANFL for the national competition, the club kept the fundamentals that had served the club so well for over 127 years, they continued to play hard, attacking football and continued to back themselves in, with such belief, against supposed superior opposition. That belief has garnered Port premierships, both day and night, and respect.

In 2012, the current crop of Port Adelaide players and officials have their chance to add to the trophy cabinets at Alberton, and to etch their own names into folklore. Port Adelaide’s vast and passionate supporter base demand success, and demand 100% commitment and effort.