Retired Jonathan Brown #3 (1999-2014)

7312831712_532defeaf5_z.jpg

Summary:

Thread #1

* 2002 mark of the year (#20)
* 'winningest' 100+ game player in the league (#6)
* appointed co-captain (#14)
* 10 goals vs Carlton (#36)
* baby photo (#80)
* score levelling goal against Sydney (#82)
* 2007 Coleman medal (#114)
* memories as a Fitzroy fan (#121)
* 2007 AFLPA awards (#136)
* father/son article (#140)
* 2007 review (#167)
* named captain of Hall of Fame match (#189)
* the perfect team (#295)
* Hall of Fame match (#401)
* 300th goal (#441)
* heat maps on leading patterns (#461)
* 150th game (#479)
* in trouble for criticising Franklin charge (#487)
* Melbourne chases Brown (#529)
* how's the truck Browny? (#535)
* Brown denies rift with Leigh Matthews (#643)
* 2008 AFLPA awards (#651)
* Brown marries Kylie (#680)
* Brown becomes sole captain (#686)
* 2008 review (#694)
* whiplash from Leigh Brown (#844)
* kicks most goals for a year in merged club's history (#863)
* 2009 AFLPA awards (#867)
* eye socket injury in elimination final against Carlton (#868)
* birth of Olivia Brown (#900)
* 2009 review (#908)
* hip operation (#915)
* grandfather, 'Corker' Brown, passes away (#966)

Thread #2

* abdominal/groin injury (#44)
* finally rested (#168)
* Brown denies punch up with Fevola (#199)
* Voss admits mismanagement of Brown's injury (#220)
* Brown kicks winning goal against Eagles (#233)
* 200th game (#280)
* AFLPA awards (#299)
* 2010 review (#319)
* abdominal/groin surgery (#321)
* facial fractures vs Fremantle (#423)
* hospital photo (#451)
* eating a steak fitness test (#568)
* Pies' $6m bid to Brown riles Lions [2005] (#646)
* early career apprehensions (#659)
* breaks record for most goals kicked in merged club's history (#663)
* facial fractures vs Geelong (#666)
* surgery (#734)
* becomes leading goal kicker of all current players (#782)
* 2011 review (#806)
* another facial fracture at training requiring surgery (#867)
* unrestricted free agent (#891)
* kicks 500th goal (#935)
* 100th game as captain (#977)

Thread #3

* Collision with car at Currumbin (#57)
* 2012 review (#60)

Contract status: ->2013

Premierships:

Code:
B:      Chris Johnson    Justin Leppitsch  Darryl White
HB:      Nigel Lappin      Chris Scott        Marcus Ashcroft
C:      Jason Akermanis  Michael Voss (c)  Robert Copeland
HF:      Shaun Hart        [U]Jonathan Brown[/U]    Luke Power
F:      Daniel Bradshaw  Alastair Lynch    Martin Pike
Foll:    Clark Keating    Simon Black        Brad Scott
Int:    Beau McDonald    Craig McRae        Tim Notting
        Mal Michael
Coach:  Leigh Matthews

Code:
B:      Chris Johnson    Chris Scott        Justin Leppitsch
HB:      Luke Power        Mal Michael        Marcus Ashcroft
C:      Shaun Hart        Michael Voss (c)  Martin Pike
HF:      Des Headland      [U]Jonathan Brown[/U]    Nigel Lappin
F:      Jason Akermanis  Alastair Lynch    Darryl White
Foll:    Clark Keating    Simon Black        Brad Scott
Int:    Beau McDonald    Craig McRae        Tim Notting     
        Aaron Shattock

Code:
B:      Chris Johnson    Mal Michael        Darryl White
HB:      Luke Power        Justin Leppitsch  Nigel Lappin
C:      Jason Akermanis  Michael Voss (c)  Martin Pike
HF:      Ashley McGrath       [U]Jonathan Brown[/U]       Robert Copeland
F:      Craig McRae      Alastair Lynch    Daniel Bradshaw
Foll:    Clark Keating    Simon Black        Shaun Hart
Int:    Jamie Charman    Blake Caracella    Marcus Ashcroft
        Richard Hadley

Merrett-Murray Medal results:

2000: =20th (10 votes)
2001: 6th (49 votes)
2002: 18th (29 votes)
2003: 12th (49.5 votes)
2004: 10th (50 votes)
2005: 6th (41.5 votes)
2006: 11th (29.5 votes)
2007: 1st (68 votes)
2008: 1st (53.5 votes)
2009: 1st (57.5 votes)
2010: 3rd (28.5 votes)
2011: 18th (11 votes)
2012: =4th (28 votes)

All Australian:

