LukeHodge15

Oct 18, 2004
Vic
HFC.LFC.LAL.LAD.SF49.BB
very very early days, but thought i would start getting a few profiles together of players likely to get taken in the 2006 draft. still waiting on a heap of dvd's so i can analyse the draftees and find more weaknesses that i havent picked up already at the championships.

----------------------------------------------------------

TOMMY HISLOP

185cm - 85kilos - 07.06.88

AFL LIKE - MARK RUiCCUTO

CHAMIONSHIPS POSITION - RUCK ROVER , HBF, FF, HFF, CENTRE

AFL POSITION - CENTRE/RUCKROVER

KICK - 50m KICK ON BOTH SIDES. RIGHT 8.5/10 LEFT 7.5/10 (Good Kicking technique and good ball rotation)

STAR

- probably wont go until the teens, but I have ranked much higher than that.

- favourite player I watched at the championships.

- POWER MIDFIELDER who can play both roles ....... In and under and outside finisher.

- Missed most of 2005 with a shoulder reco, so imo upside is still there.

- Early days but has captain material written all over him, huge leadership qualitys. Was directing his teammates where to fill holes and plenty of encouragement.

- Clearances , runs hard, chases hard, tackles hard........POWER MIDFIELDER with that touch of explosiveness.

- Playing senuior footy at the minute for tassie devils VFL side, type of player ready to go in 2007. and I think the step up will only make him a better player

- Switched to FF in the first game of champs, where he showed good speed off the mark when leading , good hands and accurate kick for goal.

QUERIES - ???

RANKING - 6 ( SUBJECT TO CHANGE )

MITCHELL THORP ;)

195cm-85kilos-25.11.88

AFL LIKE-Cross between PAVLICH/KERNAHAN

CHAMPIONSHIP POSITIONS - KP, RUCK, RUCK ROVER, CHF, FF, CHB

AFL POSITION - KP ( ANYWHERE DOWN THE SPINE ) , CHF-CHB IDEAL

KICK - 50 + ON BOTH SIDES - RATING 9/10

STAR

- absolute lock for the top 5.

- has everything, excellent by foot both sides. Kicking technuique is A-Grade.

- Watched him swing on2 his left on the HBF at the champs and he hit a teammate lace out at CHF with a bullet kick. One word......brilliant

- Huge motor, runs all day, presents, presents, presents.........and just doesn't stop trying !!!!!!

- Ultimate team man, 1%, sheperds, tackler, anything to help his teammates out.

- Demanded the footy at chf, and looks to have a fair amount of leadership qualities. Already playing against men in VFL, so proven against big boys

- Cannot speak highly enough of this kid. PURE CLASS

QUERIES - took a couple of one on one marks at the championships but wanted to see more BIG contested marking from the big fella. Not saying he cant don't it, just didn't see enough of it

RANKING - 3 (SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

HugeBluesFan said:
^^^ Nice start LH15. Would you consider doing FootyDraft as Footyman has withdrawn this year?

havent the time, and really just a hobby for myself. my mrs already wants to throw the computer out the window. . . . lol

probably gunna be off the mark on a heap of players, but wont ever be like some of the sheep on here that seem to conform to popular opinion :p

tomthetiger said:
Before we get all professional, might pay to get the names right. "Thorp" has no "e".

lol. dont bother reading any more of my profiles if u wanna be an english teacher.:rolleyes: there is gunna be 100's of spelling mistakes in just about every profile, english not my strongest suit

Good effort mate. I think Hislop can be a great player but I have a feeling he could go down a bit. A bit like Sherman, he was powerfully built but Brisbane took a punt and it worked out very very well. I can also see him going early. If he can get the ball without his body work then he would do fine in AFL. He is pretty similar in style to Riccuito.

philhawk said:
I was about to say!

So long as you let Hansen slip down to us on Footydraft, please do it LH15! I'm sure that'd **** HBF off big time! :p

Nah, me and C4 and convinced Hansen will be running around in Navy Blue next year. It's just a matter of time. Put him wherever you like in FootyDraft, we all know he'll be at MC Labour Park in 2007.
;)

HugeBluesFan said:
Nah, me and C4 and convinced Hansen will be running around in Navy Blue next year. It's just a matter of time. Put him wherever you like in FootyDraft, we all know he'll be at MC Labour Park in 2007.
;)

Dont listen to C4, he talks out of his a$$...

LukeHodge15 said:
lol. dont bother reading any more of my profiles if u wanna be an english teacher.:rolleyes: there is gunna be 100's of spelling mistakes in just about every profile, english not my strongest suit

Sorry. Its not that I cant handle spelling mistakes, its just that particular one. People keep assuming that there is an E on the end!

Id say queries on Hislop would be will Power Midfielder work at AFL level because it works against skinny div 2 NT boys very well but will he be able to break tackles when the boys are bigger or as big as him.

