Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

come on fellas the ground is owned by council as everybody knows and the blackards wont spend money on it when they know people will come as it is. I have been to every home game laudy has played this year and I enjoy the fact I can park there. I also enjoy the laid back feel with the other punters. many good games have been played on a ground that has so little spent on it. get a grip and stop bagging the tip site as you should realise its not built on the tip site as it was the old race course flats where they use to train the horses in the early days. I remember this as a kid when I grew up in the area. I trapped rabbits there with old leon dennis god rest his soul. so get it right Lauderdale probably cant upgrade with out the councils approval and as I said in their opinion there is nothing wrong with it. winter and the others are doing fine, and should get a final if they are good enough. yes wady and the others should stand up and be counted and give Lauderdale some money to upgrade either at the existing or a new site. either way Lauderdale have the biggest supporter base and it will only grow with success and I believe it is coming, so look out you tossers that want to rubbish some one for trying to achieve success with a meagre budget. Glenorchy has done fine since the money has been made available with capital works, I recon Lauderdale with their network of tradies could build bigger, faster and simpler design if they had the monies other clubs have been given. support what you don't understand rather than rubbishing it.
grumpy old buggar I am, but the truth is the truth and there is no denying it. :)

come on fellas the ground is owned by council as everybody knows and the blackards wont spend money on it when they know people will come as it is. I have been to every home game laudy has played this year and I enjoy the fact I can park there. I also enjoy the laid back feel with the other punters. many good games have been played on a ground that has so little spent on it. get a grip and stop bagging the tip site as you should realise its not built on the tip site as it was the old race course flats where they use to train the horses in the early days. I remember this as a kid when I grew up in the area. I trapped rabbits there with old leon dennis god rest his soul. so get it right Lauderdale probably cant upgrade with out the councils approval and as I said in their opinion there is nothing wrong with it. winter and the others are doing fine, and should get a final if they are good enough. yes wady and the others should stand up and be counted and give Lauderdale some money to upgrade either at the existing or a new site. either way Lauderdale have the biggest supporter base and it will only grow with success and I believe it is coming, so look out you tossers that want to rubbish some one for trying to achieve success with a meagre budget. Glenorchy has done fine since the money has been made available with capital works, I recon Lauderdale with their network of tradies could build bigger, faster and simpler design if they had the monies other clubs have been given. support what you don't understand rather than rubbishing it.
grumpy old buggar I am, but the truth is the truth and there is no denying it. :)

I'm sorry, but as one who criticises the ground for what it is, bloody ordinary & a poor facility, I have never & wont criticise the club. They have grown in the TSL & have done a fantastic job.

Looking at the other grounds, North Hobart was built in the 1920s as the main footy ground in the city. As far as KGV is concerned, it was built in the 1950s & they built their social club in the 1960s. It was the main sports facility in the city of Glenorchy. Kingston Twin Ovals is the cutting edge of community sports facilities. It was built to service the fastest growing area in the state, 50,000 in Kingborough/Huon. It is brilliant & will soon get some spectator facilities.

Lauderdale is just an outer suburban ground & is not the main sports facility in the city like all the others are. In the city of Clarence that is the Bellerive Oval. It will always soak up the real money in that city. Lauderdale Oval will never be upgraded IMO. Its subject to rising sea level. The council wont risk ratepayers funds & build in such an area. IMO for this club to get to the next level, they need a new facility.

So history & emotion apart, they need to move on. If they could look to find some Federal & state money & join with other community groups further up the hill towards Rokeby maybe, thats their future IMO.

I'd be very surprised if they weren't looking at it.

If Lauderdale gain a home final they should get one. Whilst the facilities there are not ideal it doesn't stop the crowds coming(Yes. I know Scott doesn't care about crowds). The council have an obligation to provide adequate facilities for community use at all sports grounds, of which there are many in the Clarence municipal zone. Not just keep that part of their budget just for Bellerive oval. You would think that all stake holders would see the necessity of funding better facilities at all TSL grounds.

