Rebuilding- you're doing it wrong. A study of the fortunes of Melgorne, Bitchmond, and Norf

Gus

10k Posts EKA Medal - Sweet FA Rising Star
Sep 12, 2008
Naracoorte
Norwood, Memphis Grizzlies, Bengals
1. Melgorne
Just when they look to maybe be in a little form it all goes downhill. And not just downhill like the skiing their supporters enjoy partaking in. Some big wins then coming up against a team just beginning it's rebuild in the Western Bulldogs. A win should be a foregone conclusion. Melgorne were only four points worse last time they met, when the Dogs were in premiership contention. They have young stars such as Watts, Morton, Scully, Trengove, Jurrah. A 62 point loss later and we see that all their rebuilding has come to naught.

2. Bitchmond
Where do I start? last year they were hailing their 15th spot finish as a breakout. Again they find some form early this year, winning three on the trot before coming up against the now rebuilding Western Bulldogs. All talk of the Bulldogs being finished and the dawn of the Tiger being upon us is put to bed as the Dogs jump out to a 10 goal lead and coast the rest of the way, easily seeing off a limp-wristed Tiger comeback. Since then they have treaded water and never looked like improving.

3. Norf
Possibly the most disappointing of the lot. More hot air has come out of Arden Street than anywhere else in the world. First in the pre-season we were told how all these gun youngsters are burning the track up. A poor start to the season sees the excuses fly thick and fast. Even the earn your stripes campaign was a fail. Things went quiet for a bit. Then a run of wins against lowly opposition and it was all back again. Enough hot air to fly the team around the world twice in a hot air balloon (funding for the balloon pending). Then they have a chance to knock off another fallen top four team, with out of form stars and big injuries. Norf not only manage to lose, but they manage to play some Saints players back into form. Another long-rebuilding side being shown up by teams they should be beating.

So in summary, these three teams are s**t now, and will continue to be s**t.

Discuss.

This thread would be funnier if Richmond was above the Dogs too

The Dogs have beaten two of the three. In regards to ladder position, one is two points clear and the other only percentage above. Funny, considering how we are only just beginning our rebuild and these two clubs have been at it for a while now.

Why are the Dogs rebuilding? Weren't you gonna make a GF this year?

Doggies better find replacements for Lake and Hall as both will be finished before the years out. :eek: Not to mention a midfield replacement for Callum Ward. Rebuild at the Witten oval is imminent, whether they think they need one or not.

Bulldogs: Peaking at the same time as Geelong, Collingwood & Saints is what I call failing.

Still hoping for another prelim failure? Agree with Norf & tuggers though ;)

Lol,wut?

The Doggies will be 'rebuilding' again in the next 2 years when they lose most of their senior players ie. Murphy, Lake, Hall, Gia, Gilbee, Cross, Boyd.

There is no light at the end of the tunnel for you boys unfortunately.

Fortunately for Melbourne our best performers at the moment are our young players! (Not our gutless senior players)

Rosy times and sunshine predicted.

Hey Gus, you haven't answered this curve ball yet. Really interested in hearing your response.

Oh an by the way, Richmond, Melbourne and North have a combined premiership total of 26 compared to Bulldogs 1. I hear your pain.

But anyway back to B_J's question, answer please:thumbsu:

going for the premierships argument. All those premierships haven't allowed these teams to be any more than middle of the road in recent seasons.

As for B_J's question- our President said it was our aim to make the grand final. Not our coach, or our captain. But that should be the aim every year, regardless. At the start of the season you should aim high and don't be content with mediocrity. You can re-assess when you get a chance to see how your team is going. We saw how we were going and we have re-assessed. We are now rebuilding.

Starting off with phasing out the older players. Lake has barely been sighted this year, while Hall, Hudson, Gilbee are in an out as we blood new players.

By the time we get to North, richmond, and melbourne's stage she'll be apples, given how well our rebuild is starting.

Well with Cooney & Lake both being stuffed for pretty much the whole season it was never going to happen we only have 3 elite players the other one being Griffen and to win the Grand Final they all have to be fit and firing that hasn't happened this year unfortunately

Dogs just squeezing the last few drops out of Hudson, Hall, Gia, Murphy, Hall, Morris, Cross, Boyd ect. all 28+ :eek:.

Will be bottom 4 in 2 years and beyond. bookmark it :cool:

As for B_J's question- our President said it was our aim to make the grand final. Not our coach, or our captain. But that should be the aim every year, regardless. At the start of the season you should aim high and don't be content with mediocrity.

So you are saying only your president is aiming for success but your coach and captain are settling for mediocrity?

Jackson club - Easy as 123

Our game against St kilda, our 1 good quarter nearly topple their 3 dominant quarter. You WB flogs are finished mate, our half good game will destroy yous.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Bulldogs supporters trying to troll. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. What a douche OP. :D:thumbsu:

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA Meltank got flogged by 10 goals :D

To play this blatant troll with a straight bat:

Melbourne They have rebuilt well and not sold the farm to get a star like Carlton did, not to mention selling the barn to get a dud off Melbourne!!

They have plenty of talent in their list and spread all across each part of the ground. The problem for them is winning margin averages around 60 and losing averages around 40. That to me shows a talented team with a terrible coaching panel. When it goes well they belt teams and when it doesn't they can't stop the momentum. Sure inexperience and a slight culture of down hill sking plays a part but put a good coach in there and that'll turn around next year.

Richmond They are coming from a long way back as they have continuously stuffed up drafting and trading for over 25 years now. They have a hard no nonsence back pocket in charge who has premiership experience at 3 clubs. They also have 3 out and out stars so they really need to build up their mid range stocks and get a few more KPPs, particularly down back.

They can look ordinary at times but I think that is Hardwick's plan. He exposes the kids and makes them play one on one footy alot. Sure they may lose bad now but they'll be better players for it in the long run.

Norf Have drafted very well from the middle of the table. They have picked up some very good midfielders. Still short of KPPs.

Dogs just squeezing the last few drops out of Hudson, Hall, Gia, Murphy, Hall, Morris, Cross, Boyd ect. all 28+ :eek:.

Will be bottom 4 in 2 years and beyond. bookmark it :cool:

well if you are going to bookmark it, it must be true :rolleyes:
keep telling us about these Melgone "best kids in the AFL" that we all hear about. The 28+ James McDonald must be shaking his head in disgust that he was knifed the way he was.

30TH-PRANAB_171660e.jpg