All Australian thread 2014

Martin has been in terrific form, then he came up against Jacobs and got spanked.

Sauce Jacobs should be the ruckman in the team, clear stand out this year
I wouldn't say he got spanked. He evened things up a bit in the second half after Jacobs' massive first.

Malceski be just about first picked as well.
Absolute gun this year.

Malceski be just about first picked as well.
Absolute gun this year.

I agree. Sets up their attack from defence a lot...

I would like to see Ben McGlynn make the All-Australian team, but I know the selectors basically and generally ask you to have one great year BEFORE you are eligible, so on those grounds I guess he will miss out. Also, the bigger your name the more likely you are to get in, hence why someone like Jobe Watson would make it in preference to McGlynn.

Of the Carlton players I would have liked to have seen Rowe make it, but he is purely a defender who beats his man, has excellent tackle and 1% numbers yet for All-Australian they don't want that, they want lots of uncontested possessions etc. Bryce Gibbs or Chris Yarran might make the initial squad, but I doubt it. Carlton isn't a "project team", so it is best to give spots to other clubs.

I agree. Sets up their attack from defence a lot...

I would like to see Ben McGlynn make the All-Australian team, but I know the selectors basically and generally ask you to have one great year BEFORE you are eligible, so on those grounds I guess he will miss out. Also, the bigger your name the more likely you are to get in, hence why someone like Jobe Watson would make it in preference to McGlynn.

Of the Carlton players I would have liked to have seen Rowe make it, but he is purely a defender who beats his man, has excellent tackle and 1% numbers yet for All-Australian they don't want that, they want lots of uncontested possessions etc. Bryce Gibbs or Chris Yarran might make the initial squad, but I doubt it. Carlton isn't a "project team", so it is best to give spots to other clubs.

Gibbs be a slight shot.

Are you taking the p*ss?? I'm genuinely surprised any non-supporter rates Goldsteins year.

Sandi and Jacobs def ahead. Then maybe Ryder/Goldy/ Martin's 10 games

Yeah, Jacobs ahead of everyone. I think Goldy deserves a spot.
Probably not a lock as I previously got carried away.
If Martin played a full year, the others would be running for second place.

I love the way the King of Uncontested Footy, Nic Malceski the Receiver is in everyone's team.
It's all just based on Supercoach scores. Does he actually defend? Does he win any contests?

How many great games has he played? Let's see…. What do the match reports say..?

Sydney's best players (afl.com)
R01 - L - vs GWS - Mitchell, Parker, Shaw, Kennedy, McGlynn
R02 - L - vs Coll - Hannebery, Kennedy, McGlynn, Jetta, Mitchell, McVeigh
R03 - W - vs Adel - Franklin, Parker, Kennedy, Jack, McGlynn, Malceski
R04 - L - vs NM - Kennedy, McVeigh, McGlynn, Laidler, Parker, Jack
R05 - W - vs Frem - Kennedy, Rampe, McGlynn, Hannebery, Parker, Richards, Shaw
R06 - W - vs Melb - Hannebery, Kennedy, Parker, Jack, Shaw, Rampe
R07 - W - vs Bris - McVeigh, K Jack, Kennedy, Parker, Richards, Shaw
R08 - W - vs Haw - Hannebery, Kennedy, Parker, Tippett, Jack, Franklin, Derickx
R09 - W - vs Ess - Kennedy, Bird, Franklin, K.Jack, Parker
R11 - W - vs Geel - Bird, Tippett, Malceski, Shaw, Goodes, Franklin, McGlynn, Richards
R12 - W - vs GC - Hannebery, Kennedy, Cunningham, McGlynn, Parker
R13 - W - vs Port - Franklin, K.Jack, McVeigh, Malceski, Shaw, Grundy
R14 - W - vs Rich - Franklin, Kennedy, Cunningham, Parker, Jetta, Malceski, K.Jack
R15 - W - vs GWS - Franklin, K Jack, Kennedy, Malceski, Grundy, Pyke, McGlynn
R16 - W - vs WCE - McGlynn, Parker, Kennedy, McVeigh, Jetta, Bird, Malceski
R17 - W - vs Carl - Kennedy, Franklin, McVeigh, Parker, K Jack, Pyke, Smith
R18 - L - vs Haw - McGlynn, Goodes, Franklin, Rampe, Bird, Jack, Jetta
R19 - W - vs Ess - Parker, Pyke, McGlynn, McVeigh, Grundy, Rampe, Cunningham
R20 - W - vs Port - McGlynn, Parker, Richards, Kennedy, Bird, Cunningham
R21 - W - vs St K - Franklin, Parker, Jack, Hannebery, Biggs, Rohan, Grundy, Towers

