Official Team Thread Mount Buller Demons: Season 20 team thread (Congrats deaneus, S20 Deestroy Medallist!)

TONIGHT

Tonight, cooney sits around the fire with DemonCat for a chat, hitting topics including walks of shame, fullbacks, teammates, women, wrestling, explosive breaking news regarding teams trying to poach cooney away from Mt Buller, but most importantly, we here from the man himself and the love he has for the club.

Tune in somewhere between 6pm and 11pm* tonight to read the first episode of 'By The Fire With...'

*Bigfooty, The SFA, Mt Buller and DemonCat are not responsible if this is not posted until the weekend or even Monday next week.

I feel as if the whole league has to hear of this!
Christ, its literally only a copy and paste job of a transcript of the Oprah episode where she interviewed Tom Cruise. I just did a "Find and Replace" for "Oprah = DemonCat" and "Tom Cruise = cooney."

Please don't beat it up too much... the rest of the league will laugh at me.

More than they currently do, anyway.

Christ, its literally only a copy and paste job of a transcript of the Oprah episode where she interviewed Tom Cruise. I just did a "Find and Replace" for "Oprah = DemonCat" and "Tom Cruise = cooney."

Please don't beat it up too much... the rest of the league will laugh at me.

More than they currently do, anyway.
It's fine don't worry!

By the fire with....... cooney.

#21. Cooney, Mobbs Medallist, almost a 200 gamer, all-round good guy. The enjoyer of $35 drinks, player of 190 games, kicker of 363 goals, meeter of Rhonda Rousey. Full back, ruckman, forward… just some of the positions this Mt Buller legend has played.

1 x Deestroy Medallist (S11), 4 x cats2rise Medallist (S16,17,18 an 19), 1 x Mobbs Medal (S13), 2 x All SFA representative (S10, S12), 3rd on all all time leading games played for Mt Buller, 1st on all time leading goalkickers table for Mt Buller, and 3rd for all time disposals at The Snow Dome.

Blog-1-Photo_small.png

Cooney and DemonCat get up close and personal by the open fire this week.

DC: Welcome, cooney, to the first of a new series “By the fire with...” and please do take a seat. Can I offer you a drink? I’m having a Buller Brewery Ale, but we have quite an extensive bar here. What would you like?

Cooney: Yes please I would love a drink, don't mind a few brewskis myself, don't mind a bit of Carlton Dry but I'd love a vodka and soda with a slice of lime to watch that calorie intake ;). I must say I had a ripper drink last weekend it was called the ‘’walk of shame,’’ cost $35 but damn it was worth it.

DC: “Walk of shame” hmmm…… sounds interesting – what did it have in it? Shots of strong alcohol, mixed with some romance and early morning barefoot walks home?

Cooney: Oh it's very intriguing and nice, it contained shots of alcohol and plenty of them, ginger beer, fruit and who knows what else. Nah, no romance or a barefoot walk home, but I just had a good night out with one of my best mates running amok in the city of Melbourne and a very interesting wait and walk home.

DC: What does a night out with mates usually involve? Pub, bar, club, casino, cinema, bowling, museums, strippers?

Cooney: Could be a quiet drink at home by the fire watching sports or it could involve a night out on the town with all of those listed above except for museums, depending on what myself and the lads feeling like doing!

DC: We’ll touch on some SFA, some Western Bulldogs, and some of the real cooney, but first I want to bring up some statistics. 190 games, 363 goals in the SFA, and a heap of medals. It’s been quite a ride, and you are certainly a senior member around the club. How would you summarise your career so far?

Cooney: I think it's been quite a good career for me so far I've achieved many things as well as experiencing the lows that the SFA can bring, it's fair to say I've had a quite decorated career which isn't over yet ;)

DC: Let me assume the Grand Final win was the pinnacle – you’ve been at the club at the lowest of lows when the revolving captaincy and a few wooden spoons ended with rife speculation about a merging of clubs back 6-8 seasons ago. Just what did it mean to you, that premiership win, to help win the club its first flag?

Cooney: The premiership meant everything to me you know I've been around the club for so long and none of the guys had experienced success or very few of them did, so I wanted to do everything in my power to get the flag for the club which we deserved for so long. It was a brilliant feeling, hopefully with more to come!

DC: More to come indeed! You’ve moved around a bit on field, continually evolving your game to play a wide array of positions to do the best for the team. You’re really a team player, is that something you pride yourself on?

Cooney: Yes I really do pride myself on doing my bit for the team and helping the team in any form I can, I never like to do things for myself whatever I do here is all for the team because I love the team so much.

