Social Science Racism

You can't ignore the fact that Australia Day is a big day for WHITE AUSTRALIANS.. and is a day for abuse for all others. Unless you live in a magical place in Australia where theres people of every race coming together to celebrate, because it doesn't happen over here.

Where exactly does it happen?

Right o... Ignore the racism then. Just like a lot of white Australia does. My feed has been full of these type of comments.. You do realize I'm from Rockingham, so you shouldn't sound so suprised?

Ignorant people.

yes, it's everyone else and not you:rolleyes:
i don't know or care if you're from a minority, majority or whatever but if you've accepted tossers on F/B that carry on like that then more fool you for doing it.
rememember, the "real" friends you have on facebook can see the s**t these flogs post to your wall so in some ways you are guilty by association.
**** that s**t, i don't accept friend requests from anyone that i don't know and if they start writing s**t then i delete them quickly.
don't assume most of us are in some ways racist because of some bad errors in judgement you've made in selecting ********s as friends on facebook.
probably need to grow up a bit too.

When most australians talk about "boat people", I think they mean the illegal immigrants, not people who fly here legally. However, there are still the small minded ones about who throw it around for anyone that looks different.

Australia Day is for all Australians, we welcome anyone who wants to celebrate it with us. If people from other background wanna have a chip on their shoulder without actually going on and doing something worhtwhile and socialising with their mates and instead whinge about "invasion day" it's pathetic.

Hahaha... 'the enlightened one'. Your a crack up, I barely voice my opinion but this is something I know a bit about so Im going to post about it. If you don't want to believe what I'm posting then thats up to you, but why would I make up stuff on a footy forum? I don't see the point. And when did I try 'divide' myself? By saying white australia? I was simply categorizing a group of people.

You can't ignore the fact that Australia Day is a big day for WHITE AUSTRALIANS.. and is a day for abuse for all others. Unless you live in a magical place in Australia where theres people of every race coming together to celebrate, because it doesn't happen over here.

To be honest you sound like the typical racist arsehole that falls into the category of the drunken idiots who I'll see around town today yelling abuse at anyone who doesn't
'look Aussie'.
A day of abuse you say....................the only correlation between today and any injustices of the past, are those drawn by those with specific agendas. The rest of us see it as a day to celebrate our achievements, our fortune to live in such a great country, and enjoy time with family and friends. There are always people in society that think because some one is pro something, they are anti anything else. You fit into that category nicely. Whether the day be the 26th the 3rd, the 11th, or whatever day of whatever month, there will always be members of society like you who will take issue. Fortunately you are a very very small minority, and at the end of the day, your opinion counts for diddly squat. Australia Day will go on per norm, and you can just wallow in your self indulgent insecurities. I wont give one second thought to those who try to make it a political or social platform. I re iterate, you are the biggest flog on the bay, and your reference to me being a racist, is just another obvious generalistaion from someone who is over opinionated an under informed. Youre quite boring actually, but to use on of your most prolific comebacks " I may want to re visit that"

I find Australia Day completely devoid of any meaning. Anzac Day is something much more meaningful for me. Today is a long weekend, some honours, the cricket, cheap aussie flags, but lacking in any meaning or cause for reflection. That's how I feel about it.

And that is your perogative. That is also a vast difference than chastising anyone who chooses to celebrate the day with choruses of racism and political agendas. (ie: Jordan and alike) Each to their own Grizzlym, enjoy your your Australia Day.

ANZAC day is supposed to be a day of celebration like Australia Day

EDIT: ANZAC day ISN'T supposed to be a day of celebration like Australia Day.

Wow, bad typo to make there.

You can celebrate the day anyway you like. I can, however, see why people either take exception to the date or feel excluded by the 'significance' of celebrating the day the First Fleet landed. But for me, it means nothing. Which, I guess, is a shame. For me that traces back to a disassociation between 'First fleet' and 'being Australian'. It simply doesn't represent Australia and Australians for me. Anzac Day, yes. If we ever became a republic, yes. Things like that. But that's just my take it. Happy for people to feel strongly about our rock on the planet. Can equally see why people are ambivalent towards the day, or indeed hostile towards it.

Those divergent opinions, however, confirm to me that the historical event underpinning the day just aint that compelling or representative enough for some. Me included.

I don't deny Australia has racists. But for those suggesting that Australia has a systemic problem with racism, I really think you need to get some international perspective. Compared to most countries, we are doing pretty well on this front.