The council dont have an obligation to throw money away. Just face the fact that no council or business is going to risk $millions building facilities in areas that are likely to be under water in the years to come.
The TSL make the rules about where they will play finals. If they aint going play finals at KGV, then why would they allow them them to play at a ground with much worse facilities.
Anyway they will make a good account of themselves wherever they play.

mad mug I believe you are right. the council will not spend monies until no one wants to go there. afl don't care as it works as it is. you are correct in the need to probably move the whole concern but where to? the airport area is probably the best area to look at but who will pay?. as we know the polies promise so much but deliver so little. the club is doing its best with the funds it has available to it. I was there today and asked a lot of punters where should it be rebuilt and they all but said acton area. to keep it near its home base. I am retired now and love the footy which is my only affordable entertainment. so lets put pressure on afl tas to pick up the batton and push for funding to get this done. mean while forums like this are a fantastic just to hear other peoples point of view.

Welcome aboard sherrin50. I hope you enjoy your conversations on BF. :p

I too like my footy, & I do try to keep things reasonably logical:rolleyes:.

As far as Lauderdale f.c. are concerned, I reckon they are on the right track as far as their footy is concerned.. The thing about the ground is that is what could hold them back IMO. Its not urgent that they should leave straight away, but it has to be on their agenda.
I reckon they'd know that they need to look at other sports ground & facility users in the area & work together with them. No single club is going to get $millions off council, state or feds.

I have spoken to some Glenorchy people who said working with other sports & groups is how their club went about the development thing. Glenorchy council didn't have any money so the club worked with them & other groups. So they ended up getting about $8million for the new building. It will have an indoor physio pool, a cafe & a big function centre. Thats a pretty good effort.

I understand that Launceston footy club are doing something similar to improve their facilities. So it can be done.

Kingston managed to.

Well, no. The Twin Ovals was an initiative of the Kingborough Council. They & worked with the Tigers F.C & Kingborough cricket club. They are the prime users. The council manage it & they have had an A-League game & will have teams for the cricket world cup use it.
If you go in the social club you wont find any club memorabilia. Its kept club 'neutral' because it is mult-use & is owned & controlled by the council.
Both North Hobart & Glenorchy also play on council owned grounds. But they control their own social clubrooms so do have club memorabilia up around the walls. They also control who else uses their social club facility.
So the tigers are able to use a great facility, along with others.

Well, no. The Twin Ovals was an initiative of the Kingborough Council. They & worked with the Tigers F.C & Kingborough cricket club. They are the prime users. The council manage it & they have had an A-League game & will have teams for the cricket world cup use it.
If you go in the social club you wont find any club memorabilia. Its kept club 'neutral' because it is mult-use & is owned & controlled by the council.
Both North Hobart & Glenorchy also play on council owned grounds. But they control their own social clubrooms so do have club memorabilia up around the walls. They also control who else uses their social club facility.
So the tigers are able to use a great facility, along with others.
Sorry madmug
but AFL tas wasted $500,000 on the twin ovals ,this is why there was so much pressure on Hobart fc and North Hobart fc ,both were blind sided by Baker (kingston boy)) and Wade old player

this Media release june 2011 (can be verified on google search )

Media Release

TWIN OVALS COMPLEX OFFICIALLY OPENS

For immediate release 9 June 2011

Kingborough Council’s Twin Ovals Complex will officially be opened on Friday 10 June at

12.30pm by Julie Collins MP, representing the Federal Government, Premier of Tasmania

Lara Giddings and Kingborough Council Mayor Dr Graham Bury.

Kingborough Council successfully applied for a grant in 2008 under the Australian

Government’s Regional and Local Community’s Infrastructure Program (RLCIP - strategic

component) and received nearly $4 million in funding for the Twin Ovals complex.

