Port Adelaide 2024 - Are they being underestimated?

What gave you that impression?

Sack Hinkley 10 - UnTENable​

If Tredders doesn't make the board it's just a minority perception. My feeling is that he will, but an interesting watch.

For Port to win, I want to know who is going to kick goals.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

If Tredders doesn't make the board it's just a minority perception. My feeling is that he will, but an interesting watch.

For Port to win, I want to know who is going to kick goals.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Seriously? Again? This has already been answered.

Cummings
Westhoff
Schulz
Bond
Brueur
Dickie
Wanganeen

Most fans just want transparency which is difficult to get when the club is stacked full of "yes men" with an AFL controlled board. We need Tredder's to bring a level of accountability at board level as their focus has drifted away from on-field success. The football department & especially Ken is currently not being scrutinized enough for poor on field performances, especially in big games.

It will be very interesting to see how Ken & Warren interact with each other as this will be the first time Ken will experience some significant form of opposition and criticism behind close doors. Here hoping Ken walks at the end of his term, if not sooner.

I will say that Port are underrated. For a reason most people don't have. If Ivan Soldo plays to his potential then their midfield will get 1) gilt edged tap ruck service, and 2) a lot of muscle around contests to shift it to their advantage. He could turbo charge their midfield simply because they might start to dominate contests.

Not saying it will happen or he is A grade. But he is a top end tap ruck and loves the rough stuff. I see that as being a perfect fit for he Port midfield.

And if they can get that midfield on top it will take a lot to stop Port.

A lot of ifs, but there are decent chance that Soldo will prove a major difference to them this year.

I will say that Port are underrated. For a reason most people don't have. If Ivan Soldo plays to his potential then their midfield will get 1) gilt edged tap ruck service, and 2) a lot of muscle around contests to shift it to their advantage. He could turbo charge their midfield simply because they might start to dominate contests.

Not saying it will happen or he is A grade. But he is a top end tap ruck and loves the rough stuff. I see that as being a perfect fit for he Port midfield.

And if they can get that midfield on top it will take a lot to stop Port.

A lot of ifs, but there are decent chance that Soldo will prove a major difference to them this year.
Yep …. A lot is made of the C+ grade defenders they brought in …. But having a decent ruck will help the most. Soldo might only be B grade himself, but he will compete

They have had a pretty big mercenary list turnover. 1-2 is usually ok, it will be interesting if 4 is just a few too many to slot straight in and it affects the group.

They still rely on some old experience in Boak & Dixon which will get older and their backline will be suspect at the start with so many changes.

Probably the biggest question mark for me, although I'm bias as we'll be death riding them all year.

Guess I knew what to expect opening this thread but still, there is one solitary post from Port supporter in this thread that doesn't sook about the coach and manages to discuss actual players.

Back to regular season programming I guess. So.......Kenny Hinkley IS Port Power.

They have had a pretty big mercenary list turnover. 1-2 is usually ok, it will be interesting if 4 is just a few too many to slot straight in and it affects the group.

They still rely on some old experience in Boak & Dixon which will get older and their backline will be suspect at the start with so many changes.

Probably the biggest question mark for me, although I'm bias as we'll be death riding them all year.
Boak was sub half the year and Dixon was injured. We don’t rely on them at all.

Any good football we get from them will be a bonus

They have the list to be top 4 again this year, question will be if they can finally handle the finals pressure which they haven't been able to do the last few seasons. I live in Adelaide and a couple of people I know close to the players say there is an attitude of we've wasted enough time. So expect them to be right up there.

Zerk and Esava are ordinary on face value but the real play is freeing up Aliir. Might make them better, might not.

I think they either strut through the season and finish top two, or miss finals altogether. Midfield appears absolutely brilliant on face value - potentially best in the game if Jase kicks on. Bergman should be better than Duursma on the wing.

