Academy Watch

In fairness, he was told by said poster to "stop sucking up ffs!"
Whether he was or wasn't, that type of comment wasn't really necessary imo. It just encourages....
Not related to the previous conversations and apologies if I’m prodding too far but do you have any word on whether Jaspa will play VFL for us at some stage this season?

Yes mate, more likely a bit later. They want him to concentrate on his current up and coming champ games/ afl academy etc.
The intentions are to play a game or 2 though.

One of them wasn't playing footy 12 months ago and wasn't even in the academy in Feb this year...

who wasn't playing 12 months ago? and is now an allies player?

How has he gone from non academy player to allies in 3 months?

Can the lions even lay claim to someone who is 17/18 and had no involvement with them until this year? Wouldn't said player be available to anyone in the draft and the academy have no first rights? Possibly even cat b rookie?

who wasn't playing 12 months ago? and is now an allies player?

How has he gone from non academy player to allies in 3 months?

Can the lions even lay claim to someone who is 17/18 and had no involvement with them until this year? Wouldn't said player be available to anyone in the draft and the academy have no first rights? Possibly even cat b rookie?
Yes. As long as the player has resided in our academy zone for 5 years, and joins our academy in their draft year.

Watched the Morningside vs Mt Gravat game on cluch. Morningside v Mt Gravatt FC - Round 9

Of the many Academy 18-19 yos playing for either side, number 23, Fletcher Gay-Brown (18yo) was the pick of them. Not sure if he was even in the academy this year, certainly didnt get a game, but obviously should have.

This is why we need an 'Academy vs QAFL (lions region) u19s' series (2 games) every season.

*Of the 5 Brisbane seniors teams, (not counting Redlands) 4 are in the bottom 5 on the ladder. Only Aspley in top 5, and they are 4th..
*Reserves dosent tell much of a different story. 3 on the bottom are all Brisbane clubs. Grange 5th, and Aspley again the standout.
*Colts, and Brisbane clubs make up 3 of the bottom 4. Only Grange and Sherwood in the top 5.

Dont know what all that means? Just a coincidence of statistics? (had to happen at some point) Or something deeper?

Coincidence its affecting club that fall under the Lions academy zone, when its been suggested kids are leaving the game as soon as their Lions academy time ends (18-19)?

*Of the 5 Brisbane seniors teams, (not counting Redlands) 4 are in the bottom 5 on the ladder. Only Aspley in top 5, and they are 4th..
*Reserves dosent tell much of a different story. 3 on the bottom are all Brisbane clubs. Grange 5th, and Aspley again the standout.
*Colts, and Brisbane clubs make up 3 of the bottom 4. Only Grange and Sherwood in the top 5.

Dont know what all that means? Just a coincidence of statistics? (had to happen at some point) Or something deeper?

Coincidence its affecting club that fall under the Lions academy zone, when its been suggested kids are leaving the game as soon as their Lions academy time ends (18-19)?

Could also mean that the clubs are not doing a good job of developing players themselves. Or it could be somewhere in the middle which is likely.

There was a couple of pretty good responses in the QAFL thread on the QLD footy forum.

TLDR version: Brisbane has QFA first division, which the Gold Coast doesn’t, and a lot of kids and good QAFL quality players are playing down a division or two.

I saw it was mentioned that Wischnat is playing QFA division 2 North. As a 16 year old, he made the (unofficial) U16 AA team, after dominating the U16 championships as a forward.

So kids/players aren’t necessarily dropping out, they’re just playing at a level where they are comfortable with the training and travel requirements.

I haven't provided any evidence relating the Lions either, so you'll just have to take my word for it.

Definitely doesn't happen at the Suns or Swans, I know for certain. I have little or no knowledge of GWS academy, but they do have a dodgy riverina zone, so I doubt they have any issues either.
Your club isnt totally clean in the issue of kids quitting, so i would be careful about throwing stones

There was a couple of pretty good responses in the QAFL thread on the QLD footy forum.

TLDR version: Brisbane has QFA first division, which the Gold Coast doesn’t, and a lot of kids and good QAFL quality players are playing down a division or two.

I saw it was mentioned that Wischnat is playing QFA division 2 North. As a 16 year old, he made the (unofficial) U16 AA team, after dominating the U16 championships as a forward.

So kids/players aren’t necessarily dropping out, they’re just playing at a level where they are comfortable with the training and travel requirements.

yes they are, they are dropping out of footy altogether, not just playing lower levels.

Wischnat is a classic academy failure. Wonderful bloke, but pushed too high too early and it really hurt his football.

He was at Morningside for 2 or 3 years, and was playing NEAFL for the Lions and then when not selected, going back to Morningside and being picked in the Reserves and Colts. Clearly there was a difference of opinion of where he was at between the club and the academy.

He then moved to the Magpies to play under Adrian Fletcher, and there he was going from Lions VFL to the Magpies Reserves - so it obviously wasn't just Morningside who felt he wasn't quite a walk up start to QAFL senior footy. I think he might have played a handful of Senior QAFL games ever.

