Western Border Football League

An older article previously overlooked.

HAMILTON SPECTATOR
Thursday, March 2 2006

By MICHAEL HOWARD

Bulldogs shaping up with little fuss

EAST Gambier's camp is flying under the radar, keeping proceedings low key ahead of its assault on Western Border's 2006 season.
After reaching the heights of a grand final appearance last season, the SA Bulldogs are optimistic that further good times lay ahead, despite what has generally been a headline-free couple of months.
"Things are probably a little more relaxed," East coach, Simon Quinn, said.
"We haven't talked about the grand final a lot so far, but over the next six weeks we will look to get to the level that we have to be at.
"We said after the grand final that we want to take the positives out of it, even though we lost, but to also try and understand fully that because we made one, it doesn't mean we can make it the following year."
In the clearance stakes, East has largely been a non-factor.
With the exception of former Adelaide Crow, Matthew Kluzek, who was signed pre-Christmas, the SA Bulldogs improvement is expected to come within.
Notably, Sam McCracken and Michael Butler are tipped to improve the Dogs' tall stocks, with the duo to return after being sidelined for 2005.
On the downside, promising youngsters Scott Ward and Hamish Harris have aligned with Kalangadoo.
Generally though, East version 2006 should be similar to that which impressed last campaign, though Quinn remained hopeful there may remain a headline in the Bulldogs' pre-season.
"I can't see us recruiting too many big names," Quinn said. "We are speaking to two blokes from Adelaide and the possibility of that coming off is 50-50.
"We are looking to relocate them to Mt Gambier, but might not know where they stand until SANFL trials are over."
As far as needs go, Quinn said the only glaring deficiency in East's line-up is its defensive talls.
"I thought last season that we needed a couple of extra key defenders.
"All year we got along a bit short down back. Tom O'Connor is six foot one and we had no-one else above that. It is one area that we needed to get better.
"It is definitely still a work in progress. We may need to reshuffle things and give our guys the opportunity to push back.
"Tom O'Connor won't be back until round six, so we will look for others to step up and it could mean the likes of myself will go back there and take on a role."
Notably, McCracken and Butler may well prove vital in that regard.
McCracken is a key position type who missed last year due to injury, when he played only one game.
"This year he will have done a full pre-season by round one," Quinn said.
"He is a respected player in the competition and I don't think that we have seen the best of him.
"He is a key defender, no doubt about that and is the type that can match if with a big key forward.
"However, we also want to build on his ability to work in the forward line.
"We want a list of blokes capable of playing one week in defence and the next week producing some good football in the forward line."
Butler, who arrived at East from Kongorong, is expected to be another versatile tall.
"He came across in 2004. Is six foot four and a big left-footer and runs well.
"He is a ruckman /forward but we are sure he can also do a job down back.
"He had last year off, but hasn't missed a beat at training. We are not expecting huge things from him, but are just hoping for a good year of footy."
For now, the Bulldogs are biding their time as the season nears, with Quinn "happy with the numbers and happy with the attitude on the training track" as East continues to attract mid-30s to its training.
"The boys have got their fitness level up after we went pretty hard at it early, then dropped it off the last few weeks and now we'll start to pick it up again for the start of the season."

HAMILTON SPECTATOR
Thursday, March 9, 2006

By CODY WINNELL

Tigers' pre-season progressing smoothly

NORTH Gambier's pre-season is moving along steadily in preparation for three practice matches in coming weeks.
The SA Tigers, under the watchful eye of new co-coach Stuart Telford working alongside Peter Collins, are training three nights a week, Mondays, Wednesdays and Sundays in a bid to be ready for their first practice match versus Terang on March 18.
The Tigers then face Port MacDonnell one week later followed by Coleraine before the Western Border pre-season competition begins.
Numbers have been positive on the training track for the Tigers according to Telford but there's room for improvement, which is likely to come when local cricket wraps up.
"We're getting about 30 guys there but the struggle is getting everybody available on the one night.
“That's why we’re having three training sessions, to give everybody the chance to attend," Telford explained.
North Gambier's list is likely not quite as strong as 2005 with key players Matt Ward and Steve Hunter moving away.
Replacements have been few and far between at this stage with only three players applying for clearances to North at this stage.
Of that trio two are under 18 years old. The probable key signing is Brian Durbridge, who Telford worked closely with at Kalangadoo.
"He's a good sort, not a big player in size but a real nuggety on-baller. He'll be very handy.
“The other two guys are younger, Branstone is a quick player who looks like he's in for a big season.
"While O'Connor will spend most of his time in the under-18s having not played for a couple of years, but everybody will have their chance to step up to the ones."
Telford said North Gambier's players' fitness was of no concern currently and come beginning of the pre-season it was expected to peak.

Magpies buoyed as new faces commit to cause
11 March 2006
Hamilton Spectator
By MICHAEL HOWARD

AMID speculation that the Magpies are wavering, Hamilton Football Club senior coach, Glenn Doyle, has responded defiantly and with optimism surrounding the path ahead.

