Academy Watch

I can see the moaning about Sydney getting Heeny but jeez, next year we'll get just as much angst about us getting Keays for a 2nd/3rder.

Nah, the difference is that we didn't win the premiership last year (err, this year).

Keays is not as good as Heeney is just yet. With another year under his belt he well could be.

I watched Keays and Mills at the Champs and thought Keays looked the better of the two and Mills is being talked up as one of the best for next year. Mills has been going great guns for Sydney in the NEAFL of late.

Interesting to note that 2 of those 3 go to GPS schools. May be a stretch, but it could be a further sign that headway is being made into the Union culture that dominates there.

Hammelman is from Boys Grammar too, though cant really make the call on that yet, I went to a GPS school and footy was always played in the weekdays and was an excuse to get out of school early. Besides a few keen boys who obviously played club it was just rugby guys there for a laugh. Think it will take along time before that culture is overturned

Recently graduated Private school boy here. Trust me the stigma about playing AFL has completely changed over the last 5 years. With AFL gaining more popularity as well as the academy getting involved trying to poach players the Rugby boys all have respect for the game. And like I have mentioned before I can name half a dozen promising Rugby Union players who left union to play div 2 and 3 AFL. 3 of those guys could of made it in Rugby I believe.

I agree that the game of AFL is gaining more respect in Qld private schools but the challenge is to get those players who are serious contenders in each sport to choose one. It is almost impossible to play both AFL and Rugby Union at those elite levels at the same time. The academies are very accommodating and acknowledge the importance of other sports in the boys lives..... the schools not so much..... Then you have the training, fitness, body type requirements of each sport - it takes it's toll. Moseley is one example. I believe he is in the 1st XV at Nudgee for rugby and they have been training since December last year for an eight game season starting in July. So for at least 6 months he was training 5 days a week with them, then Qld 18's on top of that, then Academy on top of that. He missed the QLD and Aust. Schoolboy rugby trials to play in the U18 AFL Nationals this year..... a mate from Nudgee told me he's apparently killing it in rugby this year. How do we get him to choose footy, and if he chose AFL only could he possibly be better than Keays ?

Afl talent pathway is a lot better than the rugby one. Especially Union. You have to be really special to know if you have a rugby union career by 18 where as AFL you have a fair indication whether or not you will get picked up. Had a chat to wylie buzza as well who told me he's been retained as an over ager for next year. He said that as well said he'd rather play afl then rugby cause you know earlier if your gonna make it or not while with rugby there are not guarantees at this age. Dunno if that makes a lot of sense I'm extremely hung over and at work but I think I got my point across well enough.

Moseley is one example. I believe he is in the 1st XV at Nudgee for rugby and they have been training since December last year for an eight game season starting in July. So for at least 6 months he was training 5 days a week with them, then Qld 18's on top of that, then Academy on top of that. He missed the QLD and Aust. Schoolboy rugby trials to play in the U18 AFL Nationals this year..... a mate from Nudgee told me he's apparently killing it in rugby this year. How do we get him to choose footy, and if he chose AFL only could he possibly be better than Keays ?

Have heard the same re: the bolded bits. A very handy flyhalf.

I agree that the game of AFL is gaining more respect in Qld private schools but the challenge is to get those players who are serious contenders in each sport to choose one. It is almost impossible to play both AFL and Rugby Union at those elite levels at the same time.

G'day Futurefooty & welcome. Also, if we do not get them young, it takes 2 seasons to go from the body shape for rugby to aussie rules, ala Hunt & Folau.

Afl talent pathway is a lot better than the rugby one. Especially Union. You have to be really special to know if you have a rugby union career by 18 where as AFL you have a fair indication whether or not you will get picked up. Had a chat to wylie buzza as well who told me he's been retained as an over ager for next year. He said that as well said he'd rather play afl then rugby cause you know earlier if your gonna make it or not while with rugby there are not guarantees at this age. Dunno if that makes a lot of sense I'm extremely hung over and at work but I think I got my point across well enough.
But Rugby can just throw big money at some of these kids and not have the uncertainty of the draft. The money is potentially a lot more earlier.

But there must be a changing face to the Private School system, isnt Ambrose Tracey (the old Nudgee Junior) an AFL school with there own club?

But Rugby can just throw big money at some of these kids and not have the uncertainty of the draft. The money is potentially a lot more earlier.

Thanks for the welcome BuntonRules..... I think there is a difference between even rugby union and rugby league in what they can offer. AFL have the academies which is great as they get that specialised training but players have to wait until the uncertainty of the draft to see if they have a future in the sport, and in the meantime there are no added incentives, maybe making the AFL Academy or something may be a further incentive but positions are very limited (only Keays for us this year).

Rugby Union has the advantage of being able to offer talented kids scholarships to private schools to assist them in that pathway, but after school there seems to be a bit of a gap for a couple of years where they may play club or colts but may be aligned to a Super 15 franchise on a contract of sorts.

Rugby League can offer kids contracts from 15+ which can include gear, board, accommodation, uni or school fees and if they are on an under 20's contract, a salary as well.

It's be a tough call for a 16/17 year old to have to make if they are good enough to be in contention for either or all of the codes.

G'day Futurefooty & welcome. Also, if we do not get them young, it takes 2 seasons to go from the body shape for rugby to aussie rules, ala Hunt & Folau.