Council sought other sources of funding in addition to the RLCIP grant for the associated

building, which includes club rooms, changerooms and public facilities, a 200 seat function

centre, full commercial kitchen, kiosk, media room and viewing areas. The State Government

contributed $1.6 million and the AFL contributed $500,000 towards the overall project.

The sports pavilion is located between the two ovals with large floor to ceiling windows for

spectators to enjoy the action. The function area is an ideal place for sporting events and for

community groups looking for a venue with excellent facilities. The media room has windows

overlooking both ovals so a constant watch can be kept on the action or alternatively this

room can be used for smaller gatherings.

The football oval is already in use with the first game played on Good Friday this year. The

other oval will be ready for the 2011/12 cricket season.

Kingborough Mayor Dr Graham Bury said the whole complex is a great asset to the

municipality and is a place for Kingborough residents and visitors to the area to play sport,

socialise, keep fit and maintain a healthy lifestyle

Sorry madmug
but AFL tas wasted $500,000 on the twin ovals ,this is why there was so much pressure on Hobart fc and North Hobart fc ,both were blind sided by Baker (kingston boy)) and Wade old player

this Media release june 2011 (can be verified on google search )

Kingborough Mayor Dr Graham Bury said the whole complex is a great asset to the

municipality and is a place for Kingborough residents and visitors to the area to play sport,

socialise, keep fit and maintain a healthy lifestyle

I dont understand what you are sorry about? What you put up is well known. It wasnt one club going out to get funds, It was the council going out to get funds for 'a great ASSETT to the Municipality'. ie for multiple users in the community.

Thats just what they did at KGV. In that case I understand it was the Footyclub & the council working together & bringing in other facility users. I'd be surprised if some AFL money didn't go into the KGV development too.

As I said Lauderdale would need to get a number of community groups together, go to council for support, then lobby politicians, State & Federal, yes & the AFL as well.
However I just dont see them getting anyone to spend $millions on the current ground. I believe they would need a new site. IMO.

Looks like the TSL bosses have shot themselves in the foot again. Saying Mitch Thorpe cant live in Launceston & drive an hour to work in Devonport. The Guy needs family support for him & the missus. What if he decided to live in Smithton & drive an hour & 1/2 to Devonport? Would that be ok?
Shouldnt they be bending over backwards to allow Thorpe to return to Tassie & work with Devonport?

At least Thorpe wont need a lift with Shaun Young, he has his own drivers license. :cool:

Looks like the TSL bosses have shot themselves in the foot again. Saying Mitch Thorpe cant live in Launceston & drive an hour to work in Devonport. The Guy needs family support for him & the missus. What if he decided to live in Smithton & drive an hour & 1/2 to Devonport? Would that be ok?
Shouldnt they be bending over backwards to allow Thorpe to return to Tassie & work with Devonport?

At least Thorpe wont need a lift with Shaun Young, he has his own drivers license. :cool:
Devonport not one of the chosen clubs to be sprinkled with "Fairy Dust" Mitch drive down to Clarence each week (Just like one of there Assistant coaches did last year...double standards anyone) and Scott Wade will give you the big tick Make it happen Roger Viney.

Really Launceston to Devonport is an hours drive max, as you stated madmug Smithon to Devonport at least a ninety minute trip (“AFL Tas have made it clear however that the full-time coach of Devonport would need to live on the North-West Coast,”) On the Big Island people spend up too three hours each way to get to work FFS.

I'm confused. How does a 25 minute trip take 2 hours? o_O

Having lived in Sydney if I drove to the city on saturday it would take me 20 minutes. Going to work during the week, if I left at 6am it would take 40 minutes, if I left at 7.30 it was an Hour & a 1/2. Its called peak hour traffic!! Sometimes worse if train strike!!Thats why I worked shifts, it cut my commute time.