DC: You're always there to post and stick up for your team mates, thats for sure. We can count on you always. Are there any teammates over the years you have enjoyed playing with the most?

Cooney: Well firstly I'd say the group I'm playing with at the moment I have enjoyed playing with guys like Eth , Footypie32 , Smartys Power just to name a few. I did enjoy playing with guys like C2R, okeydoke7 , Logger, EBIAC and to an extent Juggalo Balla some good memories with them and some bad ones.

untitled.png

cooney remembering the good old days with EBIAC and Juggalo Balla

DC: Hopefully the good memories outweigh the bad. What positions have you enjoyed the most? Off the top of my head I can remember you dominating ruck, full forward, on the ball at one point....

Cooney: Well I've enjoyed playing in any position really, those 3 you have listed there I had a ball playing in as it highlighted my ability that I could do it all and do what the team wanted. I also enjoyed playing full-back in my first season where I did dominate a couple of well known FF's at the time so that was pretty cool, it's how I made my name.

DC: All the product endorsements probably helped to make a name for yourself too. Any favourites? Mine would probably be Cooneys Tobasco Sauce and the range of battery operated Cooney ToothBrush and EarCleaning Kits.

Cooney: Yeah, did you know after the first season offers were flocking in from everywhere? my favourite product is probably Cooneys Tabasco Sauce because I like my food like I like my woman, hot! I also enjoyed promoting the product and doing the commercials.

DC: How about off field. You’re quite the chatty type. You are not afraid to banter, thats for sure. What keeps brining you back to the SFA?

Cooney: Correct my friend, I think the thing that keeps bringing me back is that it's entertaining, I love the whole concept of Qooty and I love the game so why not keep doing it!

DC: Exactly my thoughts. I take it you are happy with Mt Buller then? It looks like the club should be targeting finals. Just what does the club mean to you?

Cooney: I am very happy you know, I've had offers from other clubs but I've turned them down because I want to stick by the club that gave me a chance, this club means everything to me.

DC: Who made the offers?

Cooney: I can't remember exactly who or when but I have had various offers. Just the one lately from okeydoke7 to join him and a few other legends in the one team in the same forward line but i declined his offer.

DC: That bastard.

Cooney: *nods in agreement* *shakes fist in anger*

DC: Well, you mean a lot to the club too but I think we will come back to the SFA in a bit cooney, I’d like to change topics for just a moment. When you are not on the SFA board, where are we most likely going to find you on bigfooty?

Cooney: You can find me floating around various boards, Bulldogs board, other sports board and WWE and UFC boards. I don't really post much around other boards due to time but I like to have a browse to see people's opinions on things.

DC: I never would have guessed you were a Bulldogs fan! How did you see their season? Expected, or a bit of a shock?

Cooney: Who would of thought it hey!? I must say it came as a big shock after going through the off season that we did, I don't think anyone expected it, actually a lot of people tipped us to finish bottom. The final loss hurts but I think we can only improve from the experience you know we have a good young list if we can do some good recruiting I think we will be around the mark again.

DC: Outside footy, do you have many hobbies or follow other sports teams? Do you fish? Collect model airplanes?

Cooney: Yeah I enjoy going to the gym and keeping fit as one of my main hobbies as I've done really well for myself losing around 50 kilos but outside of that I enjoy TV, movies, music and hanging with friends going out and about, always trying to keep busy! I'm currently studying to be a PT which is almost done and I'm currently seeking part time employment to keep me steady. I have an interest in the horses and I love my other sports like soccer where I support Liverpool and I love cricket but don't mind all sports, just an all round sports nut! I also enjoy watching WWE and UFC which I love.

DC: Losing 50kg?! Fantastic effort! Is that what got you into training to be a PT?

Cooney: Yeah! Was 130kg now I am a comfortable 80kg. Thank you! Yep that's what got me into being a PT it changed my life completely.

*DC and cooney fist-bump*

thumb.jpg

DC and Cooney fistbumping

DC: Can we go back to the SFA? I really want to talk about your career as a stalwart of the club. 200 games is just around the corner. For some, it would be a huge week centred around themselves. I’ve got a feeling the lovable ‘coons’ will want it low key... a simple nod and wink to the crowd, but you will get on with it. How do you feel about 200 games? Do you remember your early career? How did you find about the SFA or Mt Buller?

Cooney: I feel it as a great honor to play 200 games with the one club, I want it to be low key and all about the team and winning the match at hand but a few bevs after match will go good. I do remember it slightly, a fresh faced full-back starting out! I found out about the SFA through just having a browse on the board to see what all the fuss was about so I registered my interest in the sign up thread and that's where I was picked up by Mount Buller.

