Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 6 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

He's contracted for another two years?

Pretty dog move by Adelaide if this isn't complete rubbish.
It's not uncommon. Dunkley was going contracted for 2 more years and so was lobb the year before we got him when he was heading back to GWS and that's only two that relate to us.
Doesn't mean Melbourne have to trade him and by all reports they won't, they've even put a longer term deal in front of him.

It's not uncommon. Dunkley was going contracted for 2 more years and so was lobb the year before we got him when he was heading back to GWS and that's only two that relate to us.
Doesn't mean Melbourne have to trade him and by all reports they won't, they've even put a longer term deal in front of him.
Considering he's just about Goodwin's favourite player, I suspect Melbourne will be holding him to his contract.

Taylor Adam went to Swans for pick 33

Last year we paid pick 30 plus our 2023 2nd rounder 28 (ends up early 30’s)

Similar ages and years to play etc etc

Am I missing something or are we crap at trading ?

We overpaid and I wasn't happy with what we gave up. Circumstances are different though. For one, taller players are generally worth more on the trade table and Lobb was their leading goal kicker. Freo also lost a lot of players and needed to make a stand. Collingwood don't have the same problem and have a very good replacement lined up in Schultz. Adams was really only a role player in the end for them.

Regardless of the comp, the fact baz wants to go is a travesty for the club.

Marquee young player.

Losing our best 2 young mids in successive years while the club slides.

Doesn't happen at the clubs who have won more than 2 flags.

Yet literally NOBODY at the top has been sacked.

Good life at the top at the dogs.

Fail to perform, no worries mate.
Since when has he said he wants to leave? With coaching changes and possibility of even more, can you blame him on waiting a bit?
For all we know, the speculation itself maybe detrimental to him.
Footy is a business though so guess we wait and see what Sammy comes up with. It could be Jacko or Daniel on the outer given pace is becoming a must

Did you read previous pages or maybe one of the 6,238 media reports?
Nah was speaking to someone that has some decent mail occasionally.

Taylor Adam went to Swans for pick 33

Last year we paid pick 30 plus our 2023 2nd rounder 28 (ends up early 30’s)

Similar ages and years to play etc etc

Am I missing something or are we crap at trading ?

The simple reality is Lobb was worth more to each of Freo and us than Adams was worth to either of Pies or Swans. You’re talking about a ruck/key forward that lead his club’s goal kicking v a mid that was arguably surplus to requirements at the pointy end of the season and offered cap relief to a team paying multiple players at other clubs.

Plus both teams wanted to get the deals done for other players to come through
The simple reality is Lobb was worth more to each of Freo and us than Adams was worth to either of Pies or Swans. You’re talking about a ruck/key forward that lead his club’s goal kicking v a mid that was arguably surplus to requirements at the pointy end of the season and offered cap relief to a team paying multiple players at other clubs.

This actually helps show it was a good trade.
14, 27 and 35 = say Croft, Lual, Random. Plus say F23 and F12 (assuming inevitable bids/compos and same finish).

F23 and F12 unlikely to get you 6(4), and there is a gun 6 this year. We also get it a year earlier.
Yeah good call, you can probably get a half decent player with 27 though and Lual with 35 but get where you’re coming from

Also says a lot about the top end of the draft that Melbourne paid 27 & 35 just to move 14 to 11. And no one else has been able to get into the top 5 to give us a real indication of what it’s being valued at. But it’s clear the top end is valued highly

Yeah good call, you can probably get a half decent player with 27 though and Lual with 35 but get where you’re coming from

Also says a lot about the top end of the draft that Melbourne paid 27 & 35 just to move 14 to 11. And no one else has been able to get into the top 5 to give us a real indication of what it’s being valued at. But it’s clear the top end is valued highly
Exactly right Dodo said today he tried to move 9 into the top 5 but had no luck.