I think you'll find that Moseley struggled with that this year. Rugby wanted him to be strong and powerful, particularly in the legs to be quick off the mark, whilst AFL wanted him to be lean and agile and run like a whippet - how can you possibly be both 90 kilos and 75 at the same time to suit both sports at that high level!

In reality though, the potential market for a young rugby player also includes the NRL clubs. The skillset for most, particularly the backs, is not so different that they are locked into Union as their only career option.

Ex Adelaide Crow Sean Tasker is the head of sport at Toowoomba Grammar and is really pushing our game. He has managed to get a few promising footballers scholarships (Tom Matthews for one) at the school and is confident that it will become a fixture on their calendar very soon.

I think you'll find that Moseley struggled with that this year. Rugby wanted him to be strong and powerful, particularly in the legs to be quick off the mark, whilst AFL wanted him to be lean and agile and run like a whippet - how can you possibly be both 90 kilos and 75 at the same time to suit both sports at that high level!
I wouldn't mind an AFL player that is 90kg, strong, powerful and quick off the mark.

Speaking of the rugby codes anyone know how Moseley went at the schoolboys champs? What are the chances of retaining him in AFL?

Moseley didn't play in the Rugby nationals, didn't trial for the GPS teams (and therefore state teams) due to AFL U/18 commitments.

By coincidence I saw Liam play for Nudgee today and he was pretty impressive, good size, good pace, plenty of ticker and some real X factor about him. Nice kid too.

Nudgee were trailing TSS 15-14 with 10 minutes to go when Liam kicked 2 long range penalties before scoring a try on the final siren to seal the win, so a big day out for him.

Having said all that, I think it's pretty well accepted that AFL is Liam's priority, and whilst he's a good rugby player I don't think he's at the level where a professional career beckons.

I haven't seen Liam play AFL yet, but just on the basis of his physical attributes and mindset I wouldn't be at all surprised if we're looking seriously at drafting him this time next year.

I have a relative in the Nudgee First XV with Moseley, and I was told today that he didn't do most of the pre-season weights etc with the other boys due to his AFL commitments.

Certainly didn't look heavy in the legs to me today, he appears to have a very athletic build perfectly suited to the running game in AFL, i.e. tall and lean, but not skinny by any means.

But there must be a changing face to the Private School system, isnt Ambrose Tracey (the old Nudgee Junior) an AFL school with there own club?

No club, just one team in Under 12 Div 3, probably a short-lived venture.

Keays impressive again for Redlands, Uebergang had one of his better days playing NEAFL.

I know we've seen a few academy players have really good season's as 17 year olds only to taper off the next year, but none of those players have had the impact at senior level that Keays has this year.

He's making it hard to keep a lid on the excitement.

Keays impressive again for Redlands, Uebergang had one of his better days playing NEAFL.

I know we've seen a few academy players have really good season's as 17 year olds only to taper off the next year, but none of those players have had the impact at senior level that Keays has this year.

He's making it hard to keep a lid on the excitement.
You'll have to try harder.

Having said all that, I think it's pretty well accepted that AFL is Liam's priority, and whilst he's a good rugby player I don't think he's at the level where a professional career beckons.

I haven't seen Liam play AFL yet, but just on the basis of his physical attributes and mindset I wouldn't be at all surprised if we're looking seriously at drafting him this time next year.

I would have to disagree on a couple of counts Judge. Moseley was committed to AFL during the AFL Championships, he missed the last two games of the QLD U18 season to play school rugby. I believe he is at the level for a future professional rugby career and rumour has it, has already been offered a couple of NRL under 20 contracts.

My worry is that Mosely didn't make the AFL Academy this year; which I believe would have been the clincher..... he is only in Year 11 this year and still has a year of school left at a school where playing 1st XV is a massive deal. So if he continues his incredible rugby season this year, without any guarentees in AFL for drafting next year and other offers on the table..... what would you do? He is still only 16.... big decisions ahead?

Anyone have any news on how the other of the three usual underagers Corey Wagner has been going? He is a top kid who has just as much potential as Keays and Mosely I reckon.

I would have to disagree on a couple of counts Judge. Moseley was committed to AFL during the AFL Championships, he missed the last two games of the QLD U18 season to play school rugby. I believe he is at the level for a future professional rugby career and rumour has it, has already been offered a couple of NRL under 20 contracts.

My worry is that Mosely didn't make the AFL Academy this year; which I believe would have been the clincher..... he is only in Year 11 this year and still has a year of school left at a school where playing 1st XV is a massive deal. So if he continues his incredible rugby season this year, without any guarentees in AFL for drafting next year and other offers on the table..... what would you do? He is still only 16.... big decisions ahead?

No worries.

My comments were made on the assumption that Liam was in Year 12 and turning 17 this year, if he's a year younger than I thought then that makes a difference to my assessment of his rugby prospects.

I'm only talking from a union perspective though, if he plays league I was unaware of that and don't know enough (anything) about that code to comment on whether or not he could make the grade.

I should add that, from what I've been told by players' parents who have seen every NC game this year, Moseley's form has been a bit hot and cold (diamonds or rocks) so it might be a bit of a stretch to describe his current rugby form as "incredible". Regardless, he's certainly got a lot of sporting talent and a great temperament.