Draft Watch

no need to use the compo pick this year,we already have 4 picks in the top 50 in this draft & should snare some pretty good talent.
we also need to have a steady stream of good talent coming through in latter years to maintain the quality ,specially in 2012 draft where by all reports will be a bumper crop.

also with free agency coming in , w may need it as payment for a gun player wanting to cross to us.

its upto our recruiters to utilise our picks very wisely.

I thought the point of free agancy was that we dont trade for them. Am I missing something?

just thought if he's a mate, there wouldnt be a problem.

Just the questions about injuries Gun. Just thought that was crossing the line a bit. I mean how would you feel if a bloke came up to you and asked you some questions so he could then disseminate that information on a random internet site that will come up when somebody Googles your name for an infinate number of years?

I personally have played footy with Leif at school for the past 3 years. Is an absolute monster and can take a contested grab like the best of them. Not to mention his athleticism around the ground as well as his skills below his knees.
Comes from a basketball background so specialist coaches have been working with him to iron out the "double-foot" jump in ruck contests which was his main deficiency when he started playing.
Started at Eastern Ranges last year and has progressed at a rapid rate. At the start of last year he said so himself there was "little to no chance of getting drafted"
Fast forward 12 months and he has been invited to the draft combine. If it wasn't for a groin injury he would have participated in full with all the testing, so instead only did the reflex testing.
Hope this gives a bit more insight into the boy.

LOL :p are you a 55 year old stuck in an 18 year olds body?

Just the questions about injuries Gun. Just thought that was crossing the line a bit. I mean how would you feel if a bloke came up to you and asked you some questions so he could then disseminate that information on a random internet site that will come up when somebody Googles your name for an infinate number of years?

His not asking him to take a pen and pad and go find out off him and report back, he is just asking if he knows....nothing wrong with that!

Disagree think polec looks way better than smith.Also think that there could be a slight comparison to stephen hill.

Be very careful when comparing to stephen hill. You are also comparing to players like Aaron Fiora when you do that. Both very talented juniors - one made the grade to be a star at AFL level, the other we all know what happened.

Bling was another small bodied junior star. Small bodied junior stars often stand out and don't make the next step very easily.

stephen hill is the exception in my book.

The thing that most smalls lack is strength through the hips to stand up in tackles and get the possession away. It matters most when the pressure is upped - e.g. during finals intensity.

Consider Geelong's teams of recent years. Chapman, Ablett, Ling, Bartell, Selwood, etc They are all strong through the hips.

I hope we stay away from players who are not strong through the hips.

It matters.

There has been no definitive answer either way Snoop but Tiger supporters are getting the impression from interviews with Cameron and Hartley that we will be banking it.

Can you give us some reasons why you think Polec is better than the other two?

I really think BF don't give much credit to Polec and what he has been able to achieve as a junior.

There has been no definitive answer either way Snoop but Tiger supporters are getting the impression from interviews with Cameron and Hartley that we will be banking it.

Can you give us some reasons why you think Polec is better than the other two?

I really think BF don't give much credit to Polec and what he has been able to achieve as a junior.

He is a bit 'out sight out of mind'. because people see Gaff and Heppell on BF and we dont get much SA news then those blokes get hyped up. Having followed Polec for a couple of years now I think he is a better selection than the other two.

Polec has a wonderful knack of being inside and out. Uncanny ability to stay on his feet in a contest and clear but even more damaging when he is outside. He carries it 10-20m and kicks it 50-60m beautifully. So he ticks a number of important boxes; contested footy, midfield clearance, pace and skill.

For me Gaff is very good but he doesnt hurt as offensively as I would like (I have him at #6. He reminids a little of Rich in that everyone is hot for him but the question recruiters will be asking is who is the better player going to be in 5 yrs time......again I think Polec is probably the one but I think Heppell makes a strong case as well hence why I have him at #5.

The feedback I am getting from clubs is that Gaff, Heppell, Polec / Lynch / Gorringe, then one of those at Suns and then either Caddy or Prestia at #8.

Having followed these closely for a few years...this is the most open in 6-8 years and I can see good arguments in a lot of different directions. What I would be focussing on is what your club are saying the key attributes are in the player they are looking for and then trying to see who that applys to.

Hope it helps.

