Player Watch #24: Tom Powell - signed thru 2026

Sampi. Wow. Probably wouldn't have even considered that.

I agree. Its clear from watching him that his understanding of where he is in relation to everyone around him, who they are and how they are moving is very special. Cunners like. Tho I reckon there would be more to it than is testable by looking at a telly. You get heaps of information from your peripheral vision for one thing and you don't use that for tv. But its still a good test of some aspects.

Awareness of who the players are is probably as important as where they are in footy.

I agree. Its clear from watching him that his understanding of where he is in relation to everyone around him, who they are and how they are moving is very special. Cunners like. Tho I reckon there would be more to it than is testable by looking at a telly. You get heaps of information from your peripheral vision for one thing and you don't use that for tv. But its still a good test of some aspects.

I tried watching him specifically in round one, especially in the second half, and it was very evident the way he didn't get sucked into contests and peeled off the back, particularly at stoppages. Was actually refreshing as we have endured years of players all going at the ball and the opposition just sitting numbers out the back of a stoppage.

Yes well done for identifying that the bloke who averaged 40 touches in u18s has elite anticipation.

It is lucky Tom Powell has come on so quickly given we don't have a VFL team any more for him to develop in.

It was canned so the W side could play political dress ups you see.

I tried watching him specifically in round one, especially in the second half, and it was very evident the way he didn't get sucked into contests and peeled off the back, particularly at stoppages. Was actually refreshing as we have endured years of players all going at the ball and the opposition just sitting numbers out the back of a stoppage.

He also specialised in the short forward handball that sets up a chain.

You mean..........like a quarterback?

Yeah, I also knew that before he even pulled on a North jumper.

1617143511659.png

Sampi. Wow. Probably wouldn't have even considered that.

Awareness of who the players are is probably as important as where they are in footy.
Yeah mate it blew us away thats for sure, but when I thought about it I couldn’t recall a time he got caught holding the ball. Yes he had crazy lateral movement and a mad vertical leap and he didnt really get a lot of the ball playing in a forward pocket, but when he did he made good things happen before the opposition reacted.

Now if you transfer that awareness into an inside/outside midfielder who gets it 35 times a game then that’s scary..

Lol.

Come on now Tef, every man and his dog were aware of Tom Powell's natural football nouse and ballwinning pre-draft and Soup wrote some excellent arguments on why he was being underrated.

I'm not taking any credit away from Souup's input and I was one of the first few here that were applauding his analysis over & above the usual suspects very early in the piece. I'm not in competition with the bloke, because I knew that he gets "it".

Smoocher also has a very good handle on analysing youth. These blokes have the ability to sum up quality traits................and so do I. I don't remember either of them singling out "anticipation" or "quarterback" traits, but I'm not claiming that makes me a better analyst than either of them either.

Pykie gets a lot of rave reviews, but he's really a numbers man. This has it's place, but it's inferior to the experienced eye test.

Youd have to think the club is currently working on locking this kid away long term and hopefully reducing the go home factor. Luckily we are crap and no one is watching so the kid is flying under the radar....but for how long.

I suspect it will be just the standard 2 year extension.

He could well be a target of the Crows in a couple of years. Have to watch out for that.

I wouldn't be surprised if McAseys name comes up and they ask for Tom.

I would if I was them.

I've given Jack Lukosius the eye test and I've decided that his elite attribute is his kicking. Some of you guys probably won't understand what that means. I'm a bit of a football genius.

Nice one, you're just 4 years too late (and you left out the marking).

I've given this post the eye test and decided that its elite attribute is sarcasm. Some of you guys probably won't understand what that means. I'm a bit of a sarcasm genius.

9.5 times a match.
Yeah, because he's a freak runner and gets in space. Every player can mark in space, it's only really tested in contests. It's a big reason why he has played off the back flank and wing in AFL when he was a junior key forward. Did take a nice one against us though. When he puts on some size and can protect his space better he'll probably end up an OK contested mark for his height.