Pagan is he on the market.

Originally posted by The Spornstar

It would just signal that my club is yet again going for the bandaid fix. He still could contribute very well but I'd rather he tried with another club who may need an experienced player more than Carlton. Not to keen on his moral character either, and I wouldn't want to pay him much.

So I take it Carlton don't pay Lappin a terrible lot??? or is that a different morality???

I haven't read the entire thread so i don't know if this has been raised, but the reason all this has come about is because of AFL pressure on the Roos to reduce costs in the football department.

I heard Wayne Jackson say that if the Roos want to keep Pagan maybe they should go into 2003 with one less assistant coach.

Originally posted by tiger of old

if you can afford eade then you can afford to keep pagan!

It just depends on what Eade wants to do. How many coaching jobs will be available next season? If Pagan and Eade both left their clubs, and both wanted to continue on coaching, then my money will be on Pagan ending up in Sydney (unless Carlton sacks Brittain). Then where does Eade go? He may go into the media for a year or two and wait for the next coaching job. Or he could take on the Roos at a reduced wage.

Originally posted by mandy5
Everyone has had an opinion on North and the Carey saga over the past few months. But I think the bottom line is the club has always struggled for money, and maybe their reaction to Carey has only achieved a greater loss of income. They have nobody to blame but themselves.

They shot and roasted the golden goose. There have been a lot of reports of the financial impact the loss of Carey has further bestowed on the club. If we're to believe all speculation that has come out, then Pagan and a majority of players did not want Wayne back.

It was their choice to take the moral stance on this one. Now if there's not enough money to go around, then it seems they should also do the right thing by the club and it's supporters to take pay cuts. Life doesn't let many people have their cake and eat it too.

The Wayne Carey saga most definitely has the potential to financially destroy the Kangaroos Football Club. And what then? Will the supporters be happy to hear "We can't play football anymore, but we made the right moral decisions."?

I hope they start making the right decisions soon and keep themselves alive. So I say, Denis, take the damn pay cut and start doing your job ON the field!

Thank you for your comments from the ivory tower.

Firstly, it was never a moral decision to send Carey on his way. It was a pragmatic decision. Let's get something clear. Players playing around with their teammates wives has been going on for years. The difference here is that Carey did it with the wife of one of the senior players and closest mates. Do you reckon that if Carey slept with the partner of one of the rookie players that Carey would've been sent on his way? I don't think so.

Secondly, I agree that the sentiment within the club was that Carey was not welcome. So, let's say he was kept on in a playing capacity. Do you think the Roos would be 6-5 and in 8th spot right now? Most people think that our form has been driven by team spirit...considering that we had Carey for a large chunk of last year and finished nowhere, I reckon that with Carey in the team this year, we'd only have Carlton below us. Somehow, there would be an absence of team spirit, and thus wins, with Carey in the side. Imagine if the Roos were 15th with 1 or 2 wins - our income potential doesn't look too flash from that position.

Finally, to Pagan. He should stick to his guns and make his own choice that balances what he needs against what the club can offer. He has already done so much for the club. People forget what a rabble the club was when he took over....we had just been thrashed by Adelaide, we had no captain, no sponsor, and the morale of the club was low after the sacking of Wayne Schimmelbusch. If anything, he's extended the life of the club - if he wasn't there, it might have been the Brisbane Kangaroos as reigning premiers.

Originally posted by Shinboners

Thank you for your comments from the ivory tower.

No need for sarcasm. I just stated how I saw it. It's my opinion. I honestly hope you guys get through it and are able to survive. You've been a mega force on the field and you deserve to.

I don't think anyone can say how well/badly you may or may not have played had Carey stayed. But I think it would be foolish to dismiss the impact he has had on the team and the club over the years.

Geez, the bloke made a mistake! Should the future of the club be made to pay for it? I don't pretend to think I know better than the decisions they made for themselves. All I'm saying is they made their bed now they should lie in it. If that means taking pay cuts, then so be it.

Heres a great idea Pagen can come to the Hawks and actually coach and get another premiership under his belt after schwab is sacked on the eve of the finals after the hawks fail to make the eight.He'll have a new challenge and a new club theres a good mix.And he deserves to be paid for his coaching hes a damn good coach and the hawks will throw megabucks at him since they don't have the croadstar sucking them dry of money.And..... Walla a premiership for the hawks in 2003 or 2004 finally.

Originally posted by mandy5

No need for sarcasm.

Just my seige mentality in operation. As I said on the Roos board, can we forget this off field bullsh*t for a while and just enjoy the footy? It's been a rough year for the Roos.

I just stated how I saw it. It's my opinion.

Fair enough. I was just debating a few issues.

I honestly hope you guys get through it and are able to survive. You've been a mega force on the field and you deserve to.
[/quote

Thanks for that. :) Naturally, I want the club to survive. However, it's not up to people like me, Moomba, Darky, Malibu, Groucho, and all the other Roos fans here on bigfooty. We're putting our money into the Roos year in year out, no questions asked. It's those people who say they follow the Roos, but don't support us financially that will decide whether the club survives or not. And the thing that will f*ck me off is if we end up like Fitzroy, thousands of these people will be at the final game to say goodbye to something that they did nothing to help survive.

I don't think anyone can say how well/badly you may or may not have played had Carey stayed. But I think it would be foolish to dismiss the impact he has had on the team and the club over the years.

I don't think any Roos fans would ever undervalue just what Carey has done for the club. I remember in the early 90s that he and David Schwarz were rated as being as good as each other. Schwarz had 3 knee reconstructions, Carey was fully fit from '93 to '96. Reverse the situation and I don't think the Roos would've finished the 90s with any flags.

And there are a fair few Roos who think that if we had Carey in the side, we'd be 9-2 rather than 6-5. I disagree with that view, but we'll never know, will we?

Geez, the bloke made a mistake! Should the future of the club be made to pay for it?

As I said earlier, if Carey stayed, I think the internal fabric of the club would've been destroyed. But life isn't like that movie, "Sliding Doors", so we'll never know what the right decision was.

I don't pretend to think I know better than the decisions they made for themselves. All I'm saying is they made their bed now they should lie in it. If that means taking pay cuts, then so be it.

Well, I'm backing what the club is doing.

Originally posted by Dingster
Brilliantly stated Shinners. I dips me lid.

I agree. His comments are almost as good as mine. ;)

Seriously, I admire your loyalty to your club. If you had more supporters like yourself, Darky, Moomba, Malibu and Groucho I'm sure you'd be a force to be reckoned with. Both on and off the field.

Best of luck. :)

Originally posted by Rooboy 96

So I take it Carlton don't pay Lappin a terrible lot??? or is that a different morality???

Being the captain of the club and cheating on you so called best mate who is also a champion of the club is a bit different to getting drunk a bit. Lappin isn't paid anywhere near what Carey is/would be.