Malceski has cracked a mention amongst the "best players" just six times in 20 games :eek:
Not exactly the type of form that would indicate he's a legitimate All-Australian

There must something wrong. He's a near-consensus pick in everyone's starting 18, but he's hardly ever rated as one of Sydney's best players... It's not as though he is a quiet achiever like Nick Smith. He isn't starved of any action. He receives at least 20 handball per game and has a nice long, raking left foot.

Maybe the reporters have got it wrong. Let's see what his fans on the Swans Board think.

Swans Player of the Year: 5-4-3-2-1 votes
R01 - L - vs GWS - 5 Shaw, 4 Parker, 3 Laidler, 2 Kennedy, 1 Mitchell
R02 - L - vs Coll.. - 5 McGlynn, 4 Kennedy, 3 Jetta, 2 Parker, 1 Hannebery
R03 - W - vs Adel - 5 Parker, 4 Franklin, 3 McGlynn, 2 Kennedy, 1 Cunningham
R04 - L - .vs NM.. - 5 Smith, 4 McGlynn, 3 Kennedy, 2 Laidler, 1 Rampe
R05 - W - vs Freo - 5 Kennedy, 4 Rampe, 3 McGlynn, 2 Richards, 1 Franklin
R06 - W - vs Melb - 5 Hannebery, 4 Jack, 3 Parker, 2 Kennedy, 1 Shaw
R07 - W - vs Bris. - 5 Kennedy, 4 Jack, 3 Hannebery, 2 Lloyd, 1 McVeigh
R08 - W - vs Haw - 5 Hannebery, 4 Kennedy, 3 Parker, 2 Tippett, 1 McVeigh
R09 - W - vs Ess. - 5 Kennedy, 4 Franklin, 3 Bird, 2 Parker, 1 Jack
R11 - W - vs Geel - 5 Malceski, 4 Bird, 3 Shaw, 2 Tippett, 1 McGlynn
R12 - W - vs GCS - 5 Kennedy, 4 Hannebery, 3 McGlynn, 2 Jack, 1 Cunningham
R13 - W - vs Port - 5 Franklin, 4 Jack, 3 McVeigh, 2 Smith, 1 Shaw
R14 - W - vs Rich - 5 Franklin, 4 Kennedy, 3 Cunningham, 2 McVeigh, 1 Parker
R15 - W - vs GWS - 5 Jack, ….4 Franklin, 3 Kennedy, 2 Pyke, 1 Malceski
R16 - W - vs WCE - 5 Parker, .4 McGlynn, 3 Richards, 2 Jetta, 1 Grundy
R17 - W - vs Carl - 5 Kennedy, 4 Franklin, 3 Parker, 2 Reid, 1 Pyke
R18 - L .- vs Haw - 5 McGlynn, 4 Franklin, 3 Rampe, 2 Rohan, 1 Goodes
R19 - W - vs Ess. - 5 McGlynn, 4 Parker, 3 Grundy, 2 Pyke, 1 Kennedy
R20 - W - vs Port - 5 McGlynn, 4 Kennedy, 3 Malceski, 2 Parker, 1 Cunningham
R21 - W - vs St K - 5 Franklin, 4 Parker, 3 McVeigh, 2 Rohan, 1 Rampe

Pfft.. The Swans faithful have put him amongst the votes just 3 times in 20 games!!!!

What a hoax!!

I thought the All Australian team was supposed to be about picking the BEST footballers :oops:

s**t argument... how many times has Nick Smith been named in either of those (i can't see any) and he has had a better year than any hawks defender...

I honestly don't think Pendles deserves a starting spot in the 18, MAYBE a bench spot, he simply is in there due to his name, i reckon i could name 8 mids who have better years than him including his own team mate in beams.

Fyfe, Selwood, Rockliff, JPK, Beams, Ablett, Lewis, Heppell should be all picked before pendles.