I'm wondering if there has been any discussion in the North or South of the state about the other 8 TSL teams adopting the seniors only participation in the TSL that Burnie and Devonport will have from next year onwards. This will create a problem in the TSL Development league as there will be a bye for the Development team each time that other clubs play Burnie and Devonport. Burnie and Devonport will field 3 teams each in the NTFL and my understanding is that if players from NTFL clubs want to have a crack at TSL level they will be able to play with the TSL senior side in their zone and if they don't make the TSL side will be able to go back and play with their own local club on a week by week basis. It will be interesting to see if this encourages the better players at NTFL clubs to try out for the TSL with the fallback position of returning to their home club if not selected.

It means 3 less games for southern sides. Its a big problem for the 3 Launie teams. I've no idea why the coastal sides would want to do this. I spoke to some Glenorchy people who ran teams in TSL & SFL for a season who mentioned some problems & pitfalls. I know North Hobart were looking at doing the same at one stage.
The issue of players going from one club to another & back when wanted or when not want is a potential pit fall. It sounds sensible, maybe:rolleyes:, but it is currently a problem in the AFL with the non aligned VFL clubs. Its the reason the AFL clubs want their reserves back, & why the Adelaide AFL clubs wanted & got teams in the SANFL.
So why it will work for the TSL coastal sides is beyond me. Its a pity as they obviously either dont care about the other clubs, or are doing as they are told:rolleyes:
I dont see how a one team TSL could work. Its doubly hard to see how clubs can run teams in different competitions at different times.
I guess we will soon find out!

Game at Norf Hobart Oval 6pm tonite. Its a beut day, pleasant, sunny. I'm not working this weekend so I might pop down for the last game. I think the game is even money. Devonport v Lauderdale & Storm V Norf Launy will both be good games too ,I reckon.
I wouldnt mind getting out to see Claremont & Lindisfarne SFL semi tomorrow. BUT, I might get stuck at the Talbot though! or even at the New Sydney. I'll just take it as it comes!
Anyway, Ava good weekend at the local footy!

North V Storm and Lauderdale V Glenorchy next week. Lauderdale have to go to Devonport and back tomorrow for absolutely nothing.

Does anyone know where the TSL finals will be played? I guess North Launie & Storm is easy enough, but Lauderdale V Glenorchy? Will it be at BRO or NHO? I trust they will both be played on saturday as they at either end of the state. But who knows?

Glenorchy V Lauderdale sunday at NHO and North V Storm Saturday at Aurora

In my opinion its shaping up as Clarence v Lauderdale Grand Final and that will certainly draw a big crowd if it happens. Glenorchy suffered a cruel blow losing Cornelius and I cant see them getting past Lauderdale on Sunday. Western Storm have been very disappointing the last few weeks after looking to be the team to beat in the latter part of the season. That 1 point loss to Devonport has proved to be very costly and they must be kicking themselves for handing top spot to Clarence on a platter. I would have given them a bit more chance to advance in to the Grand Final had they finished on top but I cant see them making it now. In my opinion Clarence will win the 2nd semi against either Western Storm or North Launceston and if that happens Lauderdale will have to win 2 games in a row at Aurora Stadium to make the Grand Final but I think they can do it. North Launceston have been good in the last few weeks and cannot be taken lightly but I think their young team might need another year under their belts and will be a real threat next year if they can keep their playing group together.

Its a hard ask to win through from the elimination final. Lauderdale may well do it but I'm not too sure they can with two trips up north after the game this weekend. I reckon the average punter would still think the top 2 will end up in the GF. But I must say that Storm dont look too good at the moment.
So maybe its anyone's guess at this stage.

Its a hard ask to win through from the elimination final. Lauderdale may well do it but I'm not too sure they can with two trips up north after the game this weekend. I reckon the average punter would still think the top 2 will end up in the GF. But I must say that Storm dont look too good at the moment.
So maybe its anyone's guess at this stage.

I am not sure Lauderdale can win two games in a row at Aurora either, they should account for the Pies this week but will find it tough on the road after that, best chance they have is if Clarence lose the 2nd semi and Lauderdale win the 1st Semi, then they get the Roos who they will fancy themselves against.