Well kinda any way I was sorta there as it was happening around me. On Friday night at about midnight me and 4 other work friends finished our VERY LATE dinner at "Il Paesano" in O'Connell st North Adelaide. We walked over the road to a pub called the Oxford. It was fairly crowded but the music was OK and there were quite a few good lookin lasses about, so we decided to stick around for a beer or 5!
After a while I spotted Nigel Smart standing behind me getting his picture taken with 3 young ladies & thought nothing of it. Next one of my mates pointed out Kym Koster & Pathetic Pittman at that stage we're guessing it's a premiership reunion or something. We then see Ricciuto, Vardy(more on his behaviour on the Dees board later!) & Stuart Wigney.
Then my boss says to us I reckon it's Peter Caven's buck's night. Turns out that my boss "Cassa" has a brother who went to uni with "Cavo". Cassa says his brother is coming over to Adelaide for the wedding next weekend. Cassa decides to go & say G'day to "Cavo", and to our amazement "Cavo" gives him a big hug and yells out "Cassaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!". Caven had forgotten Cassa's first name but knew he was a Cassa (my boss is the sorta guy that you would never forget).
Caven was very friendly (Very drunk also) chatting to Cassa for quite a while, despite there be many of his footy mates being around. We had to move on after that and before we left we all shook "Cavo's" hand and wished him luck. He seems like a really nice bloke.
There were more Crows players there (past & present) Rod Jamieson being one of the ones I remember, however my alcohol soaked brain is letting me down now
A few of us went to the Casino on Fri night (not bad but nothing like the Crown). We had a wedding & Reception on the Saturday in Glenelg. Followed by more drinking & dancing at "The Grand Hotel" On Sunday we checked out of "The Hotel Adelaide"at 11am and those of us still there wondered how to best fill in the time until our 2.40 pm flight to Melbourne.
Cassa and I decided we at least wanted to see the Adelaide Oval. So we had a 10 minute walk down to the ground. We were tossing up as to weather it was worth goin in to catch the last hours play before lunch. The ladies decided to go into the city for yet MORE shopping! and Cassa and I decided to check out the price. What luck it was dollar day so we got to see an hour of very negative cricket from the Kiwi's. Sulzberger & Vincent being the main culprits, Parore is excused though coz he scored fairly quickly without looking super impressive. Young & McIntyre were bowling quite tightly.
I was impressed with the Adelaide Oval it's a lovely little ground. It was a huge thrill sitting and seeing stands that I'd only ever heard of on T.V. The Victor Richardson gates are an impressive sight too.
Overall I had a great time in Adelaide it was worth every cent, I'll go back there for a proper look one day.
After a while I spotted Nigel Smart standing behind me getting his picture taken with 3 young ladies & thought nothing of it. Next one of my mates pointed out Kym Koster & Pathetic Pittman at that stage we're guessing it's a premiership reunion or something. We then see Ricciuto, Vardy(more on his behaviour on the Dees board later!) & Stuart Wigney.
Then my boss says to us I reckon it's Peter Caven's buck's night. Turns out that my boss "Cassa" has a brother who went to uni with "Cavo". Cassa says his brother is coming over to Adelaide for the wedding next weekend. Cassa decides to go & say G'day to "Cavo", and to our amazement "Cavo" gives him a big hug and yells out "Cassaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!". Caven had forgotten Cassa's first name but knew he was a Cassa (my boss is the sorta guy that you would never forget).
Caven was very friendly (Very drunk also) chatting to Cassa for quite a while, despite there be many of his footy mates being around. We had to move on after that and before we left we all shook "Cavo's" hand and wished him luck. He seems like a really nice bloke.
There were more Crows players there (past & present) Rod Jamieson being one of the ones I remember, however my alcohol soaked brain is letting me down now
A few of us went to the Casino on Fri night (not bad but nothing like the Crown). We had a wedding & Reception on the Saturday in Glenelg. Followed by more drinking & dancing at "The Grand Hotel" On Sunday we checked out of "The Hotel Adelaide"at 11am and those of us still there wondered how to best fill in the time until our 2.40 pm flight to Melbourne.
Cassa and I decided we at least wanted to see the Adelaide Oval. So we had a 10 minute walk down to the ground. We were tossing up as to weather it was worth goin in to catch the last hours play before lunch. The ladies decided to go into the city for yet MORE shopping! and Cassa and I decided to check out the price. What luck it was dollar day so we got to see an hour of very negative cricket from the Kiwi's. Sulzberger & Vincent being the main culprits, Parore is excused though coz he scored fairly quickly without looking super impressive. Young & McIntyre were bowling quite tightly.
I was impressed with the Adelaide Oval it's a lovely little ground. It was a huge thrill sitting and seeing stands that I'd only ever heard of on T.V. The Victor Richardson gates are an impressive sight too.
Overall I had a great time in Adelaide it was worth every cent, I'll go back there for a proper look one day.