Academy Watch

I would have to disagree on a couple of counts Judge. Moseley was committed to AFL during the AFL Championships, he missed the last two games of the QLD U18 season to play school rugby. I believe he is at the level for a future professional rugby career and rumour has it, has already been offered a couple of NRL under 20 contracts.

My worry is that Mosely didn't make the AFL Academy this year; which I believe would have been the clincher..... he is only in Year 11 this year and still has a year of school left at a school where playing 1st XV is a massive deal. So if he continues his incredible rugby season this year, without any guarentees in AFL for drafting next year and other offers on the table..... what would you do? He is still only 16.... big decisions ahead?

from what i recall the nrl under 20s competition is in its last year

No worries.

My comments were made on the assumption that Liam was in Year 12 and turning 17 this year, if he's a year younger than I thought then that makes a difference to my assessment of his rugby prospects.

I'm only talking from a union perspective though, if he plays league I was unaware of that and don't know enough (anything) about that code to comment on whether or not he could make the grade.

I should add that, from what I've been told by players' parents who have seen every NC game this year, Moseley's form has been a bit hot and cold (diamonds or rocks) so it might be a bit of a stretch to describe his current rugby form as "incredible". Regardless, he's certainly got a lot of sporting talent and a great temperament.

I would have to disagree on a couple of counts Judge. Moseley was committed to AFL during the AFL Championships, he missed the last two games of the QLD U18 season to play school rugby. I believe he is at the level for a future professional rugby career and rumour has it, has already been offered a couple of NRL under 20 contracts.

My worry is that Mosely didn't make the AFL Academy this year; which I believe would have been the clincher..... he is only in Year 11 this year and still has a year of school left at a school where playing 1st XV is a massive deal. So if he continues his incredible rugby season this year, without any guarentees in AFL for drafting next year and other offers on the table..... what would you do? He is still only 16.... big decisions ahead?

It was very encouraging that he chose rep AFL over league and union this year. The last two TAC games were not a big deal.

I thought he might have been a fair chance to get and AIS spot for next year and if I was the Lions I would have been pushing hard for it. He did play well Qld this year and in the Tassie game that I watched live I thought he was our best inside midfielder. In that game Keays got a lot of the ball but I thought Moseley did a lot more of the heavy lifting and I would not have said there was much between them in terms of who had the better game. With him being a bottom ager I was very excited about what he could do with another year under his belt.

On the year 11 thing I think this could be a help rather than a hinderance. He is still in school and money although nice would not be as much of a concern if he was out having to earn a living. He can go to school and not really need to commit to either sport. Enjoy his last year and play both and leave the decision making to the end of the year. I am sure both sports would rather he work on their sport alone but there are plenty of kids who play multiple sports at a high level at this age and go on to be very successful at one. If he was out in the community or even at uni the pressure to specialise would be much greater I think.

Anyone have any news on how the other of the three usual underagers Corey Wagner has been going? He is a top kid who has just as much potential as Keays and Mosely I reckon.
Apparently pretty close to being picked for Aspley,have heard also was close to getting in Afl Academy also and has quite a bit of interest outside of Brisbane as well

Interesting to see that Harris Andrews made his NEAFL debut with ASpley this weekend against Redlands. Had 5 kicks, 1 mark, 7 handballs and 30 hitouts. So obviously spent a fair bit of time in the ruck. I'm guessing there were a lot of ball ups given the 4 rucks has 41, 40, 30 and 25 hitouts over the game. Keys second possession winner on the ground with 24.

Afl talent pathway is a lot better than the rugby one. Especially Union. You have to be really special to know if you have a rugby union career by 18 where as AFL you have a fair indication whether or not you will get picked up. Had a chat to wylie buzza as well who told me he's been retained as an over ager for next year. He said that as well said he'd rather play afl then rugby cause you know earlier if your gonna make it or not while with rugby there are not guarantees at this age. Dunno if that makes a lot of sense I'm extremely hung over and at work but I think I got my point across well enough.

Loving the honesty, will be trying that state of mind out tomorrow.

Hey guys.

Figured if you have a question the best way is to go to the source.

How many of these Academy kids can you guys pick up at the draft? Do you have to take them all in the National or some in the Rookie?

Impressed by the players these academies are starting to produce. No problem here with academies in states where the game has limited participation. All these youngsters (like Heeney now, Mills/Keays next year) correlates well with the introduction of the two new clubs, though suspect it's more of coincidence and just that the development process is finally paying dividends.

Also must say the last few pages have been surprisingly informative about the football code landscape, something I wasn't expecting to learn when opening the thread!

Hey guys.

Figured if you have a question the best way is to go to the source.

How many of these Academy kids can you guys pick up at the draft? Do you have to take them all in the National or some in the Rookie?

We can take them in the ND and/or the rookie draft and we can take as many as we have free list spots if we want.

