The Hangar Meat Head Thread

Remove this Banner Ad

A few questions to kick this off.

- In what way should a workout be structured for beginners?

- What should a healthy diet consist of so you can get the max out of weights and/or aerobic exercise?

I pretty much am only concerned with cardio stuff and try and achieve this through cycling. I would like to cycle more, but will struggle to find the time this year. I try and ride twice a week. There is no way I could body build as I am pretty much a midget. 178cm and about 65kg. Please don't bash me.

I had a mate at uni who used to compete in weightlifting. Not sure if he still does.

I'm anywhere between 184 and 187cm. When I started lifting weights, I was 60kg.

I'm now 95.

Also, the current "champion" of bodybuilding, Jay Cutler, is 175 cm. You're practically set. :thumbsu:

Sweet. :thumbsu: However, I more strive to be in the mold of professional cyclists who are about my size, but with more muscle and insane cardio endurance.

Nothing wrong with that.

Lance Armstrong is a freak, and his body is pretty decent, just quietly.

I know I said no "no homo"s are needed, but I should clarify here that I'm "no homo". Have been in a relationship (with a girl) for nearly 4 years. (Just thought I should nip that one in the butt now. :D)

No doubt. I have read that he has such a low heart rate that when he gets up in the morning he is liable to feint. :eek:

He has a resting heart rate of 32-34 beats per minute (bpm) with a maximum heart rate of 201 bpm.[12]

However, the kings of cardio and the like are the dudes who do cross-country skiing. :thumbsu:

Bjørn Dæhlie has allegedly the highest score in a VO2 max test of 96 ml/kg/min. The test was taken off season. According to the test administrator, physiologist Erlend Hem, it is likely that Dæhlie would have surpassed 100 ml/kg/min had the test been taken mid-season.

I really don't think this thr...

Right.

3972dceb.gif

(Log in to remove this ad.)