Doyle unveiled promising recruits Terang-Mortlake premiership footballer Joe Kenna and former Gippsland Power squad member Matt Sherry, who have both moved to the area through employment at Roche Mining.

The signings come amid concerns that have filtered around the Magpies' camp over training numbers, which have frequently flirted with single figures.

They are concerns that have been felt by Hamilton's new senior coach, but he was unwavering in his enthusiasm for the upcoming season, which gets underway on April 22.

"Training is improving," Doyle said. "That side has been a challenge, with so many young blokes training with the Rebels and a lot of guys away on holiday or with cricket commitments.

"We have 25 to 30 names for senior football that have trained, but we just haven't been able to get them all together at the one time."

Pressed further, Doyle said that the club had done all it could to motivate its playing personnel and would instead direct its focus at getting the best out of the bunch at its disposal.

"It's one of those things," he said. "As coach of a club, there are certain rules in place.

"If you go and grab every guy by the hand to get them to train it is to the detriment from the guys that regularly turn up because it is time consuming.

"If they want to be there badly enough, they will be. If they want to play, they want to play. It's that simple.

"We are moving forward. I believe that a lot of the young guys have brought a breath of fresh air.

"There are a lot of new faces around and once we get them all out on the track together it will be very exciting."

Which brings us back to Kenna.

The dread-locked rover is expected to prove a significant signing, having been a key component in Terang-Mortlake's consecutive Hampden Football League premierships.

"He is very talented and moves well on the track," Doyle said. "He has good skills on both sides of his body and from what I have been told, he is a very talented type."

Having lost a big chunk of players that played in its 2004 premiership team, to bring in a new face that has tasted grand final glory is a significant coup for the Pies.

"He's experienced some success at Terang and to be able to bring that into the squad is important.

"Having come from a higher standard where he has had success is invaluable and he has been a great contributor on the training track."

Hamilton has also confirmed the signing of Matt Sherry.

Sherry was raised in Gippsland where he played his senior and junior football at Mirboo North and, like Kenna, is working with Roche Mining.

"He made the list at Gippsland Power in the TAC Cup but had to step back because of Osteitis Pubis," Doyle said.

"He has been in Melbourne for the last year or two and spent last year with St Mary's.

"He moves extremely well, is a very strong fella and I expect him to slot in across half-back or half-forward.

"He seems good overhead and his signing has been a big bonus."

Additionally, Matt Taylor, who has an extensive cycling history and has spent a few seasons out of football, has committed to the club and is expected to add depth in the seconds.

These recruits add to the pre-Christmas signing of Phil Currie, the former coach of Heathmere and ex-Portland ruckman, who Doyle expects will "work well in tandem with Tim Robertson in forming our ruck division".

Additionally, former Hamilton thirds footballer Angus McLarty will return to the Magpies and is expected to be a regular senior footballer.

"He has been up in northern Victoria. He moves extremely well and is a left-footer who we expect to play half-forward with time on the ball."

However, while recruits always bring with them a dash of excitement and hype, it is Hamilton's core of developing under-18s who have Doyle most excited.

"Brent Cranage, Sam Payne, Ross McNaughton, Kane Templeton, Ben Williams, Archie Whiting and Tom Whiting are among those training heavily with the Rebels and they will be given opportunities this year, no doubt about it.

"The thing that I have noticed is that they have all got a very good attack on the ball and are extremely quick across the ground."

It is a weapon that Doyle plans on using this season.

"We will be a quick side. We might be a little light, but we will be very quick across the ground."

So it's onward and upward for the Magpies, a progression that Doyle said would be much deserved given the efforts of Hamilton's hard-working committee.

"I can't speak highly enough of our president (Ashley Crow) and the club. There is a lot of passion around the place.

"It has been a bit challenging over the pre-season, but we will get over that and are optimistic.

"Yes, we have lost players, there is no doubt about that. But I am confident that the guys that we have got to work with want to represent Hamilton Football Club and represent it well."

The first fixture on the Magpies' map is a March 26 practice match against Horsham Demons, a significant test given the Demons have snared the past three Wimmera league premierships.

Hamilton will then attend a three-day camp from March 31 to April 2 at Roses Gap on the Western Highway (near Stawell).

Doyle is hopeful that for those fixtures there will be a few more recruits strapped in to black and white guernseys.

"Watch this space," he said. "We are working extremely hard to attract players to the club and it would be fair to say that I would be surprised if we don't have an announcement to make in two to three weeks."

They have done some damage to Hamilton by enticing Gareth Abrahamson out to be coach. The reality is that they will struggle to compete against the bigger clubs in the WBFL and will probably finish in the lower half of the clubs that miss the finals.
No idea on any future AFL talent roaming around in the Cats area.

BTW As a fellow Villan I can only hope we soon see the day that Doug Ellis = Liar leaves AVFC for good. And they reckon the Brum are scum!