We can nominate any BL academy player we want at the same time and same way as father/son bidding. There's two categories:
  1. ND prospects. They get the usual bidding system.
  2. Rookie prospects. If they get through the ND and PSD undrafted, we can prelist them straight on to our rookie list.
You probably won't see many nominated in category #2 at this stage because all the academy clubs still have zoned rookie picks as well, so rather than tip their hand through the nomination they can wait and see if their player slips and keep their options open without having to worry about missing out on the player. The zoned rookie picks are how Bourke got on our rookie list, even though we could've used #2.

Right, think I get it. So if a guy like Andrews doesn't get nominated, another club can pick him up, and if he doesn't, Brisbane can just put him on the rookie list before the Rookie Draft as a zone selection?

Spot on. Absolutely cracking post on the Sydney Academy thread btw. :thumbsu:

I think one caveat though is that the club has to have officially pre-flagged their interest in the player. The academy clubs did this a couple of weeks ago. Off the top of my head the Lions nominated 8 players. Doesn't mean they take them all. Dlanod, are the zone rookie picks being phased out? I have vague recollection that was planned for this year or next-ish.

I think last year they nominated a similar number, but only ended up taking Freeman then Conway as a rookie, tho I'm not sure it was as a zoned player (am on my phone atm so cbb checking).

As an aside, Conway hasn't exactly set the world on fire and is a chance to be delisted this year.

By the way, if there ever proves to be a flood of elite academy players coming through the system I don't think too many folks around here would begrudge the bidding system being tweaked, but that has yet to be the case.

While it is still early days it seems there is an early trend for amateur draft watchers to overrate the academy prospects, only to be deflated come draft day(s). It does feel like the academies are having an impact on the landscape slowly, but IMO it has been over hyped to this point. As pathways they are, however, vital to the long-term health and continued expansion of the game, so it is great that some opposition supporters can appreciate that. :thumbsu:

Haven't heard about the zone picks going away, but I haven't been paying attention.

Conway wasn't a zoned rookie (pick 4 in the rookie draft), but I think that was because we had to confirm that we were going to get rid of Banfield.

I think one caveat though is that the club has to have officially pre-flagged their interest in the player. The academy clubs did this a couple of weeks ago. Off the top of my head the Lions nominated 8 players. Doesn't mean they take them all. Dlanod, are the zone rookie picks being phased out? I have vague recollection that was planned for this year or next-ish.

I think last year they nominated a similar number, but only ended up taking Freeman then Conway as a rookie, tho I'm not sure it was as a zoned player (am on my phone atm so cbb checking).

As an aside, Conway hasn't exactly set the world on fire and is a chance to be delisted this year.

By the way, if there ever proves to be a flood of elite academy players coming through the system I don't think too many folks around here would begrudge the bidding system being tweaked, but that has yet to be the case.

While it is still early days it seems there is an early trend for amateur draft watchers to overrate the academy prospects, only to be deflated come draft day(s). It does feel like the academies are having an impact on the landscape slowly, but IMO it has been over hyped to this point. As pathways they are, however, vital to the long-term health and continued expansion of the game, so it is great that some opposition supporters can appreciate that. :thumbsu:
Thanks! Yeah I tend to try to look at the big picture on things like this, rather than through tinted glasses! :D

I think this was the article: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-08-06/afl-names-academy-players

Good list of players there, imo. Ubergang should get at least rookied on name alone! :D

The phenomenon of over-ratedness is perhaps more over-hype, the fact that they are talked about because they are at the top of the tree, so they naturally stand out - like the man-childs who are running around the TAC.

Having four clubs should boost the number of players, as that articles states, there's 35 players already. Be surprised if there's more than 2 selected from every club in the national, and that other clubs don't grab the best of the rest either.

I'm not sure how much more tweaking the bidding system needs, maybe if it is set up now where a Mills-level AND Heeney-level youngster can be picked up RD1 and 2, despite being first round talents, that needs tweaking, but it wouldn't be a major change. Clubs now still have to decide how they rate these guys and compare them to his peers around his draft range. Gone are the days of getting an Ablett in the third round.

i would the afl owes brisbane big time after get cheated in 04 and fatshit mcguire getting he's way about the salary cap

I have no problem what so ever in paying a fair price for our academy kids. The benefits of bringing these home grown kids through our systems and eventually taking them instead of another kid are potentially massive IMO, especially for the next decade or so whilst the game is still growing and northern clubs struggle to keep kids from traditional states at their clubs.

The problems will come when you have 2 really talented kids worthy of top 10 picks. Swans have lucked out with some good F/S selections as well which has enhanced the academies to a degree i think. I guess when it comes to other clubs putting in a bid for these kids we get to see how they are rated by other clubs against the other kids in the draft, and i think much like last year, this year will be well below what we've come to expect.