Noddy23

Rookie
May 8, 2010
Liverpool, New York Knicks
Just wanted to know if anyone else went and seen him play at Etihad. Massive crowd, easy 60,000. Didnt understand why he was playing covers ( Stones and Jim Morrison e.g ). Living on a prayer however i got to say was the best song i have ever been apart of live, and 60,000 people singing along word by word was amazing and the buzz after the song was finished was awesome. But if anyone else went just keen to know what you thought

I went along and loved it. The covers are fine by me, just a little segueway during Bad Medicine which has been a tradition this tour. In other countries they've brought out famous guests in this section for a bit of fun.

Two and a half hour show though, loved every minute!

I'd imagine being in the crowd for Living on a Prayer would be one of the epic moments of any music lovers life. Such an iconic song.

They put on an awesome show.

Living on a Prayer was great live, but thought a few other songs topped it, at least at the Perth concert.

Highlights for me were "Always" (favorite song) "We Got It Goin' On" & "Bad Medicine"

Two negatives I will say is that Perth crowds honestly suck, doesn't matter who it is. Why pay premium prices to stand around like statues?

Secondly they should have utilised the stage better. John made an effort to but could have been better, however Richie was pretty stationary for the whole night, and stuck to one side of the stage.

You are the worst troll ever Bunsen.

Girlfriend & I travelled over from Adelaide for the Saturday night show.
Part of our ticket package included lanyard access to legends bar for free drinks, food & a supporter bag before the gig (hat, program, stubby holder, badges, keyring etc).
Legends bar is right accross from the West Coast Eagles Melbourne office so I got a pic outside that.

We had platinum tickets. Few people escorted away by police for having full on fist fights to the face in our section & a few other near fights. Idiots.

For the record, the sheet given to security for the night had the expected crowd at 56,000.

Think the support band was called the Scarletts (female singer & drummer) and their mix was one of the worst I've ever heard at a live gig. I had hope when I noticed the nice enough looking female singer but then she opened her mouth. Singing wasn't her strong point & as she didn't get her **** out, her band failed to impress me.

At least for a troll, bunsen knew Bon Jovi are a "they", as in a band not a "he"

You are the worst troll ever Bunsen.

There is no trolling going on in this thread on my behalf. Bon Jovi are lame. No really, they are totally f***ing lame and you should be ashamed of yourself. And as previosuly mentioned - any thread on a music board about Bon Jovi is always going to be ridiculed.

Altyon Childs debut album has a cover of Living on a Prayer. Epic. You should go grab it.;)

25+ years, 100million odd album sales, 56,000 people into Etihad the night after packing out rod laver arena..... I'd say the staying power & ability to fill & play to stadiums is the key here. (even faggy justin beiber will probably fill rod laver but he probably wont even be around in 5 years let alone 10)

I now music discussion is all opinionated and the best bands are always ones you like whereas the s**t bands (no matter how successfull) are the ones you dislike but Bon Jovi appeal to a mass audience, young & old, can still put out a #1 album & sell out stadiums THE WORLD over. If you're lame & or no good, you'll be found out eventually and this hasn't happened for Bon Jovi.

Putting it simply, all they are is a band so in terms of what their role is & what they're trying to do, they're one of the best bands & entertainers to date. This statement isn't about whether YOU like them. Flavour of the year entertainers that have others write their songs wont come close.

Tip 1: It's not "him", it's "them".

Question 1: Have you told your parents you are gay yet?

ahhhhhh... now i understand what PPG05 is talking about with Perth crowds being so boring and having no personality

Considering the lead singer is called Jon Bon Jovi i reckon ya can cut me some slack but as im not even a massive fan i am not to bothered anyway, i really only know his hits and went with a few mates, plus i was surprised how many young ladies were there so i was grateful because my eyes had a big perve session for the night. How annoyed you got when i said "him" instead of "them" makes you know more about them than me so probably also makes you the bigger fan to... wow you must feel like so gay right now!!

P.S If you think living on a prayer is not one of the most iconic songs of all time, especially in the 80s, take time out to go to ya local, club etc. Everytime that song is played, its sang word by word by everyone in the room... as it was at Etihad saturday night with 60,000........ so i would stamp that as a loved, iconic song

Girlfriend & I travelled over from Adelaide for the Saturday night show.
Part of our ticket package included lanyard access to legends bar for free drinks, food & a supporter bag before the gig (hat, program, stubby holder, badges, keyring etc).
was richard wilkins there?

