Society/Culture Constable Butcher gets $3.3 Million Payout.

Remove this Banner Ad

RisingPhoenix

Club Legend
Dec 20, 2010
Great Southern
AFL Club
West Coast
Other Teams
NAFC, SDFC, MUFC.
Im interested to hear the views on Bigfooty regarding the record payout to Constable Butcher.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/new...arded-record-33m/story-e6frg6nf-1225993880227

I should disclose that I am a former WA Police officer (recently retired, but for the record dont know Matt Butcher personally), but I like to think I am a pretty objective, pragmatic bloke.

For example, I have serious concerns about tasers. I left the force as they were being rolled out, but the basic principle is that they are designed as a replacement means of providing non lethal self defence to officers being attacked in situations which would traditionally of involved the use of firearms etc. They are not supposed to be used as a compliance tool. IMO, (and it will go against the thinking of a lot of mates I still have), Butcher was in the wrong in as much as his use of the taser likely provoked the attack which caused his injuries.

Thoughts?

it's not for me to pass judgement on the size of the amount awarded, needless to say that if he's going to have a serious form of disability for the rest of his life, hopefully this will allow him to go back to something that resembles a normal life.

my concern is more that the family that was responsible for this are still around and terrorising perth.

I've heard Butcher speak (well) and he is without malice, but I doubt anyone would begrudge him slipping a few bucks to a bikie to visit McLeod. Dog of the highest order.

I can't say many would disagree with the payout, although the issue of no justice being served in the McLeod case would probably mean an impartial opinion is hard.