Lingsface said:
Id say queries on Hislop would be will Power Midfielder work at AFL level because it works against skinny div 2 NT boys very well but will he be able to break tackles when the boys are bigger or as big as him.

The idea is that he puts on weight and muscle during the pre season... Most of the kids you draft are skinny in comparisson when they first come in to the system. They end up building up, and becoming standard weight after a few years. The advantages of drafting someone already quite solid is that they'll stay that way in proportion to the rest of the players in the league, after that few years.

JACK RIEWOLDT

193cm - 84kilos - 31.10.88

AFL LIKE - Little COUSIN NICK RIEWOLDT

CHAMIONSHIPS POSITION - FF, HFF, CHF

AFL POSITION - UTILITY, HFF, CHF

KICK - 50m KICK RIGHT 6/10 ..... very good and very ordinary

- top 3 contested marks on offer, actually 2 because geelong already have rights on tommy hawkins with their 3rd round pick i know contested marking is starting to be a forgotten art, i just think its so important to winning premierships still when the acid is applied to games.

- 2 good games at the championships and one he would rather forget.

- another already playing in the tassie VFL side and mentioned in the best a few times against the big boys.

- awesome pair of hands, and thats one skill that cannot really be improved at afl level. U EITHER BORN WITH STICKY FINGERS OR U ARENT. Riewoldt is a gem with what he brings to the table with his marking.

- shame he brings the same kicking genes as his cousin. studdering approach to goal and just doesnt look comfortable and relaxed over the footy when kicking. saying that he single handedly grabbed the game by the throat against NSW and carried them over the line with 3 goals & a couple of contested marks in the final quarter. kicking under pressure was first class.

- with his hands, could play CHF imo.....attractive prospect

QUERIES - due to his croched posture, actually looks shorter than he is actually listed at ( 193cm ). the big question mark is wether he can play KP or will just be a utility type that could fill multiple positions on the ground. with the flavor of the month being tall wingman, wouldnt discount him making for some difficult match ups for opposition coaches. cant wait to see some of his times at draft camp to get a line on his speed. but so would i like to see many times from a heap of players. obviously kicking is a little concern also although nick riewoldt not the prettiest kick but he is still very effective.

James Seller ran 2.87 over 20m last year :eek: at 195cm

RANKING - 9 ( SUBJECT TO CHANGE )

Great post LH15 i think your right with riewoldt- a great mark but thats all he has, he is a confidence player and when hes not on he is horrible.

GAVIN URQUART

186cm-78kg……….looks to be a lot bigger in both those catergorys

AFL CLONE – taller ANDREW JARMAN

CHAMPIONSHIPS – CHB , HBF, RR, UTILITY

AFL POSITION – RUCK ROVER, 3RD TALL DEFENDER

KICK – right 7-10 left 6-10 ……. 50m ……. Probably marking kicking a little hard, because not elite, his kicking rarely misses targets. No laser pass 10m off the ground to a leading forward. Just a beautifully weighted kick hits the leading playing in stride.

HANDS – 9.9 -10 …… this kid puts teammates in2 space with some wicked awareness of what is happening around him.

NOTES

- ….I have urquart as a smart, no frills footballer who makes TEAMMATES BETTER. Everytime he touches the footy, 95% of the time its clean and effective. Makes the hard seem easy and the easy just plain simple.

- Good overhead – seems to be able to play taller than his 186 cm frame.

- by memory his 20m time was something around the 3.05 which isn’t quick by any means. But he doesn’t give me the impression he is slow at all. First 2 steps he seems to put distance between his opponent and himself and thus his smarts and peripheral (I cant spell for sh*t) vision can shine.

- watched him last year at the champs, as a bottom ager unable to be drafted. He collects the footy in contested traffic at CHB then fires out a 30m handball to a teammate in the clear. Thought to myself who the hell is this queensland kid and how the hell did he know he teammate was there. Was no fluke, repeated it several times in the same game.

- Rolled up to the champs expected to see market improvement and a diffinite top 10 draft pick in 2006. it was there but not at the rate I expected

QUERIES

- my hands are tied a little in the fact that I have no history of his season so far. So when I saw him at the champs, he looked a little like he could use some time in the gym. But for all I know he might have been injured pre-season or during the year.

- Speed will worry some clubs off him (although I don’t rate him as slow), and some clubs plentiful with his type. But im guessing someone sees a potential 200+ game mid or at worst a HBF (3rd tall) utility who under pressure shines brightly..blokes that are good under pressure are so vital in defence. my money is still on him making a midfielder

RANKING – 16 (SUBJECT TO CHANGE )

Interesting read :thumbsu:

Look forward to reading your thoughts on other draft hopefuls:)

powderfinger said:
Great post LH15 i think your right with riewoldt- a great mark but thats all he has, he is a confidence player and when hes not on he is horrible.