Yo! For any Gwai lo who is feeling ugly, and insecure

Go to parts of china who never see white people

They will take snap shots of you like you are all Hollywood celebrities

Unfortunately the feeling ain't reciprocated in Australia for Chinese visitors who gave me the welcome of 'country's full, or: go back to your own country' when I first set foot here in Australia

^ What a bunch of charming ****ers you guys are! :rolleyes:

I don't even know where to start with this. Having lived in China as an expat, I can tell you that the country has much more serious problems than us when it comes to racism.

Below is just one example. It's a very recent video of a Professor from Peking University (the equivalent of Yale/Stanford in China) calling people from Hong Kong "dogs" on TV. NB: Has English subtitles.

[youtube]ko5MSXZjmBE[/youtube]

I don't deny Australia has racists. But for those suggesting that Australia has a systemic problem with racism, I really think you need to get some international perspective. Compared to most countries, we are doing pretty well on this front.

I don't even know where to start with this. Having lived in China as an expat, I can tell you that the country has much more serious problems than us when it comes to racism.

Below is just one example. It's a very recent video of a Professor from Peking University (the equivalent of Yale/Stanford in China) calling people from Hong Kong "dogs" on TV. NB: Has English subtitles.

[youtube]ko5MSXZjmBE[/youtube]
NAH....................only whities from Australia can be racist! This clip is obviously a proganda device derived from them racists australians to deflect attention away from their own attitudes. (thats how it goes isnt it Jordan?)

ANZAC day is supposed to be a day of celebration like Australia Day

EDIT: ANZAC day ISN'T supposed to be a day of celebration like Australia Day.

Wow, bad typo to make there.

Yes, we don't 'celebrate' Anzac Day. It's a sad day, sombre, of remembrance. Doesn't mean it can't be a national day though.

I'd say that it's the only day on our calendar, apart from those who are religious in someway, that has some sort of uniform significance. I'd also say that it has wider meaning and significance (as a day) to more Australians than the current Australia Day does.

I'm not mounting a case for Anzac Day to be our national day, merely pointing out the anemic nature of our current day. In my opinion.

Yes, we don't 'celebrate' Anzac Day. It's a sad day, sombre, of remembrance. Doesn't mean it can't be a national day though.

I'd say that it's the only day on our calendar, apart from those who are religious in someway, that has some sort of uniform significance. I'd also say that it has wider meaning and significance (as a day) to more Australians than the current Australia Day does.

I'm not mounting a case for Anzac Day to be our national day, merely pointing out the anemic nature of our current day. In my opinion.

I agree. If there is a date other than Jan 1st the Government can re-brand as Australia Day I'm all for it. A day of relaxation and celebration, and a day for sombre remembrance then watching the ANZAC day match with a few beers without getting out of hand like an over excited bogan w***er.

Yes, we don't 'celebrate' Anzac Day.

Are you sure? Seems to me that it's increasingly heading that way.

I hate Anzac Day - it really seems to have tipped over the edge to glorification of war in a big way as the WWI and WWII veterans have died off.

Much prefer Remembrance Day. Far more low-key and sombre.

Are you sure? Seems to me that it's increasingly heading that way.

I hate Anzac Day - it really seems to have tipped over the edge to glorification of war in a big way as the WWI and WWII veterans have died off.

Much prefer Remembrance Day. Far more low-key and sombre.

Yes, you're right, there is a cross pollination going on there.

My point is, I guess, Anzac Day carries some sort of weight for many. I abhor nationalism and find unbridled patriotism to be almost as misguided, yet at its core Anzac Day carries more meaning than the bolted-on agendas than any other day. For me that is.

Good to see the herald sun giving racist Australia another chance to post ill informed racist dribble. So we don't have a problem with racism in Australia. No none at all. Found it ironic that the same ppl who hate boat ppl celebrated the arrival of this countries earliest known record of boat ppl!

I dont think anybody has said that racism doesnt exist in this country, clearly it does in some sections of the community. Maybe you should read a little more carefully before speak. Interesting to note that Bernard Tomic has played the race card over being pulled over on the Gold Coast whilst driving around in his BMW,outside the restrictions of his licence, I might add.
I think that some people, and I say some(including me), are sick and tired of Australians being tarred with the racist brush everytime something happens. Id be interested to know of any country that doesnt have some form of racism or discrimination, and could you please name it.

A lot said about nothing. Or is it nothing said about a lot? I think you missed the boat here.