DC: Well, how lucky we are! Do you remember your 100th game? We have found a photo of you running through the banner - wait, sorry, I had not noticed you finished your drink. Can I offer you another?

Cooney: That's quite alright, too involved in the conversation which is good! Yes another of the same please bar keep!I do not remember my 100th game unfortunately, I wish I could though. Oh I would love to see it!

RunThru.jpg

Cooney runs through the banner for his 100th game, when he was just a youngen.

Cooney: Ah yes good times!

DC: You have won the goal kicking four times! What an acheivement... whats your secret?

Cooney: Haha I know right, good achievement if I do say so myself but still I would like to win the goal kicking in the league one day. I take tips off Tory Dickson ;)

DC: Should the goalkicking award, the cats2rise medal, be renamed after you? That guy isnt even on bigfooty anymore?

Cooney:I would love it too but that isn't up to me and ill do whatever is best for the team but credit to C2R he was a great servant of the club and still is today.

DC: Youve won All SFA, mobbs medal, deestroy medal and cats2rise medal. Is there anything you cant win? If you were to enter the olympics and win in any sport, which would you choose? Diving, trampolining? Shooting?

Cooney: I know right I'm pretty lucky but I'd like to win a BOG in GF along with a league goal kicking award. I'd choose judo just so I can take after my idol Ronda Rousey;)

DC: You’re BOG in all of our hearts, cooney. I hope you've enjoyed the chat around the fire, but we have to end the show for this weel. I forgot to offer you the marshmallows to roast. Shall I just give you the packet? 50/50 split?

Cooney: Oh what a shame, it was a pleasure my friend! I knew you forgot something, damn it. Yeah sure 50/50 split is good, thanks mate.

DC: A pleasure indeed. Tune in next week* as we chat to Smartys Power!
*To be completed at an unknown time – could be tomorrow, could be two weeks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Awesome job DemonCat and cooney. Real life cooney sounds like my sort of guy.
Thanks mate! That's nice of you mate, I'm sure we would get along fine!

I think the most interesting bit was that when the club was trying to poach Okey, Okey was trying to poach cooney!!!!
Haha yes very interesting.

I'm drinking a Carlton Dry right now!

Great interview DemonCat and cooney
Good form! Cheers mate.

Another week, another solid win. Not sure of the exact position, but should keep us right near the pointy end of the ladder.

A ripper game from Van_Dyke sees him continue his awesome rookie season. Eth and croweater 41 also looking dangerous with 2 goals each. Fyfetheknife and Danger in Texas were also in some fine form on opposite flanks. Rhodesy_Blues continues his stellar comeback booting 4.

Rich (BB code):
GCR SENIORS Vs MBD SENIORS
GCR               5    1        9    5        15   5        19   8    122     
MBD               6    5        9    7        17   9        21   10   136     
GCR        HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt  MBD         HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt
Igloo       0  9  6  9  1  0  0  0  0   67  raven echo   0  4  0  3  0  0  1  0  0   15
The_Reaper  0  9  3  1  0  0  0  0  0   38  cooney       0  6  6  7  1  0  0  0  0   54
VitalDread  0  4  0  2  0  1  1  0  0   14  Bosley       7  4  0  3  1  0  0  0  0   29
The Old Da  0  8  5  11 0  1  0  1  0   68  Headless     0  8  7  5  2  0  1  0  0   60
timtamWB    0  18 12 9  1  0  0  0  0  112  Logger       0  3  1  0  1  0  0  0  0   16
TheHoneyBa  0  5  6  10 0  1  5  0  0   39  Danger in    0  10 5  8  3  1  0  0  0   74
Easty       0  12 6  14 4  0  0  0  0   98  Van_Dyke     0  20 10 14 2  2  0  0  0  128
sverik25    0  17 6  9  2  0  1  1  0   98  Fyfethekni   0  11 10 7  0  0  3  2  0   80
3KZ is Foo  0  13 6  13 1  1  2  1  2   90  croweater    0  12 5  12 2  1  2  2  0   90
Dirty Bird  0  7  6  7  0  0  0  2  1   66  stewie gri   0  11 5  7  2  3  3  1  2   72
bgt2110     0  4  3  0  0  0  0  1  0   27  Footypie32   0  11 6  6  3  0  1  1  4   82
Speck       0  7  4  8  0  0  0  0  0   49  cats2rise    0  5  3  7  1  0  0  1  0   48
arro73      0  1  0  0  0  0  0  1  0    9  Mateyman     0  4  0  0  0  0  2  2  2   20
Juggalo Ba  0  10 1  0  0  0  0  6  4   73  deaneus      0  4  1  0  1  0  0  3  1   38
COHL        0  3  0  0  0  0  0  1  1   16  Smartys Po   0  3  3  8  2  0  3  0  0   33
Tommycash   23 10 0  11 3  2  1  2  0   98  HawkPatrol   7  14 1  5  0  1  0  1  0   69
Marlowe     0  11 0  14 6  6  1  1  0   94  Eth          0  9  0  6  10 2  1  2  0   90
NTRabbit    0  1  0  4  3  2  2  0  0   19  lanky_wes    0  7  0  10 7  3  3  2  0   75
Blacky      0  7  0  5  4  6  0  2  0   65  Vooligan     0  3  3  1  0  0  0  0  0   20
Bipolarbea  0  4  0  2  0  0  0  0  0   16  Rhodesy_Bl   0  5  0  0  1  0  0  4  1   44