Forward line is too tall for my liking. Dixon, Finlayson, Marshall and Georgiades are all meant to play in the same side? Powell-Pepper a great half-forward, but Rioli is the only decent pure small forward; and he's good, not great.

The pass mark is a flag - simple as that. They have invested a lot of capital into this list and Ken has had 12 off-seasons to build his dream team. Amon the only quality player of note to leave over the last few years.
Spot on in first paragraph
Esava just needs to stand the big fwds.
Zerk is fine as a 2nd kpp. He's decent at intercepts and is a safe defender if you keep him away from the likes of hawkins, etc.
Aliir freed up is massive for them too.

Top 4 side for mine
If say GF appearance is a pass mark. Lions and pies still in box seat

Boak and Dixon are the embodiment of our loser culture as much as Hinkley and Kich are.
Boak was sub half the year and Dixon was injured. We don’t rely on them at all.

Any good football we get from them will be a bonus
Boak was probably best on for you in your semi final loss.

It’s alway tough losing experience despite their drop off in output. Mundy was a big reason we dropped last year.

Non-contract year = Underperformance, no intensity, from mid-season we start hearing "oh they just don't have the list"

Wait for next year, contract year, reckon we might even go as far as to lose another home prelim in 2025.

76ers of the AFL.

Seem to be somewhat regular season specialists, but wilt in the finals pressure.
Funny you said that....

Philadephias 76ers have won NBA titles: 1955 (As Fort Wayne Pistons), 1967 and 1983.

That 1967 Philadephia side had a Bloke Named Wilt too.... His Name is Wilt Chamberlin.

The 1983 side was good Which had Moses Malone and Julius Irving. That 1983 side to be honest should won at least 1 NBA title between 1977-1985.

Ideally Port would play Marshall, Finlayson & Georgiades up forward... but they won't leave Dixon out.

Think the key is whether one of their new key defensive recruits can consistently lockdown on the opposition's best key forward.
and if their back 6 are actually fully fit.

There were reasons why port went out in straight sets.

Port had injuries at the worst possible time, especially down back.

Had GWS kicked accurately in that 1st half in that semi final, the game would of been over by half time.

Funny you said that....

Philadephias 76ers have won NBA titles: 1955 (As Fort Wayne Pistons), 1967 and 1983.

That 1967 Philadephia side had a Bloke Named Wilt too.... His Name is Wilt Chamberlin.

The 1983 side was good Which had Moses Malone and Julius Irving. That 1983 side to be honest should won at least 1 NBA title between 1977-1985.

Also one of the great playoff imposters.

Boak and Dixon are the embodiment of our loser culture as much as Hinkley and Kich are.
Hate to break it to you mate. Boak is one of the main reasons why Port is decent.

Remember when he signed that 2 year extension at the end of 2012? That meant free agency in 2014 if Port Adelaide struggled

and if their back 6 are actually fully fit.

There were reasons why port went out in straight sets.

Port had injuries at the worst possible time, especially down back.

Had GWS kicked accurately in that 1st half in that semi final, the game would of been over by half time.
There have been "reasons" for 11 years.

The only differences to our defensive lineup in the final vs GWS compared to the home and away game a month earlier that we won by 50 were McKenzie > Jonas (a massive upgrade), and Bergman instead of Williams (which is debatable but most would say a wash). Also both Jonas and Williams were available for the repeat, but omitted.

We haven't won a knockout final or season defining game since 2014. Its pretty obvious what the problem is. We don't have the coaching to win big games. Period.

Don't even start.

I am trying to think of ports back 6 in that infamous 2007 AFL Grand final.....

And I thought how did port make a grand final in 2007 with that back 6?
Excellent midfield and forwards masked the deficiencies of the backs.

Burgoyne brothers, Cornes brothers, good rucks in Lade and Brogan, Tredrea Ebert and Motlop as good targets up forward.

There is a reason they won 15 games and even beat Geelong in Geelong, they were a pretty good team.