I think he has been more on par with Sloane, Cotchin, Barlow, Ward etc than the guys above.

I think the half-back line will be interesting. Brodie Smith will need a couple of big weeks to hang on to his spot, because apart from 1 or 2 decent games, he's had an average couple of months.

Smith
Malceski
Simpson
And Burgoyne was getting the big wraps when commentators were doing their mid-season AA teams.

Plus midfielders who play back like Hodge, McVeigh...

All very even, and only two real spots (Nick Smith for small defender, then they'll likely put in 3 talls - out of Mackenzie, Hooker, Talia, Taylor).

I think the half-back line will be interesting. Brodie Smith will need a couple of big weeks to hang on to his spot, because apart from 1 or 2 decent games, he's had an average couple of months.

Smith
Malceski
Simpson
And Burgoyne was getting the big wraps when commentators were doing their mid-season AA teams.

Plus midfielders who play back like Hodge, McVeigh...

All very even, and only two real spots (Nick Smith for small defender, then they'll likely put in 3 talls - out of Mackenzie, Hooker, Talia, Taylor).

In no way shape or form should Burgoyne be in the side. Even Hibberd, who missed a few through injury and had a shocker or two, should still be ahead of him.

I honestly don't think Pendles deserves a starting spot in the 18, MAYBE a bench spot, he simply is in there due to his name, i reckon i could name 8 mids who have better years than him including his own team mate in beams.

Fyfe, Selwood, Rockliff, JPK, Beams, Ablett, Lewis, Heppell should be all picked before pendles.

I think he has been more on par with Sloane, Cotchin, Barlow, Ward etc than the guys above.
Agreed. Pendles has had a down year by his standards. Especially 2nd half of the season. Borderline at best but I would leave him out. No one at Collingwood will be AA this year. Beams also isnt AA.

In no way shape or form should Burgoyne be in the side. Even Hibberd, who missed a few through injury and had a shocker or two, should still be ahead of him.
The thing with Burgoyne is tho, he doesn't have shockers. His possessions are quality and not quantity. Im not saying he is in the team ( he is not in my team) but he has won more games for hawthorn this year than Hibberd has won for Essendon imo

Interesting perception.

His numbers aren't that much different to his previous 5 years at all really. Slightly down but nothing major. Just proves it's hard to look good in a team that doesn't win a lot. Collingwood look really poor this season, perception of Pendlebury goes down. If he plays the exact same way playing for Hawthorn I doubt you think that.

He deserves his spot. Still a top 3-5 mid easily.

B: B.Smith - Hooker - Mackenzie
HB: Malceski - Taylor - Simpson
C: Fyfe - Rockliff - Pendlebury
HF: Parker - Franklin - Gray
F: Breust - Hawkins - Ryder
R: Jacobs - Kennedy - Lewis
Int: Selwood - Heppell - Ablett - Beams
Unlucky: N.Smith, Hanley, Talia, Ward, Boak, Gibbs, Sandilands, N.Riewoldt, Ballantyne, Roughhead.

Ryder has had his best most consistent year, but not quite sure if it's AA standard.

His tap work has been fantastic as has his ability to have a impact on the scoreboard. Probably the best in that regard. Below is a list of players who average 20+ hit outs as a minimum and their goal tallies.

Ryder 15
Witts 9
Cox 8
Sandilands 7
Giles 7
Jacobs 7
McEvoy 6
Lobbe 6
Jamar 6
Naitanui 6
Derickx 5
West 4

Ryder has had his best most consistent year, but not quite sure if it's AA standard.

His tap work has been fantastic as has his ability to have a impact on the scoreboard. Probably the best in that regard. Below is a list of players who average 20+ hit outs as a minimum and their goal tallies.

Ryder 15
Witts 9
Cox 8
Sandilands 7
Giles 7
Jacobs 7
McEvoy 6
Lobbe 6
Jamar 6
Naitanui 6
Derickx 5
West 4
Does Ryder go down forward often? Goldy for example NEVER goes down to play as a forward so doesn't kick many goals. He does however play 98% TOG and allows our forwards to stay there. 15 goals is a great effort don't get me wrong but not all ruckmen need to kick that many to play their part in a winning team.