He then hung up the boots, and the Magpies encouraged him to keep playing at his old club (Nambour). We are now at Round 10 and he hasn't played a single game as yet.

yes they are, they are dropping out of footy altogether, not just playing lower levels.

Wischnat is a classic academy failure. Wonderful bloke, but pushed too high too early and it really hurt his football.

He was at Morningside for 2 or 3 years, and was playing NEAFL for the Lions and then when not selected, going back to Morningside and being picked in the Reserves and Colts. Clearly there was a difference of opinion of where he was at between the club and the academy.

He then moved to the Magpies to play under Adrian Fletcher, and there he was going from Lions VFL to the Magpies Reserves - so it obviously wasn't just Morningside who felt he wasn't quite a walk up start to QAFL senior footy. I think he might have played a handful of Senior QAFL games ever.

He then hung up the boots, and the Magpies encouraged him to keep playing at his old club (Nambour). We are now at Round 10 and he hasn't played a single game as yet.

Wishnat is playing the wrong sport. He did great playing Aussie rules, but is still young enough to see how far he could go in RL. There is rep stuff in RL up to u21s. Draw

Hed be a gun RL player. His fitness and workrate would be unheard of in RL. He could add another 10kg to that already over 100kg frame. Hes big enough for an elite forward, has the gas, good speed for a forward. He'd play state league if he heart was in it. And get paid, free medical, etc. IMO, He'd get contracted by the Dolphins (looking hard for new talent and juniors) Broncos or Titans in his 1st few games. (free medical plus retainer). I know a 14yo kid who has only played 4 games of RL and already has been approached by the above teams.

If your an Aussie rules kid looking to change codes there are probably 2 areas one could fit; Clubs love big, hardworking, mobile forwards (Wishnat). Or backs with elite pace and agility to suit fullback and wings.

QLD AFL kids all know how to play RL. Transition not that hard if you have some of the pre-requisites that will fast track you (mentioned).

I'm unsure what you mean?
Kid in the previous year wins a b and f, league medal, captains a winning gf team, within 5 games at your club quits footy all together. Been playing since he was 4. Your club isnt what you think it is.

hasn't shed any light on what that has to do with the academy?

If a kid has won a B&F, League medal and captained a premiership - why are they changing clubs anyway?

you obviously have a gripe completely unrelated to this discussion, but feel free to carry on.

This simply does not happen.

Some clubs offer a list, and get ignored. Then try again a few times and eventually they listen, but they certainly are not asked.

There is a 15 year old (soon to be 16) playing Level 3 academy for Lions now, he wasn't on academy radar until this year. His club pushed his case in 2020 and 2021 and were ignored, they finally listened and after one off-season he is playing Level 3 games despite being 2 years from draft year...

Lions Academy have just posted that invites will go out June 10 for kids born in 2008 and 2009.

Cooincidentally, state championships are next weekend. So once again, likely making judgement on intake from micky mouse school comp.

We have 11 boys in the 'Met West' team for this carnival at our club, and a few in the 'Met East' team and some in the Darling Downs team.

There are 3 or 4 kids at our club, not in any of those teams - who are better than most of the 11 selected, if not all of them. Reasons could include that they were sick for the trials (or were a close contact), their school didn't even tell them about the trials, or they just weren't picked because the school regional trials are done reasonably well, but still a long way from a perfect science trying to pick from ~200 kids in a few hours of footy.

I also know another kid at a nearby club who isn't in any of those teams, but is an absolute star. If they are using these school carnivals to guide them, then they are crazy. Go and watch club footy, ask the club coaches or committee.

Well Thommo, it is now June 10.

You are president of a pretty big club, with heaps of talented kids.

Did you get a call asking for reccomendations? Did you submit a list of 5 in each age group, was there any contact with you at all?

Gold Coast 6.14 (50) def. by Brisbane 8.11 (59)

Best players

Gold Coast: Everitt, Marsh, Uwland, Cook, Lombard
Brisbane: Gilder, Ronchi, Fry, Banks, Richardson

Goals
Gold Coast: Everitt 3, Butler, Munro, Nancarrow
Brisbane: Banks 2, Fazldeen 2, Garaicoa, McFadyen, Snell

And a footnote. We have another Father Son kid, Joe Kennedy, in GC’s academy. Spida Everitt’s boy in there as well.

Gilder is a ~6'4 athletic tall defender that marks everything, explosive pace and kicks it well. Has a hot streak which serves him well, very aggressive.

Good prospect out of Sherwood. Only just turned 16.
hallelujah GIF

Two other good academy prospects that are 2 years from draft age are Jaydon Macaulay who played all the Level 3 games this year as an inside mid and Julian Cruice, a classy ball user and midfielder, but both would want to grow a bit soon. Cruice a bit behind the other lad, but they both have weapons. There is also a tall forward/ruck called Tom Gillett who is already 6'7 at 15/16 years old, can go forward and kick a bag and is a good tap ruck - but he needs to put on 20kg.

Quote Jaws GIF by Top 100 Movie Quotes of All Time

Thanks Miller1971 and Thommo 42. It’s so hard to find information about the academy kids, if you’re not involved.