Preview Hawks vs Giants

Nor will it until he starts putting his body in the contest for the greater good of the team like the other 21 players playing for the brown and gold. For every goal he kicks, his pea heartedness costs us one the other way.

Didn't you get the memo? Everyone knows on this forum that with Shoey in the team, he takes the brunt of the abuse now.

The order goes: Shoey > Suckling > Doc > Hill. Get it right mate. Forum policy is here to ensure order and circlejerking. :drunk:

Lots of different ideas here. Seems to boil down to what each brings to the table:

Woodward - in form
Simpkin - experience
Litherland - toughness
Anderson - good all rounder

O'Rourke hasn't been mentioned much.

I think Litherland/Simpkin/Woodward, probably in that order, would be my preference.

Not billy bashing because I think he has some serious football attributes but is he that far ahead of the likes of TOB, sis and co ? His tank and speed are elite no argument but in other areas he's no standout. Something he has been blessed with that the others haven't is opportunities. Happy to cop my right wack if I'm way off the mark. Ps, if 36 hadn't of cursed Webster then he would of been our next tough inside mid.

I think it's more that we desperately need to have a pacy backup with games under his belt. I don't think it's so much that he's much better than sis/TOB, but more that we need one of him to develop.

I hate Steveo, but for what it's worth....

@Stevo7AFL: James Frawley tracking well .. Don't be surprised if he is back significantly ahead of schedule .. Hawks v Dees R7 looming too !

Wasn't he injured in Round 1 and the view was 4 -5 weeks out, meaning back 6 or 7, hence Dees or Swans?

Very happy if significantly ahead of schedule means this week though.

where is the love for Simpkin, no-one is sugesting him. Anderson needs to be used similarly to how Heeney is used at the swans. needs to play down forward more often. i think that is where he is most effective. he has a good goal sense

Sorry but Simpkin is simply not good enough to play 4 solid quarters at AFL - was a handy sub who can look good when other players are tiring. Pretty sure his papers are stamped due to his poor disposal. I watched the VFL game against Footscray and too many times he torched the ball after doing a great job burrowing in and getting the hard ball. Looks like Hallahan is also struggling at the suns because of his poor disposal - just hasn't improved from past years. I would rather we keep persisting with Anderson, Woodward and O'Rourke and using Simpkin as a last resort.

Wasn't he injured in Round 1 and the view was 4 -5 weeks out, meaning back 6 or 7, hence Dees or Swans?

Very happy if significantly ahead of schedule means this week though.

Wont be this week. They will have him primed for the $hitney game and hopefully Lake will be just about there as well.

Sorry but Simpkin is simply not good enough to play 4 solid quarters at AFL - was a handy sub who can look good when other players are tiring. Pretty sure his papers are stamped due to his poor disposal. I watched the VFL game against Footscray and too many times he torched the ball after doing a great job burrowing in and getting the hard ball. Looks like Hallahan is also struggling at the suns because of his poor disposal - just hasn't improved from past years. I would rather we keep persisting with Anderson, Woodward and O'Rourke and using Simpkin as a last resort.
Agree that his disposal needs more work. Disagree that he's not good enough to play 4 quarters. With all the hype that went on last year about our win over Fremantle in round 3 it was overlooked that Simpkin had probably played his best game for the club. He was pretty handy at the other end of the season when we were up against (admittedly a poor) Collingwood. An extra mature body for the next couple of weeks to replace Lewis.

I wouldn't be shattered if we selected Anderson, but I'd be really surprised if O'Rourke got another shot.

Didn't you get the memo? Everyone knows on this forum that with Shoey in the team, he takes the brunt of the abuse now.

The order goes: Shoey > Suckling > Doc > Hill. Get it right mate. Forum policy is here to ensure order and circlejerking. :drunk:

Yes, but Brad Hill is a one poster scapegoat!

Agree that his disposal needs more work. Disagree that he's not good enough to play 4 quarters. With all the hype that went on last year about our win over Fremantle in round 3 it was overlooked that Simpkin had probably played his best game for the club. He was pretty handy at the other end of the season when we were up against (admittedly a poor) Collingwood. An extra mature body for the next couple of weeks to replace Lewis.

I wouldn't be shattered if we selected Anderson, but I'd be really surprised if O'Rourke got another shot.

As far as Ohawk is concerned, I'm surprised he was put in so early, given that the dev team said he needed more time prior to playing AFL. I'm not disappointed in his results so far, but he needs more training before he's really ready to go.

Our substitutes this year

Round 1 : Anderson
Round 2: Sicily
Round 3: Anderson
Round 4: Hartung
Round 5: Whitecross

It seems like the club still can't pick the ideal player for the sub role. I think it's time Jonathan Simpkin got a run in the side. He's the best player on our list for this role with a proven record. Every time he starts as the sub he comes on gives us a bit of run threw the midfield, gets plenty of the ball and he has a habit of pushing forward and kicking goals. We've got GWS and Melbourne over the next two games. No harm in giving him some games over the next month.

Our substitutes this year

Round 1 : Anderson
Round 2: Sicily
Round 3: Anderson
Round 4: Hartung
Round 5: Whitecross

It seems like the club still can't pick the ideal player for the sub role. I think it's time Jonathan Simpkin got a run in the side. He's the best player on our list for this role with a proven record. Every time he starts as the sub he comes on gives us a bit of run threw the midfield, gets plenty of the ball and he has a habit of pushing forward and kicking goals. We've got GWS and Melbourne over the next two games. No harm in giving him some games over the next month.
What's not ideal about Ando, Hartung and Whitey? They all are supposed to provide the type of run Joffa did when he did the sub role. The choice of Sicily was a calculated risk to ease him in which in hindsight failed miserably due to Frawleys injury in the first 5 minutes. May have been a bit of hubrosity involved in that decision as well and it is unlikely to be repeated. Joffa will get the job if he shows he has better form than the other 3 plus Woody. He hasn't shown that at this stage. The sub is not a specialist position, it's given to the best running player outside of the best 21.

You can't use the same player as a sub week in week out, they lose fitness, touch and match conditioning, the best option is 3-4 players you can rotate through full games, sub or magoos

Woody had 40 disposals and kicked a goal (or two) last weekend before the bye for BHH. Suitable replacement for Lewis.

Joffa played ok for BHH against Footscray and Coburg, found enough of the ball but torched it a lot. He did play 18 games for Hawthorn last year, plays the sub role well, but I think these are the games Woody would be expecting to play. Would be hard to keep him on in 2016 if we overlook him at opportunities like this.

Jed has been servicable at BHH, but not spectacular. Seems to be running around like a headless chook at times. A year off from footy has made him lose a bit of football winning ability, needs an extended run at BHH injury free and ready for later half of 2015 (its only Rd 6 people).

JOR has been a bit disappointed at BHH. Needs to string some quality games together.