Code:
B:      Matthew Scarlett    Darren Glass          Darren Milburn
HB:      Andrew McLeod (c)  Matthew Egan          Campbell Brown
C:      Kane Cornes        Jimmy Bartel          Chad Cornes
HF:      Steve Johnson         [U]Jonathan Brown[/U] (vc)     Brent Harvey
F:      Brad Johnson        Matthew Pavlich      Cameron Mooney
Foll:    Dean Cox            Daniel Kerr          Gary Ablett Jr.
Int:    Joel Corey          Dustin Fletcher      Brendon Lade
        Cameron Ling
Coach:  Mark Thompson

Code:
B:      Corey Enright      Matthew Scarlett      Brian Lake
HB:      Simon Goodwin      Craig Bolton          Nick Maxwell
C:      Leigh Montagna      Lenny Hayes          Joel Selwood
HF:      Paul Chapman        Nick Riewoldt (c)    Dane Swan
F:      Leon Davis          Brendan Fevola          [U] Jonathan Brown[/U]
Foll:    Aaron Sandilands    Chris Judd (vc)      Gary Ablett, Jr.
Int:    Matthew Boyd        Nick Dal Santo        Brendon Goddard
        Adam Goodes
Coach:  Mark Thompson

Brisbane Lions Team of the Decade:

Code:
[B]B:[/B]    Chris Johnson        Mal Michael            Darryl White
[B]HB:[/B]    Marcus Ashcroft    Justin Leppitsch    Chris Scott
[B]M:[/B]    Nigel Lappin        Michael Voss (c)    Brad Scott
[U][B]HF:[/B]    Jason Akermanis       Jonathan Brown       Craig McRae[/U]
[B]F:[/B]    Luke Power        Alastair Lynch    Daniel Bradshaw
[B]Foll:[/B]    Clark Keating        Simon Black            Shaun Hart
[B]Int:[/B]    Martin Pike        Tim Notting            Jamie Charman     
        Richard Champion
Coach:    Leigh Matthews

Coach's votes:

Mike Sheahan's Top 50:

2001 (e): 39
2002 (s): 20
2002 (e): -
2003 (s): 25
2003 (e): 10
2004 (s): 4
2004 (e): -
2005 (s): 10
2005 (e): -
2006 (s): 4
2006 (e): -
2007 (s): 3
2007 (e): 2
2008 (s): 1
2008 (e): ?
2009 (s): 7
2009 (e): 7
2010 (s): 5
2010 (e): 28
2011 (s): 12
2011 (e): -
2012 (s): 16

Tribunal record:

* round 10, 2010 - hair pulling ($1200 reduced to $900)
* round 19, 2010 - tripping (60 demerit points, appeal unsuccessful)
* round 9, 2012 - first offence for engaging in a melee ($1600 reduced to $1200)

Tom Hawkins' top 10 centre half forwards from the last 25 years

1. Wayne Carey
2. Jonathan Brown
3. Bill Brownless
4. Dermott Brereton
5. Lance Franklin
6. Warren Tredrea
7. Cameron Mooney
8. Garry Lyon
9. Nick Riewoldt
10. Barry Stoneham

"As a kid growing up playing footy I tried to model myself on Jonathan Brown. I loved the way he played. A big man, showed enormous amount of courage, running back with packs, taking big marks. An extremely good leader. At the moment probably being criticised a bit too much for his courage, but one of those ones that could really lift a side when they needed a lift. Kicked a lot of goals. Takes a lot of contested marks. Someone who can do that is very valuable for a football team."

7160087783_7064a18307.jpg

Kevin Sheahan

20-year-old Darling, in his first two AFL seasons, has done what many regard to be a decent impersonation of a young Jonathan Brown.
"The biggest similarity between Jack and Jonathan Brown would be that they both came in with bodies ready-made for AFL footy," Sheehan said.
"But athletically, they are completely different. Brownie's got a couple of centimetres on Jack and quite a few kilos.
"Brownie's more likely to out-muscle his man toe-to-toe and take a contested mark, while you'll see Jack jump in from the side or the back of a pack to take a grab because of his athleticism."

7348833086_0f2f94b712.jpg

Rating the Captains
Damian Barrett

1. Joel Selwood
2. Jobe Watson
3. Adam Goodes (Jarrad McVeigh)
4. Darren Glass
5. Chris Judd
6. Nick Riewoldt
7. Luke Hodge
8. Gary Ablett
9. Chris Newman
10. Matthew Pavlich
11. Nathan van Berlo (OK)
12. Jonathan Brown
13. Nick Maxwell
14. Matthew Boyd
15. Dom Cassisi
16. Andrew Swallow
17. Jack Trengove (Jack Grimes)
18. Callan Ward (Phil Davis, Luke Power)

Jonathan Brown, who would have been No.1 on this list three seasons ago, no longer demands a high placing here because of horrific injuries and age.

7363902408_8681a3e502.jpg

Is it just me or does he seem to have been struggling to kick as far as he used to ? On the weekend he marked just outside the 50 meters twice and so would have been around 55 meter kick for goal and was reluctant to go back and have a ping... Maybe its confidence but he struggled for the distance on one of the last goals he kicked on the weekend where it was a good 48 meter kick...