Few people escorted away by police for having full on fist fights to the face in our section & a few other near fights. Idiots.
at a bon jovi gig??? :D

25+ years, 100million odd album sales, 56,000 people into Etihad the night after packing out rod laver arena..... I'd say the staying power & ability to fill & play to stadiums is the key here. (even faggy justin beiber will probably fill rod laver but he probably wont even be around in 5 years let alone 10)

I now music discussion is all opinionated and the best bands are always ones you like whereas the s**t bands (no matter how successfull) are the ones you dislike but Bon Jovi appeal to a mass audience, young & old, can still put out a #1 album & sell out stadiums THE WORLD over. If you're lame & or no good, you'll be found out eventually and this hasn't happened for Bon Jovi.

Putting it simply, all they are is a band so in terms of what their role is & what they're trying to do, they're one of the best bands & entertainers to date. This statement isn't about whether YOU like them. Flavour of the year entertainers that have others write their songs wont come close.
I guess Creed, Nickleback, Bryan Adams all have credibility too:rolleyes:

Bon Jovi is not for real music fans. They're for the Michael Slaters and Shane Warnes of this world. They have little credibility in rock circles.

Setlist:

http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/bon-jovi/2010/etihad-stadium-melbourne-australia-13d291e1.html

No idea who the support was - apparently Triple M were doing a competition in each state for an unsigned band to be thier opener.

Cheers mate. :thumbsu:

There is no trolling going on in this thread on my behalf. Bon Jovi are lame. No really, they are totally f***ing lame and you should be ashamed of yourself. And as previosuly mentioned - any thread on a music board about Bon Jovi is always going to be ridiculed.

Altyon Childs debut album has a cover of Living on a Prayer. Epic. You should go grab it.;)

Who the hell is Altyon Childs? :confused:

I guess Creed, Nickleback, Bryan Adams all have credibility too:rolleyes:

Bon Jovi is not for real music fans. They're for the Michael Slaters and Shane Warnes of this world. They have little credibility in rock circles.

Who, in your opinion, has credibility in rock circles?

This should be good...

Bunsen you are the MAN

what-a-dick-head.jpg

Who, in your opinion, has credibility in rock circles?

This should be good...
This is equivalent to a person wearing budgie smugglers while laughing ata bloke'sfashion sense for wearing a pair of quiksilver boardies.

Rock Cred
Led Zeppelin
AC/DC
RATM
Pearl Jam
Cream
Metallica
Nirvana
Neil Young
Pink Floyd
Kyuss
Tool

No Rock Cred
Bon Jovi
Poison
Creed
Nickelback
Matchbox20
Goo Goo Dolls
Bryan Adams
Linkin Park
Motley Crue

P.S If you think living on a prayer is not one of the most iconic songs of all time, especially in the 80s, take time out to go to ya local, club etc. Everytime that song is played, its sang word by word by everyone in the room... as it was at Etihad saturday night with 60,000........ so i would stamp that as a loved, iconic song
well said mate.

I think Nathan Hauritz sold all his posessions so he could follow Bon Jovi around the country too.

Whenever I hear 'Bounce' or 'The Circle', I feel like I am hearing music for the very first time

I went to both concerts in Melbourne and thought that both of them were absolutely fantastic. Say what you want about their 'rock credibility', but I will take 60,000 people singing every word to Livin On A Prayer above what a few critics think anyday.

The concerts were completely different, which was really good. The Rod Laver one on Friday night had a lot more of the new songs from The Circle album, but the crowd was heaps better. Everyone was singing and jumping the whole time, there were no rev-ups needed. Especially with the more well-known songs, like Bad Medicine, Wanted, It's My Life, Have a Nice Day etc, the crowd got really into that and the atmosphere was incredible. There was also more crowd interaction from the band - at the very beginning JBJ started on a stage in the middle of the crowd, then walked back through the crowd to get to the main stage. And at another point he walked through the crowd up the front, and of course everyone was grabbing his bum and planting kisses on him. They also played one of my all-time favourites in Dry County, which is pretty rare so that really made my day.

On Saturday the set-list was probably better - they only played three new songs, so it was more like a greatest hits concert. Crowd was massive but not as involved as Friday night, JBJ had to rev everyone up a couple of times. I was on the second level, and nothing beats looking out over the grass to see an entire football field of people fist-pumping in unison to It's My Life. And then to do Always in the encore made that day for me, cos its another of my favourites. So both were really amazing, I'm so glad I was able to go to both.

One thing about Bon Jovi is for sure - they put in 100% for every concert, and you're almost guaranteed to get a good show. Two and a half hours is a pretty decent length as well, def got your money's worth.