NTAFL on ABC2 TV ditched for 1970s Rugby League repeats

Yeah, it was a disgrace, I came home from the beach, sat down opened a beer, put my feet up, and that crap came on! ABC2 are pricks!
The NTFL is awsome to watch, and the crowd antics etc are amusing!
Theres another thread on here somewhere, with a phone number posted!..:thumbsu:

found it thanks
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=410918&page=3

and here is the phone number.

(02) 8333 1500

I called it and gave them a piece of it.

Damn Sydney-centric ABC. Don't they realise how much more popular our game is at all levels ? I don't think it is conspiracy, just stupidity.

I have just e-mailed them, it was terrible, that was supposed to be my saturday arvo saviour, but instead I had to whack on the 2006 GF to get my footy fix. damn u ABC

We should all complain about them calling the game 'AFL' as well. They post the NTAFL, SANFL and WAFL news all under that heading as well. It is unbelieavbly stupid.

The AFL endorse calling Australian rules football "AFL" even when it isn't an Australian Football League game so blame the AFL for that.

Here's the note the ABC Posted!

We apologise for the inconvenience caused - this was a late program change that didn't make it to the TV guides in time. There will not be any NTAFL on ABC2 this year unfortunately.

http://www2b.abc.net.au/tmb/Client/Message.aspx?b=81&m=10875&ps=20&dm=1&pd=3
They better put the WAFL or some other league on ABC 2 , otherwise I'll blow a fuse!

We apologise for the inconvenience caused - this was a late program change that didn't make it to the TV guides in time. There will not be any NTAFL on ABC2 this year unfortunately.

Damndamndamn. They are stuffing up bigtime. That NT footy could so easily become a major cult favourite right around the country (possibly barring Sydney and Brissy, but hellwiv'em). Fools.

why not the 2007? :D
Bloody leauge. I hope it dies and its just AFL and Soccer

I like RL , but it was black and white footage of a game from the sixties!..:thumbsdown: The NTFL is awsome, reminds me of 'old school' football, played in the right spirit!

Well they aren't even going to show all of the AFL season in the NT anymore:

http://www.centralianadvocate.com.au/article/2008/02/01/2734_news.html

Imparja chief executive Alistair Feehan said the change was justified because 60 per cent of their viewers were from Queensland, where NRL games rate higher than AFL.

This is looking more like a rugby league conspiracy all the time.

Don't they realise that territorians are not Queenslanders and AFL may not rate as well as NRL in Queensland, but it is growing fast.

Funny, I bet NTAFL would rate better than the Australia vs NZ test in Wellington from last year. At least the 70s rugby league matches were close and drew half decent crowds. :rolleyes:

**** this shit.

this is war. Sydney can go kiss my arse.

the AFL need to do something to stop the game dissapearing from the TV screens of regional Australians altogether.

Just got off the phone to ABC in Darwin (08 8943 3222) and the ABC in Sydney (02 8333 1500).

Basically, ABC Sydney have confirmed that NO sport of any kind will be shown on ABC2 anymore (after WNBL season concludes). And that replays of the NTFL will shown in the Northern Territory ONLY (Sundays 7am).

Rang ABC Darwin and they're quite disappointed about this as the decision is out of their hands. They are gettting quite a few calls and they are asking us to voice displeasure directly to the ABC publicity department in Sydney.

The person there is Lesna Thomas, ABC TV Publicity
Ph: (02) 8333-3845
Email: thomas.lesna@abc.net.au

Remember, it's OUR ABC, too!

Moderator, could you please merge this thread with the other?

"ABC back on FTA TV this Saturday"
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=410918

Funny, I bet NTAFL would rate better than the Australia vs NZ test in Wellington from last year. At least the 70s rugby league matches were close and drew half decent crowds. :rolleyes:

yep you are right,NTAFL on ABC2 would outrate a RL international on Channel nine FTA...

you spud.

Why isn't channel nine spending millions a year broadcasting the NTAFL then.

some of the people in here are ******ed. no other word for it. lol

if the NTAFL was beneficial to the ABC in anyway shape or form they would show it. Cleraly it isn't as it as been Eddied...

yep you are right,NTAFL on ABC2 would outrate a RL international on Channel nine FTA...

you spud.

if the NTAFL was beneficial to the ABC in anyway shape or form they would show it. Cleraly it isn't as it as been Eddied...

Hey, fugby troll, the ABC do televise Australian football: In the NT on Sunday mornings, in WA on Saturday afternoons, in SA on Saturday afternoons, in Victoria on Saturday afternoons, in Tasmania on Saturday afternoons.

What we're talking about here, dunce, is the replays nationally on ABC2.

I think too many bum fumes have permanntly damaged your brain.

Hey, fugby troll, the ABC do televise Australian football: In the NT on Sunday mornings, in WA on Saturday afternoons, in SA on Saturday afternoons, in Victoria on Saturday afternoons, in Tasmania on Saturday afternoons.

What we're talking about here, dunce, is the replays nationally on ABC2.

I think too many bum fumes have permanntly damaged your brain.

Yeah, and like i said, if they were beneficial to the ABC they would be there, but they aren't so they have been cut.

I'm not the one parading around saying the NTAFL would outrate the Australian Rugby League team.

Bum fumes? Wow. next you will call me a pee pee head..

you spud.

Mate, its ABC2, not 9, they dont spend millions, you got no idea, it wasnt a current NRL game,they were showing black and white replays of RL from the sixties FFS!

Yeah, and like i said, if they were beneficial to the ABC they would be there, but they aren't so they have been cut.

I'm not the one parading around saying the NTAFL would outrate the Australian Rugby League team.

Bum fumes? Wow. next you will call me a pee pee head..

Pee pee head, bum sniffer, man groper, or whatever it is you do in rugby league, it's time piss off. You have nothing constructive to contribute, here or on the International Board last night.

NTAFL on ABC2 TV ditched for 1970s Rugby League repeats