McGuire wants night GF. So that the pre-game entertainment would be better.

scottwade

Feb 23, 2006
around
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...ight-grand-final/story-e6frf9jf-1226271178896

COLLINGWOOD president Eddie McGuire says "embarrassing" pre-match Grand Final entertainment must force the AFL to switch to a prime-time night game.

He said the league has a serious decision to make: either ditch all pre-match entertainment for an afternoon Grand Final or "get real" with a massive night spectacle.

"But if you want to have a real go, have an entertainment spectacular with a million-dollar budget.
"If you want to put on the biggest and best show, you do it at night."

The terms cart & horse come to mind.

IMO to suggest moving the GF to night, so that we can have a $1 million 'entertainment spectacular' seems to overlook the fact, that it's the game that matters, not a rock show, not a light show not fireworks.

The AFL is essentially a local product. it is not the Superbowl. It does not generate the audiences, the worldwide interest or importantly the revenue.

Just play the bloody game.

I think some Sick Burnouts would do nice.

Pre-Match entertaining is cringeworthy. Just imagine it going for longer? token shit australian artist singing filler songs.

The AFL cannot do it right, remeber the cup comming from the sky with sparks comming out of it in 2008? that premiership deserves a bigger * then any west coast/Carlton one because at that point the whole thing should of been scrapped and attempted again next week without it

Sell the F**king game, it does well enough

a later start to the GF will happen eventually, it's inevitable, just not under Demetriou's administration... a majority of the finals are played at night now

Saturday has turned into a working day for many, so a later start makes sense in that regard... also, fans in WA can get to watch it at a decent time, not lunch time as they do now

perhaps a twilight start at 5pm might be the way to go first, just to see how it goes, then alternate between 2:30pm and a later start each year to keep the traditionalists happy

don't mind either way, if its played in arvo or evening, it would still be a big day regardless IMO

NO !!

If their is one tradition that should stay , it is a day AFL Grand Final

Bugger the entertainment , it's about the two teams that are good enough to get there.

100 minutes of a Grand Final will stay in footy fans memories alot longer than a "15 show" ever will

Comparing to the amount of things people do on say a Friday to Saturday night, isn't it arguable that Saturday would allow more people to watch the game. Who really does anything in the Winter/Summer Sports inbetween period at 12pm-3pm.

Most of the major sporting events around the world are now held at night so why is the AFL being so stubbon?
Sat night would also be great for the fans and sponsers.

All the BS about the BBQs and such is just that BS as you can still have a BBQ in the late afternoon/ night and watch the game and still get pissed if thats your thing and most people dont work on sunday and the kids dont have to get up early the next day to go to school.

The TV money and the massive ratings a saturday night will get will eventually win this arguement same with Good Friday - the AFL should just get on with it and come into the 21st century!

Comparing to the amount of things people do on say a Friday to Saturday night, isn't it arguable that Saturday would allow more people to watch the game. Who really does anything in the Winter/Summer Sports inbetween period at 12pm-3pm.

Most sports including the AFL try to avoid that time slot as a lot of the public are working and its a dead zone for TV ratings and its those TV ratings that now keep the game alive wether supporters like it or not!

NO !!

If their is one tradition that should stay , it is a day AFL Grand Final

Bugger the entertainment , it's about the two teams that are good enough to get there.

100 minutes of a Grand Final will stay in footy fans memories alot longer than a "15 show" ever will

Except for the batmobile and Angry Anderson. Cant tell you who played, let alone won that GF, but AA and the batmobile will never be forgotten.

Most of the major sporting events around the world are now held at night so why is the AFL being so stubbon?
Sat night would also be great for the fans and sponsers.

All the BS about the BBQs and such is just that BS as you can still have a BBQ in the late afternoon/ night and watch the game and still get pissed if thats your thing and most people dont work on sunday and the kids dont have to get up early the next day to go to school.

The TV money and the massive ratings a saturday night will get will eventually win this arguement same with Good Friday - the AFL should just get on with it and come into the 21st century!

yeah it rates terribly we should move it to the night for the networks:cool:
As for whether fans would enjoy it at night, check the majority of responses to this thread as well as the fact that every time the Herald Sun does the fan footy poll, the overwhelming majority are against it.
Also "the rest of the world does it" is not an argument, otherwise you could argue we should use a soccer ball as "the rest of the world does it":D

No idea what Eddie's ulterior motive could be, but I'm damn sure he has one.
My current theory is that he's looking at buying a power plant, then block out the sun so all games are played at night.

Mr.-Burns-blocks-out-the-sun.jpg

Would also destroy the hat industry. Good riddance in my view.

Good idea Ed, make it happen etc.:thumbsu:

The AFL cannot do it right, remeber the cup comming from the sky with sparks comming out of it in 2008? that premiership deserves a bigger * then any west coast/Carlton one because at that point the whole thing should of been scrapped and attempted again next week without it

I agree. 2008 WAS shithouse. Put us off our game. Round 2 should be a replay - winner gets the Cup. No pre-game bullshit. No half-time bullshit. Just pure game.

If they brought out the Big Four - Anthrax, Megadeth, Metallica and Slayer (plus a second tier of acts such as Testament, Exodus, Overkill and a Metal Church outfit featuring a cloned David Wayne) - to pound the living shit outta the 'G I'd be right there in the pit moshing like a motherf*cker!

Sadly though I don't think it would happen. Whole thing hangs on the success of the cloning process. Promoter's nightmare.

yeah it rates terribly we should move it to the night for the networks:cool:
As for whether fans would enjoy it at night, check the majority of responses to this thread as well as the fact that every time the Herald Sun does the fan footy poll, the overwhelming majority are against it.
Also "the rest of the world does it" is not an argument, otherwise you could argue we should use a soccer ball as "the rest of the world does it":D

The rest of the world's leading sporting bodies do it for a reason = it works!
Its all about maximising your audience around the nation for the biggest day of the year and hopefully some of those people will start to follow our great game.

Why do you think the thugby GF rates so well? because its on in prime time.

Keep your head in the sand mate and enjoy the horse and buggy days!

If you like it or not the AFL GF will eventually be at night and that has very little to do with the pre match "entertainment"!