To me it looks cut & dry that we will end up with one of either hepell,polec,atley & possibly in that order taking into account that the first 4 of swallow,bennel.day & gaff are gone before our selection.

which ever player we select i'm sure daly,jackson & cameron would have done an enormous amount of homework on & the likelyhood of coming up with another fiora would be unlikely.

Snoop when are you planning to have your mock up, always enjoy the read
I might seem like junmping on this kids bandwagon a bit , but where do you rate cope going & do you think he will be around for the rookie pick's.

Whoever's left over out of of Swallow, Day, Bennell, Caddy, Heppell, Gaff. Simple really.

I think people need to start preparing themselves for that we will most likely end up with Polec.

In my opinion he is going to be a very good player and has a great amount of upside.

Snoop thanks for the info. Good to see you have Prestia pretty high. Emma Quayle rates him approx. top 10. A lot of people have this kid going lower but he looks like a gun.

So you're info is that we are looking at one of Polec, Lynch, Gorringe? Cannot wait to see who we end up with. All three are massively tempting.

hi matt, thanks for the information mate, just a couple of questions if you dont mind.

i know you mentioned the groin injury but has he had any other injurys such as shoulder,knee,back etc etc

who does he barrack for

has any clubs spoken to him,specially tigers ..........i know you may not have contact with him still but incase you do.

whats he like as a footballer not athlete , does he have a fotball brain in other words/

He had a few back problems a few years ago but that is well and truly in the past
His groin injury just needs to be managed correctly, it is only when training hard that it becomes inflamed

He's a Saints boy at heart

Spoken to the Roos, Brisbane, West Coast, TIGERS!, and Essendon but only Essendon had a real formal sit down chat.

He is an athlete, but more of a footballer than an athlete. Reads the play extremely well and knows where to run on the footy field. Plus he's extremely hard at it once the ball hits the deck

Still at school with him this year, along with Kieran Harper, Aaron Young and Brad Harvey. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

He had a few back problems a few years ago but that is well and truly in the past
His groin injury just needs to be managed correctly, it is only when training hard that it becomes inflamed

Spoken to the Roos, Brisbane, West Coast, TIGERS!, and Essendon but only Essendon had a real formal sit down chat.

He is an athlete, but more of a footballer than an athlete. Reads the play extremely well and knows where to run on the footy field. Plus he's extremely hard at it once the ball hits the deck

Still at school with him this year, along with Kieran Harper, Aaron Young and Brad Harvey. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Any idea whether we've spoken to Brad, he grabbed my attention when looking through some videos.

Thanks heaps matt, really appreciate the post, and im glad that somebody at richmond has actually spoken with him & has taken notice.

Hopefully they rate him highly enough to consider taking him atleast with a rookie selection. Dissapointing to hear about the groin issues but the back issues are understandable considering his size/age/weight probably just needs to get into a proffesional club to have the issues managed.

What's Harper like? Smart, dumb, focused, flakey? How was his injury this year? I imagine the Tiges had a word at draft camp.

Intelligent, extremely focused on his studies and his footy. Two main things in his life right now. His injury really was a major setback in his preparation for this years season. He had the tigers over at his house for dinner not too long ago.

And in response to a previous post...

We haven't spoken to Brad, apart from the psychological tests that every player undergoes, and just to assess his responses, Collingwood is the most interested in him.
Kieran with Pick 6 would give us x-factor. This kid has been a star since primary school. SO focused on his footy, nothing will deter him from making it big. Will be a superstar

Intelligent, extremely focused on his studies and his footy. Two main things in his life right now. His injury really was a major setback in his preparation for this years season. He had the tigers over at his house for dinner not too long ago.

Kieran with Pick 6 would give us x-factor. This kid has been a star since primary school. SO focused on his footy, nothing will deter him from making it big. Will be a superstar

Sounds like some serious interest..... surely we wouldn't dine with every possibility at pick 29.

Sounds like Harper at 6 is a real possibility.

Cool with that:thumbsu: In fact, would be very excited.

They may of just come across just to speak to the kid & it was late afternoon early evening & mrs harpers says stay for dinner guys.

Cameron would always stay for a free feed lol.

The dinner had been planned for weeks
They discussed the possibility of Kieran being taken in the draft, but did not disclose where that would be.
(As mentioned before, you wouldn't think Richmond would be dining with every possibility that could be taken at pick 29)

Super stuff Matt, music to my ears. Harper is my favourite player in the draft.