You've gotta be joking. He's alot more than just a great mark. Endurance is fantastic and very skilled on either foot. He's worst is still alot better than a fair few afl players at the moment.

DANIEL CONNORS

Height-Weight-Age

182cm-77kilos-22.09.88

AFL LIKE

Simon Black ( SILKY ) with Luke Hodgish FOOTSKILLS

CHAMPIONSHIP POSITION

HFF-HBF-WING-ONBALL-KICKING OUT . Wish coaches of the under18 teams would put players onball that are likely to be darfted instead of mature aged men with no chance of being drafted all in the hope they can win the championship title. Professional recruiters must get so ****ed with the champiobship sometimes and the process.

AFL POSITION

RUCKROVER-CENTRE-QUARTERBACK(at worst) - will make it as a very very good centreman/ruckrover but if that fails could always be used in the new AFL position, Quarterback/HBF.

KICK

LEFT - 50+ m distance. 9.5 / 10. Spearing left foot laser kick. First rate balance and timing with kicking

HANDBALL

9 / 10 – awesome by hand and will only get better when he builds on his 77 kilo frame. Once he adds power to his skills.

NOTES

this kid just oozez class, lightly framed midfielder who rarely ever wastes a possession. Must be noted early that this kid has a killer left foot. No up and under kicking on conners, just a powerful left foot with great kicking action and awesome results. If this kid falls to us in the second round I will be doing cartwheels in my loungeroom.

plays both midfielder roles very well. Would have loved to see him playing a whole game onball. Awesome at stoppages and everything he does is clean and SILKY. He seems to do everything at ¾ pace, but have put this down to the fact he has more time that others on the footy field.

Watched him at the champs run in2 a contested situation at full pace, pick the ball up one handed. Sprint away from pack and deliver a perfet kick of his left foot. 5 minutes later he repeated his one hand pick up and delivered a spot on handball 20 m to a teammate in space. Conners just has that touch of class about him.

Not ur huge possession gatherer. But would take 20 of his touches up against 30 of just about any other onabller in the draft.

Skinny frame, so upside is there. Another 10 kilos on his frame and he adds more power to his foot and hand skills. Just finished watching the replay on foxtel, commentators likened him to ellis. Nothing like ellis in my opinion. He reads the play well and is very clean like ellis but conners has it in spades over ellis with his kicking and hurt factor on the opposition.

WEAKNESSES

Tackling need some work and needs to add 10-12 kilos to his frame, but scope is there for him to improve in these areas.

RANKING – 10 :thumbsu: - AND MOVING UP (SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

LACHLEN HANSEN-Gippsland Power

Height-Weight-Age

195cm-92kilos-17.08.88

AFL LIKE

Scarlett with big engine

CHAMPIONSHIP POSITION

CHB-CHF-FB

AFL POSITION

CHB-FB. his true position at AFL level would be down back, just seem his natural position. FB and CHB are in high demand at AFL level at the moment.
clubs used to draft forwards and then turn them in2 backs if they didnt make it forward. with suck weaknesses in clubs list down back, clubs might take KP defenders with much higher picks than they did be4.

KICK

RIGHT - 50+ m distance. 5 / 10. not sold on his kicking, lacks penetration with his long kicking and his kicking technique not as solid as some of the other KP players he is up against. has a tendency to just slam the footy on his boot. saying that he kicking seems to get the job done without being the best looking out there.

HANDBALL

6 / 10 - need to be improved, doesnt seem to have the power that a big bloke should but in an AFL envoriment im sure it will be

STAR

still a lock to go top 10, more likely top 5. probably the best contested mark available in this years draft. leads TAC this year in contested marking. awesome set of hands, just doesnt seem to drop any sort of mark wether its a low slips catch or a contested one - on - one situation with his opponent.

hansen has courage and plenty of it, got himself knocked out down at geelong in the second game of the championships running back kamakaze style with no regard for his safety. he just wants the footy and will do anything to get it.

so thats 2 HUGE ticks in COURAGE AND CONTESTED MARKING. makes for a very attrractive prospect come draft day.

played CHB in 2005 for gippsland power and for Vic Country. this year gippsland have moved him to CHF to get another side to his game. imo he is a true CHB-FB and thats where he will make his name in AFL.

QUERIES

Kicking - not shocking but needs to be improved.
Is he an early developer that hasn't as much improvement in him as we think. Expected to see a bit more from him at this years champs.

RANKING - OUTSTANDING PROSPECT– 5 (SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

Great work as always mate, just a couple of queries ...

a) You rate Connors higher then Ellis? So you're saying if Connors was in the 05 draft, he'd go most likely higher than Ellis?

b) Can you be more specific on Hansen? :p 'Top 5' sounds amazing, but which number exactly! Also, you've rated his general skills around 5/10, 6/10 etc. What exactly is it about him that pushes him up the pecking order to a Top 5 draft pick as you suggest?