News 2018 Fixture announced

The Mercury can reveal Carlton will make its AFL debut in the state’s capital in round four against North Melbourne on Saturday, April 14, while St Kilda will head south to take on Hawthorn at University of Tasmania Stadium in round six, Saturday, April 28.

Both games will start at 7.25pm.

AFL general manager of clubs and broadcasting Travis Auld confirmed the fixtures to the Mercury.

“North Melbourne and Hawthorn have forged homes away from home in Hobart and Launceston respectively, and we’re pleased to confirm their first games in Tasmania of the 2018 AFL Premiership Season,” Auld said.

“Hawthorn will host St Kilda in Round 6 and North Melbourne will host Carlton in Round 4. “We would like to thank the Tasmanian Government for their ongoing support of AFL at all levels.”

http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/a3109badbeaa1a7ad49312a2a03700e0

The Mercury can reveal Carlton will make its AFL debut in the state’s capital in round four against North Melbourne on Saturday, April 14, while St Kilda will head south to take on Hawthorn at University of Tasmania Stadium in round six, Saturday, April 28.

AFL general manager of clubs and broadcasting Travis Auld confirmed the fixtures to the Mercury.

“North Melbourne and Hawthorn have forged homes away from home in Hobart and Launceston respectively, and we’re pleased to confirm their first games in Tasmania of the 2018 AFL Premiership Season,” Auld said.

“Hawthorn will host St Kilda in Round 6 and North Melbourne will host Carlton in Round 4. “We would like to thank the Tasmanian Government for their ongoing support of AFL at all levels.”

http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/a3109badbeaa1a7ad49312a2a03700e0

Great news....doesnt clash with the Killers concert in Melbourne!

I reckon we will get two trips to Perth, plus Gold Coast, Sydney Adelaide and tassie.

If we get two trips to Adelaide I'll spew. Nothing against our Adelaide fans but for the greater good we need to not play there. Eight straight losses at Adelaide oval. Done with that place. :mad:

Thanks for the news!

North have been the pioneers for GF footy for years. Bulldogs only got it last year cos of their flag. AFL werent happy with only 42000, Dogs have a poorer year, so we get it. We HAVE to fill the joint. No excuses about North not pulling a crowd. Its unfortunate crowd-wise North are currently where they are, but that shouldnt top Saints fans filling the GA areas to the max. We dont..the AFL will tut tut about little Clubs who cant even fill Etihad..and give it to Carlton or Richmond

I'm undecided as to whether I'll go, and usually I attend all games in Melbourne. For some of us Good Friday is still problematic.

If we want a big crowd for our Good Friday game, then we are really going to have show some form early in the season to get some Sainters back on the bandwagon. We did ourselves no favours by ending this season with a whimper. GF is probably not a good day to try and get big crowds to a footy match anyway.

Would be pretty disappointing to finally get a stand alone, public holiday footy game and our supporters are too lazy to turn up

Yeah we don't deserve GF if we aren't going to show up frankly.

Nothing to do except watch Good Friday appeal on Good Friday so I'll be there for sure if we get it!
Plus will prob go in early and join in Good friday festivities anyways which I wouldn't normally do

So we get one of the hardest sets of double up matches, need to play down at Simmonds and get given a 'marquee' game with North fans who don't turn up while expecting a 45,000 crowd. If we also get a bunch of Sunday twilights and 2 trips to Adelaide tomorrow, I will absolutely lose it.

A Geelong mate read in the Geelong advertiser that it looks like Gary Abletts first game back at Kardinia Park will be against St. Kilda in round 4, apparently on a Sunday.

Things we can rule out:

A trip to the Gabba
Playing Geelong at home

Also our confirmed away games are:

North (r 2)
Hawthorn (tassie)
Geelong (r4)
Gws (play twice)
Melbourne (play twice)
Richmond (play twice)

This leaves only five more away.

So either we play six interstate and host ALL three of Collingwood Carlton and Essendon OR we play five interstate OR less.

Can see positives either way.

So we get one of the hardest sets of double up matches, need to play down at Simmonds and get given a 'marquee' game with North fans who don't turn up while expecting a 45,000 crowd. If we also get a bunch of Sunday twilights and 2 trips to Adelaide tomorrow, I will absolutely lose it.
Aren't you used to it by now?
Sunday twilight is our time.
Adelaide is our home away from home.

We actually have one of the better match ups with double ups for us. We beat both those teams at home last year. We also avoid Essendon twice (bogey side) and Adelaide and port and Sydney.

Round 1: vs. Brisbane (h), ES, Saturday March 24, 3.35pm
Round 2: vs. North Melbourne (a), ES, Friday March 30, 4.20pm
Round 3: vs. Adelaide (h), ES, Saturday April 7, 7.25pm
Round 4: vs. Geelong (a), GMHBA, Sunday April 15, 4.40pm
Round 5: vs. GWS (h), ES, Saturday April 21, 1.45pm
Round 6: vs. Hawthorn (a), UTAS, Saturday April 28, 7.25pm
Round 7: vs. Melbourne (h), ES, Sunday May 6, 3.20pm
Round 8: vs. Fremantle (a), DS, Saturday May 12, 6.10pm
Round 9: vs. Collingwood (h), ES, Saturday May 19, 7.25pm
Round 10: vs. Richmond (a), MCG, Saturday May 26, 1.45pm
Round 11: vs. West Coast (a), PS, Saturday June 2, 6.10pm
Round 12: vs. Sydney (h), ES, Saturday June 9, 7.25pm