Oh, and I scored more DT points than lanky_wes. :p

Another week, another solid win. Not sure of the exact position, but should keep us right near the pointy end of the ladder.

A ripper game from Van_Dyke sees him continue his awesome rookie season. Eth and croweater 41 also looking dangerous with 2 goals each. Fyfetheknife and Danger in Texas were also in some fine form on opposite flanks. Rhodesy_Blues continues his stellar comeback booting 4.

Rich (BB code):
GCR SENIORS Vs MBD SENIORS
GCR               5    1        9    5        15   5        19   8    122    
MBD               6    5        9    7        17   9        21   10   136    
GCR        HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt  MBD         HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt
Igloo       0  9  6  9  1  0  0  0  0   67  raven echo   0  4  0  3  0  0  1  0  0   15
The_Reaper  0  9  3  1  0  0  0  0  0   38  cooney       0  6  6  7  1  0  0  0  0   54
VitalDread  0  4  0  2  0  1  1  0  0   14  Bosley       7  4  0  3  1  0  0  0  0   29
The Old Da  0  8  5  11 0  1  0  1  0   68  Headless     0  8  7  5  2  0  1  0  0   60
timtamWB    0  18 12 9  1  0  0  0  0  112  Logger       0  3  1  0  1  0  0  0  0   16
TheHoneyBa  0  5  6  10 0  1  5  0  0   39  Danger in    0  10 5  8  3  1  0  0  0   74
Easty       0  12 6  14 4  0  0  0  0   98  Van_Dyke     0  20 10 14 2  2  0  0  0  128
sverik25    0  17 6  9  2  0  1  1  0   98  Fyfethekni   0  11 10 7  0  0  3  2  0   80
3KZ is Foo  0  13 6  13 1  1  2  1  2   90  croweater    0  12 5  12 2  1  2  2  0   90
Dirty Bird  0  7  6  7  0  0  0  2  1   66  stewie gri   0  11 5  7  2  3  3  1  2   72
bgt2110     0  4  3  0  0  0  0  1  0   27  Footypie32   0  11 6  6  3  0  1  1  4   82
Speck       0  7  4  8  0  0  0  0  0   49  cats2rise    0  5  3  7  1  0  0  1  0   48
arro73      0  1  0  0  0  0  0  1  0    9  Mateyman     0  4  0  0  0  0  2  2  2   20
Juggalo Ba  0  10 1  0  0  0  0  6  4   73  deaneus      0  4  1  0  1  0  0  3  1   38
COHL        0  3  0  0  0  0  0  1  1   16  Smartys Po   0  3  3  8  2  0  3  0  0   33
Tommycash   23 10 0  11 3  2  1  2  0   98  HawkPatrol   7  14 1  5  0  1  0  1  0   69
Marlowe     0  11 0  14 6  6  1  1  0   94  Eth          0  9  0  6  10 2  1  2  0   90
NTRabbit    0  1  0  4  3  2  2  0  0   19  lanky_wes    0  7  0  10 7  3  3  2  0   75
Blacky      0  7  0  5  4  6  0  2  0   65  Vooligan     0  3  3  1  0  0  0  0  0   20
Bipolarbea  0  4  0  2  0  0  0  0  0   16  Rhodesy_Bl   0  5  0  0  1  0  0  4  1   44

Oh, and I scored more DT points than lanky_wes. :p
And I scored more then both of you :p.

I quite liked the game of deaneus.
Four kicks, 3.1.
His motto is find ball, get ball, kick at sticks.
Works a treat!

Same with Rhodesy_Blues. 5 kicks, 4 goals 1.