Grimmett said:
They have done some damage to Hamilton by enticing Gareth Abrahamson out to be coach. The reality is that they will struggle to compete against the bigger clubs in the WBFL and will probably finish in the lower half of the clubs that miss the finals.
No idea on any future AFL talent roaming around in the Cats area.

BTW As a fellow Villan I can only hope we soon see the day that Doug Ellis = Liar leaves AVFC for good. And they reckon the Brum are scum!

My mums family is from Wando Vale (near Casterton) so we used to travel up 1-2 times a winter and have a look at them play. Haven't been for a few years though. Last time we went up Jarad Rooke was playing CHF for them. They were playing one of the Gambiers and lost be a goal in a shoot out. Something like 142 to 136. Still seems like same old, same old if they can't compete with the Gambiers and the like.

My Grandpa had their last premiership on tape (well I presume it was their last premiership). It was against Hamilton Magpies and Hamilton had ex-VFL player Billy Picken!

Doug is apparently on his last legs and looking to sell the club, but he has run it so far into the ground that he can't find any buyers to match his ridiculous price valuation. Will it ever end?

any of those leagues -- wbfl, wimmera fl --- have dedicated radio programs looking at their footy, grimmett
suppose bendigo and ballarat and shepparton are a fair bit bigger in population but bgo at least has a wed 5-7 pm show and then a sat brekkie job from 8.30 to 10, both on local stuff
reckon swan hill also has a station which covers its central murray league and maybe some of the other leagues in that region

Dunno about the Western Border league. I guess 3HA out of Hamilton might do something.
The Wimmera, Horsham District, Mininera & District, North Central and Mallee leagues all get some coverage as part of the Saturday Morning Sports Show on 3WM. The station then broadcasts quarter by quarter scores for all bar the Mininera league during the afternoon. It's not much. The GF of the WFL and HDFL is broadcast live each year.

grimmett -- in bendigo the 89.5 station b'casts a sat. bendigo league match each weekend
early in the season when theres a sunday match, or a sat. twilite game under lights at headquarters they do that as well
one weekend last season the station callers were on deck for 3 games one weekend --- sat. arvo, sat twilight and sunday afternoon
then theres the medal count in september b'cast live from the venue and of course all the finals .... sats and sundays
occasionally if theres no clash they will do a district league grand final, as well, in sept
those calls come on top of the midweek and sat. morning preview and wrap up shows listed above

fifth quarter said:
grimmett -- in bendigo the 89.5 station b'casts a sat. bendigo league match each weekend
early in the season when theres a sunday match, or a sat. twilite game under lights at headquarters they do that as well
one weekend last season the station callers were on deck for 3 games one weekend --- sat. arvo, sat twilight and sunday afternoon
then theres the medal count in september b'cast live from the venue and of course all the finals .... sats and sundays
occasionally if theres no clash they will do a district league grand final, as well, in sept
those calls come on top of the midweek and sat. morning preview and wrap up shows listed above

Fifth, you are spoilt for choice and coverage. Make the most of it.

:confused: GRIMMETT -- dont you have any community radio stations in western Victoria (Horsham/Ararat/Stawell) who have a footy commitment in winter :confused: :confused:

Bit of research on the WBFL showed they have some coverage provided by 5SE out of SA, 3RPC in Portland and 3HA in Hamilton.

3HA does match of the day from Melville oval in Hamilton each week.

The Wimmera league has no community radio coverage since 3HHH in Horsham stopped covering the City Oval games a few years ago. In fact the Wimmera region has bugger all community radio stations with only 3HHH in Horsham as far as I know.

Grimmett said:
Bit of research on the WBFL showed they have some coverage provided by 5SE out of SA, 3RPC in Portland and 3HA in Hamilton.

3HA does match of the day from Melville oval in Hamilton each week.

The Wimmera league has no community radio coverage since 3HHH in Horsham stopped covering the City Oval games a few years ago. In fact the Wimmera region has bugger all community radio stations with only 3HHH in Horsham as far as I know.

3HA pulled the pin on its match day coverage several years ago. It now offers around the ground updates amid 3AW's match of the day.

5SE provides greater coverage, in particular Western Border's grand final, but beyond a Thursday night show and a wrap of results I'm not sure that there's much else on offer.

howie n grimett maryborough castlmaine leag got coverage on the abc radio last saturday the coodabeens i/viewed the 3 blokes from marybor rovers who kicked 11 the sat b4 last u got any blokes doing significent things in your leag grimett

It's mostly about Horsham in the Wimmera, zakster.
The main interest is in how many goals David Johns will end up kicking. He's currently on 96 after 13 rounds. He's played in 10 games due to the bye twice and a week off at one point. John Hotker set the league record in the late 80s with a season tally of 153. At the pace he's going Johns will smash that.

2day on the coodabeens grimmet they interviewed the coach of the wangaratta magpies got a local o and m derby coming up sunday i think against the wang rovers they r the ones who wear hawthorn colors
why dont u log on to the coodabeen website and leave them info on your goalkicking wiz johns they could give your league a plus on a statewide program