The proper australian has had a gutfull of the word racist being shoved down our throats.these imigrants who come to live hear use racism as there number one weapon against the people of this nation, they try to re-arrange our furniture to look like the third world country that they left,these imigrants are racists themself's for abandoning there own country,they have no respect for our value's and belief's of australian culture they only have eye's for their culture, you fly a flag and your a racists without saying a word.

It's so demeaning to the folk of this nation that these imigrants can get away with anything by using racism as an excuse, it's a coward's way of defence to undermine our nation's culture.these imigrants must be ashamed of who they are to continually throw racism into faces of the folk of this nation,man up and exept who you are instead of being a coward in disguise.

The thought police are everywhere. The professional offendees are always on the lookout. Whatever you do, don't wave an Australian flag on any day, but particulrly don't do it on Australia Day! If you make a speech, to anyone, anywhere, always remember to denigrate Australia and Australians - otherwise you'll be accused of "racism". The word "racist" has a power all its own; like the words "heretic" or "witch" had in 1650 or the word "kulak" had in 1930s Soviet Union. If you happened to be Anglo-Saxon-Celtic, like me, then the best thing to do is to find someone who is not and say a tearful "sorry" and beg forgiveness for every crime committed since Noah climbed down from the Ark.

It's even better if you wear a red, black and gold bandana while carrying a Koran and munching on a halal felafel. That will prove you are "multi-cultural" - but don't overdo it as it may cause suspicion that you're really a racist, red-necked bigot trying to hide amongst the pure of heart.

Whatever you do, don't express any gratitude towards, or any respect for, all your white ancestors who pioneered this country and turned a wilderness into the best country there has ever been. They were all "racists"

The proper australian has had a gutfull of the word racist being shoved down our throats.these imigrants who come to live hear use racism as there number one weapon against the people of this nation, they try to re-arrange our furniture to look like the third world country that they left,these imigrants are racists themself's for abandoning there own country,they have no respect for our value's and belief's of australian culture they only have eye's for their culture, you fly a flag and your a racists without saying a word.

There is no such thing as a proper australian or is there? Yes you could say that the "proper" australian is very sick and tired of white australians trying to hide their racist attitudes, as seen yesterday in canberra. The "proper australian" is also sick and tired of having to put up with a day like yesterday without being insulted at what it means.

If you create a hostile and unwelcome environment for your new neighbour of course that neighbour will feel not welcomed and not bother to integrate and extend his hand out for friendship, even though he has tried since he moved in. But i don't expect a true blue anglo aussie to understand what a new migrant has to go through.

The rest of your dribble is very insulting and there are hidden under tones of a racist mindset.

It's so demeaning to the folk of this nation that these imigrants can get away with anything by using racism as an excuse, it's a coward's way of defence to undermine our nation's culture.these imigrants must be ashamed of who they are to continually throw racism into faces of the folk of this nation,man up and exept who you are instead of being a coward in disguise.

wow! How do you think the proper custodians of this land feel towards you, maybe the same? Except they don't have the privilages that have been afforded to you. Again your post stinks of hidden racist undertones, disgusting really.

The thought police are everywhere. The professional offendees are always on the lookout. Whatever you do, don't wave an Australian flag on any day, but particulrly don't do it on Australia Day! If you make a speech, to anyone, anywhere, always remember to denigrate Australia and Australians - otherwise you'll be accused of "racism". The word "racist" has a power all its own; like the words "heretic" or "witch" had in 1650 or the word "kulak" had in 1930s Soviet Union. If you happened to be Anglo-Saxon-Celtic, like me, then the best thing to do is to find someone who is not and say a tearful "sorry" and beg forgiveness for every crime committed since Noah climbed down from the Ark.

Wait what? Oh the plight of the poor anglo saxon. puuuurrrrlease. :rolleyes: :eek:

It's even better if you wear a red, black and gold bandana while carrying a Koran and munching on a halal felafel. That will prove you are "multi-cultural" - but don't overdo it as it may cause suspicion that you're really a racist, red-necked bigot trying to hide amongst the pure of heart.

Whatever you do, don't express any gratitude towards, or any respect for, all your white ancestors who pioneered this country and turned a wilderness into the best country there has ever been. They were all "racists"

Jesus f christ..REALLY? I mean really..this is the typical mindset of your flag waving patriotic bogan. The sad reality is a lot of people in this country think exactly like this.

And these are the people who are being told to tolerate, not accept but tolerate new and old immigrants. Disgusting really but what can you do when media outlets like news limited gives them a voice!

Wait what? Oh the plight of the poor anglo saxon. puuuurrrrlease. :rolleyes: :eek:

381190-mcguire.jpg