I'd back Browny anywhere within 60 meters of the goal (with 60 def being his max distance). So it was something I noticed on the weekend where he didn't want to have a shot 55 meters out.

Probably just a confience thing but still something I reckon I noticed...

Not sure if it has been discussed elsewhere, but I reckon the big fella is both the fittest and enjoying his best spell of form in close to 3-4 years. Have been loving his work rate of late and think opposition are growing wary of him once again (which I think disappeared for a year or two). In answer to one of the above posts, I could see him going for another couple of years (all things being equal, which they usually aren't). As much as you would like him to play that Lynch like role in his final year or two, that type of role is pretty much redundant in this modern era.

Is it just me or does he seem to have been struggling to kick as far as he used to ? On the weekend he marked just outside the 50 meters twice and so would have been around 55 meter kick for goal and was reluctant to go back and have a ping... Maybe its confidence but he struggled for the distance on one of the last goals he kicked on the weekend where it was a good 48 meter kick...

I'd back Browny anywhere within 60 meters of the goal (with 60 def being his max distance). So it was something I noticed on the weekend where he didn't want to have a shot 55 meters out.

At some point in the game, I swear I saw him grimace and grab his hammy area and give a bit of a limp momentarily....I mentioned on here at the time, but figured I must have been dreaming when no-one else made comment..

Wouldn't surprise me at all if he is a bit sore in the legs and can't kick quite as good as usual..

I haven't watched the replay but I am pretty sure in the second quarter he kicked from 55 and it hit the post, pretty high up as well.

I would say that while Brown has been playing reasonable footy this year, he has been a fair way off his best form. But he's been getting better each week and he's starting to become fairly influential again. Interestingly enough he seems to be playing further up the ground, which is the opposite of what people thought would happen as he neared the end of his career. It's a bit of a throwback to the premiership years, and while he's not kicking as many goals, his delivery inside 50, something that tends not to get the recognition it deserves, has been more of a feature.

Browny leads the league in marks per game (well, if you take out fellow Lion J Hawksley who took 10 marks in his only game!). Yet, he is 14th on contested marks which says to me that he is working into space more, as Grim suggests.
Definitely a throwback to the early CHF years. I think I remember Leigh also mentioning it in his commentary during the Melbourne match. Counterintuitive, considering Brown's advancing age. Maybe he's not doing so badly for an old bugger?

Play it Soft
18 July, 2012

Lions skipper Jonathan Brown also expressed surprise that Ziebell was suspended for four matches.

"It probably justified a free kick, but he was jumping in the air to contest for the ball," Brown said.

"As it was he got there a fraction late.

"I think a free kick would have been enough."

Brown said on SEN's Morning Glory program that the Match Review Panel and the AFL Tribunal appeared to have changed tack over the course of the season.

"I thought the balance was pretty right early in the year," he said.

"There was a lot of physicality in the game.

"We saw some big hits that were going unpenalised, which was good, because they were good fair bumps, but they seem to have got a bit stricter in the past couple of weeks."

Which Current Stars Could Have Cut It In The 80s
July 9, 2012
Brad Hardie

In case you haven't heard, GWS youngster Jonathon Patton is the new Jonathan Brown.
I hate these kinds of comparisons – partly because Patton is no more the new Brown than I am, but also because one comes along (and fails) every couple of years.
At one stage Tom Hawkins was the next Brown. We're still waiting. At Collingwood, Billy Morrison was once given the Brown mantle. He never played a game.
More importantly for this piece, which 80s players could the modern day blokes be?
Jonathan Brown = Dermott Brereton
embed_Brown-Brereton---620.jpg

Jonathan Brown call on his Brisbane Teammates to turn up the heat against West Coast
July 23, 2012
Greg Davis

While delighted to win a Queensland derby, Brown did not sugar-coat the deficiencies in his side's game that need to be addressed immediately.

"To be perfectly honest, I was very disappointed with our intensity and pressure, especially in the first half. It was a real let-down because that's the cornerstone of our game," he said.Brown was proud of the character shown by the Lions to bounce back from last week's disappointing Gabba loss to St Kilda and hold off a fast-finishing Suns. The same sort of intestinal fortitude will be required to repel the Eagles in the wild west.

287561-jonathan-brown.jpg

Brown sympathises with Cloke's AFL dramas
July 25, 2012
Greg Buckle and Laine Clark

Brisbane AFL skipper Jonathan Brown says Travis Cloke's contract negotiations are big news simply because he plays for Collingwood.
"They are the biggest club in the land and they draw a lot of media attention.
"I went through it in 2008 (linked to other clubs including Collingwood) but I was up here so I wasn't going through it day to day being asked about it.
"It comes down to each player on an individual basis how they can handle that contract side of things going on behind the scenes.
"You have to be able to separate it from the football.

That's a ripper. I dare one of his teammates to put that photo on Browny's locker.